?
? !
5 photos
Honda HRU19

Honda HRU19

HRU19K1, HRU19M1, HRU19D, etc...
3.9 from 141 reviews · View Statistics

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.8 (25)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (25)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (25)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (25)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (25)
  • Safety
    4.5 (24)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.5 (23)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (24)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
jbambury

jbambury

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

A great mower and very reliable

published

Purchased in May 2004 for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alan

AlanFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Extremely happy with this mower

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ruben

RubenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great BUT

published

Purchased in September 2014 at Mower place Browns plains for $739.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU19 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Carburetor plays up after about 3 years

published

Purchased for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vaz

VazSouth East Queensland, QLD

Very well designed mower

published

Bought a Honda HRU19 a few months back. Wasn't sure about the absence of a throttle but seems to run at around 75% power which is enough for most lawns. It has the GCV170 engine and stops very quickly when you release the safety lever. This helps with not getting a face full of grass when emptying the catcher. Great, quality mower.

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Colmas

Colmas

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Lawn Mower

published

Purchased in November 2020 for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
turbotrana

turbotranaPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Carburetor cleaning is tricky

published

Purchased in December 2010 for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Country boy

Country boyLitchfield, NT

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Had three of these now

published

I remember the model with the bag and small chute that was prone to blocking stayed on very well, unfortunately the plastic polymer falls off or at least spits clippings in warm weather or midday sun due to it being black and expanding/bending when hot. I like the mowers but there's always been a problem with Honda catchers which lets them down. Would be pretty well perfect if they could sort this issue

Purchased in June 2020 for $850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
CamPoole

CamPooleGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Honda finally did something right.

published

Purchased in June 2020 for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU19 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Robbo3057

Robbo3057New South Wales

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

It's a Nice Mower But ....

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Mower Specialist for $1,229.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JOHN

JOHNmelbourne

  • 9 reviews
  • 19 likes

Fantastic

published

Fantastic domestic mower, mulching plug works well. small rear opening can get blocked if grass is moist but still ok. clippings fertilize grass and grass appears greener after mulching. start first time everytime!!

Purchased in November 2010 for $750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
RedDog

RedDogLaunceston, TAS

  • 3 reviews

Honda Mowers are top value for money. My HRU19 runs perfectly. So dies my 1985 HRU214.

published

Purchased in June 2010 at TAS CHAINSAWS AND MOWERS, Launceston for $925.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
les

lesSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 11 likes

My Father Was Right Dont Buy Cheap Rubbish!! This Is The Best Mower!

published

This lawnmower never gives up! Never stops running and its build quality is obviously the best why?? Because it just works every time..

I have buffalo and 5 acres ( this is used close to my house)

Ask yourself how often do you want to replace a mower??

Purchased in June 2019 for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dean

DeanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

What A doosy

published

Wont pick up the Cut Grass.
Get used to it. Had my HRU 19 for a number years. Wont load the catcher consisitantly. Basically leaves 80% of cuttings on your lawn. Done the blades cleaned the catcher many times. These are just the poorest design I have ever seen especially being regarded as a good brand. Easy to start just buy a few rakes for your entire family at the same time. The Motor does seem slightly under powered just able to cut a medium to low lawn. Very quiet.
I'll stick with the previous brand and retire this to the farm for small trimmings where the cuttings can stay on the lawn. Honda should have got onto this before releasing these mowers.

Purchased in January 2016 for $950.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Darryl

DarrylSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Great mower

published

Have used Honda equipment for a couple of decades now. I do like the older model mower for use and this model I can not fault. Cuts great, nice balanced machine when the catcher is full and starts first time every time.

Purchased in March 2000 at Honda Dealers for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU19 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Bundaberg Qld 2020

published

Purchased in February 2020 for $880.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jeff A

Jeff AHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Perfect for 27 years

published

Purchase 27 years ago finally wore out. It mowed large blocks of grass, with lots rocks. A great mower to have and I am about to purchase another one. I will not have to buy another after this.

Purchased in May 1992.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
David R.

David R.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Can't love with out

published

it always starts first time. I have had my mower for the past 2 years and will always buy a Honda. I sent a few improvements to be done and it has so thank you Honda power team

Purchased in December 2017 for $1,199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Tony Popa

Tony Popa

  • 2 reviews

Best Mower Ever

published

Purchased my Honda mower back in 2016 and what can i say, faultless. Always starts on the first pull of the cord, with the sharpest cutting of any mower that i have previously used.
I would recommend this mower to anyone out there.

Purchased in November 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Layadi T.

Layadi T.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Good but a bit heavy for me

published

Bought second hand last year from gumtree. Was not planning to buy Honda because this one is heavy however have some mate doing the strata maintenance that gave me great review on them they say the engine keeps going after decades its still going only the body is damaged and need to be fixed/replaced but the engine it self working great. After hearing that I decide to get one second hand and it has been good so far.

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

John Charlie A.

John Charlie A.asked

HRU19

Where do the throttle cables connect on carby

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

From your many posts I believe you should take it to a proper service agent.

John Charlie A.

John Charlie A.asked

HRU19

What type of spark plug & gap size

No answers
John Charlie A.

John Charlie A.asked

Buffalo Buck HRU19K1

Fuel pours out when i open fuel valve

2 answers
Vaz
Vaz

Pours out where?

Maveri
Maveri

You really need to describe exactly where the fuel is leaking from

Is it because of a lose clamp around the value (there's one prior to the valve and one afterwards, they are spring versions)

They might have come lose but more likely the hose might have developed a split after the valve (otherwise it would leak all the time)

You really need to describe in detail where the leak is happening

See all Honda HRU19 questions

Get an answer from our members

Honda HRU19

Details

Compare all 5 Honda HRU19
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $939.00$899.00$889.00$899.00
Power SourcePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
FeaturesBlade Brake, Mulching Capability and Quick-Start MotorBlade Brake, Deck Clean-out Port and Mulching CapabilityBlade Brake, Deck Clean-out Port and Mulching Capability
Catcher Type RigidRigidRigidRigid
Catcher Capacity60 L60 L54 L54 L
Cutting Deck MaterialAluminium AlloyAluminium AlloyAluminium AlloyPlastic
Cutting Width470 mm482 mm470 mm470 mm
Height of Cut16 mm to 76 mm16 mm to 76 mm16 mm to 80 mm16 mm to 80 mm
Number of Blades1111
Weight34 kg34 kg31 kg
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)4 year(s)4 year(s)4 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameHonda GCV160 4-StrokeHonda GCV160 4 StrokeHonda 170cc OHV/OHC 4-stroke EngineHonda GCV170
Engine Type4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke, OHC (Overhead Cam) and OHV (Overhead Valve)4-Stroke
BrandHondaHondaHondaHonda
Engine Displacement170 cc
Release dateSept 2010Sept 2010Sept 2010
Replaced byHonda Buffalo Buck HRU19M1
Compare all 5 Honda HRU19

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.