??!
20 photos
Philips Shaver Series 5000

Philips Shaver Series 5000

S5050/06, S5420/06, S5070/06, etc...
2.8 from 34 reviews

Reviews

(4)
(8)
(8)
(6)
(8)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (11)
  • Build Quality
    3.4 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (10)
  • Causes Irritation Yes (3) · No (8)
  • Caused Razor BurnYes (1) · No (10)
  • Battery Life
    3.7 (10)
  • Shave Closeness
    3.4 (10)
  • Wet Shave
    2.3 (3)
  • Dry Shave
    3.0 (10)
Vic

VicGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Philips S5050 Electric Shaver - it’s ok for the price

published

We’ve bought the Philips S5050 Electric Shaver last June and had been using it ever since. It’s ok for the price but it’s not as good as other shaver we’ve had. The blade isn’t very sharp - doesn’t leave a clean cut after shaving. The battery seems to run out quicker compares to other model. It’s not a very high quality product.

1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
BrendaandDamian

BrendaandDamianSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Frustrating Head attachment

published

Generally the shaver functions as it should. I have used Philips shavers for as long as I remember- since purchasing this one at the start of the year I’m now looking at other options. When shaving the head just keeps falling off the shaver causing a fair bit of frustration.

Purchased in January 2020 at Shaver Shop for $120.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation No
Caused Razor BurnNo
Performance
Shave Closeness
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Trimming attachment problem

published

I purchased this shaver six months ago and I’ve been trying to get used to using it but just cannot. The detachable trimmer is awkward to use. You have to tug off the shaving head and push on the trimmer. It is an awkward and time wasting exercise and you run the possibility of damaging the shaver every time you use it. I’ve taken to keeping my good old shaver handy and using the trimmer on that instead of struggling with this awkward contraption. The shave it delivers is no better than my old shaver so I’m just not winning. I wish I hadn’t bought it.

Purchased in September 2019 at Costco NSW.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation Yes
Caused Razor BurnNo
Performance
Shave Closeness
Wet Shave
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Men's Electric Shavers

Find out how Philips Shaver Series 5000 compares to other Men's Electric Shavers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
woozie

wooziePerth, WA

  • 21 reviews

Philips 90 day money back guarantee worked well

published

What constitutes a good shaver is obviously very subjective. Bought the Philips S5550/44 as a gift based on a friend's recommendation, specifically because it had the Turbo function. The recipient however, still found it underpowered and said it took too long (longer than one battery charge) to get a clean shave. They were a razors user before. The Philips 90 day money back guarantee program worked well though; I rang to get a return authorization number, filled out their form and included the receipt and product, shipped it off to NSW for $12.45 with AusPost & tracking, and got the refund in my bank account 7 days after they received my package. Only wish Philips' products could be returned locally.

Purchased in October 2019 at David Jones Online Store for $145.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Causes Irritation No
Caused Razor BurnNo
Performance
Shave Closeness
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Brett

BrettGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Disappointing from a previously reliable shaver company

published

Purchased in March 2017 at Shaver Shop Physical store for $199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation No
Caused Razor BurnNo
Performance
Shave Closeness
Wet Shave
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
TV ad skeptic

TV ad skepticSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 17 likes

Not effective at shaving in my experience

published

I bought this product using travel insurance after my bag was stolen overseas. I have used Phillips electric shavers since the early 1980s and this model was available in the store at the time I needed one. Unfortunately it manages to cut my skin but not shave effectively (I have to get a mirror and scissors to get the bits it misses).

Purchased in September 2017 at David Jones Retail Stores for $99.95.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation Yes
Caused Razor BurnYes
Performance
Shave Closeness
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
BobR

BobRPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Closest shave

published

I recently purchased my third phillips shaver and this is the best one yet. It gave a nice quick clean shave. Battery life was a little less than usual with around 15 shaves per charge. I use shaver every morning and expect it will go well while travelling as have the others. It is easily cleaned in seconds and it dries quicker than previous shavers which had a tendency to retain water internally.
Thoroughly recommend it. It may have been of greater benefit to me as I have been using the same type of razor for over ten years which has allowed my skin to adapt.

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for $109.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation No
Caused Razor BurnNo
Performance
Shave Closeness
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers
stuff

stuffCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 21 reviews

So far a good little shaver

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Costco ACT, Canberra for $159.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation No
Caused Razor BurnNo
Performance
Shave Closeness
Dry Shave
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Nicholas R.

Nicholas R.Perth, WA

  • 7 reviews

This is crap

published

I have done a review on this product already, on youtube. It doesn't even cut my hairs and wont clean using that "all-in-one" cleaner. It wouldn't even cut the shorter hairs. It takes me 30minutes+ every time I shave and I always end up getting the hand held to finish it off. The instructions were pathetic. Very expensive shaver for a very poor result.

