?
? !
1 photo
Samsung Galaxy Note20 Ultra

Samsung Galaxy Note20 Ultra (2020)

256GB (5G), 256GB (4G), 512GB (5G)
2.4 from 23 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Generous storage space

  • Great for gaming

Cons

  • Expensive - cheapest option costs $1, 849

  • Large screen size can be bothersome

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.3 (21)
  • Ease of Use
    3.4 (21)
  • Software
    3.1 (19)
  • Battery Life
    2.7 (18)
  • Camera Quality
    3.5 (20)
  • Hardware
    3.0 (20)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Jeff

JeffNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Dual Sim Samsung Galaxy Note 20 Ultra 5G

published

Purchased in December 2020 for $1,275.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jordan L.

Jordan L.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Note20 Ultra review, the good, the bad.

published

Purchased in August 2020 at Telstra for $1,999.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
David K.

David K.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor considering purchased top of the line

published

Am resetting the phone almost daily - constant drop outs, misreporting of incoming numbers, misreporting of out going number to clients, finger print verification loops ie approves then 10 seconds later if transaction not finished asks again - gets quicker and quicker until i have to reset phone. To date no help from Telstra whatsoever with 18 months to run on contract....Pixel was perfect why did i move?

Purchased in November 2020 at Telstra for $1,800.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy Note20 Ultra compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Grateful22

Grateful22

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

AMAZING

published

This device is INCREDIBLE!! The features + storage + gorilla glass are amazing for anyone who is as clumsy as me lol

I have dropped my phone 5 times and no damages!

INCREDIBLE phone!!

Purchased in August 2020 at Woolworths mobile.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Misha xie

Misha xieGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

The worst phone ever! (Comic book guy voice)

published

Purchased in August 2020 at Vodafone for $1,999.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jake

JakePERTH

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

You’ve been robbed if you bought this

published

For more than 10 years I was a huge Samsung fan, also competed with my own children having iPhones. Upgraded to the Note20 ultra 5G 256 and paid $1999 and it was exactly the same as the S10. That’s okay, I guess, if you look from a point of 'what else can they really improve?’. However, it’s when you realise the price being the same around the globe, but in Aus they settled for the slower chipset. That’s what made my furious. Out of principal, sold it at a loss and got iPhone 12 pro max. Now I get it.

Purchased in August 2020 for $1,999.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
rnan

rnanSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Don't buy AU version, you will be disappointed

published

Bought on pre-order expecting great quality.

Thought, Samsung would have learned from the reviews of past 2 years pointing out the differences of performance/stability between snapdragon vs exynos. But no change.

Battery life - not as expected, can't last for a day
Camera - quality not as advertised. Got jerky HDR videos with video stabilization on. Zoom quality not good.
Heat - it easily gets hot if you continuously use for 10 mins. Cannot use without a case.
Price depreciation - Fast depreciation of value than an iphone.
Cost - Expensive in AU.

Suggestion, do not buy. If you want to invest AUD 1800, go for something else or something better at lower price.

Purchased in August 2020 at Samsung Online store for $1,529.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John O.

John O.Wheatbelt, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Second time not so lucky

published

Purchased in October 2020 at Telstra Retail Store for $1,800.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Darren A.

Darren A.North Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Absolute rubbish for a Flagship

published

Purchased in November 2020 at Telstra Retail Store for $1,800.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy Note20 Ultra compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

The worst Customer Service ever!!!

published

Purchased in November 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Attempt2

Attempt2Perth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Was this an upgrade! Dont think so..

published

Really disappointed. Had the Samsung Note 8 for 3 years and absolutely loved it. Decided to fork out the $2,000 for the Note 20 Ultra, its going to better, right!.. Wrong!!.. The Note 20 is erratic, slow, sometimes it Just Stops Responding and really not very nice to use because of this. The 'other half' has an OPPO, we were holidaying in Margaret River, I had not Phone or Data available, lucky the old OPPO did (and yes, we both use the same provider). Sill considering going back to my Note 8.

