??!
1 photo
Polocool PC-58AP/C (6.0kW)

Polocool PC-58AP/C (6.0kW)

4.1 from 34 reviews · View Statistics

Portable Air Conditioner Buying Guide

A portable air conditioner is a great way to stay cool, but with the array of choices, finding the best portable air conditioner can be complex. This portable air conditioners buying guide is here to help you meet your AC match so you can spend a cool time together.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (4)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (5)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    4.0 (5)
  • Portability
    3.8 (5)
Previous
Next
Belinda

BelindaSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Almost Perfect

published

Purchased this unit about 18 months ago amd it is fantastic. Cools the room down perfectly. Only down side is the fan is a bit noisy, but still best unit I have used.

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Pal

PalSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Intermittent clunk, thud, cough sound and water tank fills up

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Harvey Norman for $1,195.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Telulah H.

Telulah H.Central Queensland, QLD

When it isnt playing up.

published

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Telulah H.
Telulah H.

Would like to update as i had my unit swapped at harvey norman today. Got it home turned it on and now its making a grinding noise! Im so done with these machines

Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Polocool PC-58AP/C (6.0kW) compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tuhoe

TuhoeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic

published

I have the mega polocool.. it is so awesome..it's worth the money as u don't need to empty it or anything only at end of season.. even then it's so easy.. hardly any water.. easy to clean.. highly recommended..I was lucky to purchase mine off a mate for a few hundred who was moving into a place with ducted air conditioned home and only had it 6 months and so was still under 2 year warranty..but I so would've purchased this at Harvey Norman..

Incentivised ReviewNo
Kieren A.

Kieren A.Murray Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Can buy them for 200 2nd hand

published

Is a very powerful A/C. at 2300w it uses some power but can rival small split systems in cooling output.
Pain to connect and seal because of how much heat it expels but other than that, fantastic for a medium sized house! If you get this for 200 bucks second hand you cant make a better choice.

Purchased in May 2015 at Harvey Norman for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Corey T

Corey TMid North Coast, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Perfect Air con unit.

published

This has got to be the best Portable Air Con unit.
It’s well priced, easy to maintain gets icy cold even on 30°+ days. It does a great job of cooling the open plan living area of my townhouse.

Purchased in January 2017 for $1,299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Rose

RoseMIDGENOO

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent customer service

published

My old air conditioner broke down. So I decided to get a portable air conditioner, coz it can be used more flexibly. Having arrived about a week, well packed. Very easy to install the hot air exhaust hose and the water drain hose. There is a CAUTION on the side of the box not easy to be noted saying operating it after 24 hours. I have put it for more than 24 hours and the unit blows cold air after turning on 30 seconds. The temperature is down to 61 degrees quickly. It’s much quieter than I expected and the remote control makes it easier to use. I like the good-looking design. And the filter is on the back, very easy to clean. Love this!

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Eltham

ElthamTullamarine

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good for a small room

published

This product is great for a small room, it's not noisy, put it in a corner and cools the entire room in no time it's performance is great. You can easily manoeuvre it if need be. It's a great product for someone who can't install a proper ac unit, it does the job perfectly.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Sandy22

Sandy22melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Excellent Air-con - Bit Pricey

published

We are very happy with the performance of this air conditioner but I feel the initial price is very high. It's a bit like Apple products where they are better than average but its debatable if they are better enough to justify the high price tag. The machine does work very well, it is well made and once you connect the hoses and plug it in it delivers lots of cold air and made a big difference to us this summer. Its on wheels so you can move it room to room. I think its a little noisy running but that's because all the components that would normally be outside are in the room. Its an effective but pricey machine

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Polocool PC-58AP/C (6.0kW) compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
GoneCamping1975

GoneCamping1975Sydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 17 likes

Powerful portable aircon

published

We bought this unit during a heatwave. The unit itself is heavy. Sign of a quality unit.
It took around 30 mins to assemble the exhaust hose. It needs to be close to a window to be safe to run.
The unit cools down a room very fast.
We only have one negative point to make. We use our aircon in the bedroom. Our unit has blue lights that at night I can tell they are on. (Tall ships use red lights in living quarters that are constantly on at night when you sleep. The red light doesn’t affect people’s sleep.) polocool please take this into consideration as having the blue light is like having a constant light on in the room

