4 photos
Honda HRU216

Honda HRU216

HRU216M2, HRU216D, HRU216M1, etc...
3.4 from 78 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.5 (6)
  • Value for Money
    2.1 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (6)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (6)
  • Safety
    4.5 (6)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.7 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (6)
Previous
Next
Michael O.
Michael O.South East Queensland, QLD

Poor quality, plagued with gearbox problems

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Stihl Dealer for $1,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Matthew
MatthewSydney Surrounds, NSW

Terrible clicking

published

Purchased March 2020 hru216 m3
Nothing but same problems with it

After the 3rd property I get to its struggles to self propelled you can here the click and clunk noise from the drive shaft to the gear box
It’s been in 6 times and these clowns can not fix it
Plus gear box was replaced brand new after one week same issue keeps happening
Honda headquarters don’t give a damn and the dealer doesn’t know what to do

Purchased in March 2020 for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Matt O.
Matt O.
  • 2 reviews

Honda quality is nose diving

published

Purchased a mower - under powered with twisted chassis. Made in Melbourne - not good. The Honda customer service are rude - Ash. They have undertrained staff who seem not to like their job - would not employ them. The problem must stem from the top which is unfortunate.

Purchased in January 2020 for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Baxtersin
BaxtersinNorthern Region, NSW
  • 25 reviews
  • 25 likes

It's great for what I want

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Tweed Mower City for $729.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
craig mckay
craig mckayCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

No good in damp grass

published

When the grass is damp it clogs up the shoot all the time ,requiring you to remove clogged grass .
Has done about 40 hours work and smokes on start up .
wont go back to honda again.

Purchased for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Juan G.
Juan G.Sydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect Mower for my type of usage I am very happy with this mower and I think it is worth the money

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mel
Mel
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very slow I can push faster

published

I’m really disappointed with the mower. I’ve owned this for 3 weeks , it’s still brand new. Selling for $1750. It’s VERY slow and not that powerful. I’ve had it checked by Honda and they set it at 3200rpm the max it should be set on. And it’s still not good. I have it on the rabbit (full throttle) and it’s a slow walking pace on gear 3 the fastest setting. I had an old Honda push mower and I got my jobs done a lot quicker with this. I can push faster than the self propelled. I really thought it would be a great mower for my business but it’s slowing me down. I expected to get my jobs done quicker.

Purchased in May 2019.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Dollar
DollarMid North Coast, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable commercial use

published
Date PurchasedApr 2015
MICHELLE
MICHELLESouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Happy Customer

published

Bought this lawnmower 2 weeks ago and i am really impressed, it cuts the grass super fine and holds sooooo much in the catcher. Our lawns are looking perfectly cut and my husband likes that it has a range of gears and the self propelled option drives nicely. definitely worth your money, we bought this from mower world and received perfect customer service!

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ferrett
FerrettCentral West, NSW
  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

My Mowers better than yours

published

One thing I love to own is a great lawn mower.
Can’t go past Honda mine is not for commercial use this is my second only due to moving states and couldn’t take my other one. Starts first time every time I have it serviced regularly and love how it’s self mulching as I can’t lift the catcher so I don’t use it. This one’s going to outlast me I think. The only downside for me was price $1600 is pretty overwhelming but one the other hand it’s there for the long haul.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018

Overacted for the price

published

Very disappointed with this product as a commercial product it fails to cut slight moist buffalo lawn or thick I replaced a masport briggs and Stratton a 4in1 that I had for nearly 20 years and never missed a beat started first go all the time very bad mistake I made buying this Commercial product for money not worth it

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Murray Stones
Murray StonesWollongong
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Good

published

I have been mowing lawns for a living over thirty years this is the only mower on the market that will stand up to constant commercial use .
The mower is quite expensive compared to other brands but the the long life makes it well worth the extra money
.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Neil J
Neil JBrisbane

Great mower, pity about the service techs and mistruths that come with the mower

published

I have had a number of 216's over the past 11 years. They are a good mower, although I now do all my own repairs and that of my fellow contractors due to the poor knowledge of the service staff at selling/servicing dealers. Bent axles, broken gearboxes and low HP are all common problems with these mowers. In the latest generations, broken cables seem to be the new trend. This will be my last lot of HRU216's, I will be moving to a different brand. Warranties are often denied on broken parts, even when it's proven to be manufacturing faults. Sorry Honda, your day has passed.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
LeSquid
LeSquidGoldfields, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Big and powerful, but not perfect for all applications

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Ashley
AshleyMerbein
  • 4 reviews

Great Mower!!!!

published

I got sick of buying a cheap lawn mower every couple of years. This starts 2nd pull every time. Only down side is the weight of it. Its very heavy and makes it difficult lifting in and out of the back of the ute. Thats the only down side even has the water wash point to clean the deck without flipping it over.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda HRU216 compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

A S.
A S.asked
Buffalo Classic HRU216M2

How many kg weight this machine

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Can you get someone to check their website for basics ?

Hakan S
Hakan Sasked
Buffalo Classic HRU216D

What is the difference between a honda Hru216 and Hru216D ?

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Can you get someone to check their website for basics ?

Gav
Gavasked
HRN216PKU

I’ve just bought and have not cut lawn with it, got it started and theres no throttle adjustment, it just runs at Idle, or will the revs pick up when cutting?

No answers
See all Honda HRU216 questions

Get an answer from our members

Honda HRU216

Details

Compare all 6 Honda HRU216
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $1,749.00$1,749.00$749.00
Power SourcePetrolPetrolPetrol
FeaturesBlade Brake, Mulching Capability and Self-PropelledBlade Brake, Foldable Handle, Mulching Capability and Self-PropelledMulching Capability
Catcher Type RigidCollapsibleRigid
Catcher Capacity70 L70 L66 L
Cutting Deck MaterialPlasticAluminium AlloySteel
Cutting Width533 mm530 mm533 mm
Height of Cut16 mm to 76 mm16 mm to 80 mm25 mm to 100 mm
Number of Blades112
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)4 year(s)2 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameHonda GXV160 4 StrokeHonda GXV160GCV170
Engine Type4-Stroke4-Stroke4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandHondaHondaHonda
Engine Displacement160 cc167 cc
Compare all 6 Honda HRU216

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.