??!
1 photo
Primus Mammoth DualZone

Primus Mammoth DualZone

65L, 72L, 92L and 118L
2.7 from 21 reviews

See the Best Portable Fridges / Freezers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
10

Cannot be regased So unrepairable

published

My dual zone worked well for 2.5 years No use for 3 months. All packed ready to go away for 3 months. Fridge won,t freeze so had to rush down and buy another (different brand) Away for 4 months . Take fridge to repair center where told it is irreparable because it had lost gas and there was no way of finding the leak because of the insulation. Out of warranrty


Thomas

ThomasGoulburn Valley, VIC

  • 32 reviews
  • 14 likes

Well built great design

published

Purchased in June 2019 at https://www.bbqspitrotisseries.com.au/?gclid=CjwKCAjwvJvpBRAtEiwAjLuRPaJt1Nfn_kpDUR5n_eL9-ma_OB7MO3VFjRjCrFRp2QRAWWz72e-mYRoCb-EQAvD_BwE for $995.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers

Did Not Live Up To Expectation

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Steven

StevenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great fridge

published

Had this since August 2015 we use it at home as well as away camping . Only problem we had was the fan carked in april 2018 .. was fixed in a week under warranty (3yrs) . We have the 118L no regrets buying it . Works off the dual batteries no problem .

Date PurchasedAug 2015

Lethal

LethalSouth East Queensland, QLD

Resolved

published

Had a problem with the unit and after negotiation with the retailer and manufacturer was able to reach an agreed outcome and the matter has been successfully resolved.
Next time will look more carefully at the range of fridges available and their suitability for offroad use
mnatter is now closed

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Dave G

Dave GBrisbane

Great Fridge for the Tough Teardrop Camper

published

We have had this 65lt dual zone Primus fridge for the last 2 years. It is fitted to the front box of our #toughteardrop offroad camper and has been reliable and efficient since. The fridge is powered by a 130 AGM battery in the camper which is charged by a Rolasolar flexible solar panel kit.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

d w

d wGoonengerry

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolute rubbish

published

This fridge did 6 trips away. On our 7th trip it would not get cold. Took it to the recommended repairer paid $110 deposit only to be told it was out of gas so it had a leak. All the tubes are encased in the insulation so could not locate the leak. UNREPAIRABLE. This fridge is absolute rubbish. Only the Engel and Evacool are able to be repaired because their cooling tubes are accessible.
Do not buy this fridge.

Date PurchasedFeb 2014

dazza

dazzaAlice Springs

Didn't work properly Day 1

published

It arrived on Friday plugged it into the car (duel battery system) and set both sides to 4c the left hand side went down to -14 freezing all the bottles of water (lucky not beer!!) and the right hand side doesn't get below 14 what a joke
Going to try and get my money back on Monday.
I will let you know what happens.
bite the bullet pay the money and buy an ENGEL
cheers
Darren

Date PurchasedApr 2018
dnk

dnkDarling Downs, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Well done

published

We are full time travellers and have used our primus mammoth 65litre dual zone full time for 2 1/2 Years in that time we have had 2 problems But can not fault the after sales service. We are Very happy and Would definitely recommend this product thank you very much.

Date PurchasedAug 2015

Trouble with it all the time had 2 under warranty and now I'm with out as the new one not working

published

Not happy with the way as keep on braking down had 2 under warranty and now I'm with out as the new one not working send back to Queensland 4 repairs and maintenance of the new one and only just waiting for the results I am thinking about demanding my money back so see what happens when the fridge freezer comes back

Date PurchasedSep 2015

I bought the 65litre fridge from BBC, $1350 and had it 18 months and now it doesn’t work.

published

Transportable yes but mine stopped working after only 18 months. I had it hard wired and ran it all the time as I have plenty of solar and twin batteries. I actually only used it a few times. Very dissatisfied and wish I’d kept my waco. It was 9 years old & going great. I downsized from the 110 litre to the primus 65 litre.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Pick it up next week 65lt

published

I pick up a 65lt pimus next week for a 20 day kimberley moon trip from perth
Hope it is $1299.00 well spent will add to reviews when back
It is very well priced compared to other fridges in its class
I run 2x 100A/h batteries they are charged from car,solar,gen set or 240 should last the distance

