??!
5 photos
Honda HRU19

Honda HRU19

HRU19K1, HRU19M1, HRU19D, etc...
3.9 from 128 reviews

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(71)
(22)
(8)
(8)
(19)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (11)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (11)
  • Product is used
    • Weekly (7)
    • Daily (2)
    • Occasionally (1)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (11)
  • Safety
    4.7 (10)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.6 (10)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (11)
Dean

DeanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

What A doosy

published

Wont pick up the Cut Grass.
Get used to it. Had my HRU 19 for a number years. Wont load the catcher consisitantly. Basically leaves 80% of cuttings on your lawn. Done the blades cleaned the catcher many times. These are just the poorest design I have ever seen especially being regarded as a good brand. Easy to start just buy a few rakes for your entire family at the same time. The Motor does seem slightly under powered just able to cut a medium to low lawn. Very quiet.
I'll stick with the previous brand and retire this to the farm for small trimmings where the cuttings can stay on the lawn. Honda should have got onto this before releasing these mowers.

Purchased in January 2016 for $950.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Darryl

DarrylSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Great mower

published

Have used Honda equipment for a couple of decades now. I do like the older model mower for use and this model I can not fault. Cuts great, nice balanced machine when the catcher is full and starts first time every time.

Purchased in March 2000 at Honda Dealers for $799.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers

Bundaberg Qld 2020

published

Purchased in February 2020 for $880.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU19 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jeff A

Jeff AHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Perfect for 27 years

published

Purchase 27 years ago finally wore out. It mowed large blocks of grass, with lots rocks. A great mower to have and I am about to purchase another one. I will not have to buy another after this.

Purchased in May 1992.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
David R.

David R.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Can't love with out

published

it always starts first time. I have had my mower for the past 2 years and will always buy a Honda. I sent a few improvements to be done and it has so thank you Honda power team

Purchased in December 2017 for $1,199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Daily
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Best Mower Ever

published

Purchased my Honda mower back in 2016 and what can i say, faultless. Always starts on the first pull of the cord, with the sharpest cutting of any mower that i have previously used.
I would recommend this mower to anyone out there.

Purchased in November 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Layadi T.

Layadi T.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Good but a bit heavy for me

published

Bought second hand last year from gumtree. Was not planning to buy Honda because this one is heavy however have some mate doing the strata maintenance that gave me great review on them they say the engine keeps going after decades its still going only the body is damaged and need to be fixed/replaced but the engine it self working great. After hearing that I decide to get one second hand and it has been good so far.

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Sandy Sweeper

Sandy Sweeper

  • 6 reviews

Great job

published

Good cuts dry or wet, high or low. Catcher is just big enough, however solid. Starts most times first go, but don't leave it idle to long as it heats up rapidly. Always clean under deck as blades will stay sharper for longer. Copes with lawn and shabby rentals grass. 6/10.

Purchased in February 2018 at Best Buy mowers for $850.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
1 comment
Sandy Sweeper
Sandy Sweeper

I also only buy Honda and Stihl.

ROLLA

ROLLACentral Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Great mower

published

Easy to use, easily the best mower I have ever used. Top quality, easy to refill. Only downside is the catcher fills up only half way when the grass is too thick. But still a great mower. I use the mulching attachment alot and works great.

Purchased in May 2013.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU19 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark

MarkVictoria

  • 5 reviews

Great

published

I have used honda mowers professionally for years and have never had a problem with one . They do great job on all types of lawn and are easy to use .

Purchased in January 2016 for $920.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Good, reliable unit

published

Had mower now for 9 months, block of land is half an acre, easy pull start and cuts grass easily even when wet. Dont catch grass in catcher, use it on its mulch setting.

Purchased in July 2018 at Melbourne mower centre for $700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
rassaf

rassaf

  • 10 reviews

One of the best buys you can make.

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2005
My Names Earl

My Names EarlCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

New HRU19M2 Buffalo Premium (November 2018)

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Yogi

YogiNorth Queensland, QLD

Excellant

published

Best Mower I ever had with good catcher and easy to start great motor & easy to keep clean. Great height adjust too. In other words a great mower overall. Just goes & goes. Recommend this mower to anybody who is thinking of buying a mower. Starts first go every time

Date PurchasedJan 2016
John Z

John ZGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 15 reviews

Best lawn mower I've ever owned.

published

First of all this mower isn't for small yards. It's pretty heavy to manoeuvre around tight corners . It's great for long straights of grass. Mum lives on a corner block and is great for the nature strip and front yard but not so great in the small back yard. It's also pretty heavy. The 3 speed self propelled system is great. You can also push it manually if you don't want the auto propelling. This thing starts first pop. The catcher is huge and cuts through dirt if you let it. I love it but the wife thinks it's to complicated to use. That's what I say about the washing machine. Seriously it's worth every dollar.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU19 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Christian C

Christian CPort Macquarie

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Mower for Life

published
Date PurchasedApr 1998
Neil Burton

Neil BurtonSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Starts first time everything as promised

published

Fantastic mower.
Easy to start, nice and easy to push around, great catcher and that brilliant Honda quality and reliability.
Our yard is not the biggest but using this mower is always nice and easy and the catcher is one of the largest ones I have used.
And say goodbye to the hard to start frustrations of the older style mowers as this bad boy starts first time every time.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Troy

TroyAdelaide

  • 6 reviews

Great enrty level mower

published

My second Honda mower after buying cheaper brand models over the years. Definitely worth the extra money. Never fails to perform on a small/medium lawn at holiday home. Is a little light weight for anything heavy duty but easy to maneuver compared to my other Honda self propelled heavy duty mower at home. Don't waste your money/time on cheaper options..definitely worth the extra

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Grass catcher

published

We have had two Honda mowers. The first for 21 years. New one is great and starts every time. The only frustration is the grass catcher, as grass gets caught between the steel rod and the soft catcher. It gets emptied many times during each mowing session. Is there a hard plastic catcher available for this model.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Ian

IanMelbourne

  • 6 reviews

Great Build Quality & Faultless Operation.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

rickn2115

rickn2115asked

Buffalo Buck HRU19R1

I used this mower last week with no problems
Now it starts but wont run ?
What position should the petrol tap be in - it is hard to see.
It starts with the choke on but then wont run in any position ?

2 answers
Jeff A
Jeff A

I am not sure but try all positions. Pull the full line off to see if it is blocked. If not see your Honda dealer

Jennifer J.
Jennifer J.

Facing up if off. Facing left is on.

Brian B

Brian Basked

What grade of oil does a buffalo bull use

2 answers
Jeff A
Jeff A

SAE 30 if in hot conditions which is most of Australia. I always used my 15W 40 diesel oil from my car. That way one oil. You will not use much in the Honda, only regular oil changes

Brian B
Brian B

thank you very much for that

Gary J.

Gary J.asked

what year was it built? Srl # gjaea-6106585-my6

1 answer
Jeff A
Jeff A

Early 1990 not 100% sure

Get an answer from our members and Honda representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.