??!
1 photo
Ryobi ONE+ OLM1840H

Ryobi ONE+ OLM1840H

MPN: OLM1840H
3.7 from 24 reviews

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.7

24 reviews
5
(11)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(5)
  • Build Quality
    2.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    1.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.5 (2)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (2)
  • Safety
    3.0 (2)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    1.0 (1)
  • Battery Life
    1.0 (1)
Previous
Next

Weighs, handles and cuts as if made of Lego.

published
Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers

Cheap rubbish.

published

The grass catcher doesn't catch most of the grass and the handle keeps coming off. I used for it for 10 mins and the handle came off a number of times, the final time it came off the handle went into the blades damaging it and it couldn't be put back on.

Purchased in August 2019 for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
zhapon

zhaponSydney

Mining a coal with a table spoon!!!

published
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi ONE+ OLM1840H compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Neil

NeilChristchurch

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Choice for a Small to Medium Lawn

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Ian Mayne

Ian MayneMelbourne

Terrible mower.

published

Worst mower I've ever owned. Most often it won't start at all and if it does it will often cuf out within 3 seconds. Very occasionally it starts and runs for a decent time and actually cuts nicely, unfortunately due to it's unreliability and regularly not starting at all, I would be wary of any battery powered mower. Not surprised this mower is no longer produced as it's reliability is woeful.

Date PurchasedApr 2015
David

David

  • 2 reviews

I have recommended this mower to friends. No mixing petrol. No flammable fuel around the house. No m

published

I have recommended this mower to friends. No mixing petrol. No flammable fuel around the house. No more fuming when attempting to start the mower. Quiet and no smoke! I have alot of Ryobi products, batteries, chargers etc. This works a treat. I had problems with my back and starting my old mower. Not a problem now!

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Paul B

Paul BCranbourne West

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not anywhere near as good as the Ryobi Rep said it would be

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Phil L

Phil L

  • 4 reviews

Excellent. Works as described!

published

My lawn is about 60 sqm and the mower has comfortably covered that area in one charge, 2 charges if I've let the lawn grow a bit long. Easy to start and move around. Sure it's not as rugged as a full metal mower but it does the job. Probably wouldn't recommend for rough or significantly undulating ground.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
vjreid1

vjreid1Brisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best battery powered mower I've owned

published

Cuts great if grass is kept at a manageable level. Don't let it grow too long though as you might struggle. I have a small patch of yard so this mower is perfect. This was bought in a package that came with blower charger and battery, which was great value. No more worrying about fuel, just charge it and your good to go. And the battery is interchangeable between the range of tools. The mower is a little narrow though but is not a problem for my patch of yard

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi ONE+ OLM1840H compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Luke K

Luke KBrisbane

  • 5 reviews

Great machine

published

This lawn mower has been a fantastic addition to my landscaping tools. Along with the Ryobi ONE+ whipper snipper which runs off the same batteries. One charge of two batteries is enough to mow the lawn and complete the whipper snipping. One minor issue is that the mower struggles after rain or if the grass gets a little too long

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Brought the Ryobi One+ Mowe & Blower kit

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Do the sums, then choose !

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
BrenM

BrenMSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great battery life, light weight, instant on

published

As I was already setup with the drill and sander from the same range, it was a must to check out this unit from Ryobi. Available as a pack with a larger capacity battery, the price was higher than expected but the salesman got to me with range anxiety. The unit is very light weight, and easy to manoeuvre. We joke that it is like an outdoor vacuum as it starts instantly and can handle almost everything in the yard.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Jason

JasonNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 12 reviews

I genuinly love it

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
David

DavidSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 28 reviews

Perfect for my wife!

published
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi ONE+ OLM1840H compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ozzie John

Ozzie JohnRedlands

Great

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Glenn

Glenn

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good mower you just need 2x 5ah.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2015
1 comment
Glenn
Glenn

Can confirm that with 2x 5ah it runs like a dream even with over grown grass stalled a few times but from my own eagerness to mow that yard..

g young

g youngmelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great mower !

published
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Mumsy

Mumsy

  • 3 reviews

So far so good for older lady medium size lawns

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Batteries die in 20 minutes

published

I upgraded to this mower from an electric mower as the cord was problematic. It came with 2 batteries. I would not recommend this mower to anyone on a block the size of ours which is only a tiny 400sqm. It mows beautifully for maximum 20 minutes and then dies. The batteries take hours to recharge and as I only have one recharger I need to wait twice as long to recharge both batteries. Ryobi.....you need to make it clear to customers that they need 4 batteries and multiple rechargers as what is supplied is definitely not sufficient to complete the job.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

robfol

robfolasked

Hello, I have a Ryobi OLM1840H Mower, been fine abut this year will not start. The two 5A batteries are both fine. Both green lights in battery bay light up but the motor will not turn. Any help appreciated.

No answers
Donna A.

Donna A.asked

I bought a new Ryobi One + and for the first two mows it was hard to know if it was actually on, as it was so quiet. On the third mow it became a lot noisier - sounding more like a traditional petrol mower. It has been noisy ever since. How do I go back to it being a quiet/noiseless mower ? I have a small lawn which takes no more than 15 minutes to mow, so I always have enough battery power and I mow it regularly on the 2nd to highest setting available, so the blades are never under pressure from the grass being too long.

No answers
nicoledzikowski

nicoledzikowskiasked

Hi there,
my sisters and i put some money together and purchased my mum a Ryobi chordless lawnmower. Since mum already had a fair few of the other products. However. None of us thought of getting the battery pack for the lawn mower. When i look at the prices they are well into the $200 mark which currently non of us can afford. I had a quick look on Ebay and Gum tree and there are a few for sale however i am unsure if this is the way to go. Would anyone recommend buying that way as the cheaper option or steer well clear for the very reason i am dreading.

Any advice would help? :)

1 answer
Ian Mayne
Ian Mayne

I am the original poster. I would be sceptical of second hand batteries as all batteries, including lithium-ion have limited shelf life, hence Ryobi only guaranteeing these batteries for 3 years. Also, if they've been completely discharged, this will negatively affect the electrlytics and hence battery life. Unlike ni-cad batteries, lithium-ion don't have a 'memory' and are best not be discharged to a low level. I would not buy second hand batteries for the above reasons as you can't tell how they've been used.
By the way, I purchased new batteries for the original 36V one+ mower, but this didn't help. I then purchased the " newly designed" 18V one+ mower, which has so far performed flawlessly.

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.