??!
7 photos
Ryobi RLM36 Series
3.7 from 216 reviews

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.7

216 reviews
5
(90)
4
(57)
3
(14)
2
(29)
1
(26)
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (31)
  • Value for Money
    2.9 (31)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (30)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (31)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (31)
  • Safety
    4.5 (31)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.7 (27)
  • Battery Life
    3.0 (29)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Peter

PeterSouth East Queensland, QLD

Works well when new, mine now 5 years old - Beware battery replacement cost!

published

Good concept, environmentally friendly in suburbia. Easy to use and store, tho’ “dead man” (person?) on/off switches are a pain to use.
When new, easily mowed a suburban yard and footpath with charge to spare.
BUT, after 5 years the battery has expired and Bunnings replacement cost is an eye watering $299 !
Prospective buyers be aware!

Purchased in December 2014 for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
northernangler

northernanglerNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Works well with some minor problems

published

Purchased in May 2020 for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Cathslo

CathsloGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Warranty a dud.

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM36 Series compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nic Go

Nic GoGippsland, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Small but mighty

published

This mower is the perfect addition to any lawn care range. While it's small and light it has no problem getting through the job of my medium sized yard. Super easy to operate, drop the battery in and off you go. Battery lasts approx 30 mins which prompted me to purchase a spare battery in case it takes longer than that. The catcher is the perfect size and I empty it approx 3 times during a mow.

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Jacci

JacciSydney, NSW

  • 25 reviews

Amazing, easy to start, easy to use

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers

Broke after two uses

published

Mowed the same way as the first time. Suddenly died while i was mowing long grass on 5th setting for the second time since purchase. Checked blades and everything, seems to be engine or battery, not sure which.

Debbie B.

Debbie B.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Bunnings

published

great easy to use would recommend to not had any problems with the service person was very helpful to us and it was very helpful on our choice on what to but

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
1 comment
Debbie B.
Debbie B.

sorry it was a battery mower

Geoff

Geoff

  • 2 reviews

Useless

published

Absolutely gutless, dies on anything longer than bowli g green length. Leaves clumps of grass everywhere and dont even try to mow wet grass. Ok if you mow twice a week on dry bowling green length. Is quite light to use which is why I purchased it.

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
AndrewSmith

AndrewSmithAdelaide

  • 12 reviews

Works really well!

published

Light weight, easy to use, works incredibly well. Battery lasts for the hour. Really quiet. Struggled to figure out the catcher, but otherwise incredibly easy to set up and use. So many childproof checks in place, making it incredibly safe to have around.

Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM36 Series compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Madmick55

Madmick55Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Great Little Mower

published

This mower has all the power needed is easy to manoeuvre in my small yard and has a great easy to detach grass catcher. The battery has plenty of power. Highly recommended.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Ivy S.

Ivy S.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Wow, so pleased.

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Carlingford for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Spoodge6

Spoodge6Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Works great (2 months)

published

Very light, very easy to start by just pressing a button and holding handle. I have thick (after recent rain) Walter buffalo and it handles it great. I mow fortnightly at 3rd level. Very easy to push. Only had it 2 months so can’t comment on longevity. Battery (5ah) lasts enough for standard front and rear yards these days. Only minor issue is catcher is a bit smaller than I’m used to but it doesn’t bother me.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Paul

Paul

  • 2 reviews

Great until the battery gave up the ghost

published

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Brad G.

Brad G.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Would not waste your money on these batteries

published

Bought the mower from Bunnings, while the mower works great, the work needed to keep the battery working is beyond a joke given the technology in batteries. The fact that the 36v will go into hibernation mode an not recover unless you are “using the mower and recharging the battery every two weeks” as explained by a Ryobi sales rep at a Bunnings store is sign that the product is either cheap or Ryobi have no understanding how often people need to mow small yards. Bunnings won’t do anything unless u have the receipt for a mower bought less than 12 months ago, even with each individual mower being tracked by serial number into a store. Stay away

Purchased in November 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Tez

TezMid North Coast, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Never thought I’d buy a battery lawn mower

published

Light weight, I’d never go back to petrol again. I will mention don’t buy and expect to mow an acre of grass these are designed for smaller yards. I get around 65 minutes out of my mower. I was so impressed I bought the whipper sniper as well.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM36 Series compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrea

AndreaAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Don't bother with Ryobi ...

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$750.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Claire Bear

Claire BearSouthwest, VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable powerful 10 /10

published
  • +3

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
dan30681

dan30681South East Queensland, QLD

Good idea but short of the mark

published

Plenty of power and good range. The catcher is a major letdown, it's difficult to get on and is angled up significantly meaning clippings don't get to the back of the catcher and they start coming back out in the grass before it is 1/3 full. The requirement to hold the Deadman levers while mowing is a bit silly too, no petrol mower ever had these. Also had two batteries fail within 12months and although they have Ryobi written all over them and the date of manufacture stamped into them, Ryobi won't replace them without a receipt.

Purchased in March 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$550.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Steven

StevenCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Buyer Beware

published

Purchased in September 2014 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Vicki S.

Vicki S.Melbourne, Victoria

  • 28 reviews

Rubbish

published

I bought this as I was sick of hurting my back trying to start the petrol mower but the catcher on this is just awful, I struggle to get it hooked/unhooked...hurting my back anyway! The catcher is a terrible design and when you finally remove it, huge wads of grass fall out from a chute on the mower which often needs clearing by hand. But the worst is that after just two uses, the mower will not turn on at all. The battery is fully charged, everything is as instructed, tips and tricks I found online have all failed. I will be returning it to point of purchase ASAP and would not get another Ryobi battery mower. Whoever designed the flimsy catcher should be made to sit and take it on and off all day as penance!

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers
Page 1 of 11

Questions & Answers

Carl B.

Carl B.asked

RLM36 Series

While mowing a thick lawn my mower stopped and now won't start again. I have checked the battery and it's fully charged the key is in place and everything else seems OK, it just won't start. Please advise?

No answers
HFamily

HFamilyasked

RLM36X46S5

Our mower is Ryobi RLM36X46S52 Any tips for putting the catcher on and off would be appreciated.

2 answers
northernangler
northernangler

I am right handed so I lift the flap that covers the grass clipping outlet up as high as I can then slip the catcher in and hang it on the two white clips on the mower itself. The two clips on the catcher should match up perfectly. Any further problem ask me again and I will try for an email contact.

Lisa
Lisa

I had same issue with my catcher. Struggled to align and connect to the mower. Took it back to the store for a replacement. Do also try the demo in the store to see if it has the same issue as you find some of the mowers have a catcher issue.

Rod W.

Rod W.asked

RLM36 Series

how do I remove the spring mechinism for cleaning as it is presently showing signs of rust. The battery cover shape is a water trap which witholds water and rusts the spring.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.