??!
1 photo
Rinnai Infinity 16

Rinnai Infinity 16

2.9 from 18 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
6
1 star
4

john

johnGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

too much wasted water

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Burson.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Not Happy

published

The unit, just after 12 months, started to fail to ignite. Turned the hot water on and off for half an hour or so before it worked. It has stopped again, several times, when not run for a day or two.. Its now stopped again and I can't get it to work. Can smell the gas turning on but its not igniting.
Cold weather and absents seems to upset it.
It really upsets me.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Paul, as the unit it still within it's warranty period we would recommend booking a service call to diagnose the issue with the unit. This can be booked on 1300 555 545 option 2 for service.


Lee

LeeMelton South

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Just reliable hot water every time!

published

Very happy with our Rinnai Infinity 16. Previously had a Bosch hydropowered which was very temperamental especially in the colder months. But not the infinity. Very reliable and consistent hot water. We did not purchase the temp controller, but did have a temp valve installed so we could have the unit preset at 60 degrees. Highly recomend this product.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Lee, we are very pleased to hear your new hot water unit is working so well for you.

Rob H

Rob HWhyalla

B16 doesn’t work during winter

published

My B16 unit is only 5 years old, it works fine during summer but when the temperature drops and we turn the hot water on the pipes groan and there is no water pressure at all, after the sun comes up and the unit gets a little heat it’s all good again.

Date PurchasedJun 2013

Kate V

Kate VBrighyon

Fluctuating water temperature

published

We have had the Rinnai 16 for a number of years, has been ok but a little temperamental with water fluctuating in the taps.
Taps can only run on hot or cold alone, otherwise as soon as the temperature is balanced the hot water will turn off. Recently our shower has started fluctuating from very hot to cold, I can see the wall control operation light turning on and off.
Do you know what the problem would be?
Ps I did leave this question in the Q&A section however my question disappeared. Thanks

Date PurchasedJan 2005
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Kate V
Kate V

joda5084

joda5084Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 21 reviews
  • 10 likes

Very good

published

This water heater has been very good with no trouble at all the gas usage has been significantly less than the last continuous flow heater that this replaced we also splurged and had the controllers installed one general and one bathroom it is a real luxury to have a shower and not have to mix the hot water, we have a small house and while showering if another hot or cold tap is turned on there is no difference in the shower temperature just a bit less flow

Date PurchasedMar 2014
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Joda5084, temperature controllers really do take the hassle out of adjusting the taps and you always know exactly how hot the water will be.


Not user friendly. Intermittent hot water.

published
Date PurchasedJun 2016
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Not happy

published

Bought a brand new house and moved in 4 weeks ago and the builder installed the 16 unit per the developer. The hot water seems to come through quicker in the shower but the basic vanity tap seems to take ages and wastes a lot of water. This is also the case in my kitchen - not happy as want instant hot water and no wastage of water.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Tim

TimAdelaide

Ok when weather is warm, doesn't work in the cold

published
Date PurchasedOct 2015
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Holiday Road

Holiday RoadNorth Queensland, QLD

The Best

published

We installed an infinity 16 in our motorhome so it gets shaken and bashed as well as dust, salt air and very extreme heat and cold.
It's still working like the day we installed it over 13 years ago. The deluxe controllers give is the power to save water as well when living on a water tank.
Not to mention we have many children on board so it's made our travel life so much more comfortable. We wouldn't recommend anything else and if it ever fails we'll be buying another Rinnai.

Date PurchasedMar 2003
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Holiday Road. It's great to hear your INFINITY 16 has served you so well over the years.


Kcir62

Kcir62Adelade

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great system

published

Fantastic
Ihave a B16, not an infinity 16- not sure of the difference, but its always hot and the pressure is always there. Not had a problem with mine.
Its actually hotter than the last heater which was a 20 year old Bosch, plumber recommend Rinnai, even though it was a bit more cost than the Bosch

Date PurchasedJan 2017
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Kcir62, the unit you have is part of the builders range we offer and we are pleased to hear it is working well for you. We wish you many more years of continued use.


Julie

JulieAustralia

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

2 stars for the hot shower!

published
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Pet_au

Pet_auAdelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love our new Rinnai Infinity 16!

published

After owning a Bosch hydro unit for 20+ years (amazingly reliable) it was time to get a new water heater because we were at most, getting only very warm (not hot water) and with winter on the way, we needed to act fast. We chose the Rinnai Infinity 16. We walked into Gas Works on a Monday, bought the unit (it came with the Universal Controller) and it was installed (by plumber and electrician) the very next day. Love the controller... we set our preferred temperature and just turn on the hot water tap and we get continuous hot water at that temperature, with no need to turn on the cold water tap to fiddle around trying to get the right temp. Love it! Hopefully, it will prove to be reliable.

