?
? !
2 photos
Samsung Galaxy A51

Samsung Galaxy A51 (2019)

MPNs: 1091006437, 1091006438, SM-A515FZBFATS and SM-A515FZKFATS
2.6 from 17 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.9 (16)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (15)
  • Software
    3.5 (13)
  • Battery Life
    3.9 (14)
  • Camera Quality
    4.0 (14)
  • Hardware
    3.2 (13)
Previous
Next
ganesha

ganesha

  • 14 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great camera

published

I mainly bought this phone for the camera which does live up the expectations based on much research. Pictures are sharp, colours good, and there is a full manual option to get the best out of each scene. I don't like the fiddly charging port and some of the functions are not very user friendly. The battery size should give better performance, it drains very quickly - maybe a lot of background stuff going on?

Purchased in March 2021 at Kogan.com for $397.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brad W.

Brad W.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Nice phone at a good price... Unless something goes wrong

published

Right out the box, screen the is fantastic, camera takes quality pics and performance is spot on! However for the following reason I will be unlikely to ever buy another Samsung electronic device.
What they don't tell you is that there is a liquid damage indicator strip just inside the Simcard opening which can be triggered from sweat while being in your pocket. If this happens, it will void the manufacturers warranty due to "water damage" and all remedies will be refused regardless of the cause of the fault in question. I learned this the hard way, once they see any marking on the LDI, all investigation stops and is stated as water damage, even if the fault seems completely unrelated.

Purchased in September 2020 at Toby Deals for $375.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
kathie

kathiePerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

poor battery and audio connection

published

Ive been using this phone for about 7 months, I have found that I have to recharge during the day. I do play some games but not during the day also when on a call I have found it drops calls and sometimes the sound is poor so you have to ask for repeats of conversation. When answering a call it doesnt accept my swipe to connect and I mostly have to call people back. My last 3 phones have been Samsungs and I am quite disappointed with this one.

Purchased in March 2019 at Harvey Norman for $499.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A51 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rick Stocker

Rick StockerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Screen died around 4 months after purchase. Warranty claim denied, then belatedly honoured.

published

Purchased in October 2020 at Officeworks Online store for $550.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Elizabeth S.

Elizabeth S.

  • 2 reviews

great phone just hope you don't need to deal with customer service

published

Screen died after 4 months. Phone's good and partner's we got at the same time is fine. Been 2 weeks and I'm still trying to organise service for the phone.

Purchased in September 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brent M.

Brent M.South East Queensland, QLD

Does a good job for its price point

published

Firstly. Inhad the phone 2 days, dripped it 6m and it got a slight bend in the case, is still working fine 6months.
Have had flagship phones since the s4 and while this isnt as fast or as fancy as the S20 Its not supposed to be otherwise why have the 20 priced where it is.
Overall have had no issue with the phone at all

Purchased in July 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jen_c

jen_cIllawarra, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Dismayed With Quality & Lack of Immediate Support

published

Purchased in October 2020 at Officeworks for $588.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Adam

AdamSydney, NSW

Not a good phone

published

Well, right from day 1 apps, pages even writing emails very laggy, 3 months on same, now pages and apps locking all the time. Turned phone off then on again (as suggested) which I shouldn't have to do! Also maintained software updates (as suggested) no improvement only battery life average, during a recent phone call phone goes silent and up comes a button resume call! sorry I left Apple.

Purchased in October 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Donna L.

Donna L.Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Worse phone I have ever owned

published

I loved the Samsung S range but I have had nothing but trouble with the A51 and have had one replaced already after only three months use. The phone is unreliable and often cuts out during calls. My Daughter had an A50 which also died after a few months but due to a tiny crack in the corner of the screen she wasn't able to replace it under warranty. Despite always buying Samsung I'm considering trying an iPhone after this one.

Purchased in May 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A51 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Valmorph

ValmorphSydney

  • 39 reviews
  • 30 likes

Decent phone - Like the wide angle camera, battery and screen

published

Purchased in December 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hyf

Hyf

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Terrible, broken and warped within 3 weeks

published

Bought this phone and it seemed like a good phone at first with lots of features, but my happiness turned to dismay and anger. The phone seemed to be suffering from overheating issues and within 3 weeks it had warped it's shape and would no longer charge up power, basically died without power. In less than 3 weeks out of the box!

I took it back to JB HiFi and they refused to replace it because of the warping from the heat and said it could only be sent away to be assessed for repair, and I may also have to PAY for the cost of repairs on top of that. A brand new phone!

I feel totally RIPPED OFF and upset with my experience shopping with JB HiFi and Samsung. Do not waste your money, buyer beware!

Purchased in November 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $529.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Emmalun

Emmalun

  • 3 reviews

Not as good as hoped

published

Purchased in November 2020 at Officeworks for $499.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
LukeCollins

LukeCollinsMelbourne

  • 17 reviews
  • 30 likes

Fantastic Phone

published

Great display, camera , storages 128 gig. Paid 420 at jb hifi because they price matched. Phone is fast does everything you need and more. For the money it is great better then my old Samsung s7. Very happy with the phone and the battery is good

Purchased in November 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $415.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jennifer P.

Jennifer P.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Poor quality matetials

published

Really let down thought Samsung was supposed to he a great brand. Poor quality screan. Scratched up within a month of using it. The running of it is ok and user friendly.

Purchased in July 2020 for $570.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Adrian B

Adrian BCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

A good phone. Excellent value for money.

published

I bought this phone for my wife to replace her old S4. After extensive researching, the A51 came up trumps with value for money, features and ease of use. I have the S9, which I am happy with, but the A51 has a longer battery life, a very good screen and better camera. Not too fussed about the lack of wireless charging. Very happy with the purchase. Paid $510.00.

Purchased for $510.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A51 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

User review

published

After having Galaxy S series, which are now are a bit pricey, I decided to go for the A series, after extensive research decided on the A51. Its a good phone , took some tweaking, after researching its traits, and works well. Audio is good as far as calls go, but the one thing I miss on all Samsungs ( now ) is the blue light missed call indicator, although I found an app which pretty much does performs the same purpose.

Good phone.

Purchased in June 2020 for $530.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
hasan

hasanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Worst samsung mobile

published
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Kathie P.

Kathie P.asked

Is there a difference between sm-A515FZBFATS and sm A515F/N?

1 answer
Hyf
Hyf

I am not sure the difference, sorry.

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Details

CategoryMobile Phones
Price (RRP) $599.00
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack and Expandable Storage
Charging PortUSB-C
Operating SystemAndroid
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Build
Weight172 g
Colour / FinishBlue or Black
Dimensions 158.5 x 73.6 x 7.9 mm
Body MaterialPlastic
Display
Pixel Density405 ppi
Display TechnologyAMOLED
Screen Size 6.5"
Screen Resolution1080 x 2400 pixels
Hardware
ChipsetExynos 9611
Battery Size4,000 mAh
Internal Storage128 GB
Memory (RAM)6 GB
Camera
Max Video Resolution2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)
Rear Camera(s)48MP Wide, 12MP Ultrawide, 5MP Macro, 5MP Depth Senseor
Front Camera(s)32MP Wide
Release dateDec 2019

Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 08806090243714, 08806090384028 and 08806090425042
  • MPN: 1091006437, 1091006438, SM-A515FZBFATS and SM-A515FZKFATS
  • GTIN13: 8806090206832, 8806090206931, 8806090214400, 8806090243523, 8806090243714, 8806090265266, 8806090283154, 8806090384004, 8806090384028, 8806090394379, 8806090394430 and 8806090665318
  • GTIN12: 887276397757

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.