??!
12 photos
Rinnai Avenger 25 / 25Plus

Rinnai Avenger 25 / 25Plus

Avenger 25, Avenger 25Plus
4.1 from 120 reviews

Reviews

(69)
(25)
(7)
(4)
(15)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (8)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (8)
  • Room Type
    • Living/Dining Area (8)
    • Open-Plan Office (1)
    • Whole House (1)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (8)
  • Heating Speed4/5 - 5/5 (7)
  • Temperature Consistency
    4.9 (7)
  • Safety
    4.4 (7)
  • Smells of GasYes (3) · No (6)
Steve _ Goldman Energy

Steve _ Goldman EnergySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

FANTASTIC HEATS MY ROOM UP

published

My Avenger has been great with the temperature control and the economy mode also with the timer settings it has been a god send in the winter months.
also for circulation i can just put it on the fan without heat

Purchased in October 2015 for $991.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Smells of GasNo
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Bradley B.

Bradley B.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Excellent heater. Easy to use. Efficient and quiet.

published

The heater effectively heats large areas quickly. It reaches the desired temperature quickly. Easy to use control panel on heater. Very cost-effective and perfect for heating large areas on a family budget. The heater copes very well with high demand.

Purchased in June 2017 at Harvey Norman for $1,025.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Smells of GasNo
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
JCD

JCDPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Perfect heating solution

published

Purchased the Avenger 25 Plus 15 months ago. Heats a large open plan kitchen/dining/family room area on the "gas economy mode" very comfortably and efficiently. Usually set only on 19-20-21 degs. subject to outside temperature. Very happy with performance and highly recommend.

Purchased in June 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Smells of GasNo
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Gas Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Avenger 25 / 25Plus compares to other Gas Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Belinda

BelindaPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Great little heater

published

We have quite a small house and this little unit is perfect to warm up the large open areas. We do have it going for half of the day and then on at night until we go to bed and the house stays nice and warm. The unit is quite and will be sad to see it go soon as we are getting ducted aircon. Would highly recommend though. Ppl may complain of smell but when we had ours installed the guy put an air grill close to the unit which is why we dont smell the unpleasant odours, however when the unit is off we do have to put paper over it to avoid cold air entering the house :-(

Purchased in January 2015 at Harvey Norman for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Open-Plan Office
Smells of GasNo
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Belinda, we are happy to hear the heater is working so well for you. We wish you many more years of troublefree operation.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Sharonf

SharonfHunter Region, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Wonderful!

published

We love this heater! Our home has 3.3 metre ceilings, polished floor boards, huge glass windows and this heats it up sufficiently. The installation was simple and it is very easy to use. The only suggestion that I would make to rinnai was to make the stationary vents where the heat flows from flexible so you could change the direction of the airflow but apart from that a very good, economical investment.

1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Cozzy

CozzyPerth, WA

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

So warm in our large living room/kitchen/dining

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Smells of GasNo
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Svgtr

SvgtrPerth, WA

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Headache inducing

published

This heater produces a very strong smell of combustion gases that it lets off into the house since it's unflued. In a moderately large area and even with cross ventilation as is the recommendation, I experienced a headache within quite a short time. Whilst I am a sensitive individual, I would recommend instead to look at a flued gas heater or just use electric heating especially if small children, pregnant women or elderly persons live in the house.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Smells of GasYes
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Bill Ethell

Bill EthellSouthwest, VIC

Not fit for purpose

published

I spoke to Rennai about the requirements for a heater and was advised that an Avenger 25 would be the best model. I used it twice on cold nights on the weekend. Today I noticed that altering the temperature setting to 18 degs doesn't turn the heater off as the room temperature is shown at 24 degs. I called the tech support who after some bafflement told me that the Avenger 25 doesn't have a temperature control and the unit needs to be turned off and on manually to control the temperature. He said I should have bought an Avenger 25 plus! What do I do now as I'm not always in the room to turn it on and off?

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store.

Room Type Living/Dining Area
Smells of GasNo
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thank you for the review Bill Ethell. We would recommend returning your product back to the place of purchase for a full refund.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

András

AndrásSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointed with supposed features

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Appliances Online for $1,198.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Smells of GasYes
See all answers
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Andras, we're sorry to hear about this and have sent a private message to discuss the matter further.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

András
András
Gas Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Avenger 25 / 25Plus compares to other Gas Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gumnut

GumnutCanberra 2600, ACT

Excellent heater

published

Heats my large open plan living room quickly and maintains heat well. Suffered with electric heating before purchasing this unit and I'm so glad I made the change. Very easy to use and love the programmable start time. Great work Rinnai.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area and Whole House
Smells of GasYes
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Gumnut, we are pleased to hear the heater is working well for you, we wish you many more cosy nights and warm mornings.

mrpatto

mrpattoSydney

  • 15 reviews

Best Gas Heater!

published

Best gas heater I’ve ever owned! We have a massaive open area and the heater heats it all. Just set the temp and let it do it’s thing. Easy to use and quick to start. Great for the cold mornings. Very happy with purchase and highly recommended. Eco mode is great, as heater reaches temp turns down saving gas and money.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review mrpatto, we are glad to hear the heater is serving you well.

