??!
6 photos
Rover Challenger Mulch N Catch

Rover Challenger Mulch N Catch

Push, Self Propelled, Xtra
3.2 from 14 reviews

See the Best Petrol Lawn Mowers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
4
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
4

Stretch

StretchAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

The best mower

published

Still has a snorkel twin air filter, this is perfect for the Aust Dry dusty conditions. Dust is extremely harmful to engines. Easy start one pull, no choke, 173cc motor, handles long grass no troubles, my 9yo son starts and mows the lawn. Easy to empty clam shell catcher with fill indicator and does not clog. The catcher hangs off the back rather than slots into shute, such a simple well thought out design for easy removal and re attachment. Self propelled makes it easier to mow, I wont got back to a push mower. The self propelled makes mowing a lazy task, so when your not using the self propelled option the mower feels heavy, its not heavy, its just that your used to the self propelled option. Great 5 year warranty. I love mowing.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Look at other makes

published
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Good value

published

I had the push model 800 and found that it cut and mulched well but too heavy to push up hill. Traded up to the 880 self propelled and couldn't be happier. The 5 year warranty is a big plus. Use catcher seldom as it mulshers soo fine. So far so good

Date PurchasedJan 2017
dan801

dan801Queensland

  • 17 reviews
  • 16 likes

Powerful and Affordable

published

I bought this from a local hardware chain at a cheap price. For the price is does a really good job. It has been flawless in the past 12 months. Starts first time generally. My major gripe is that its only one speed and that you have to hold the throttle down at all times otherwise it stalls. This gets tiresome on the hand after a while. The muncher is hard to get in and out as well. Overall not a bad machine.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Kingy

KingyBrisbane

Excellent for the price

published

I've had this mower for 1 year, and regularly cut a 1/2 acre block over varying ground with it . I have not had one single issue with it thus far, and consider it great value for money. For those few who continually winge about what flaws there are, I would ask you to consider that nothing is perfect, especially for the asking price. My suggestion is :- sit down for 5 minutes, have a strong cup of "Harden the crap up, and learn to use what you paid good money for.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

After more than 60 years you would think they'd get it right? Not this crowd!

published
Date PurchasedSep 2013

kaz

kazFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Do not buy this mower

published

Wheels fall off and needed to be put back on back area metal weld fell apart only use mower every 3 weeks 19 months old poor quality warranty what does that mean don't buy a rover I have had mowers for 10 years and this is a lemon poor Quality

Date PurchasedApr 2015

love this mower

published

Mower works the way a mower should.
mulches like a dream and is easy to clean using the hose attachment.
the mower is a little bit heavy due to the steel deck and large engine but I would rather the weight than having to restart the mower when It bogs down on the long spring grass.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Crap

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Not a bad mower....

published

I did have a few issues with the belt coming off but seems to be going ok now.
Cuts well and excellent motor. I would recommend the mower, especially for a large fairly flat lawn.
The catcher is a good size but a little difficult to get on. Mulches well.

Date PurchasedOct 2014

chrisoftheinland

chrisoftheinlandAU

  • 9 reviews

A horrific experience with this "machine"

published

Dave

DaveBrisbane

  • 3 reviews

Moving on from ALDI mower to Rover

published

Hand throttle difficult to maintain even revs

published

The catcher has to be so precisely fitted that after being emptied a few times grass clippings build up in edges so catcher does not fit properly. Debris has to be brushed off before catcher fits without any gaps. In previous mowers the motor would be left idling while catcher emptied would have blown debris off edges where catcher fitted.
Warranty
Heavy, uses more fuel with uneven revs and having to restart motor when catcher emptied.


Steve

Steve

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Fantastic

published

Have owned for 2 months so its a little early for writing a review, This OHV 880 Mulch n Catch Self propelled mower with the Japanese engine is a treat, Starts First pull after priming, Mulches really well, When using catcher all clippings are picked up. Easy Empty, Good on Fuel, But I Only Use Premium..
Rear opening catcher is really user friendly, Easy start, Comfortable pace in self propelled mode.

2 comments
Steve
Steve
Steve
Steve

For My Oil Changes I Use Penrite Full Synthetic 5w-30 Oil, Fantastic Product Will Help The Mowers Engine Last Years Longer. Don't Skimp on Oil Quality..

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and Rover representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.