??!
6 photos
Samsung Galaxy S9

Samsung Galaxy S9

64GB and 256GB
4.0 from 145 reviews

Pretty great.

Camera quality has been great! Very clear pictures with many settings available.
The phones has crisp brightness but also option to select blue light filter.
I use phone for social apps, music, reading articles, photos etc.
Apps sometimes have issues however mostly have run smoothly.

Purchased in September 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Samsung Galaxy 9

I upgraded from a Galaxy 8 to the 9 and suitably impressed with the phone. I use the phone out in the country on the Telstra network. The camera on the S9 is impressive and has been able to capture images in low light.

Purchased in December 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Overall good but the selfie camera tends to loose quality over time

The phone is overall good, but the selfie camera tends to loose its quality after a while. Also at night time the photos seem to come blurry compared to iPhone where their photos are more clear.
The battery lasts longer than the iPhone however when the phone reaches over 1 year or so it seems to deteriorate.
I love photos and take a lot of photos. The problem I sometime have is the photos turn up a bit fuzzy.
Some apps do seem to run a bit slower and some freeze I.e. Facebook. At the moment I have not been able to do any updates to my apps for quite a few months. They all go in pending and never complete the update which is frustrating. I keep deleting some of my data to ensure there is space but still nothing.
Also the prices of this phone keep increasing and is really not affordable to buy outright. I ended up going on a lease plan instead.

Purchased at Telstra.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

It's the best phone I've ever got 5 star for me

The camera is mad and it's real easy to use utube love it and the quality of the picture is good and apps run real smoothly I use games on this phone and it's mad

Purchased in January 2019 at Make it mine for $2,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Amazing phone with everything you need!

Great phone. Great colour. Apps are super fast with no running issues so far. Camera is very clear and takes great photos and videos with no blurring even at night. Apps run very fast with no crashing or freezing. Phone runs well even when close to capacity without slowing down. Phone also has tbe ability to take an sd card upto 128gb for plenty of storage for all those photos and precious memories. Easy to use for everything from social media to email to just taking basic notes or even using for a shopping list. Battery life is also great even when connected to wifi and mobile data. Easy to buy a universal case and screen protector for. All in all a great phone. Screen is a great size perfect for everyday reading. So worth the money. I couldn't wait to get my hands on this phone after upgrading from samsung s5 and woah definitely a huge step up from the bare basics.

Purchased in June 2019 at Samsung for $849.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Best phone i own from Samsung

Been a samsung user for years. I'm in brand repping business and this phone is perfect to use if you dont have DSLR for capturing photos. There is an option where you can blur background photo with some cool effects.

Purchased in September 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

The perfect mix of

I've been using this smartphone for over a year and cannot fault it. Screen size is optimal, and the display is durable and well designed. I use my smartphone all day long on a daily basis for both work and play, and find apps run smoothly and battery life is fantastic. Android is a very user friendly system and Samsung are both high quality and value for money. I would recommend to anyone. Photo quality is exceptional and the phone in general is a pleasure to use.

Purchased in May 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Best phone I have ever had

This is easily the best phone I have ever had
Photos are amazing and it has a great ease of use
My only cons are battery life and Bixby
I recommend disabling Bixby and just using Google assistant its is just annoying

Purchased in June 2018 at Optus.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Everything is great except Bixby and bluetooth not compatible with some VW/Skoda models

Great phone and camera, had it for over a year and hasn't missed a beat, no lagging or over heating issue and battery life is good. My only criticism is bixby, cant get rid of it, the bixby button is waste of space as I don't use it and I wish i can disable it and assign it for other functions.
Another issue I have and have discovered with other VW owners is the bluetooth. You can connect with calls but not for media, need to repair bluetooth if I want to use it with media

Purchased in September 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $997.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
3 comments
Hi Mike, we're glad to hear that you are enjoying your S9! Your feedback has been much appreciated. We also understand that you have had some troubles with the Bluetooth of your device. We would be happy to help you out with this. If you would like us to look into this, would you be able to provide us with your contact details and reference number via the link below? Please ensure to copy and paste your product review in a private message to us. > m.me/SamsungAustralia Jo Samsung AUHi Jo, any other way to get in touch? Not a FB userThat is okay, Mike. You are able to contact us on 1300 362 603 so that we can look into this for you. Alternatively, you can also take your device to the nearest service centre so we can take a hands-on look at this for you. Remember, all visits require a booking - you can make yours via the link below: https://www.samsung.com/au/samsungstore/bookings/ Jo Samsung AU

Good phone

Good phone. I love samsung and so easy to transfer files, photos and contacts over to samsung using smartswitch! Highly recommend samsung. Good size and easy to navigate and use.

