??!
4 photos
Honda HRU216

Honda HRU216

HRU216M2, HRU216D, HRU216M1, etc...
3.5 from 75 reviews

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.5

75 reviews
5
(27)
4
(13)
3
(14)
2
(9)
1
(12)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (3)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (3)
  • Safety
    4.7 (3)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.0 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (3)
Previous
Next
Baxtersin

BaxtersinNorthern Region, NSW

  • 25 reviews

It's great for what I want

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Tweed Mower City for A$729.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
craig mckay

craig mckayCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

No good in damp grass

published

When the grass is damp it clogs up the shoot all the time ,requiring you to remove clogged grass .
Has done about 40 hours work and smokes on start up .
wont go back to honda again.

Purchased for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Juan G.

Juan G.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Perfect Mower for my type of usage I am very happy with this mower and I think it is worth the money

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mel

Mel

  • 3 reviews

Very slow I can push faster

published

I’m really disappointed with the mower. I’ve owned this for 3 weeks , it’s still brand new. Selling for $1750. It’s VERY slow and not that powerful. I’ve had it checked by Honda and they set it at 3200rpm the max it should be set on. And it’s still not good. I have it on the rabbit (full throttle) and it’s a slow walking pace on gear 3 the fastest setting. I had an old Honda push mower and I got my jobs done a lot quicker with this. I can push faster than the self propelled. I really thought it would be a great mower for my business but it’s slowing me down. I expected to get my jobs done quicker.

Purchased in May 2019.

Value for Money
Dollar

DollarMid North Coast, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Reliable commercial use

published
Date PurchasedApr 2015
MICHELLE

MICHELLESouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Very Happy Customer

published

Bought this lawnmower 2 weeks ago and i am really impressed, it cuts the grass super fine and holds sooooo much in the catcher. Our lawns are looking perfectly cut and my husband likes that it has a range of gears and the self propelled option drives nicely. definitely worth your money, we bought this from mower world and received perfect customer service!

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Ferrett

FerrettCentral West, NSW

  • 13 reviews

My Mowers better than yours

published

One thing I love to own is a great lawn mower.
Can’t go past Honda mine is not for commercial use this is my second only due to moving states and couldn’t take my other one. Starts first time every time I have it serviced regularly and love how it’s self mulching as I can’t lift the catcher so I don’t use it. This one’s going to outlast me I think. The only downside for me was price $1600 is pretty overwhelming but one the other hand it’s there for the long haul.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Overacted for the price

published

Very disappointed with this product as a commercial product it fails to cut slight moist buffalo lawn or thick I replaced a masport briggs and Stratton a 4in1 that I had for nearly 20 years and never missed a beat started first go all the time very bad mistake I made buying this Commercial product for money not worth it

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Murray Stones

Murray StonesWollongong

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Good

published

I have been mowing lawns for a living over thirty years this is the only mower on the market that will stand up to constant commercial use .
The mower is quite expensive compared to other brands but the the long life makes it well worth the extra money
.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Neil J

Neil JBrisbane

Great mower, pity about the service techs and mistruths that come with the mower

published

I have had a number of 216's over the past 11 years. They are a good mower, although I now do all my own repairs and that of my fellow contractors due to the poor knowledge of the service staff at selling/servicing dealers. Bent axles, broken gearboxes and low HP are all common problems with these mowers. In the latest generations, broken cables seem to be the new trend. This will be my last lot of HRU216's, I will be moving to a different brand. Warranties are often denied on broken parts, even when it's proven to be manufacturing faults. Sorry Honda, your day has passed.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
LeSquid

LeSquidPerth

Big and powerful, but not perfect for all applications

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Ashley

AshleyMerbein

  • 4 reviews

Great Mower!!!!

published

I got sick of buying a cheap lawn mower every couple of years. This starts 2nd pull every time. Only down side is the weight of it. Its very heavy and makes it difficult lifting in and out of the back of the ute. Thats the only down side even has the water wash point to clean the deck without flipping it over.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
PCJB

PCJBAustralia

  • 11 reviews

One of the best things I own

published

This works a treat after 5 years and I expect it will keep going that way for another 5 at least. I purchased to mow our 1/2 acre block that has some sloping parts and it does it with ease. At first it seemed a bit heavy and clunky to use but it a short time I figured out when and how to use the self propelling feature to my advantage. I have it serviced once a year but it could easily be done by someone at home who has the time and inclination to do it. I have since purchased a small ride on to cut the mowing time down even more but there are still some areas that the Honda can only do so I cannot part with it.

Date PurchasedJan 2013

This mower is a Tank and too heavy for parts to handle

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Paddy11

Paddy11Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 8 reviews

Great self-propelling mower

published

Great mower especially the self-propelling part for our steep block. Easy to use and once the initial throttle cable hiccup was sorted it starts on the first pull. Nice big catcher and great mulching function. On the heavy side weight wise but. Very solid build so it should last well.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shannon

Shannon

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Dream mower!

published

Heavy going without being too heavy this is fantastic to work with. Such an easy to use marvel that I'm mowing the lawns of less fortunate neighbours because it's just made so easy! Very easy to start and maintain, well worth the cost even on a pretty small surburban block.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Quality Mower Worth The Purchase

published

As a commercial mower in 2008 I purchased one of these to make my life easier when doing the tuff and dirty jobs (high grass and big bumpy blocks) i was so impressed i purchased a 2nd one and wouldn't use anything else...great finish and durable not to mention time saving, even the missus could use it on the days she tagged along!

Date PurchasedMar 2008
Burga

BurgaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 13 likes

I miss my victa mower!

published

After 15 years, my victa finally packed and decided to call it quits. Against my better judgement, I bought this lawnmower as Honda is a reputable mower brand. My lawn gets chewed and then mowed. It's not a clean cut and a nuisance. I dearly miss my victa and regret not purchasing a victa mower.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Fish

FishUmina

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Solid machine

published

I bought the HRU216 about 2 weeks ago very used and broken. After virtually rebuilding it I have used it for 2 days with my business ( testing the repairs before the busy season). It runs great and cuts well, although I haven't used it on thick grass yet I think it will handle it well. I only have 3 minor issues which probably won't affect most users. The handle is quite a bit lower than I like (I'm 6'2") some adjustment would be nice. It is slower than a hrx217 I'm use to an almost jogging pace. The speed can't be changed while moving, if I approach a thick patch of grass I have to stop to change gear. Like I said these are minor and it will be a good 2nd mower for my business.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Lily k

Lily k

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy to use

published

The honda hru216 is easy to use and saw to use. It make relatively low noise and cut grass nicely. Since I bought the machine I begin to love cutting lawn. Overall it is a very good lawn machine and I really recommend to everyone who consider to buy it.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Brooke

Brookeasked

HRU216

Hi, my hru 216 self propelled mowers blades don’t disengage. I have replaced cable and sprayed crc under the deck but it is still not disengaging.? Please help. Cheers Brooke

No answers
Brooke

Brookeasked

HRU216

Blade not disengaging

No answers
Richard

Richardasked

HRU216

Hi my mower deck is not level how do I adjust it please?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.