??!
2 photos
Ryobi 18V One+ Line Trimmer OLT1830

Ryobi 18V One+ Line Trimmer OLT1830

MPN: OLT1830
3.7 from 97 reviews

Reviews

3.7

97 reviews
5
(41)
4
(22)
3
(10)
2
(9)
1
(15)
Previous
Next

Total rip off...a nightmare

published

The trimmer thread will not come out and gets entangled within the spool. There is excessive use of thread from what is required. Auto feed function is a total mess. Doesn’t matter if use preloaded Ryobi brand spool or wind your own thread on the spool. Battery is extremely poor. Won’t even last 10min. Recharging the battery is cumbersome as if you don’t turn off charging on time, it will reduce battery life. What a waste of Chinese manufacturing!!

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Cathslo

CathsloGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Warranty useless

published

The line trimmer was amazing. Bought in a deal with the blower 2 years ago. Which was equally amazing. Just recently invested in the skin for Lawn mower too. Used it once. And guess what? Battery suddenly no longer works. Says it’s fully charged but won’t power any of my tools. Manufacturing date is clearly 2018 on the battery yet Ryobi refuses to honour 3 year warranty. I have no receipt, it’s been almost 2 years, but it’s obvious it’s faulty and obviously still within warranty. I am super annoyed. I now have 3 useless skins until I pay out over $150 for a new battery. My tip, perhaps choose the cheaper Ozito. I’ve never had any problem with their after sales service or warranty. Incredibly disappointed.

Fordy777

Fordy777Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Best little garden line trimmer around

published

I've had mine for 5 years
Operated with my lawns and home and others lawns in my small garden Maintenance business. Very satisfied and would purchase again the same product to update my ryobi equipment

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for A$119.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass and Tall grass
See all answers
Battery Whipper Snippers

Find out how Ryobi 18V One+ Line Trimmer OLT1830 compares to other Battery Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Average Punter

Average PunterGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Refills aren't exactly the same.

published

The replacement spool and line are not exactly the same. Dimensions are close enough for it to work, the auto feed does not work nearly as well with the refill spool. Better to transfer the line to the original it works far better.

Purchased in June 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass, Tall grass and Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Shaxpier

ShaxpierSydney, NSW

  • 32 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Does What It Says On The Tin

published

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$229.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
rollinwinnies

rollinwinniesSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Average electric line trimmer

published

I purchased this for a small yard and only because I already had 3x 18v batteries. It's decent for a small yard and worked fine cutting wise with almost no vibration but motor noise was a bit louder than expected, triggering the dogs .
The edging function is the only stand out point on this otherwise average tool. It feels very loose and tacky when twisting the handle between trim and edge functions.
The cutting blade for the auto feed is blunter than a butter knife and will eventually cut the line after 10 seconds of it slapping about on the guard at full rpm - whoever came up with auto feeding by throttle needs to be shot as it rarely works correctly even after trying 3 different new spools between 1.6mm-2mm.

Purchased in April 2020 for A$110.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

One of my favourite tools

published

I have flogged this poor machine on a five acre property. Woody weeds to grass. Has not missed a beat. Has converted some men too. For a battery operated machine, the battery lasts a long time. The plastic body has stood up well to hard work. Have got my moneys worth over and over. Light weight. My only wish is it came with hole to hold a harness on at times.

Purchased in January 2015 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass, Tall grass and Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Barry

BarrySouth East Queensland, QLD

it is a piece of second rate rubbish

published

I think Ryobi need to go back to the drawing board and get rid of this single line
head replace it with a twin line head, Also when it cuts off the line the excess fly off
and can hit anyone near by.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

Fantastic product!

published

Completely satisfied with my new trimmer. It's lightweight and not loud when in use. This will save lots of money on gardening fees. Definitely meets my gardening needs. Very happy.

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Battery Whipper Snippers

Find out how Ryobi 18V One+ Line Trimmer OLT1830 compares to other Battery Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Claire Bear

Claire BearSouthwest, VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

doesn't cut the mustard - well barely does

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers
1 comment
Claire Bear
Claire Bear
Moni

MoniSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Disappointed

published

I also have a big problem with the line feed, even from the beginning the battery is great but the trimmer won’t cut thick and longer grass.
It is easy to start and hold but disappointed with the line feed and cutting

Purchased in December 2019 at The children bought it at Bunnings.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
AJ59

AJ59Geelong

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Give it a miss

published

I’m a big fan of the Ryobi 18v products but the line trimmer is a big disappointment.
Easy to start, light weight & quiet.
Small light grass areas can work, buffalo grass no good.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Gone A.

Gone A.Perth, WA

Ryobi OLT 1830. Really just a toy.

published

Important things first. Seriously struggles to edge through buffalo grass, even struggles to shred a single runner of buffalo grass if it is fresh and green. It is really only a toy. As with most things,your needs should be a significant factor when choosing.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Danoz

Danoz

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

This works surprisingly well

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers
Cosgrove

CosgroveGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 14 likes
  • Verified purchase

Use to Petrol, but will get use to battery

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Battery Whipper Snippers

Find out how Ryobi 18V One+ Line Trimmer OLT1830 compares to other Battery Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Teresa B

Teresa BMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Nice and light and good battery life

published

Love it as it starts easily and the battery seems to last long enough for my needs in a smallish garden . I have never had the battery die on me yet. The only downside is the useless line feed and the line is constantly breaking even with being careful not to hit concrete edges I am forever feeding the bloody line out

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Troy

TroySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Don't Bother

published

I have owned the One+ Line Trimmer for about 8 months and I'm ready to get rid of it.

Trimming my grass takes a lot longer than it should and that is because there is only one line that comes out of the head, it wears down quickly, and the line that comes out is not long enough. I also find it extremely difficult to remove and replace the battery as it gets stuck regularly.

I love the idea of battery powered tools but the Ryobi One+ Line Trimmer OLT1830 is one you should skip.

Purchased in January 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
John

JohnCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Don't Bother... it is rubbish

published

Purchased in December 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Jonesy4567

Jonesy4567South East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

No more Extension Leads

published

I have wanted to go battery on the mower and wipper snippet for a while.
The Ryobi was at a good price at Bunnings, so I invested in one. It's nice and light, has plenty of power for a normal sized block and has been reliable so far.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
acerace

aceraceQld, 4521

  • 20 reviews
  • 15 likes

How good is this

published

At first I/we thought the trimmer was a toy.

For around the house etc magic tool compared with petrol driven stuff with much bigger line.

Its not a brush cutter but great for around fence lines shrubs etc.

My wife loves it and my daughter also(bought one too).

Battery lasts ages and can be used on many other tools.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Melissa M.

Melissa M.asked

I have just purchased one of these and am wondering if 2 pieces of line should be on it or just one ??? What does everyone else’s look like ????

2 answers
rollinwinnies
rollinwinnies

1.

Barry
Barry

Hi Melissa it has one line should have two witch makes it hard to use
not one of Ryobi`s best i would go for refund.

JackyL

JackyLasked

My Ryobi new CBLT 1804A type 2 is smoking after about 10 mins of cutting. Its my first line cutter so is this normal or do I have a problem? Thanks
JackyL

3 answers
Louise T.
Louise T.

I have the same problem

Cassie L.
Cassie L.

Mine too

Jacqui R.
Jacqui R.

Same, did you find out what was wrong with yours?

Cameron M.

Cameron M.asked

unit cuts out. remove and replace battery and it works for a 30 seconds. what is wrong

1 answer
Dale E.
Dale E.

Same problem, i returned it

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.