SSSuave

SSSuaveAshford, New South Wales

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Heater when used correctly

published

Use mainly as a backup to our wood burning heater. Works great if you don't over demand. We close off areas not used in winter. (store rooms, guest BR, etc.) Always remember any unflued gas heater needs a bit airflow. We air our house out during the day to clear any smells and vent slightly while using. It is our backup so we are not solely dependent on it. If you are going to use gas to heat, do your homework first on flued/unflued heaters and then decide. Both work when used correctly.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review and the advise regarding flued v unflued heaters SSSuave. It is important to have the correct ventilation with these heaters and sized appropriately for the room it is heating.

Excellent!!

published

We bought it yesterday and I feel like that our life has been changed!
I didn’t like to use our air conditioner to warm up the room cause makes room too dry that’s the reason why we bought Gus heater.
So it doesn’t makes room dry.
Quick start, warm quickly and keep warming!

We love it!!

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Andy, we are pleased to hear the heater has had such a positive impact for you. We wish you many warm days and nights ahead.

Julie K

Julie K

  • 2 reviews

exceeds expectations

published

Absolutely love the push button automatic start, quietness. It is so efficient that we run it on economy, and at time have to turn it off. We live in a very cold zone, s o have been totally blown away by its performance. Th company we dealt with were also super.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Julie K, we are so pleased to hear the heater is exceeding your expectations and wish you many more warm winters ahead.

Henno

HennoGold Coast

Gas Consumption

published

Just bought this from Harvey, and it is chewing through the gas....hard. We are on bottled LPG and the heater has used around half a bottle in a week. Is that normal?

Would like some advice on whether or not I should be using just gas or mixture of the gas and electric option?

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question Henno, it is hard to give a definite answer on gas usage as there are so many variables at play. We have a technical help desk available on 1300 555 545 which can provide you with advise about the heater usage.

Gas Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Avenger 25 / 25Plus compares to other Gas Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fralex

FralexSydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Toastie warm

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
GlennC

GlennCIllawarra, NSW

Very disappointed and cold!

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
7 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review GlennC, we are disappointed to hear of the issues you have faced with the heater and would like to follow up with you. Can you please email enquiry@rinnai.com.au and we can follow this up with the technician.

GlennC
GlennC

Sent the email. Awaiting a reply...and still cold.

GlennC
GlennC
SDL75

SDL75Sydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very powerful heater but really stinks out the house with a gassy smell.

published

I have a huge living room and this heater does a great job of filling the space with warmth. The gassy smell that has developed over the past couple of winters is starting to worry me though. Perhaps it just needs a service but I really wish I bought a flued heater now.

Date PurchasedJun 2013
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
SDL75
SDL75

Ok, thanks. If the servicing solves the problem I'll review it again more favourably.

Sarah

Sarah

  • 5 reviews

Great heater

published

I purchased this heater 6 months ago and have been extremely happy with it. It heats up our downstairs area very quickly. The heat also travels upstairs well and heats that area too. My only complaint would be that it does not have a fan setting which enables you to turn the fan down slightly. This isn't too much of a problem though and we have positioned it in an area where the air is not blowing toward the lounge area. Other than that it is a great heater and works well.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Sarah, we are glad to hear the heater is working well for you.

Sarah
Sarah

Thank you

Kez

KezWollongong

  • 5 reviews

Looove this heater

published

What a workhorse, I just love this heater. Yes it wasn't cheap, as gas heaters arnt, however it does a great job.
It heats our open plan house downstairs well and even the upstairs gets warmer, and it works fast. I love the kids lock on it. I like the idea of the timer settings but haven't used them. So handy to have a remote, but lost it- damn! All in all this has been a great investment that I expect to have for many years.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Kez. it's great to hear the heater has fit into your home so well. You can get replacement remotes for the heater, this can be ordered at any plumbing supply company that stocks Rinnai products,

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Abbey

Abbeyasked

Avenger AV25L (LPG, White)

Hi i have rannai avenger 25 tre
Im moving to a new house but there is no gas pipe for it so can i use it only on electrical thanks

2 answers

Hello Abbey you would need a gas line from an lpg bottle i believe only the fan will work without gas so no heating without gas.
kind regards Steve

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Abbey,

Thanks for the question, we would recommend contacting our Technical Department to discuss this matter further. They can be reached on 1300 555 545 (option 3).

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Gwen M.

Gwen M.asked

Can this heater be converted to use lpg?

4 answers
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thank you for the question Gwen M. Please contact our Technical Help desk on 1300 555 545 option 3 for further assistance.

Thanks,

Rinnai Australia

I am sure you can buy them Lpg or Natural Gas when ordering them

Gwen M.
Gwen M.

I had the heater for my previous home. The new home only has lpg access

Jason M.

Jason M.asked

How do you remove the front grill for cleaning on the avenger 25Tr

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question Jason M,

Please contact our Technical help desk for further assistance on 1300 555 545 option 3.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia.

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.