??!
2 photos
Ryobi 18V One+ Line Trimmer OLT1830

Ryobi 18V One+ Line Trimmer OLT1830

MPN: OLT1830
3.7 from 90 reviews

Reviews

(37)
(23)
(9)
(8)
(13)
  • Build Quality
    3.8 (20)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (20)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (21)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (20)
  • Product is used
    • Weekly (12)
    • Occasionally (8)
  • Grass Type
    • Short grass (12)
    • Tall grass (5)
    • Thick, heavy grass or weeds (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (21)
  • Safety
    4.1 (21)
Barry

BarrySouth East Queensland, QLD

it is a piece of second rate rubbish

published

I think Ryobi need to go back to the drawing board and get rid of this single line
head replace it with a twin line head, Also when it cuts off the line the excess fly off
and can hit anyone near by.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

Fantastic product!

published

Completely satisfied with my new trimmer. It's lightweight and not loud when in use. This will save lots of money on gardening fees. Definitely meets my gardening needs. Very happy.

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Claire Bear

Claire BearSouthwest, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

doesn't cut the mustard - well barely does

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers
Battery Whipper Snippers

Find out how Ryobi 18V One+ Line Trimmer OLT1830 compares to other Battery Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Moni

MoniSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Disappointed

published

I also have a big problem with the line feed, even from the beginning the battery is great but the trimmer won’t cut thick and longer grass.
It is easy to start and hold but disappointed with the line feed and cutting

Purchased in December 2019 at The children bought it at Bunnings.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
AJ59

AJ59Geelong

  • 3 reviews

Give it a miss

published

I’m a big fan of the Ryobi 18v products but the line trimmer is a big disappointment.
Easy to start, light weight & quiet.
Small light grass areas can work, buffalo grass no good.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Gone A.

Gone A.Perth, WA

Ryobi OLT 1830. Really just a toy.

published

Important things first. Seriously struggles to edge through buffalo grass, even struggles to shred a single runner of buffalo grass if it is fresh and green. It is really only a toy. As with most things,your needs should be a significant factor when choosing.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Danoz

Danoz

  • 6 reviews

This works surprisingly well

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers
Cosgrove

CosgroveGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 16 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Use to Petrol, but will get use to battery

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Teresa B

Teresa BMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Nice and light and good battery life

published

Love it as it starts easily and the battery seems to last long enough for my needs in a smallish garden . I have never had the battery die on me yet. The only downside is the useless line feed and the line is constantly breaking even with being careful not to hit concrete edges I am forever feeding the bloody line out

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Battery Whipper Snippers

Find out how Ryobi 18V One+ Line Trimmer OLT1830 compares to other Battery Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Troy

TroySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Don't Bother

published

I have owned the One+ Line Trimmer for about 8 months and I'm ready to get rid of it.

Trimming my grass takes a lot longer than it should and that is because there is only one line that comes out of the head, it wears down quickly, and the line that comes out is not long enough. I also find it extremely difficult to remove and replace the battery as it gets stuck regularly.

I love the idea of battery powered tools but the Ryobi One+ Line Trimmer OLT1830 is one you should skip.

Purchased in January 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
John

JohnCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Don't Bother... it is rubbish

published

Purchased in December 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Jonesy4567

Jonesy4567South East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • Verified purchase

No more Extension Leads

published

I have wanted to go battery on the mower and wipper snippet for a while.
The Ryobi was at a good price at Bunnings, so I invested in one. It's nice and light, has plenty of power for a normal sized block and has been reliable so far.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
acerace

aceraceQld, 4521

  • 20 reviews
  • 3 likes

How good is this

published

At first I/we thought the trimmer was a toy.

For around the house etc magic tool compared with petrol driven stuff with much bigger line.

Its not a brush cutter but great for around fence lines shrubs etc.

My wife loves it and my daughter also(bought one too).

Battery lasts ages and can be used on many other tools.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
LeeK

LeeK

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

It's ok, but...

published

It does a decent job cutting but the bump feed head leaves a lot to be desired. The trigger mechanism is weak. I've broken mine and unable to get a replacement so had to jury-rig.

Purchased in January 2014 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers
Amelia R.