Purchased in September 2020 at Telstra Retail Store for $2,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kent

KentPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good, but not perfect.

published

Purchased in August 2020 at Samsung Online store for $1,799.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ryan

ryanHobart, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

makes you feel as though youve been ripped off.

published

Purchased in October 2020 for $1,900.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi Ryan, we appreciate the time you took to share your review and we do apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Sara
Samsung AU

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Buzzin' Dozen

Buzzin' DozenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 21 reviews
  • 21 likes

Great phone thats let down by excessive heat and glitches even after update

published

I am a business power user so at most i get about 5-6 hours out of the phone which is adequate but at least it charges up quickly. Excessive heat is very annoying.
Also when talking on the phone you need the volume at maximum to hear the other party, they sound distant.
Will not make a notification sound when receiving texts regardless of settings.
Dissapointed as the above issues spoil a good phone. Love the Dex connection and direct computer connection.
Build quality not as good as the S10....

Purchased in November 2020 at Vodafone.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
4 comments
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Buzzin' Dozen
Buzzin' Dozen

Thank you Sara, i have requested support and await contact.

Buzzin' Dozen
Buzzin' Dozen
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nik P

Nik PGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect phone for Tech Enthusiast

published

The phone is great and build of the phone is first class.
The OLED screen is amazing and 120 htz refresh rate makes everything smoother. I have been using the phone since it's launch in August and have no complains. I worried about the processor and Battery initially but after 1 week or so phone learnt my pattern of usage. Overall amaizing phone.

Purchased in August 2020 at Samsung Online store for $2,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Thank you for the 5 star review, Nik! Please reach out if you ever have any questions or need assistance :)

Sara
Samsung AU

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy Note20 Ultra compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Leo H

Leo H

  • 8 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great phone overall except for network issues (from the phone side) and battery.

published

Purchased in September 2020 at Vodafone for $1,909.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
3 comments
Samsung
AdaSamsung
Leo H
Leo H
Leo H
Leo H
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dodzee

DodzeeSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 35 reviews
  • 31 likes

The Worst Phone

published

Purchased in September 2020 at Harvey Norman for $2,588.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
4 comments
Dodzee
Dodzee

by the way, if you do a Google search for the above problems you will find a lot of people have the same issues

Samsung
AdaSamsung
Dodzee
Dodzee

I found out what the problem is: if you restart the mobile it will reset itself, and if you don't turn it off then all is ok,
so today I send it to Harvey Norman who will send it to Samsung for repair

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ivan S.

Ivan S.

  • 17 reviews
  • 10 likes

This phone is incredible, especially the camera(s). Customer service was lacking severely, at first.

published

The phone is just incredible! The camera(s) on it, beyond incredibly good.
Some accessories I ordered went missing in the first week and it too over a week to get in contact with customer service and then they even had trouble finding these items, even though I ordered through my Samsung account.
Some of Samsung's customer service channels were really bad... because it was almost impossible to get in contact with any person. Finally, after a week or more, I got some good customer service.
The Galaxy Buds Live Bluetooth headphone earbuds too well over a month to arrive.
But I'm so happy with the phone, it's all been worth it!

Purchased in August 2020 for $2,300.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Michael B.

Michael B.South East Queensland, QLD

Bite bulky and heavy

published

I bought note 20 ultra 5g I feel it bit bulky and heavy can't really use with hand that's what I feel over all its ok but i think note 10 is better then this.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Thank you for the feedback you have provided on the Note20 Ultra, Michael. It is much appreciated and will be passed on.

Ada
Samsung AU

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Samsung

Christopher

ChristopherQueensland

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect phone.... apart from the CPU.

published

Purchased in August 2020 at Samsung Online store for $1,479.20.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Attempt2

Attempt2asked

Galaxy Note20 Ultra (2020)

Did anyone Pre-Order their phone?.. Has anyone received their Earbuds yet?.. 1 Month and still waiting!.

3 answers
Christopher
Christopher

In Australia.
I preordered and it came with the AKG earphones in the box, other countries are different from what I hear.

Attempt2
Attempt2

I pre-ordered my $2,000 phone, followed the redemption process and still not received notification that the earbuds are on the way. Becoming increasingly disappointed. Oh! In WA (Australia).

Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi there, we hope your Note20 is treating you well! As for the redemption offer, eligible claimants should allow at least thirty (30) days for delivery of the Gift from the date they receive notification from Samsung that they have submitted an Eligible Claim. Samsung will use reasonable endeavours to deliver the Gift within 30 days from the date notification is received.

T&Cs > https://images.samsung.com/is/content/samsung/p5/au/terms-conditions/samsung-galaxy-note20-preorder-gwp_terms-and-conditions_04082020.pdf?

