??!
6 photos
Samsung Galaxy S9

Samsung Galaxy S9

64GB, 256GB
3.9 from 168 reviews

Reviews

(76)
(44)
(20)
(13)
(15)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (64)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (62)
  • Battery Life
    3.8 (64)
  • Camera Quality
    4.4 (64)
  • Hardware
    4.3 (61)
  • Software
    4.0 (61)
Annie01

Annie01SYDNEY

  • 9 reviews

Worst phone

published
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
2 comments
Annie01
Annie01

Have been using samsung for many years now looks like have to go to iphone, cannot afford to go through many repairs and getting a second hand replacement phone from samsung with the same issue or more, have lost too much on samsung phone

Samsung
KathSamsung
Renata Fanti

Renata Fanti

  • 5 reviews

Great phone!

published

This phone has been amazing to me. I bought it second hand and everything works just fine!
I would highly recommend it to anyone that loves Samsung and their S line and dont want to pay thousands for the S10/S20...well done Samsung!

Ease of Use
Value for Money
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Aff

AffMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews

Almost Bullit proof

published

Great phone . Have owned it for many years with out any failures. Well designed . User freindly with great style. Yes it is an older phone but will not be replacing till it dies

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Great to hear you are currently enjoying your Samsung S9, Aff. We really appreciate sharing your experience with us and I will be sure to forward this on to the team :)

Kath
Samsung AU

Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S9 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Worst Android phone I have owned.

published

Purchased in May 2019 for $800.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
yes i.

yes i.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Love my phone

published

Love my phone, although its difficult to save someones phonenumber from a text. Youcan only copy and paste whole messages, not just the number or text you want . Particularly annoying for addresses into maps.

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $990.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Andy C.

Andy C.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Rubbish

published

Garbage phone. The worst Samsung I've owned. Inaccurate touch screen, terrible button placement and God damn Bixby that you can't turn off. Samsung really dropped thd ball. Don't buy this phone.

Purchased in October 2019 for $400.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Jacob Guzman

Jacob GuzmanSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Nice product design

published

UI is good but UX could be better
The product design is quite nice
Camera quality still not great (front and back)
The flexibility of the software and the ability to customize is great

Purchased in January 2019 at Telstra for $1,000.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
John Clark

John ClarkEyre Peninsula, SA

Not a bad phone

published

I believe that the phone is quite fair for price. But it seems too be awfully light. Very easy to drop without cover. Will probably be looking at Apple products Next

Purchased in January 2019 for $1,000.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Gurto

GurtoMid North Coast, NSW

  • 18 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst phone ever for this day & age! CRAP CRAP CRAP!!!

published

Purchased in October 2018 for $1,600.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S9 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mac

MacSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews

Quite similar to Samsung S8

published

I had a Samsung S8 and have to buy a new one since it got busted. Being an avid Samsung user, I purchased the next one, Samsung S9, as Samsung S10 was still a bit expensive for my liking. In terms of day to day functionality, Samsung S9 has the touch and feel of Samsung S8. Without considering the camera, everything is quite the same. I would recommend it, however if you have a Samsung S8 that's working, probably wait for Samsung S10 to go down in price further.

Purchased in May 2019 at Samsung Online store.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Tahlea

TahleaCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Pretty good

published

The phone is of good quality and the camera is actually very clear and looks great. The durability is alright but the phone did crack from small drops. Apps run smoothly on the phone.

Purchased in June 2018.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
George D.

George D.

  • 2 reviews

Brilliant for the price

published

I bought the phone for my son who's a vehicle mech. He uses it for getting vehicle information off the net as well as calling parts suppliers. It has been excellent for that as the speed and screen size are perfect for the job. Because of the environment in which it is used we got the hardened glass and case and that has been perfect as well. The camera is used to document vehicle issues and to suport reports and has worked well for that task. Overall the S9a nd case has been perfect for our need and has surpassed our expectations.

Purchased in December 2019 for $459.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
tracey n.

tracey n.Canberra 2600, ACT

  • 3 reviews

Love it

published

This is my 3rd phone from Samsung and I love it. Haven't had a problem with it. The longevity of the battery is great and its camera offers an opportunity for great photos

Purchased in February 2019.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
kristieread

kristiereadSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews

Great phone

published

I will never go back to Apple since having an android phone. The Samsung S9 has a great camera, is easy to use, stylish and I love that it has light notifications. Great for when you are at work. Speaker phone works well and is clear and crisp

Purchased in June 2019 at Catch for $752.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Mick

Mick

  • 2 reviews

Galaxy S9 wont load

published

Phone was good but now wont load , freezes or takes a long time to load. Have turned on and off and re booted many times. Battery drains very quickly also . I optimise my device care many times a day and close all apps when i finish with them. Have been using Samsung for many years think its time for a change.

