??!
1 photo
Masport Bunnings 490 4'n1

Masport Bunnings 490 4'n1

MPN: 578763
4.3 from 44 reviews

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(26)
(11)
(4)
(0)
(3)
  • Build Quality
    4.4 (14)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (15)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (15)
  • Product is used:
    • Weekly (7)
    • Occasionally (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (13)
  • Safety
    4.3 (13)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    4.0 (12)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (13)


Peter C.

Peter C.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

Good but some poor design features!

published

Purchased in May 2019 for $599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers

Havoc

HavocSydney

  • 2 reviews

Can't really fault it for the price

published

I've had the 490 for a few years now, never had any problems with it. I haven't treated it very well and its only been serviced once since I bought it.
It doesn't love long thick grass, but will handle it ok if you don't use the catcher or mulch plug. It performs well otherwise. The catcher is tiny and I never use it anyway, mulching is the only way to go if you have a big yard. On that note, if you have a big-ish yard I'd recommend something with a larger cutting deck.

Overall decent quality and has proven its durability.

Purchased in February 2015 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers
David.p

David.pMurray Mallee, SA

  • 13 reviews

Cuts okay

published

Just bought this lawnmower. It cuts okay not quite as powerful as what I was expecting - cut out on thicker grass. Does a nice mulch cut and works well on your normal grass. Does not work very well when going of grass because it brings up a lot of dust and can cut out. Overall I am satisfied with it, but not sure I would recommend due to lack of power compared to price.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
Terry

TerryPerth, WA

Made the right choice!

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers

AnneL

AnneLSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Great

published

Purchased for my husband for his birthday. He loves the lawn mower. It cuts great and he actually enjoys cutting the lawns now. Really happy with my purchase. Would highly recommend

Purchased in August 2019 for $480.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Joe denyer

Joe denyerGungahlin 2912, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Lives up to its claims

published

The mower works well in wet and dry lawns it catches quite and also pick up other Gardens clippings with ease as well
Throttle on the machine is also very responsive doesn’t stick like some mowers all in all very impressed with fuel consumption as well

Purchased in April 2018 for $389.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers

Easy start. Great work hourse

published

One tank does my whole lawn the back yard is flat but the front has a steep climb the wide tyres make pushing easy over soft soil and rough edges. The mower is very quite compared to my old mower

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Rhys K.

Rhys K.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Better with age

published

After first picking this up at the local Bunnings I took it home and couldn't start it.

I was loathe to return it as I didn't want to deal with all the hassle of warranty claims and wait times so I persisted. After about an hour watching puffs of white smoke and it not starting I tried some Start Ya, and after a few pulls it roared to life.

Had it for a few months now and it starts first or second pull every time. Impressed with the high quality and ease of use and it's multiple features.

Worried at first but it's definitely been a good buy.

Purchased in February 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Only used twice. Cord won’t pull on third attempt

published

Cord won’t pull after only two uses. Their manual explains nothing important. Contacting Masport is frustrating, as they have a form to fill out, asking too many details, and I have to wait for them to contact me after sending the form. I need to use it today, not later on. These large companies just don’t care about the individual customer. They should at least have the curtesy to print out a decent manual or have a website for troubleshooting. I’m sorry I bought it.

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers
Jipped and angry

Jipped and angryMelbourne

  • 13 reviews

LEMON mower avoid - failed after 4 uses

published

Bought from Bunnings 2019. Motor supposed to be good quality Briggs and Stratton 625 EX. After 4 uses on very small lawn motor refused to start, after many attempts started a couple of times, spluttered,coughed out smoke, then died when attempted to push over grass. Yet another example of shoddy manufacturing and rip off products that last a few months if you are lucky. Avoid at all costs.

Purchased in March 2019 for $599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers

Chantelle

ChantelleHunter Region, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Best lawn mower

published

Love this lawnmower, easy for a woman to use, tells you when it's full, doesn't guzzle petrol, worth every cent! Easy to clean also. My lawn looks great. Thanks bunnings

Purchased in April 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $449.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers

Richie

RichieSouth West, WA

  • 2 reviews

Hard Grafting Residential Mower with Commercial Grunt.

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $580.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Alan D

Alan DSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

I stared my business with this mower and it served me well for a year before I sadly had to dis own her

published

Easy to use and very reliable never had a issue with it until the end only thing was it was a little hard to start but otherwise good mad my money back 10 fold

Purchased in September 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Yval

YvalPalmeston

  • 14 reviews
  • Verified purchase

great multipurpose mower

published

So I bought this along with a new whipper snipper ready for the rainy season. Our old one still usable but struggled to keep up. This machine does heavy duty works, large and heavy enough to stay on the ground and mow our entire yard evenly in one go. the catcher is roomy so I don't need to keep empty it up unless I mow green branches and weed from my veggie garden. The engine is covered properly, made by Briggs&Stratton (625exi). Overall it has a great design with wood chipper although it is a bit lame since we can only put 35mm branches, this is mainly good for palm fronds. Easy to start, so far no problem. Noise wise, it is bearable.

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers
pont67

pont67AU

  • 57 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not perect but pretty good

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Keith

KeithGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great mower.

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

  • Verified purchase

Very good impressions after first use. Starts first pull.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018

rick

rick

  • 5 reviews

perfect mower worth it for price

published

Great mower not much you can say about it but does the job and sarts every time so and for around 500 bucks it great value just one thing with this mower is the blades are crazy high in price all tho you can run just two blades which cheap option

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Pickles Jones

Pickles JonesPerth

  • 9 reviews

Suprisingly Starts First Pull

published

This mower is fitted with a Briggs and Stratton petrol engine which surprisingly starts at first pull every time, like they say it should.

Briggs and Stratton engines have come a long way operationally over the last few years and this engine is matched well to the mower, giving ample power for a tough mow.

I have owned it for two years now and have never used the catcher as the mulcher mode works really good.

The mower its self is good quality and the four cutting blade system works really well.

I would recommend this mower to a friend.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Adam09

Adam09Brisbane

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

I never thought it would be possible to love your lawnmower!

published

After moving to a house with a very large yard after 14 years of apartment living - add to that the fact I'd NEVER mowed a lawn in my life - It took me a while to choose the right mower. I ended up choosing the Masport 490 and definitely have no regrets. SO easy to setup, and due to our large lawn I love that I don't need to use the catcher & have the choice of mulch / smart chute.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Donna S.

Donna S.asked

What volume of oil required prior to first use of the 490 4 in 1?

No answers

johno

johnoasked

Which machine uses a solid bar type cutter?

1 answer
Pickles Jones
Pickles Jones

masport.com.au/about/masport-lawnmowers#blades


Get an answer from our members and Masport representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.