Purchased in December 2018 at Officeworks for $909.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Hi Linda, hope you are enjoying your new S9. We're glad to hear that the switch from the old to new device has been easy! If any questions arise, feel free to let us know. Jo Samsung AU

Samsung is the best device for me

This is my 5th Samsung smartphone. They just work and have easy access to latest updates.
Always get 2 every 2 years, one for me, one for wife and pass on old to kids.

Purchased in January 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Upgrade of camera

Had been putting off upgrading my Samsung Galaxy since it was working well and I'm not one who needs the latest in technology. Turns out I'm impressed with the functionality of the camera embedded in the S9. Previously saw how the iPhone Xs camera took photos and was impressed with that but couldn't justify changing from being an Android user to an Apple user just from the camera. The filters available, the pro mode etc are all very much in use and a definite plus by the upgrade!

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys.


Absolutely terrible

The phone has terrible battery life and horrible network coverage . Since febuary when they updated to android PIE , my blueetoth seems to connect and disconnect on its own.Have given the phone to sevice centre for about 3 times and they are unable to find a solution and have told me to wait the year till android come out with a update .
Please dont waste your money on their phones , the after service is absolutely terrible.

Purchased in March 2018 at Vodafone.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Hi Setu, We know how important it is to have your Galaxy working, we’re here to help! Can you let us know more about it? Facebook > m.me/SamsungAustralia Lisa Samsung AU

Great phone if you use all aspects

If your in to having all the modern up to date accessories then you will love this phone as did I but I'm happy with s5 or s6 so you could save hundreds if your not to concerned for being a little behind or out dated.

Purchased in May 2018.

Love my phone

We have had Samsung galaxy phones for years and love them especially the s9 so easy to use and so many great features. The camera is wonderful so many great pics of the kid's and nature never fails me would recommend to anyone

Purchased in November 2018 at Telstra for $690.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Not live up to expectation

Not sure if it is build issue but the finger print sensor paint peel off from two months of use.
Camera has good exposure for darker scene. Focus is not as fast as my previous Sony and picture seem a bit blurry when zoom in.
Battery is another area it can do better. With only browsing internet on train/bus, i can barely get a whole day with full charge.

Purchased in April 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
1 comment
Hi Ourco, we suggest taking your device to a service centre if you would like some assistance from our techs with some of the troubles you're facing. You can find your closest service centre via the link below: >https://www.samsung.com/au/support/service-centre/ Remember, all visits require a booking: >https://www.samsung.com/au/samsungstore/bookings/ Lisa Samsung AU

Samsung getting the job done.

Very happy with the phone in total. Great camera and user interface. No problems to report.
System runs smoothly and operates as it should. Making calls and sending messages work as it should.

Purchased in June 2017.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Happy with it

Camera is much better than my old samsung s6, works pretty well in low light conditions as well.

It's not as thin as the s6 edge but this works for me because I find it easier to grasp.

So far there has been no slowdown and the battery life has been quite good.

Purchased in January 2018 for $899.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Perfect when I met you but 3 months in I started to see your true colours

I was very excited about this phone and had been waiting for Samsung to come out with a device that was much like my first borderless phone love- the mimix, this phone has it all on the spec sheets, great camera, slim design (fits in small hands no worries, little wiggle to reach the top, but otherwise manageable for one handed use) amazing screen, big battery! Better placement of the fingerprint scanner.

This new little guy was lasting me all day, no issues, then about 3 months in and I get a software update around this time. The battery life drops, dramatically! It’s now needing to be charged once a day, then about another 3 months and it’s needing to be charged 3 times a day. Now, almost 10 months in and it’s constantly plugged into the battery pack
, it kills a 10,000mah battery. This thing is a vampire. , just sucks all the juice out of it.

The new ui is good, but they oversimplified it, makes it hard to find things in settings. The gestures take a little bit to get used to but no problem. Camera is a little over saturated compared to an iPhone. You can take some nice shots on it, but takes a bit of fidgeting. I have the screen on at half brightness as it can’t really handle any more than that. Even then, unplugged it’s lasting me about 3 hours. I play two ar games on this guy, and they can be played, but the battery really cops it.

