??!
3 photos
Masport President 4000

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now

Reviews

3.7

22 reviews
5
(12)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(4)
  • Build Quality
    2.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (1)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (1)
  • Safety
    3.0 (1)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next
David S.

David S.Darwin, NT

  • 2 reviews

Good but pricey

published

I purchased this after my 7yo Victa finally had enough. The grass was long and it went throigh it with ease. It started easily and is comfortable to push. The catcher can really get filled right up with loads of cuttings. My yard is quite large resodential and usually take about 45-60mins to mow. However, when you first start it there is a 10cm or so gap between the catcher and the mower frame that lets a heck of alot of dust through, this to me is a design flaw and nothing to do with allowing air through. It eventually clogs with grass and is okay but it does it again after you empty it. I never had this problem with the Victa which cost less than half the price.

Purchased in November 2019 for A$899.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Thomas Lamberton

Thomas LambertonGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very good mower

published

Great mower purchased it as a back to our ride on unit. This Masport President 4000 has it all catcher mulcher and stick mulcher up to 35mm diameter. And it handles the 35 mm sticks no worries. We live in a very hilly tree filled area so there is always multiple branches down on trees, that we just simply feed through the mulcher chute and gone all is left is mulch for the gardens. Great! We only have to empty the catcher 2-3 a cut as stated earlier this is a back up for a bigger mower so we are very happy with the Masport plenty of power to do what we want and more. After the previous mower we had let us down badly it is so good to feel like we have a quality product, that we can rely on once again. GOOD WORK masport

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Nah

NahBrisbane

  • 6 reviews

This is very good.

published

This is by far the best lawn mower that I ever had. No problems at all. Very affordable. Briggs and Sttratton engine is very strong and works great. I am very happy with my new mower. The grass in my yard was very long. And this mower did a great job. I have purchased three mowers in less than 5 years. So far this one is working great. I would recommend.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Masport President 4000 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Phil H

Phil H

  • 6 reviews

Great lawn mower

published

This by far is the best lawn mower i have ever brought not only do tou get value for money but you get trust and reliable lawn mower great mulching to. Have had cheap brands before but not worth having better off getting a great mower for that little bit extra

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Jake

JakeAdelaide

  • 4 reviews

Great mower with good power

published

Overall a great mower - has a bit of extra power to make the job easy. Briggs and Stratton engine works perfectly. Comes with a catcher or mulcher settings, easy to push and store - comes with a handing hook for the catcher and the handles fold down to size. Easy to clean and I like the colour.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Quadrus

QuadrusAuckland

Falling to bits. Warranty not honoured

published

Used on a single easy-going lawn on a 5th acre house section. The plastic catcher has cracked, other plastic broken, rubber handle falling apart. Very inferior compared to the Victa I owned for 30 yrs. The Ellerslie Stihl Shop from whom I purchased the mower did not stock the spare parts or honour the warranty

Date PurchasedJan 2015
DebDeb

DebDebMelbourne

  • 7 reviews

Gets through couch grass

published

My old Victa Corsair finally gave up on me. Looked around at Bunnings and Mitre 10 for a replacement but finally settled for a Masport from local mowing company (Mowers Galore). Was recommended by a friend and it's fantastic. Easy start. No stupid mixing of fuels. Cuts through our couch grass, even when long and wet. Folds up easily for shed storage. Initial cost is high but if I can get 20 odd years out of it like my Victa- its worth it. Can't fault it.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
mr weston

mr westonParadise

  • 6 reviews

used on my aunts lawn as she ownd it works like a charm.

published

It works completely fine and has a great amount of power and leaves great stripes on the lawn and easy to use the lawn mower. Works fine and is very fuel efficient. Please buy asap if it still available and I believe it is. Will definitely use it again if she wants me to.

Date PurchasedOct 2013
Costa

CostaMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Very hard to start with semi old fuel! Model 4000 president B & S 161cc

published

Once i have started the mower it does everything i require. The engine/or design makes it very hard to start with leftover fuel in the tank or in a storage container over a few weeks old. I am fit and reasonably strong and it may take up to eight attempts to start, if you are an older person etc i would suggest at minimum get this possible problem written into the warranty. The service person from the mower shop i purchased this from also stated that the problem is worse on premium fuel.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Masport President 4000 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not worth the price

published

After spending a small fortune on a mower i believed would last a while, the catcher and catcher flap have a major design flaw... the plastic parts are splitting and falling off.. I have had to do some DYI repairs to strengthen it and prolong the life but it was only a short term solution....I will be going for a Honda next time.

