12 photos
Rinnai Avenger 25 / 25Plus

Rinnai Avenger 25 / 25Plus

Avenger 25, Avenger 25Plus
4.1 from 132 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Quick and effective heating

  • Hidden heating element

  • Cheap electricity bills

Cons

  • Can release a strong odour

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.5 (20)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (19)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (20)
  • Heating Speed3/5 - 5/5 (17)
  • Temperature Consistency
    4.5 (17)
  • Safety
    4.4 (19)
  • Smells of GasYes (6) · No (14)
Previous
Next
Jurek
JurekSydney, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Why did I wait so long to go to gas heating?

published

Never liked gas for cooking. But this is different.
We now have 3 units. Vastly superior to aircon for heating an open area.
Very fast warm up time for an area. The walls may be cold, but who cares!
Contacted tech support with some technical questions. Got fast response.
Just note that these units do not actually switch off, irrespective of temperature setting.
So if you oversize the unit for a small room, you will fry.
The next advantage of gas is that you cannot overload the supply (nothing can trip).

Purchased in June 2021 at Bing Lee for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Sue H.
Sue H.Darling Downs, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Couldn't ask for a better heater.

published

I used gas for the first time last winter and would not go back. I bought a Rinnai Avenger as quite a few plumbers said they were the best gas heaters. I have a 3 bedroom home and there was no drama keeping the living areas warm. Best bit was setting the timer to turn off and on at particular times. Can't recommend highly enough.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Other Gas Heaters

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Ash123
Ash123
  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Warranty is questionable, heater is good

published

Purchased in July 2020 at The Good Guys for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Ash123
Ash123

Thanks for update. A link on your website needs updating. If I find the webpage I will post it here for your reference.
Good to see the great warranty you have quoted. I shall note it for future use.

Gas Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Avenger 25 / 25Plus compares to other Gas Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve1756
Steve1756Hunter Region, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great heater

published

This is our first gas heater, we used a/c before buying the Avenger25 it was a bit more expensive than other brands but well worth it. Warms a large open plan area, very easily and quickly. Easy to operate as well. We run ours on economy most of the time and it does warm up well. Really like that there is no visible flame stopping children getting inquisitive. Would recommend without hesitation.
Like it so much have purchased 2 smaller Rinnai heaters for other family members.

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
John D
John D
  • 5 reviews

Warms the entire house

published

Very powerful, warms the entire home, I have made huge savings on my electricity bill, I realized gas was much cheaper. It warms better than the AC unit I had in my previous house. Easy to install.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
stan
stanPerth, WA
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

I can live without it but am glad i don't have to

published

easy to maintain and clean. Heats very quickly and when used with a ceiling fan with winter setting, makes the room very comfortable and stops the heater burning excess gas

Purchased in May 2015 at The Good Guys for $1,050.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Jeanne
JeanneSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Instant heat

published

I have a Queenslander home which is very open and provided I close off rooms that aren't part of the living area, it is very comfortable. I have only ever used the lowest setting and it is perfect.

Purchased in June 2019 for $979.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Beaver
BeaverHunter Region, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Almost instant heat

published

I have the largest in the range that does not need a flue. My loungeroom is approximately 5 metres x 8 metres and the adjoining dining room is of a similar size. There is an open kitchen next to the dining room and no doors. This heater not only heats all of the downstairs area comfortably, it heats upstairs as well. I purchased the heater about 8 years ago from The Good Guys and it is highly recommended

Purchased in June 2012 at The Good Guys for $895.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Other Gas Heaters

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Claudie
ClaudieHunter Region, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

continuous smelling of burning gas when is working

published

once turn on it s a continuous bad smell of gas . bought it in July 2019 so still under warranty . new house . we use it last year for few weeks and we thought it was because it was new .

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Claudie, new heaters can give off a burning smell but if you are finding the same issue this year we would suggest speaking to our technical team on 1300 555 545 option 3 and they can advise further.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Claudie
Claudie

Thanks I will do that

Gas Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Avenger 25 / 25Plus compares to other Gas Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MonicaC
MonicaCSydney, NSW

Not suitable for sensitive person

published

Purchased in May 2020 at Bing Lee Physical store for $1,499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
themonkey
themonkeySydney, NSW
  • 19 reviews
  • 9 likes

Well made and reliable

published

Such a great heater, just set the temp and it does heat the house well and is quiet. Optioned with timers which i dont use. The remote makes it easy to turn on from far.

Purchased in March 2012 for $1,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Josh
JoshPerth, WA
  • 9 reviews
  • 13 likes

Great heater with kida around

published

Excellent heater for heating. Can heat my whole house easy.
We purchased this one cause it had a great star rating and it didnt have any flames or glowing areas for the little ones to get intrigued by and want to touch them. And also got it at a great price

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Steve _ Goldman Energy
Steve _ Goldman EnergySydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

FANTASTIC HEATS MY ROOM UP

published

My Avenger has been great with the temperature control and the economy mode also with the timer settings it has been a god send in the winter months.
also for circulation i can just put it on the fan without heat

Purchased in October 2015 for $991.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Bradley B.
Bradley B.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews

Excellent heater. Easy to use. Efficient and quiet.

published

The heater effectively heats large areas quickly. It reaches the desired temperature quickly. Easy to use control panel on heater. Very cost-effective and perfect for heating large areas on a family budget. The heater copes very well with high demand.

