??!
2 photos
Masport Bunnings 486 3'n1

Masport Bunnings 486 3'n1

MPN: 578762
3.7 from 36 reviews

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(14)
(13)
(0)
(2)
(7)
  • Build Quality
    4.9 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    4.9 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (6)
  • Product is used
    • Weekly (5)
    • Occasionally (1)
    • Daily (1)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (7)
  • Safety
    5.0 (7)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    4.4 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.8 (6)
Darren

DarrenMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great value for money

published

Purchased recently - used about 5 times. Mow is great, very easy to start.

The only minor issue I have is the catcher is a little smaller than my last mower. I am being extremely picky about this.

Used the side eject for the 1st time today and it was great, ejects the grass well away.

I cannot fault the mower so far and highly recommend it.

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers

Masport. mower

published

I love it so much power and its so lite. Mulching plug works a breeze I have buffalo and it cutters thou that like butter and the cachet is perfect I don't have to empty very often.

Purchased in April 2015 at Bunnings Warehouse for $500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Daily
See all answers
George G

George GMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • Verified purchase

Very good value for money mower.

published

Picked this up as a replacement for an ozito mower. Can say it's much better. Only thing I would warn people on, if you're looking to mow thick grass really short then you should consider getting the 490.

For most (99%) jobs this is more than sufficient.

It's light, the catcher catches everything really well. It can cut really short as needed and best part was there was practically nothing to put together. It come assembled out of the box.

Starting is. Breeze, it started first pull straight out of the box.

Mulching performance is ok, but you do need to understand that mulching can only be done on trims, you cannot mulch big cuts back into the lawn .

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $498.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Masport Bunnings 486 3'n1 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
kelly

kelly

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Awesome mulcher

published

We have average size front and back lawn no need for the catcher have not used it have used it on mulcher everytime and no need to take afterwards we love it and got it on clearance saved $100

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $398.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers

Best mower I’ve used

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $498.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Leisha

LeishaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

First one was faulty but replacement works great

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Keiras001

Keiras001Hunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great reliable mower.

published

I have only used the mower a few times now, but I am so far very impressed.
It was easy to assemble, and it excellent on fuel, using less than any other mower I’ve ever owned.
Really easy to manoeuvre,.. so far very impressed with the mower.

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $498.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Sheree.G

Sheree.GWestern Australia

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Best lawnmower .. our grass is now amazing!!

published

This lawnmower is one of the best we have ever owned. It starts first time every time, we can do the backyard without having to empty the catcher numerous times too! The catcher is quite large. Pushing the mower is so easy as its smooth and allows us to jot struggle like we did with out last mower. Easy to adjust the cutting levels too. Definitely recommend this lawn mower for quality, price and ease of use!

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Vic

VicGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Good engine and thats about all....

published

I bought a Masport mower six months ago and things started to break. First the throttle lever stopped working. Works one way only, then the catcher fell apart poor click in design (it comes in two half and clicks together) and worst of them all is the the disc that the blades are on. It broke after six months of use and they won't cover it under warranty claim. Another poor design...... they now have after market kits where they included a strengthening washer to compensate the poor design. Next thing will go will be the wheels bearings. They seem to be rattling .

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Masport Bunnings 486 3'n1 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

A good and basic lawn mower.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Neil Dee

Neil DeeSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Ripper little Mower

published

Just brought the Massport 3 in 1. This unit runs a Briggs & Stratton 4 stroke (made in USA)

I reseached the Choice Magazine reviews and went shopping to look over the Victa....Toro...Rover....Massport & Husqvarna.

Massport won hands down ! No choke or prime required before start.
I unpacked and filled with oil / petrol, pulled the cord (easy no strain) started Straight away.....very surprised as to how quiet the unit is and the comfortable handle grip.
Mowed the lawn straight away with ease.The unit is light, easy to navigate and clean....would I buy again....absolutley

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Deb

Deb

  • 5 reviews

very happy with my lawn mower

published

the catcher is large, l dont think you would wont anything bigger as it would be too heavy to empty. As l have a big back and front yard, it does need emptying a few times when we are mowing the lawns. The blades do tend to turn inwards often tho, constantly tightening them.