Purchased in August 2018 at Ebay for $799.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
2 comments
Hi Linh, thanks for taking the time out to share your experience with your S9. I'm sorry to hear that you are facing troubles with your battery and screen. I would highly recommend you take your device to one of our many service locations so our techs can conduct an assessment of your device. You can find your closest service centre via the link below: >https://www.samsung.com/au/support/service-centre/ Remember, all visits require a booking: >https://www.samsung.com/au/samsungstore/bookings/ You can also reach out via Facebook- please ensure to copy and paste your product review in a private message to us. > m.me/SamsungAustralia Lisa Samsung AUThanks for the reply, I've visited the Samsung store a couple months ago and they said that that a factory rest would fix it, however all it's done is wiped my phone and I've had to reload everything. I really did want to love the phone, but the battery performance has been fairy lacklustre

So far so good

The shape is thin and long, allowing for one hand operation. The colour of the screen is vivid, responsive. The photo quality is great too. I love the slow motion video.

Purchased in March 2019 at Telstra .


Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

Is there a big difference between the international and Australia version of this phone? Kogan and elsewhere sell them for around $730 to $750 which is very cheap. Kogan do have a disclaimer saying that international models may not have some features such as Samsung Pay etc.
3 answers
I do not know the asnwer to your question. I paid around $1000 for this phoneThanks Val for replying. How long ago did you purchase it? With the S10 out now retailers have dropped the price of the S9 dramatically, but Samsung Australia still has them price expensively at $999 for the 64GB model.Hi Damo, international devices differ from the local Australian models through parts and software, as they are fitted, programmed and optimised for the country of purchase. Our service centres here in Australia are not equipped with the necessary parts and/or software to cater for international models. If you do have any issues with the device, it is best to get in contact with the country of purchase to receive a remedy. You can find out more information via the below link: http://www.samsung.com/au/made-for-australia/ Jo Samsung AU

Can you download the photos to your computer?
1 answer
Hi, you are able to transfer downloaded photos to your PC. I have provided similar steps via the link below to help guide you. > https://www.samsung.com/au/support/mobile-devices/transfer-photos-from-phone-to-pc/ Jo Samsung AU

I've just updated to an S9 - is there some way of showing that I have a message or missed a phone call? If I don't hear a message come in there is no indication on the screen like there was on all my other phones - they used to show a small number in the corner of the app on the screen
2 answers
Check in setting if you have the notifications set on, they might not be, I get all the notifications from missed calls and texts but i also went through all the settings and changed them all to how I like them.Hi there, thanks for your question! There are a few ways you can check if you have missed calls, messages or notifications. Firstly, if you have your Always On feature enabled you will see notification icons below the time. (Please note if you have Battery Saver on Always On gets disabled as well as the LED indicator on the top left of the screen). Check Settings > Notifications > Enable 'App Icon Badges' > Click into App Icon Badges and make sure under 'Badge Style' Show with number is enabled. Then below that there is a 'Show notifications' feature which if you turn on, you can press & hold onto an app, and it'll give you a small notification preview. (Please check through the list of apps in the first page to see if the right apps are enabled). Check Settings > Display > Enable LED indicator Hope this helps! And remember, if Battery Saver is turned on, most of your notifications indicators will be disabled to save battery. Philip Samsung Australia

Details

Samsung Galaxy S9 64GBSamsung Galaxy S9 256GB
CategoryMobile PhonesMobile Phones
Price (RRP) $1,199$1,349
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage, Waterproof and Wireless Charging3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage, Waterproof and Wireless Charging
Charging Port USB-CUSB-C
Operating SystemAndroidAndroid
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Display
Pixel Density570 ppi570 ppi
Screen Size 5.8"5.8"
Screen Resolution1440 x 2960 pixels1440 x 2960 pixels
Display TechnologyAMOLEDAMOLED
Camera
Max Video Resolution 2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)
Front Camera(s)8 MP Wide8 MP Wide
Rear Camera(s)12MP Wide12MP Wide
Hardware
ProcessorOcta-core 4x2.7 GHz & 4x1.8 GHzOcta-core 4x2.7 GHz & 4x1.8 GHz
Internal Storage64 GB256 GB
Battery Size3,000 mAh3,000 mAh
Memory (RAM)4 GB4 GB
Build
Colour / Finish Midnight Black, Lilac Purple, Coral Blue, Sunrise GoldMidnight Black, Lilac Purple, Coral Blue
Dimensions 147.7 x 68.7 x 8.5 mm147.7 x 68.7 x 8.5 mm
Body MaterialGlassGlass
Weight163 g163 g
Release dateMar 2018Mar 2018

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.