Date PurchasedApr 2017

GUS

GUS

  • 3 reviews
  • 10 likes

Waiting for a reply from Primus

published
Date PurchasedOct 2013
2 comments
GUS
GUS
GUS
GUS

Waste of money

published

We never got to use our unit as the first time we went to use it, the fridge temperature would not get the set temperature. Instead of the unit getting replaced by Primus, a replacement part was reinstalled into a brand new unit. We really are not happy with both customer services and the fridge itself.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Angela

AngelaPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

So Far So Good

published

Purchased the 65ltr dual zone January 2016 is now a year old. So far has worked like a dream, even when we had no access to power of any kind it kept food frozen and cold for 3 days on houseboat as it is so well insulated. (kept opening lids to a minimum) Have had no problems running on 240 or 12 volt as use both. Very handy being able select either side for fridge or freezer and having a lid for each side. We have been running our unit constantly as we also use it as spare beer fridge/freezer. Is heavy but extremely well built and solid. Hopefully it keeps running as well as it has and at this stage cant recommend enough.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
1 comment
Angela
Angela
Lloydybw

LloydybwPort Kennedy

Hopefully can get my money back

published

Stecar

StecarGladstone, Queensland

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Reliable

published

We purchased Dual zone 118ltr last October 2014. We get 66hrs running off a 85ah battery in our vehicle. We used it constantly for 2 mths in a tent in temperatures over 30 degrees Celsius and hasn't faultered. Overall in 4 mths it has been on all but a couple weeks hasn't let us down.


Primus series 111, not good quality

published

Purchased primus series 111 4 years ago 12v/240v failed within 12 months, fixed under warranty. A further 2 years on 12v board failed, rang and was told no parts available and unit just out of warranty. Unit is now usless even though it looks new, parts should be available as these are not cheap.


Shaun brown

Shaun brownGladstone, Queensland

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good idea not reliable

published

Just died :( I've had mine for around 18 months swear by it it's a great idea having dual zone and runs fairly efficient even when running one side at -2. keeps ice ice and only takes 20 mons to cool down beers. but unfortunately has just let me down. fan works display works just doesn't get cold.

1 comment
Shaun brown
Shaun brown

Just heard from primus warranty guy. They replacing fridge :) had an internal gas leak


UnHappy

UnHappySussex Inlet

  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

Primus Mammoth DualZone 65litre

published

The Primus has been great had 12mths no problems, could not go away without this unit as you can fit alot of food and drink, the daul zone settings are great. I set this up on 225kilo drawer runner this makes light work sliding out to access compartments this also reduces lifting around when full as the unit can be quite heavy when full
Fridge and freezer work great as you can set seprately to desired temp also energy efficent


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Ian W.

Ian W.asked

Signs of thermostat going in 65 l mammoth

No answers

Kel B.

Kel B.asked

I have just purchased a brand new mammoth 72 l dual zone removed it from the box plugged it into to 240 volts and nothing happens have checked both fuses 12-volt and 240 volt and still nothing lights up on control panel fridge is dead.

3 answers
Thomas
Thomas

Gday mate by the sounds of it you've got a doa it's the new blue and black model your talking about ? I'd take it straight back for exchange of refund pending what the terms are

Kel B.
Kel B.

Thanks four that I will get it back to them.

Kel B.
Kel B.

Yes it is the blue and black one.


Lawrence Boland

Lawrence Bolandasked

where can i purchase a controller from for a Primus/Mamouth fridge freezer. Address and/or phone number please

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Primus representatives

Details

Primus Mammoth DualZone 72L
  • Discontinued

Primus Mammoth DualZone 72L

1 review
Primus Mammoth DualZone 118L
  • Discontinued

Primus Mammoth DualZone 118L

3 reviews
Primus Mammoth DualZone 92L
  • Discontinued

Primus Mammoth DualZone 92L

No reviews
Primus Mammoth DualZone 65L
  • Discontinued

Primus Mammoth DualZone 65L

14 reviews
CategoryPortable Fridges / FreezersPortable Fridges / FreezersPortable Fridges / FreezersPortable Fridges / Freezers
Price (RRP) $1,749$1,599
Type Dual Zone Fridge + FreezerDual Zone Fridge + FreezerDual Zone Fridge + FreezerDual Zone Fridge + Freezer
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.