??!
7 photos
Ryobi RLM36 Series
3.7 from 211 reviews

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(88)
(56)
(13)
(29)
(25)
  • Build Quality
    3.4 (25)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (25)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (24)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (25)
  • Product is used
    • Weekly (16)
    • Occasionally (7)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (25)
  • Safety
    4.4 (25)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.7 (21)
  • Battery Life
    3.0 (23)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

Broke after two uses

published

Mowed the same way as the first time. Suddenly died while i was mowing long grass on 5th setting for the second time since purchase. Checked blades and everything, seems to be engine or battery, not sure which.

Debbie B.

Debbie B.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Bunnings

published

great easy to use would recommend to not had any problems with the service person was very helpful to us and it was very helpful on our choice on what to but

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
1 comment
Debbie B.
Debbie B.

sorry it was a battery mower

Useless

published

Absolutely gutless, dies on anything longer than bowli g green length. Leaves clumps of grass everywhere and dont even try to mow wet grass. Ok if you mow twice a week on dry bowling green length. Is quite light to use which is why I purchased it.

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM36 Series compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AndrewSmith

AndrewSmithAdelaide

  • 12 reviews

Works really well!

published

Light weight, easy to use, works incredibly well. Battery lasts for the hour. Really quiet. Struggled to figure out the catcher, but otherwise incredibly easy to set up and use. So many childproof checks in place, making it incredibly safe to have around.

Madmick55

Madmick55Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Great Little Mower

published

This mower has all the power needed is easy to manoeuvre in my small yard and has a great easy to detach grass catcher. The battery has plenty of power. Highly recommended.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Ivy S.

Ivy S.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Wow, so pleased.

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Carlingford for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Spoodge6

Spoodge6Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Works great (2 months)

published

Very light, very easy to start by just pressing a button and holding handle. I have thick (after recent rain) Walter buffalo and it handles it great. I mow fortnightly at 3rd level. Very easy to push. Only had it 2 months so can’t comment on longevity. Battery (5ah) lasts enough for standard front and rear yards these days. Only minor issue is catcher is a bit smaller than I’m used to but it doesn’t bother me.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers

Great until the battery gave up the ghost

published

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for $599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Brad G.

Brad G.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Would not waste your money on these batteries

published

Bought the mower from Bunnings, while the mower works great, the work needed to keep the battery working is beyond a joke given the technology in batteries. The fact that the 36v will go into hibernation mode an not recover unless you are “using the mower and recharging the battery every two weeks” as explained by a Ryobi sales rep at a Bunnings store is sign that the product is either cheap or Ryobi have no understanding how often people need to mow small yards. Bunnings won’t do anything unless u have the receipt for a mower bought less than 12 months ago, even with each individual mower being tracked by serial number into a store. Stay away

Purchased in November 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM36 Series compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tez

TezMid North Coast, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Never thought I’d buy a battery lawn mower

published

Light weight, I’d never go back to petrol again. I will mention don’t buy and expect to mow an acre of grass these are designed for smaller yards. I get around 65 minutes out of my mower. I was so impressed I bought the whipper sniper as well.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Andrea

AndreaAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Don't bother with Ryobi ...

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $750.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Claire Bear

Claire BearSouthwest, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable powerful 10 /10

published
  • +3

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
dan30681

dan30681South East Queensland, QLD

Good idea but short of the mark

published

Plenty of power and good range. The catcher is a major letdown, it's difficult to get on and is angled up significantly meaning clippings don't get to the back of the catcher and they start coming back out in the grass before it is 1/3 full. The requirement to hold the Deadman levers while mowing is a bit silly too, no petrol mower ever had these. Also had two batteries fail within 12months and although they have Ryobi written all over them and the date of manufacture stamped into them, Ryobi won't replace them without a receipt.

Purchased in March 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $550.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Steven

StevenCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Buyer Beware

published

Purchased in September 2014 at Bunnings Warehouse for $599.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Vicki S.

Vicki S.Melbourne, Victoria

  • 28 reviews

Rubbish

published

I bought this as I was sick of hurting my back trying to start the petrol mower but the catcher on this is just awful, I struggle to get it hooked/unhooked...hurting my back anyway! The catcher is a terrible design and when you finally remove it, huge wads of grass fall out from a chute on the mower which often needs clearing by hand. But the worst is that after just two uses, the mower will not turn on at all. The battery is fully charged, everything is as instructed, tips and tricks I found online have all failed. I will be returning it to point of purchase ASAP and would not get another Ryobi battery mower. Whoever designed the flimsy catcher should be made to sit and take it on and off all day as penance!

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for $599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM36 Series compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Eliza

ElizaCentral Queensland, QLD

ENGINE CUTS OUT FOR NO REASON

published

I was so excited to buy my Ryobi Lawn Mower at Bunnings. Bought it exactly 35 days ago. Second time l used it & 30 mins into mowing front lawn & it just started cutting out. It had 2 bars left in battery. I was doing everything by the manual ie: dont let go of handle. I recharged it for ten mins hoping that would breathe life into it. But no. So frustrating to stop/start & try to finish mowing front lawn. Note: first time it was used was 3 weeks ago. It is very dry up here so lawn doesnt grow fast like cooler climates. The time of day was from 5.40pm so temperature was not hot (around 28 degrees). It was not a big job....
Very disappointed in the Ryobi mower

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Sam Mac

Sam MacSouth East Queensland, QLD

Utterly useless. Possibly the worst thing I have ever bought.

published

Purchased in September 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for $599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Wayne Cannon

Wayne CannonSouth East Queensland, QLD

Battery Robbery

published

Looks like I'm not the only one to feel ripped off by Ryobi's rechargeable products. Only $300 to replace a battery that has lasted just 3 years! They suck you in to getting multiple products and sharing the batteries. But then you're just left with a heap of useful gear unless you pay through the nose. Do you think you're meeting your obligations under the Australian Consumer Law Ryobi? We'll see...

Purchased in December 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse for $649.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Pete

PeteSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Mower good....replacement blades hard to get

published

Bunnings are telling me the replacement blades for my model are only 40CM when the blade I have on it now is 46CM......I always have to put in a special order for weed eater cord as well

Purchased in September 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for $699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Mandy Fraser

Mandy FraserWarner

  • 4 reviews

Best lawnmower ever

published

I’ve had this mower for 4 years and it still goes like the very first day, I love it it’s easy to start, light weight and reliable, the battery allows me to mow the front and quiet a large back yard before it runs out. I would recommend this to anyone.

Purchased in November 2015 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Page 1 of 11

Questions & Answers

Peter H.

Peter H.asked

Is the battery and charger included in the price?

1 answer
Madmick55
Madmick55

It will state in the advert skin only which is not included or with bateery & charge make sure you read it carfully.

Steve

Steveasked

RLM36X40H40

What is the warranty period for the battery with this model?

No answers
busted

bustedasked

Where can I get a replacement battery cover including spring fittings etc.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.