3 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Pet_au
Pet_au
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the update Pet_au, we are glad to hear all members of the family are enjoying being able to regulate the temperature of the hot water from the unit. We wish you many more years of use.


Colin52

Colin52Perth, WA

  • 22 reviews
  • 19 likes

Its fantastic to have hot water running again after having a BOSCH unit that was utterly hopeless.

published
4 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Colin, thanks for your review. We are always happy to hear when our customers have a great experience with both the installation and our product.

Colin52
Colin52
Colin52
Colin52

4 months on and still going strong. Best thing we ever bought for a hot water system.


Rinnai Total Rubbish

published

I have had electric water all my life and never had a problem. I changed to gas water because of a promotion and was told that the gas hot water is cheaper to run and the water temp is good. I have had the Rinnai hot just over two years and I'm am so not happy. The hot water takes so long to heat up and the temp fluctuates. I had rang Rinnai and got me to reset the water unit and nothing happen. they told me it's $132 and then $33 after 15 minutes, what a joke. I'm going to have the unit ripped out and put an electric water back.

3 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thank you for your review. We would like to investigate the problems you have faced with your hot water service. Can you please contact us through the enquiry@rinnai.com.au address quoting this review so we can discuss further.

whathappen
whathappen

You can email me at letterz@tpg.com.au

whathappen
whathappen

Update on my hot water service. Nicola Denny from Rinnai contact me and was very helpful and organized a tech to from out and fix my hot water problem, the tech was very good and quick to sought it out. I"m a very happy chap now. thankyoiu

Keith B.

Keith B.

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Read the scary stories, but the Rinnai 16 is great.

published

Had an instantaneous unit for 35 years, then it died. Read all the negative stuff about all alternatives and was very nervous. I have a 3/8th inch long gas-pipe and gravity feed low-pressure tank water supply. The Rinnai 16 worked straight away, without a problem. It's even better than the old unit because it has a thermostat and no pilot light. Always the same temperature that won't burn the grandkids, but is hot enough for the dishes. Cost $260 for the gas fitter/plumber. Couldn't be happier, as long as it lasts for quite a few years yet.

1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for taking the time to review your new INFINTY unit Keith. We are very pleased to hear it is working so well for you.


Extremely disappointing

published

We had this model installed in March 2015 to service our ensuite which is at the far end of the house from the electric system and it took too long for hot water to reach it. We find that it is marginally improved in the shower but little different in the basin, and for this slight improvement it was simply a waste of money. Contacting the ACTEWAGL shop did not prove helpful.

1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

dianne sulman

dianne sulmanPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Smells of Gas and doesnt heat water and goes hot and cold.

published

Terrible smell of gas gets pushed out.from.the vent. Doesnt feel hot enough to wash dishes not hot enough to remove grease and goes hot n cold all the time when showering. B16. Worst one put in government housing. Must be cheap. No pilot light to save gas money but how much power is used running it. False economy!

1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

See all Rinnai Infinity Range reviews

Questions & Answers

Garry

Garryasked

Hi our Rinnai 16 is not firing up. The ignition does not seem to be kicking in. There is gas going to the system as I can smell it when it tries to ignite. I have checked the electric and the plug is ok
Thanks Garry

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question Garry, if there is gas and power to the unit you may need to book a service call to diagnose the issue. You can book via our website here:
https://www.rinnai.com.au/support-resources/online-service-booking/
or contact us at 1300 555 545 option 2


Ross H

Ross Hasked

Hi my rinnai b16 gas water heater is very loudat start up when someone turns a hot water tap on is this normal

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question Ross H, we would recommend contacting our Technical Department to discuss this matter further. They can be reached on 1300 555 545 (option 3).

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia


DAC

DACasked

Hi.
I note in response to an earlier question, it is said that the product does not consume much power in standby or operating modes. Can you tell me what not much means (in watts) in both standby and operating modes? I have a new PV array & Battery system and am now trying to build a bottoms up energy picture for our household

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question DAC, we would recommend contacting our Technical Department to discuss this matter further. They can be reached on 1300 555 545 (option 3).

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia


Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

Details

CategoryGas Continuous Hot Water Systems
Price (RRP)1195
Release dateAug 2007
Compare all Rinnai Infinity Range

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.