Date PurchasedOct 2015
Swanguy7

Swanguy7Hunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent quality .

published
Date PurchasedJan 2009
Dave

DaveMelbourne

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Go Out And Buy One!!!

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
The Doctor

The DoctorWA

  • 11 reviews
  • 22 likes

Great Mower for the Price!

published

I have owned two of these and were great for my horticultural business. Never had any issue. Reliable machine.
Better than Victa! Easy to use and works like a knife through butter!
The mulching feature is great on slightly longer grass in hot weather as you don't really need the grassbox!

Date PurchasedSep 2012

Don't listen to negativity. This is a top mower..

published

I recently replaced my victor 2 stroke of 20 years with the Masport 4000AL. Masport offered better value for money at $765 as opposed to the Honda HRU19K $850. I had to wait 5 days to receive the Masport, and my yard was in desperate need of mowing.
I'm so impressed with the Masport with its effortless power and huge catcher capability, I mowed my whole yard only having to empty the catcher twice. I would have had to empty the catcher on my victor at least 5 times. I didn't even need to get the blower out after mowing as the Masport left minimal clippings behind. I highly recommend this mower to anyone looking to replace any great mower.

Buster

BusterAdelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

WASTE OF MONEY

published

Had the unit for almost 2 years, I was talked into it by the retailer, who I have purchased from in the past. PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. Masport should be embarrassed to sell this. It is gradually falling apart. Not sure where to start with the faults. The B&S motor is the only redeeming part of the unit, rest of the mower is very cheap. Retailer is not interested. Catcher does not fit properly, falls off all the time, pull started cord failed, list goes on.....I do like to do my own mechanical maintenance myself, but I have had enough. I should have purchased a pair of scissors, it would have been less stressful.

Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Masport President 4000 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jase1987

jase1987AU

  • 23 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great Mower At Good Price!

published

I bought my 4000al about 8 months ago, it was cheaper than some other high end mowers like Honda, etc. So far it's been great, starts and runs fine, catcher is good. 4 blades are great, also like the padding on handle. One bad point, mulch plug is hard to fit, once fitted it works ok, although don't use it on high grass or wet grass (common sense anyways), apart from that one problem it's good so far for the lower dollars.

BoofsaDog

BoofsaDogSydney, NSW

  • 68 reviews
  • 64 likes

Less than OK

published
Date PurchasedJul 2015
D.Mason

D.MasonHunter Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Save at the Recycled Yard - Bargin.

published
huck162

huck162Sydney, NSW

A disgrace

published

Looked nice in shop and then > catcher fell apart > that damn autochoke floods it > handle bar protector broke down > the pin on the smart chute fell out > not worth the drama, somebody's being to smart by halves on the manufacturing line !!!! this is an inferior push mower that toros leave in the dust
Colour

Disappointed

published

Wont start when hot..... this mower seemed to be the right one until I mowed the front lawn and wheeled it out the back.

Been back to mower shop twice since new only 1 month old

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Gaza

Gazaasked

President 4000

Can someone tell me how to use the smart flap

2 answers
Thomas Lamberton
Thomas Lamberton

Mate they are a bit tight to fit (if you are meaning the mulching blank). You need to insert 1 side in first and then use a bit of push to get the other side to click in. Probably the hardest thing about using these mowers, but it works.

Gaza
Gaza

Thx Thomas but I mean the smart chute that the catcher connects on to. There is a spring which appears to be able to hold the chute up but it appears you have to unclip it to swing it up somehow.

Dee

Deeasked

President 4000

how to attach the fitting that directs cuttings to the side?

1 answer
David S.
David S.

I don't have an attachment that shoots to the side. My mulching attachment shoots the cut grass back into the ground. It's tricky to explain it but I'll try. Make sure the engine is off, open the catching compartment and put the attachment in the back as far as it will go then push down with your foot, it will click in then allow the catcher door/flap to close. Also try Youtube or, preferably, ask where you purchased it for a demo.

Jan E.

Jan E.asked

President 4000

how much does masport 4000 cost

2 answers
Thomas Lamberton
Thomas Lamberton

Well the unit I purchased has a chipper/mulcher tube for sticks up to 30mm in diameter. This particular unit can cut/catch cut/mulch and rear throw via an attachment. And as mentioned above it has the chipper tube also. I paid $699 from memory and have not had a moments trouble with the mower. I would recommend this mower any day. It is worth every cent I paid for it. Oh and very easy o start every time.

Fired Up
Fired Up

But the price is listed in this site.
Or..you could just google it

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.