Date PurchasedJun 2015
Mumma

MummaBrisbane

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Easy to use and start!

published

I am delighted with my new Masport mower. My teenage son assembled and put oil in when it was first purchased and raved to me about how much he loves it. I finally have used it myself and couldn’t believe how much easier it is to use than our old victa. It starts first time, has a very wide cutting area and is so easy to push. I would absolutely recommend this mower!

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Crowny

CrownyMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Happy With It

published

I avoid mowing as much as I can and only actually do it when I have to. That means the grass is often longer than ideal and this thing chews through it no problems. It always stats first pop and has given me no trouble at all. I would prefer a better design for the catcher like the old style ones as it can block up at the mouth if the grass is damp but it's OK. The width of the cut it quite reasonable, have not measured it but it seems to cover a good width per pass. This has served me well so far and I am quite happy with it,

Date PurchasedJul 2016
Brian F

Brian F

  • 3 reviews

Great Mower so far

published

Purchased my Masport 486 20.04.18 and used it next day. We have an 11.4 acre property but only about 3 acres needed mowing. The 486 was a delight to use, started first time every time, even when it ran dry. The grass I had to mow was pretty tough in some places and the motor is powerful enough to go straight through in most cases with out losing revs. I spent 5 hours on two days using it and it mowed brilliantly. So far so good, highly recommended at this stage.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Masport Bunnings 486 3'n1 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shell

ShellMaryborough

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Good for Price

published

This mower cuts well. It has a good cutting width that gets the job done quickly. It sometimes clogs up and when it does it bogs the mower down quite a bit and then drops big clumps if grass. I really like the mulching plug and the catcher has a good capacity.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Shane

ShaneVictoria

  • 14 reviews

Love my mower

published

Got my new masport mower only a few months back easy toassemble out of the box added oil started first pull just chugs away through stubborn grass. Briggs n stratton motor rang their helpline for advice had it out most fortnights no trouble at all. This is the first masport I have had I usually have had other brands Im really surprised and amazed

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Tim

Tim

  • 4 reviews

Starts first go everytime

published

The best thing about Masport mowers is where your wheel goes the blade goes. I have owned Masport mowers for the last 7 years and found them to be reliable and efficient mowers. Whether you are using them for commercial or home you can't go wrong using a Masport mower.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Dave

DaveNSW, 2340

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great mower

published

My mower always does a great job. The Wider deck minimises the passes over the back yard. Starts every time and 4 stroke engine is much quieter than my old 2 stroke mower. Very easy to start and never misses a beat. I love the catcher level indicator. I trust the Masport brand. This is a great mower for an average size Sydney yard.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
JENNY

JENNYSydney

  • 3 reviews

Good product

published

We initially bought a Victor lawn mower which is said to be very good. Unfortunately, our Victor lasted for only 10 minutes and it stopped working completed. So we brought that Victor back to Bunnings and they could not fix it. So we exchanged the brand-new broken Victor for the Masport. And it has been operating fine. it is easy to operate and maintain, and the cutting results are good. I am happy with it so far.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Peter P.

Peter P.asked

Why was the Honda HRX217VKA Mower discontinued?

1 answer
kelly
kelly

These were on clearance cos got new stock same mower but new mower has some lever missing or something like that.

Dylan.C

Dylan.Casked

is the bolt to remove the blade reverse thread?

No answers
Gus

Gusasked

Is the bolt holding the blade on reverse thread?

2 answers
Tony C.
Tony C.

Do you mean the single Bolt that secures the Blade Holder to the Crankshaft or the Bolt that holds the actual Blade to the Blade Holder ?.

Gus
Gus

The bolt that holds the blade to the blade holder.

Get an answer from our members and Masport representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.