Purchased in July 2018 for $1,200.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S9 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Meg

MegGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Good handset

published

Captures fantastic photos. Video quality is amazing. One of the best product from Samsung. Has a good battery life .Love the Samsung apps. Water detection is a bit annoying. Overall it is a good buy.

Purchased in November 2018 at Vodafone.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Great to hear you are currently enjoying your Samsung S9, Meg. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be forwarded to the team. Should you have any enquiries, please don't hesitate to send us a private message.

Kath
Samsung AU

Ted

TedBerwick

  • 2 reviews

Great phone, does the job

published

Very happy with this phone. It is fast, plenty of memory to install apps. It is fast and decent camera. No lag - so highly recommend it to anyone. It has all feature that you need and more. Battery is decent , lasts more than a day.

Purchased in January 2019 at Vodafone.

Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Loumick1

Loumick1South East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews

Reliable phone, find the edge awkward

published

The phone was the natural choice for upgrade at the time for my lagging S5. Does what I expect. I am not a heavy user of my phone but it does all the things I would want it to do without issue. I find the ‘edge’ awkward and clumsy and often can’t seem to quite touch the screen in the right way to click things I want to if they are near the edge.

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman for $1,199.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Swanny

Swanny

  • 6 reviews

Great phone

published

Camera is good but could be better at night. The phone display is nice and clear with great brightness settings. Battery has been good until the last month or so it is starting to lose its charge a lot quicker. Haven't had any isdues with using apps, can do everything easily on this phone.

Purchased in March 2017.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Dunsobarky

DunsobarkySydney, NSW

Fingerprint sensor doesn't work and phone won't support USB connected headsets

published

It's fast and has a good enough camera. The screen is good too however...it has some usability flaws
Can't use the fingerprint sensor to unlock the phone, it fails 90% of the time.
The phone app won't use the USB-C port connected headset even though voice recorder, Youtube, music apps etc all can use it perfectly.

Purchased in April 2019.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Damo

Damoasked

Is there a big difference between the international and Australia version of this phone? Kogan and elsewhere sell them for around $730 to $750 which is very cheap. Kogan do have a disclaimer saying that international models may not have some features such as Samsung Pay etc.

3 answers
Val
Val

I do not know the asnwer to your question. I paid around $1000 for this phone

Damo
Damo

Thanks Val for replying. How long ago did you purchase it? With the S10 out now retailers have dropped the price of the S9 dramatically, but Samsung Australia still has them price expensively at $999 for the 64GB model.

Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi Damo, international devices differ from the local Australian models through parts and software, as they are fitted, programmed and optimised for the country of purchase. Our service centres here in Australia are not equipped with the necessary parts and/or software to cater for international models.

If you do have any issues with the device, it is best to get in contact with the country of purchase to receive a remedy. You can find out more information via the below link:
http://www.samsung.com/au/made-for-australia/

Jo
Samsung AU

circlek

circlekasked

Galaxy S9 64GB

Can you download the photos to your computer?

1 answer
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi, you are able to transfer downloaded photos to your PC. I have provided similar steps via the link below to help guide you.

> https://www.samsung.com/au/support/mobile-devices/transfer-photos-from-phone-to-pc/

Jo
Samsung AU

Robyn

Robynasked

Galaxy S9 256GB

I've just updated to an S9 - is there some way of showing that I have a message or missed a phone call? If I don't hear a message come in there is no indication on the screen like there was on all my other phones - they used to show a small number in the corner of the app on the screen

2 answers
Ash
Ash

Check in setting if you have the notifications set on, they might not be, I get all the notifications from missed calls and texts but i also went through all the settings and changed them all to how I like them.

Samsung
PhilSamsung

Hi there, thanks for your question!

There are a few ways you can check if you have missed calls, messages or notifications.

Firstly, if you have your Always On feature enabled you will see notification icons below the time.

(Please note if you have Battery Saver on Always On gets disabled as well as the LED indicator on the top left of the screen).

Check Settings > Notifications > Enable 'App Icon Badges' > Click into App Icon Badges and make sure under 'Badge Style' Show with number is enabled.

Then below that there is a 'Show notifications' feature which if you turn on, you can press & hold onto an app, and it'll give you a small notification preview. (Please check through the list of apps in the first page to see if the right apps are enabled).

Check Settings > Display > Enable LED indicator

Hope this helps! And remember, if Battery Saver is turned on, most of your notifications indicators will be disabled to save battery.

Philip
Samsung Australia

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.