??!
1 photo
Qantas Premier Platinum

Qantas Premier Platinum

2.0 from 50 reviews

Pros

  • Up to 80,000 Bonus Qantas Points & 75 bonus Status Credits on offer if you apply by 30 September 2020

  • Earn up to 1.5 Qantas Points per $1 spent

  • 0% p.a. on Balance Transfers for 18 months

  • Complimentary Travel Insurance & Complimentary Lounge Invitations each year

Cons

  • $299 Annual Fee

  • 3% International Transaction Fee

Reviews

2.0

50 reviews
5
(1)
4
(12)
3
(1)
2
(9)
1
(27)
Previous
Next
Peter

PeterGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Appalling customer service

published

Access to my account via my iPhone app and the web has been unavailable for almost 2 weeks due to a ‘technical problem’. I have contacted the customer service centre a number of times and have experienced 3rd class level of service. The phone line is distorted and full of static and to make matters worse the customer service people cannot speak English clearly. Outsourcing customer service to an overseas call centre is just not acceptable and I would not recommend this card to anyone, let alone a friend.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateDecember 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers

No support for Apple Pay. No intention of changing

published

I applied and braved the Citibank application process, should have known something was up at that stage.
For what us supposed to be a premium brand aligned card product the lack of digital wallet support is a real misstep. This aspect alone is enough to have me cancel the card.
Added to that is the lack of features in the Qantas Money app. The app is seriously a cheap and nasty afterthought and not the way to keep customer engaged.
Don’t get me started on having to set up multiple passwords for reasons that are never quite explained.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2020
See all answers
Dash  Matt

Dash Matt

  • 2 reviews

Worst Credit Card I Have Ever Had

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Card Start DateJanuary 2020
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Find out how Qantas Premier Platinum compares to other Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bridgette

BridgetteSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Do not purchase this card

published

Worst experience ever. Secondary card holders can’t view all payments. monthly statements very confusing. Customer care based Overseas, was told no one available to speak with in Australia. When card was cancelled they took 6 months to refund money which was refunded to the card. Forced to launch an investigation as they lost the money which was refunded

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Albert

AlbertSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Won’t apply any CITI products in the future

published

Bad credit check system and customer services. Rejected my application with no specific reasons. My income and expenses is far enough to apply the platinum card with $6000 limit. I had a few $15000 credit card before and always paid full on time. Nobody replied my dispute email as well.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Docklander

DocklanderGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

You'll think you've died and gone to Customer Service Hell

published

The only reason to apply for this card is to score the sign on points. My strong advice is that you quickly pay it off and close it down. All customer service is done in a very cheap foreign call centre where the command of the English and knowledge of the product is really really really crap. You'll find yourself wanting to smash your phone against the wall in frustration. Anyone with a heart condition or a sliver of self-respect should stay away.
How the Qantas board is comfortable is associating the Qantas brand with this appalling financial product beggars belief.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

Qantas - stick with flying. You know nothing about banking

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
  • Verified customer

Unsophisticated and unimpressive product.

published

The only advantage to this card is the bonus frequent flyer points in the first 6 months, assuming you meet spending requirements. The app and internet banking platforms are poorly designed and rudimentary and unsophisticated in their functions. It is frustrating to use. No ApplePay facility either. Which all makes the annual fee of $299 expensive for an overall unimpressive product in what is a competitive market for credit cards. I would not recommend this credit card.

Transparency
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2020
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Chris

ChrisSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 16 reviews
  • 22 likes

Great Credit Card - Absoloutely Appaling Service.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Find out how Qantas Premier Platinum compares to other Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nat

NatPerth, WA

Appalling application process, terrible APP

published

Application process was overly complex, rude and intrusive.
I have literally been asked less questions for a mortgage.....
As for the APP - wow, diabolically hopeless. Constantly needs you to re-enter your login details and then kicks you out after 3 attempts.
Statements need further password verification, even though your ‘in’ the app.
Stay away

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Chris

ChrisMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • Verified customer

Applepay and Forward Payment

published

Like others, I took up the offer and found out later there's NO ApplePay facility and NO ability to pay a bill at a future date. I overcame the latter by signing on through CitiBank on-line service which whilst cumbersome, provided this capability. Qantas Money have now cancelled all registration to CitiBank website for Qantas Premier card, I assume because they want to control all transactions through their own site (which DOESN"T have the pay forward functionality. Go figure! I'm outta here! Crap service, crap functionality.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Card Start DateJune 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Darren434

Darren434Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

No Apple Pay. Really?

published

I really was surprised that a card in this day and age offers no Apple Pay. Get with the times Qantas Money if you want to meet minimum customer expectations!

Transparency
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2020
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Billy

Billy

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified customer

Fantastic bonus points on offer

published

I chose the Qantas Premier Platinum credit card for the large amount of bonus points on offer in the first 6 months of use and am glad I chose to use the product. I found the portal useful for checking the credit card balance and did not have any issues with any assistance I needed. I am happy with the product.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Vulch

VulchHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

No Apple Pay and terrible customer service.

published

Have had this card for a while, and it has a good rewards conversion. But, if you ever have to contact them, terrible customer service, and no Apple pay is a significant negative.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
See all answers
Brian

BrianPerth, WA

NO APPLE PAY!

published

Don’t believe what Product Review tells you; there is no Apple Pay on the Qantas Premier card. When contacted QM said “they’re considering” which contactless payment systems to support. It’s 2020; hurry up!

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2020
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Find out how Qantas Premier Platinum compares to other Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Katie

KatieTweed Heads, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

Very Disappointed

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

No android or samsung pay

published

Not having android or samsung pay in this day and age is ridiculous. Its time to get this sorted and the card would be fine. It was an oversight when I applied for one as without it its useless

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Matthew

MatthewSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Still no Apple Pay

published

Overall decent rewards but seriously no Apple Pay? Also, I can’t link the card to my acorns or raiz account. Come on I t’s 2020, you should be doing better considering the cost of the annual fee.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
See all answers
Mark B

Mark B

  • 4 reviews

Hopeless app, hopeless customer service

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2020
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
1 comment
Mark B
Mark B

After another week, I finally managed to activate the secondary card.

Beware - overcharged international transactions

published

Qantas overcharge for international transactions and blame it on their third party provider MasterCard. Transactions are not processed on the day you make the transaction and are in fact processed 3 days later and are increased regardless of movements in the exchange rates.
They acknowledged that this is a known issue with their provider but claim it is a common practice.

Transparency
Customer Service
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

A. Ma

A. Maasked

Do I still need to spend $1500 per month to earn bonus points for?

No answers
Pablo61

Pablo61asked

Does Qantas send any confirmation (written document) indicating that the travel insurance have been activated after an over $500 air or cruise ticket purchase? We bought tickets to Bali but we are not sure if the travel insurance is indeed active.

1 answer
Bodhi
Bodhi

It does not, unfortunately.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.