Promotions support - Email: promos.au@samsung.com
Phone: 1300 362 603 (Option 5)

Sara
Samsung AU

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Samsung Galaxy Note20 Ultra (2020)

Details

Features:

As Samsung markets them, here are some of the impressive features in the Galaxy Note 20 Ultra that may make you covet this phone, despite its dear price:

  • There’s an impressive inclusion of cameras here, particularly with the 12MP periscope telephoto and 12MP Ultrawide cameras, which add finesse and accuracy for optical zoom and to clearly capture more background, respectively.
  • If you’re not a fan of seeing that old familiar message ‘Insufficient storage space,’ you certainly won’t have to worry about that with the Note20 Ultra - this phone features 256GB of built-in storage, and up to 1TV of expandable storage space via a microSD card.
  • Super-fast charging gives you 50% of battery in 30 minutes, which is convenient when you have to rush out the door. Wireless charging and Wireless PowerShare are added features - with PowerShare allowing you to charge other devices such a Galaxy smart watch, using the back of your phone
  • With its large, phablet-like size (available in a 6.7-inch or 6.9-inch screen), Samsung also markets the Note 20 Ultra as a great phone for mobile gaming. This is helped along by its ability to stream Xbox games, a 120Hz display refresh rate, the sizable and enduring 4,500 mAh battery, and 5G network connectivity available for the two pricier options.
  • Other inclusions that may go some way in justifying the premium price point for the S20 Note Ultra include: 8K video, Dolby Atmos sound, water resistance up to 1.5 metres of water and when immersed for up to 30 minutes. The signature inclusion of the Samsung Galaxy Note Series - the stylus ‘S Pen’ - is also included, and is new and improved compared to previous versions.

What reviewers really thought of the S20 Note Ultra:

While the Samsung S20 Note Ultra is equipped with a host of impressive features, the majority opinion of reviewers was that Samsung did not deliver when it came to how this phone performed on a practical, day-to-day level.

Reviewers described its underwhelming performance, citing poor battery life, average cameras and the inclusion of the Exynos 990 for Australian phone models - which they considered a cheaper, less powerful version of the Snapdragon chipset used overseas. One reviewer shared the sentiment of others with an aptly titled review 'Makes you feel as though you've been ripped off.' A few devoted Samsung users even professed to switching to using an iPhone after their less-than-impressive experience with the Galaxy Note 20 Ultra.

Compare all 3 Samsung Galaxy Note20 Ultra (2020)
CategoryMobile PhonesMobile PhonesMobile Phones
Price (RRP) $1,849.00$1,999.00$2,199.00
FeaturesExpandable Storage, Stereo Speakers, Stylus (Included), Waterproof and Wireless Charging5G Network Compatible, Expandable Storage, Stereo Speakers, Stylus (Included), Waterproof and Wireless Charging5G Network Compatible, Expandable Storage, Stereo Speakers, Stylus (Included), Waterproof and Wireless Charging
Charging PortUSB-CUSB-CUSB-C
Operating SystemAndroidAndroidAndroid
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Build
Weight208 g208 g208 g
Colour / FinishMystic Bronze, Mystic White or Mystic BlackMystic Bronze, Mystic White or Mystic BlackMystic Black
Dimensions 164.8 x 77.2 x 8.1 mm164.8 x 77.2 x 8.1 mm164.8 x 77.2 x 8.1 mm
Body MaterialGlassGlassGlass
Display
Pixel Density496 ppi496 ppi496 ppi
Display TechnologyAMOLEDAMOLEDAMOLED
Screen Size 6.9"6.9"6.9"
Screen Resolution1440 x 3088 pixels1440 x 3088 pixels1440 x 3088 pixels
Hardware
Battery Size4,500 mAh4,500 mAh4,500 mAh
Internal Storage256 GB256 GB512 GB
Memory (RAM)8 GB12 GB12 GB
Camera
Max Video Resolution2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)
Rear Camera(s)108MP Wide, 12MP Periscope Telephoto, 12MP Ultrawide108MP Wide, 12MP Periscope Telephoto, 12MP Ultrawide108MP Wide, 12MP Periscope Telephoto, 12MP Ultrawide
Front Camera(s)10MP Wide10MP Wide10MP Wide
Release dateAug 2020Aug 2020Aug 2020
Compare all 3 Samsung Galaxy Note20 Ultra (2020)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.