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Brian

BrianBurnie

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Perfect for our small stand alone art studio

published

After much searching and deliberation, we settled on the Polocool 58.
Perfect for a small to medium space, might even do a reasonable job on a large space, but dunno.
Not a criticism, but more a suggested improvement would be to have larger wheels or somehow make the overflow outlet for the water higher so that you can get something under it.
I have made a 100mm non slip stand for the unit which works ok, but better thinking and ingenuity from the makers could eliminate this issue.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Ally M

Ally MBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Good unit to cool down a lounge room space

published

The unit was a savior during summer. The installation was relatively simple, but moving it beyond the living area is a little difficult. Using it in the bedroom was obstructed by the plastic window output not being long enough to lodge in the door. The unit was relatively quiet compared to the previous Polocool unit we had. Pretty satisfied with the unit but it was just short of strength making it into the bedroom.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Te Rinamona

Te Rinamona

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Wouldn't be sleeping at night without it

published

Extremely satisfied with this unit. Very easy to install, hubby installed all on his own. The noise of the unit is medium. Excellent product for this Australian summer. If we didn't have it no one would be sleeping as kids can't handle overheating. Would recommend product to friends and family.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Review collected in partnership with Polocool

Paulas

PaulasWyndham Vale

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

This is the best refrigerated Air Con

published

This unit is amazing, it has far exceeded my expectations. The unit will cool a good sized room on the hottest of days. The cooling by refrigeration is by far the best air conditioning that a portable unit offer's. It is easy to move around, very portable. The filters are so easy to slide out and clean. The unit looks modern and has a remote control that will access every feature of the unit. The options are many and suit all need's. It will coll to as low as 1 degrees and with ease. I can not recommend this product highly enough. Great for renter's, spare room's, rumpus rooms and main areas....

Date PurchasedSept 2016
LUTSlit

LUTSlitNewcastle

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

The best portable air con available on the market, full stop.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Polocool PC-58AP/C (6.0kW) compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Taffy

TaffyDubbo

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

The best portable air conditioner on the market

published

Cooling a fairly large bedroom in 40 plus degree heat is a big job for any AC and this one did it perfectly. Whilst not cheap it does the job better then any other ac ive had. The only downside is the lights on the top which i had to cover to sleep due to the brightness.

December 7th 2017 Update: The best portable air conditioner on the market

Cooling a fairly large bedroom in 40 plus degree heat is a big job for any AC and this one did it perfectly. Whilst not cheap it does the job better then any other ac ive had. The only downside is the lights on the top which i had to cover to sleep

Date PurchasedAug 2015

Bit noisey

published

Does an ok job of cooling but quiet noisy and hard to sleep with due to fan noise changes when temperatures are reached. As it comes on and off at early hours of morning causing an unsettling sleep. And also does this when it hits a low temperature alarm. Recommended only use for day use only.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
corinnelise

corinneliseQLD, 4122

  • 17 reviews
  • 19 likes

DOES work but consider your electricity bill

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Simpson Shocker

Simpson ShockerPerth

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Very loud but works well

published

This air con works well,not to bad on power consumption considering size,the only real problem was the noise its very loud ,i have this in my rented small lounge room and have to turn the tv up to 90 to hear it.I like the auto timer function and the remote very user friendly easy to operate

Date PurchasedNov 2015
Sam L.

Sam L.perth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Works like a treat!

published

My kids call this the coool magic box. It is an absolute gem in summer.
I would turn it on for 30 minutes at night and the room would cool right down! One of the most efficient and money savvy piece of technology i have ever bought. Best investment so far!

Date PurchasedMar 2015
Page 1 of 2
See all Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C reviews

Questions & Answers

Dal

Dalasked

PC-58AP/C (6.0kW)

Where can I purchase replacement filters?

No answers
jose

joseasked

PC-58AP/C (6.0kW)

I see reviews from 3 years ago. Obviously it is not the same air con, is that right?

No answers
Paul M.

Paul M.asked

PC-58AP/C (6.0kW)

Where can I get a manual. And spare parts if needed or a remote.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 3 Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C
CategoryPortable Air Conditioners
Price (RRP) $1,395.00
Features Dehumidifying Function, On/Off Timer and Remote Control
Cooling Power6 kW
Cooling Capacity20,000 BTU
Dimensions 775 x 365 x 568 mm
Max Room Size 42
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Release dateOct 2011
Compare all 3 Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.