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation Yes
Caused Razor BurnNo
Performance
Wet Shave
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Men's Electric Shavers

Find out how Philips Shaver Series 5000 compares to other Men's Electric Shavers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Very disappointing model

published

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store for $80.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation No
Caused Razor BurnNo
Performance
Shave Closeness
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
SirLes

SirLesMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent shaver at a good price

published

Purchased in December 2018 at for $149.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation No
Caused Razor BurnNo
Performance
Shave Closeness
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Dodzee

DodzeeSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 30 reviews

Very good shaver at a reasonable price

published

I replace this shaver of $140.00 with an S9000 series of $499.00 and it is fantastic, and I can fell the difference between the 2 shavers since I have been using a philishave foe the last 50+ years

Purchased in February 2019 at Myer Retail Stores for $140.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Causes Irritation No
Caused Razor BurnNo
Performance
Shave Closeness
Dry Shave
Battery Life
See all answers
Anna09

Anna09SYDNEY

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Excellent

published

After struggling to make my teenager to shave with a manual shaver I bought him Philips AquaTouch S5050. Now we have one less argument at home and one very clean shaven teenager. Very easy to use, doesn't irritate the skin, produces really clean shave and very easy to clean (even for a teenager!).

1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Joe

JoeSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Does the Job

published

I use this shaver every day. does a reasonable job Dry, and a better job wet. Not really happy with the separate trimmer. battery time is reasonable... but recharge takes 8 hours.
I have a tough growing stubble, so it does the job. at least I don't get cut as with a razor.
this is my 3rd Philips, my At 890 wet dry was just ok; it died after 3 years , however my HQ7380/B dry shaver is still going after 5 years, have replaced cutting blades twice, And is my back up.

All in all pretty good for the price.

2 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Joe
Joe

Hi, misunderstanding; don't want stubble after each use. I have a tough beard growth. and, the shaver deals with it well enough.

New Dad

New DadPerth, WA

  • 20 reviews
  • 2 likes

best used dry

published

this is my first electric shaver after using razors for 20 years so i cant compare it with other electric shavers. after having it for 2 weeks. i found it is best used dry without shaving cream. it will also leave some strands that you can redo over until it gets it or just finish it off with a razor. i like that it is water proof and it does not take forevef to charge. i like how it is light weight and easy to clean. and finally, i like how the skin is protected well from cuts

3 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips
New Dad
New Dad

still need to finish it off with a regular razor every now and then

Philips
Philips S.Philips
Men's Electric Shavers

Find out how Philips Shaver Series 5000 compares to other Men's Electric Shavers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
EhLouey

EhLoueyEltham North

Not a bad shaver could be better

published

Not as described on paper, better as a wet shaver, at times accidentally switching off while saving. The actual head is a little large and doesn’t quite shave properly. Unfortunate.

1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
wilsr

wilsr

  • 38 reviews

Don't bother.

published
5 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips
wilsr
wilsr
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Bob41

Bob41Southern and Hills, SA

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Disappointed

published

I have always used philips shavers, 50yrs, This Model is a Huge Backward step in performance compared to all models previous, the only plus is that it is Gentle on the skin. But leaves much stubble & is very time consuming to get a Good Result. I Have persevered now for 5 months.

2 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Bob41
Bob41

Yep the Phillips 1300 Number was Most Helpfull Not, They Told me to Return it to the Retailer. Which I Did (useless)

Ralph

RalphSouthwest, VIC

  • 10 reviews

Disappointed

published
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Rita

RitaNewcastle

  • 9 reviews

The product is pretty handy

published

The product is pretty handy. But I didn't find something special about it. It works well but not superior to other Phillips shaver. The heads only tilt in one direction.

1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Michael M.

Michael M.asked

Shaver Series 5000

cleaning the blades how does the blue part attach

1 answer
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Michael,

Thanks for reaching out. We would like to help you to clean your Philips shaver thoroughly. We therefore recommend you to our product team. You could contact our colleagues with the following phone number: 1300 363 391 from Mondays to Saturdays: 7:00 am - 7:00 pm EST.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Jasper

Jasperasked

S5420/06

Can the rechargeable battery be changed on philips shavers?

3 answers
New Dad
New Dad

I dont think so. there is nothing in the manual about changing the battery. the unit is sealed and cannot be openned

Allen
Allen

No idea, but the Australian contact details can be found at Philips.com.au Is it still within the warranty period (2 years)?

Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi again, Jasper. :-) We looked into it for you, and we found that, unfortunately, the battery cannot be exchanged. We're sorry to be the bearer of bad news. Please let us know if you have any other questions, we're always happy to help!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Jasper

Jasperasked

S5420/06

I have aphilips aquatouch wet and dry shaver(s5420/06). The click-on head keeps coming off while I am shaving.It is actually the whole head (the part which you remove to click on the trimmer accessory).It seems it is too loose. My shaver is guaranteed for two years and I have used it just over a year.I have always used philips shaver which always lasts several years but I am disappointed with this one. Can anything be done?

3 answers
New Dad
New Dad

i never had this problem. maybe something is broken in the latching mechanism or maybe you need to push it in tighter. if it is still under warranty, send it back to them
.

Allen
Allen

If you have your purchase docket/receipt, contact Philips and should it be broken they should be able to supply a new head. Note that the head needs to be clipped on at the back properly or it will not go on/stay on. Even if you don't have the necessary proof of purchase, contact them and see if they will help you. Do you remember if you registered with them for warranty after the purchase?

Australian contact details can be found at Philips.com.au

Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Jasper, thanks for bringing this to our attention and for sharing your experiences. We regret hearing that they have not been the best ones, though. Of course, the head's not supposed to come loose that easily, so we'd like to help you towards resolving this. :-) We recommend you to get in touch with the product specialists, so they can closely look into this. You can reach them via 0800 658 224 (NZ) or 1300 363 391 (AU). We hope the issues will be resolved soon!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Get an answer from our members and Philips representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.