??!
1 photo
Qantas Premier Platinum

Qantas Premier Platinum

2.7 from 24 reviews

See the Best Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Pros

  • Up to 120,000 Bonus Qantas Points on offer if you apply by 26 February 2019

  • Earn up to 1.5 Qantas Points per $1 spent

  • 0% p.a. on Balance Transfers for 18 months

  • Complimentary Travel Insurance & Complimentary Lounge Invitations each year

Cons

  • $199 Annual Fee in your first year, $299 Annual Fee in subsequent years

  • 3% International Transaction Fee

  • Minimum spend of $1,500 per month is required to receive 20,000 Bonus Qantas Points each month for 6 months

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
1
4 star
10
3 star
1
2 star
4
1 star
8

ThisIsMyMoneyICare

ThisIsMyMoneyICareSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Worst banking app ever

published

Where to start ... It appears that neither Qantas not their developer ever seen online banking before, missing even the most basic functionality.
It takes 4 to 7 business days to pay the balance, or worse using the MANUAL debit order form (hello 1970) Transactions are not recognised in the total for days some weeks - so you never really know what the position on your outstanding balance is.
The comprehensive travel insurance ONLY cover you if you start AND end the trip in Australia..... so forget about planning an trip with stopovers etc that continues in other countries

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateNovember 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

veelicious

veelicious

  • 2 reviews

Worried about security

published

I've been using this card for years and enjoyed the boost to my frequent flyer points balance but I am worried about security.
I have had 3 card changes in the last 2 years due to my credit card details being stolen. I shop regularly at the same places and this doesn't happen with my other cards so I'm not sure why this card is more susceptible to fraud and scams.
I think I would rather stop earning points than having my details sold online.

Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
Vale

ValeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Appalling customer service

published

They couldnt care less of looking after their customers. After applying for the credit card i realized that I applied for the everyday instead of the platinum. I called the customers service to upgrade to platinum and with that I lost any entitlement to the bonus points. I cancel the card and they didnt even try for a second to fix the situation.

I have been with qantas for both personal and business reason for 2 years but I there is not loyalty or care on their side. Look like your talking to machines. I am happy to move to virgin as they rates are more competitive, their service is more human friendly

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateNovember 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers
Suse64

Suse64Sydney, NSW

Rejected but wont tell me why

published

I applied for this card but it took 2 whole months to notify me of their decision to reject my application. I fulfil the basic criteria but they will not tell me why my application was not accepted. I think it is very wrong that qantas keeps sending out marketing emails so frequently if they are going to not approve the application & keep the reasons for their decision top secret. Rejected applications work against your credit rating

Transparency
Customer Service
Online Experience
Application Process
See all answers

George

George

  • 2 reviews

The worst experience with Application

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
See all answers

Gman

GmanSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

In this competitive space, this card offers no advantages and plenty of disadvantages

published

The "Details" on this card on this very page is misleading. This card does NOT work with the contactless payment (I tried Samsung pay and Google pay) it also does not work with any money management app (like moneytree or pocketbook). It has a TERRIBLE app and even worse monthly statement. In fact I will be complaining to the ACCC as to how misleading their payment info is. In short, the summary page only shows the minimum payment required but does NOT show the full payment required to avoid any late fees. You will have to scroll all the way to the bottom of the statement to find that. The app also does not show this. Such greedy practices

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

No Apple Pay - its 2019!

published

Contrary to the information provided on this product review website, the Qantas Premier Platinum card does not support Apple Pay. Very disappointing. Citigroup - please get your act together! It's nearly 2020 for heavens sake!

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Charles C.

Charles C.Sydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified customer

Great bonds points for cardholders

published

$299 annual fee after the first year, but can get 120k points split into 20k blocks for 6 months. If you travel a lot this card is great for you. Also, 2 x lounge passes a year and 1 point per dollar up to $10,000.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Fantastic Qantas Points

published

High annual fee but as a frequent traveller the Qantas points soon add up. Love the complementary lounge passes. Have various bonus point offers. Worth signing up if you travel a lot for work.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel
See all answers
Manda

MandaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • Verified customer

Great card with decent point-earn ratio especially during promotion

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

TidyR

TidyRSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified customer

Good for bonus points and everyday spend

published

The application process was simple and approved in a timely fashion.

The bonus points was excellent with a reduced first year annual fee at the time.

A good card to help you get to your next trip sooner.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2017
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Good sign-up bonus points

published

Relatively easy to apply and quick approval after submitting income documents.
Good sign-up bonus points on offer and received it as soon as the minimum spending were met. You also get 2 digital Qantas lounge pass. The annual fee is a bit high but discounted for the first year. Points earning rate is fairly average at 1 per $1 and quite a lot of restrictions on eligible transactions such as bpay, government, council, austpost, etc.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

john

johnbrisbane

  • 19 reviews
  • 11 likes

Worse than a joke

published

Applied three months ago. Telephoned every Friday for two months. Told someone would call me back that afternoon. No one ever called. When I tried to cancel my application what a problem. I am a millionaire and they have all my rental bank statements which is why I assume they could not understand them so just kept putting me to the bottom of the pile. Maybe employ people who know what they are doing.

Transparency
Customer Service
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
See all answers

Jason Rodrigues

Jason RodriguesPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Great Credit Card

published

Application was very easy from the beginning. Good bonus points on offer. I had only 1 issue where I was promised bonus points for submitting all relevant income statements extra. But was never awarded. But overall there are lot of card offers and I'm happy with the mobile app.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers
J L

J Lsydney

  • 29 reviews
  • 38 likes

Beware >warning!!! >>>>>do Not Use...its A Nightmare For Rewards Points.

published

Deceptive offering, no rewards on any semi council or council or government, e.g like rates, etc.
NO rewards from credit card charging through BPAY.
3% charges on OS spend.
Dont bother try something else.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
See all answers
Gee Danny

Gee DannySydney, NSW

Worst application customer service ever experienced

published

Application took a month to process and I had to follow up each time. Was promised a call back from a manager that never occurred. Case escalated to complaint with dedicated ‘case manager’ who also never called or answered on direct line.

Transparency
Customer Service
Online Experience
Application Process
See all answers

Will

WillPerth

  • 13 reviews
  • 13 likes

Points

published

Had this Credit card for a few months now, collecting lots of points for flights, great phone app provided by the credit card company to keep tab on balance etc

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Sam

SamSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified customer

Good rewards. Pretty rubbish website

published

I got this card in May 2019. It has a great sign up bonus and excellent ongoing earning rate. I am unlikely to keep it after the first year though as I can't justify the annual fee. The website is pretty rubbish too. You can't send secure messages via the website. You can't even see the status of the direct debit (let alone maintain one or set one up).

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

Jay

JayMelbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified customer

Great bonus points offer on a half price annual fee

published

I like how its integrated with you QQ FF number. Great way to build up additional points too. The bonus points offer is a good one too. 70K if you spend $3K within 3 months. Easily done.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Sam

Sam

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified customer

Good Bonus and perks

published

Signed up for this card for the bonus 70,000 points. The annual fee of $149 made the card less worth but the St. George card was the only close competitor and was significantly harder to be approved for. The Qantas card has a relatively low point yield but the online account and customer service is good. Redeeming points is easy as it is linked to the QFF store.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and Qantas representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.