??!
1 photo
Qantas Premier Platinum

Qantas Premier Platinum

2.2 from 35 reviews

Pros

  • Up to 120,000 Bonus Qantas Points on offer if you apply by 26 February 2019

  • Earn up to 1.5 Qantas Points per $1 spent

  • 0% p.a. on Balance Transfers for 18 months

  • Complimentary Travel Insurance & Complimentary Lounge Invitations each year

Cons

  • $199 Annual Fee in your first year, $299 Annual Fee in subsequent years

  • 3% International Transaction Fee

  • Minimum spend of $1,500 per month is required to receive 20,000 Bonus Qantas Points each month for 6 months

Reviews

(1)
(10)
(1)
(7)
(16)
  • Transparency
    2.5 (32)
  • Customer Service
    2.5 (32)
  • Rates and Fees
    2.5 (26)
  • Rewards
    3.3 (21)
  • Online Experience
    2.4 (31)
  • Card / Account Used For
    • Everyday Expenses (20)
    • Overseas/Travel (10)
    • Online Shopping (10)
    • Special Purchases (9)
  • Application Process
    2.9 (28)


Katie

KatieTweed Heads, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Very Disappointed

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

No android or samsung pay

published

Not having android or samsung pay in this day and age is ridiculous. Its time to get this sorted and the card would be fine. It was an oversight when I applied for one as without it its useless

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Matthew

MatthewSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Still no Apple Pay

published

Overall decent rewards but seriously no Apple Pay? Also, I can’t link the card to my acorns or raiz account. Come on I t’s 2020, you should be doing better considering the cost of the annual fee.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
See all answers
Mark B

Mark B

  • 3 reviews

Hopeless app, hopeless customer service

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2020
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers

Beware - overcharged international transactions

published

Qantas overcharge for international transactions and blame it on their third party provider MasterCard. Transactions are not processed on the day you make the transaction and are in fact processed 3 days later and are increased regardless of movements in the exchange rates.
They acknowledged that this is a known issue with their provider but claim it is a common practice.

Transparency
Customer Service
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers

Bodhi

BodhiSydney Surrounds, NSW

Terrible Perks, Terrible service

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

Ian

IanGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Disgraceful application process and customer service

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
See all answers

Dave

DaveSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified customer

Misleading interest free transfer offer, not worth it.

published

The interest free offer is incredibly misleading. When transferring a balance, that balance is at 0% interest, however as soon as you use the card, the WHOLE balance that you add becomes subject to interest. As soon as this was discovered, we just let the interest free portion wind down until we closed the card and moved on. A complete waste of time!

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

Not worth it

published

The card seems to accumulate Qantas points regularly, though I don't check this. I chose this card for the travel insurance.

I'm not going to continue with this card because it is too hard to communicate with the company. The website is not all intuitive. There is no phone option to talk to a consultant. If you don't choose one of their two options, the call is terminated. Through experience and desperation, I've learned to choose the easiest option, relevant or not. I followed the instruction to report an unexpected SMS, thinking it was a security issue. It just wasted a lot of my time and they didn't know what I was talking about.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Card Start DateApril 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
AFB

AFB

  • 2 reviews

No ApplePay!

published

It didn't even occur to me this card wouldn't have applepay! This information should be really clear as I would never have got this card had I known. Such a fail!

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateDecember 2019
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

Peter M C

Peter M CSydney, NSW

Travel Insurance eligibility

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Card Start DateDecember 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
See all answers

ThisIsMyMoneyICare

ThisIsMyMoneyICareSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Worst banking app ever

published

Where to start ... It appears that neither Qantas not their developer ever seen online banking before, missing even the most basic functionality.
It takes 4 to 7 business days to pay the balance, or worse using the MANUAL debit order form (hello 1970) Transactions are not recognised in the total for days some weeks - so you never really know what the position on your outstanding balance is.
The comprehensive travel insurance ONLY cover you if you start AND end the trip in Australia..... so forget about planning an trip with stopovers etc that continues in other countries

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateNovember 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

veelicious

veelicious

  • 2 reviews

Worried about security

published

I've been using this card for years and enjoyed the boost to my frequent flyer points balance but I am worried about security.
I have had 3 card changes in the last 2 years due to my credit card details being stolen. I shop regularly at the same places and this doesn't happen with my other cards so I'm not sure why this card is more susceptible to fraud and scams.
I think I would rather stop earning points than having my details sold online.

Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases

Vale

ValeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Appalling customer service

published

They couldnt care less of looking after their customers. After applying for the credit card i realized that I applied for the everyday instead of the platinum. I called the customers service to upgrade to platinum and with that I lost any entitlement to the bonus points. I cancel the card and they didnt even try for a second to fix the situation.

I have been with qantas for both personal and business reason for 2 years but I there is not loyalty or care on their side. Look like your talking to machines. I am happy to move to virgin as they rates are more competitive, their service is more human friendly

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateNovember 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Suse64

Suse64Sydney, NSW

Rejected but wont tell me why

published

I applied for this card but it took 2 whole months to notify me of their decision to reject my application. I fulfil the basic criteria but they will not tell me why my application was not accepted. I think it is very wrong that qantas keeps sending out marketing emails so frequently if they are going to not approve the application & keep the reasons for their decision top secret. Rejected applications work against your credit rating

Transparency
Customer Service
Online Experience
Application Process
See all answers
George

George

  • 2 reviews

The worst experience with Application

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
See all answers

Gman

GmanSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

In this competitive space, this card offers no advantages and plenty of disadvantages

published

The "Details" on this card on this very page is misleading. This card does NOT work with the contactless payment (I tried Samsung pay and Google pay) it also does not work with any money management app (like moneytree or pocketbook). It has a TERRIBLE app and even worse monthly statement. In fact I will be complaining to the ACCC as to how misleading their payment info is. In short, the summary page only shows the minimum payment required but does NOT show the full payment required to avoid any late fees. You will have to scroll all the way to the bottom of the statement to find that. The app also does not show this. Such greedy practices

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

No Apple Pay - its 2019!

published

Contrary to the information provided on this product review website, the Qantas Premier Platinum card does not support Apple Pay. Very disappointing. Citigroup - please get your act together! It's nearly 2020 for heavens sake!

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

Charles C.

Charles C.Sydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified customer

Great bonds points for cardholders

published

$299 annual fee after the first year, but can get 120k points split into 20k blocks for 6 months. If you travel a lot this card is great for you. Also, 2 x lounge passes a year and 1 point per dollar up to $10,000.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Fantastic Qantas Points

published

High annual fee but as a frequent traveller the Qantas points soon add up. Love the complementary lounge passes. Have various bonus point offers. Worth signing up if you travel a lot for work.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Pablo61

Pablo61asked

Does Qantas send any confirmation (written document) indicating that the travel insurance have been activated after an over $500 air or cruise ticket purchase? We bought tickets to Bali but we are not sure if the travel insurance is indeed active.

1 answer
Bodhi
Bodhi

It does not, unfortunately.


Get an answer from our members and Qantas representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.