Purchased in June 2017 at Harvey Norman for $1,025.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Other Gas Heaters

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
JCD
JCDPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews

Perfect heating solution

published

Purchased the Avenger 25 Plus 15 months ago. Heats a large open plan kitchen/dining/family room area on the "gas economy mode" very comfortably and efficiently. Usually set only on 19-20-21 degs. subject to outside temperature. Very happy with performance and highly recommend.

Purchased in June 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Gas Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Avenger 25 / 25Plus compares to other Gas Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Josh Al
Josh Alasked
Avenger AV25L (LPG, White)

I have a Rinnai Avenger, can I connect directly to gas bottle inside a living area?

2 answers
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Josh Al,

Thanks for the question.

We would recommend contacting our Technical team on 1300 555 545 for further advice.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia.

Ash123
Ash123

Don’t do that
Read here regarding safety guidelines when using gas heaters

https://www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au/health/healthyliving/gas-heating-health-and-safety-issues

Happy Customer
Happy Customerasked
Avenger 25

My Avenger 25 gas heater. I cannot adjust the temperature. It is not locked but the up and down buttons are not working

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Happy Customer,

Thanks for reaching out!

We would recommend contacting our Technical Helpdesk on 1300 555 545 (Option 3) for assistance with this matter.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

StefV
StefVasked
Avenger AV25SN (Natural, Silver)

Hi I have 2 avenger gas heaters. One with the serial number 07.03-007473 the other with 11.02-004.727 I would like to know how old they are.

2 answers
Ash123
Ash123

https://www.howtolookatahouse.com/Blog/Entries/2018/8/how-do-i-tell-the-age-of-a-rinnai-water-heater-from-the-serial-number.html

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi StefV,

Thanks for the question.

The units you have mentioned were manufactured in March 2007 - 07.03-007473 and February 2011 - 11.02-004.727

I hope this helps.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

See all Rinnai Avenger 25 / 25Plus questions

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

Rinnai Avenger 25 / 25Plus

Details

Features

  • Dual programmable timers allow you to set a time in the morning and the evening for the heater to automatically switch on. This saves you waking up to - and coming home to - a freezing cold home.
  • An integrated thermostat caters to adjustable temperature settings, so you can set and forget the temperature.
  • Economy mode gradually reduces the amount of heat in the room once the set temperature has been reached.
  • This Rinnai heater has an impressive 5.8-star energy efficiency (out of 6 possible stars). This means it has a thermal efficiency of 88-91%.
  • You can choose between using a control panel to manually operate the heater, or using the included remote control.
  • The Rinnai Avenger 25 and 25Plus are available in a variety of different models, depending on your room size.

Points of Praise

  • Reviewers appreciated the Rinnai Avenger 25’s superior ability to heat up a room, even while on Economy mode, or on a low setting.
  • This gas heater worked well with heating even large spaces with high ceilings.
  • The quick speed at which the Rinnai Avenger heated up a room was another plus point with reviewers.
  • This Rinnai gas heater was awarded points for good safety, as there’s no exposed glowing heating element that can pose a burn risk, particularly for children and pets.
  • The heater’s quiet operation was valued by householders.
  • The Avenger 25’s energy efficiency meant that it was gentle on electricity bills.

Points to consider

Some reviewers reported that this gas heater gave off a strong odour of combustion gasses. Along with an unpleasant smell, this also caused reactions in sensitive people, such as headaches and breathing issues. For these reviewers, the high cost of this unflued gas heater was not worth it.

Compare all 18 Rinnai Avenger 25 / 25Plus
CategoryGas HeatersGas HeatersGas HeatersGas Heaters
Price (RRP) $1,756.00$1,625.00$1,756.00$1,756.00
Heater TypePortablePortablePortablePortable
Max Room Size 97979797
Dimensions 485 X 610 X245 mm485 X 610 X245 mm485 X 610 X245 mm485 X 610 X245 mm
FeaturesEnergy Saving Mode, Remote Control and TimerEnergy Saving Mode, Remote Control and TimerEnergy Saving Mode, Remote Control and TimerEnergy Saving Mode, Remote Control and Timer
Gas Star Rating 5.8 star(s)5.8 star(s)5.8 star(s)5.8 star(s)
Max Gas Input25 mJ/h25 mJ/h25 mJ/h25 mJ/h
Power6,200 W6,200 W6,200 W6,200 W
Gas TypeLPG and Natural GasLPG and Natural GasLPG and Natural GasLPG and Natural Gas
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Colour / FinishWhiteWhiteWhitePlatinum Silver
Compare all 18 Rinnai Avenger 25 / 25Plus

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.