Amelia R.Sydney, NSW

Only ok

published

Quiet and works with the rest of my Ryobi products however the actual whipper snipper Bump feed head is average-poor, and very hard to feed. We replaced our head completely to a better quality.

Purchased in November 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Battery Whipper Snippers

Find out how Ryobi 18V One+ Line Trimmer OLT1830 compares to other Battery Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Josh

JoshMurray Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Very good domestic whipper snipper

published

I bought one fo these a couple of weeks ago to replace 30cc Ryobi petrol trimmer.
It has been great, no petrol or pull starts that don't work. It is perhaps a little less powerful but this has not impacted me for domestic use on my 800m2 block and easily handles the work I need it for. The bump head is very responsive and easy to reload. It is also a lot quieter and lighter making it easy to use.

The only downside I've found so far is that it is hungry on the batteries if run on 'high'. That said I've run it on low and had no dramas. The time I used a fully charged 105 aH battery it lastest barely 10mins, so now I make sure I've got the 4.5 aH battery ready to go before starting.

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers
Anna

AnnaBrisbane

  • 36 reviews

Helpful but not powerful

published

It is easy to use, to change line and it is not heavy.
I manage to get my concrete edges done but it prefers the lighter grass, certainly doesnt go through kikuyu grass runners and buffalo grass runners.
The line doesnt always feed through and some tug and war occurs feeding it through manually.
But so handy to have something light, that i can be mobile without having an electrical cord hanging behind me.

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Melissa

MelissaNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 56 reviews
  • 1 like

Not impressed

published

Firstly I am only a short person so the adjustable handle height was great, but I still found the unit somewhat heavy for me as a female, not to mention it was noisy and the plastic line/cord kept breaking so it was a constant start stop to fix and feed the line through to get the job done, and it was difficult and was most frustrating and has since put me off buying another whipper snipper, no matter what brand it is, this one just gave me a bad feeling about all of them.

Purchased in April 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
wizard motorcycles

wizard motorcyclesSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

GREAT

published

Easy to use no petrol mixing no cleaning up carb from old fuel. No zip starting just use recharge battery and put away. Battery life is plenty for average yard.

Purchased in December 2017 for $235.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Tall grass and Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Capt Jack

Capt JackWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Has too many issues

published

Bought this as a package $229 with 5Ah battery - two years and 2 months ago. The auto line feed doesn't work very well as outlined many times in this thread. The battery only lasts 10 mins now - two months out of warranty. It does the job but only barely before the battery dies - still with 2 bars showing. I'm certain that it lasted longer initially. The main issue is with the hit-and-miss Ryobi batteries. Only the 4Ah that I bought 4 yrs ago to replace a 1.4Ah in a blower that died in a few months has performed well. Ryobi don't want to know and I'm sure as hell not spending $149 at bunnings on a new one that is likely to have the same problem.

Purchased in February 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for $229.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Jackie

Jackieasked

I have only used this once or twice and it's not working at all ,I thought it was the charger so I purchased a new one,but it still isn't working,how could I tell if it's the battery or strimmer that's not working ? Thanks

2 answers
Claire Bear
Claire Bear

do you have another battery you can try to see if it is the trimmer not working? If not take it back to Bunnings as it will be under warranty. Remember to take your receipt as proof of purchase (date)

Barry
Barry

Claire Bear is on the right track but i would get my money back this is not a good
trimmer.

Carol M.

Carol M.asked

Can you use any size line

3 answers
Ms Green thumb
Ms Green thumb

There are replacement spools for your trimmer.
Model #RAC1211

Moni
Moni

the trimmer line is difficult to lengthen. I am pretty disappointed with the line trimmer

Claire Bear
Claire Bear

no you must purchase a new spool with line on it - comes in a pack of 3 from Bunnings for $20

Catherine N.

Catherine N.asked

my line trimmer just stopped while I was using it only 2 weeks old. what is the problem?

2 answers
AJ59
AJ59

Check & charge your battery, all failing return it

Claire Bear
Claire Bear

Two possibilities -
1 the battery needs recharging - either recharge or replace the battery with a fully charged one.
2 the battery could of over heated. It will not work if it gets too hot so let it cool down and try again later.
If these do not solve the problem return it too the store.

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.