??!
2 photos
Ryobi 18V One+ Line Trimmer OLT1830

Ryobi 18V One+ Line Trimmer OLT1830

MPN: OLT1830
3.7 from 87 reviews

Reviews

(36)
(23)
(8)
(8)
(12)
  • Build Quality
    3.9 (17)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (17)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (18)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (17)
  • Product is used:
    • Weekly (9)
    • Occasionally (8)
  • Grass Type
    • Short grass (10)
    • Tall grass (4)
    • Thick, heavy grass or weeds (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (18)
  • Safety
    4.3 (18)


Moni

MoniSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Disappointed

published

I also have a big problem with the line feed, even from the beginning the battery is great but the trimmer won’t cut thick and longer grass.
It is easy to start and hold but disappointed with the line feed and cutting

Purchased in December 2019 at The children bought it at Bunnings.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers

AJ59

AJ59Geelong

  • 3 reviews

Give it a miss

published

I’m a big fan of the Ryobi 18v products but the line trimmer is a big disappointment.
Easy to start, light weight & quiet.
Small light grass areas can work, buffalo grass no good.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used: Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Gone A.

Gone A.Perth, WA

Ryobi OLT 1830. Really just a toy.

published

Important things first. Seriously struggles to edge through buffalo grass, even struggles to shred a single runner of buffalo grass if it is fresh and green. It is really only a toy. As with most things,your needs should be a significant factor when choosing.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Danoz

Danoz

  • 6 reviews

This works surprisingly well

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers

Cosgrove

CosgroveGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 16 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Use to Petrol, but will get use to battery

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used: Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

Teresa B

Teresa BMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Nice and light and good battery life

published

Love it as it starts easily and the battery seems to last long enough for my needs in a smallish garden . I have never had the battery die on me yet. The only downside is the useless line feed and the line is constantly breaking even with being careful not to hit concrete edges I am forever feeding the bloody line out

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

Troy

TroySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Don't Bother

published

I have owned the One+ Line Trimmer for about 8 months and I'm ready to get rid of it.

Trimming my grass takes a lot longer than it should and that is because there is only one line that comes out of the head, it wears down quickly, and the line that comes out is not long enough. I also find it extremely difficult to remove and replace the battery as it gets stuck regularly.

I love the idea of battery powered tools but the Ryobi One+ Line Trimmer OLT1830 is one you should skip.

Purchased in January 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

John

JohnCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Don't Bother... it is rubbish

published

Purchased in December 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used: Occasionally
Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Jonesy4567

Jonesy4567South East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

No more Extension Leads

published

I have wanted to go battery on the mower and wipper snippet for a while.
The Ryobi was at a good price at Bunnings, so I invested in one. It's nice and light, has plenty of power for a normal sized block and has been reliable so far.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used: Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
acerace

aceraceQld, 4521

  • 20 reviews
  • 3 likes

How good is this

published

At first I/we thought the trimmer was a toy.

For around the house etc magic tool compared with petrol driven stuff with much bigger line.

Its not a brush cutter but great for around fence lines shrubs etc.

My wife loves it and my daughter also(bought one too).

Battery lasts ages and can be used on many other tools.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

LeeK

LeeK

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

It's ok, but...

published

It does a decent job cutting but the bump feed head leaves a lot to be desired. The trigger mechanism is weak. I've broken mine and unable to get a replacement so had to jury-rig.

Purchased in January 2014 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers

Amelia R.

Amelia R.Sydney, NSW

Only ok

published

Quiet and works with the rest of my Ryobi products however the actual whipper snipper Bump feed head is average-poor, and very hard to feed. We replaced our head completely to a better quality.

Purchased in November 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Josh

JoshMurray Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Very good domestic whipper snipper

published

I bought one fo these a couple of weeks ago to replace 30cc Ryobi petrol trimmer.
It has been great, no petrol or pull starts that don't work. It is perhaps a little less powerful but this has not impacted me for domestic use on my 800m2 block and easily handles the work I need it for. The bump head is very responsive and easy to reload. It is also a lot quieter and lighter making it easy to use.

The only downside I've found so far is that it is hungry on the batteries if run on 'high'. That said I've run it on low and had no dramas. The time I used a fully charged 105 aH battery it lastest barely 10mins, so now I make sure I've got the 4.5 aH battery ready to go before starting.

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers

Anna

AnnaBrisbane

  • 36 reviews

Helpful but not powerful

published

It is easy to use, to change line and it is not heavy.
I manage to get my concrete edges done but it prefers the lighter grass, certainly doesnt go through kikuyu grass runners and buffalo grass runners.
The line doesnt always feed through and some tug and war occurs feeding it through manually.
But so handy to have something light, that i can be mobile without having an electrical cord hanging behind me.

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Melissa

MelissaNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 53 reviews

Not impressed

published

Firstly I am only a short person so the adjustable handle height was great, but I still found the unit somewhat heavy for me as a female, not to mention it was noisy and the plastic line/cord kept breaking so it was a constant start stop to fix and feed the line through to get the job done, and it was difficult and was most frustrating and has since put me off buying another whipper snipper, no matter what brand it is, this one just gave me a bad feeling about all of them.

Purchased in April 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse for $99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used: Occasionally
Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
wizard motorcycles

wizard motorcyclesSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

GREAT

published

Easy to use no petrol mixing no cleaning up carb from old fuel. No zip starting just use recharge battery and put away. Battery life is plenty for average yard.

Purchased in December 2017 for $235.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Product is used: Occasionally
Grass Type Tall grass and Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers

Capt Jack

Capt JackWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Has too many issues

published

Bought this as a package $229 with 5Ah battery - two years and 2 months ago. The auto line feed doesn't work very well as outlined many times in this thread. The battery only lasts 10 mins now - two months out of warranty. It does the job but only barely before the battery dies - still with 2 bars showing. I'm certain that it lasted longer initially. The main issue is with the hit-and-miss Ryobi batteries. Only the 4Ah that I bought 4 yrs ago to replace a 1.4Ah in a blower that died in a few months has performed well. Ryobi don't want to know and I'm sure as hell not spending $149 at bunnings on a new one that is likely to have the same problem.

Purchased in February 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for $229.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

Geoff93

Geoff93Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Nearly un-useable

published

The line auto-feed just does NOT work. The line is so thin and weak
that it breaks off very quickly, and does not auto-feed, so you have to stop
and press the feed button next to the spool, on the actual head - dangerous ...
and if the line breaks off altogether (as it does not auto-feed), you have to pull
the cover off the head and re-spool it. Also, the line seems to get caught on the spool,
so even the feed button won't work then.

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used: Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers

Marpa

MarpaSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good, lite, quiet.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019

Vevean Morkos

Vevean MorkosMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Fantastic trimmer

published

The trimmer is such a great product. Noise level is low, it's super light so makes it easy to cut my grass. It runs for a good time for me to finish my yard that's a reasonable size. I would buy this product over and over again. Would definitely recommend.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

trevor vb

trevor vbasked

HOW DO YOU REFILL WITH CORD ?

No answers

ADRIAN MCDONALD

ADRIAN MCDONALDasked

smoke appears to be coming from motor after 30 minutes operation - no long grass

No answers

Nick M.

Nick M.asked

With battery fully charged as indicated by the green lights...the trimmer will not operate when trigger is squeezed. Just all of a sudden, would not work. Last used a week ago. No problems at that time. Any chance the trigger is defective?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.