??!
6 photos
Samsung Galaxy S9

Samsung Galaxy S9

64GB and 256GB
4.0 from 151 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
72
4 star
37
3 star
19
2 star
11
1 star
12

Loumick1

Loumick1South East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 13 likes

Reliable phone, find the edge awkward

published

The phone was the natural choice for upgrade at the time for my lagging S5. Does what I expect. I am not a heavy user of my phone but it does all the things I would want it to do without issue. I find the ‘edge’ awkward and clumsy and often can’t seem to quite touch the screen in the right way to click things I want to if they are near the edge.

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman for $1,199.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Swanny

Swanny

  • 6 reviews

Great phone

published

Camera is good but could be better at night. The phone display is nice and clear with great brightness settings. Battery has been good until the last month or so it is starting to lose its charge a lot quicker. Haven't had any isdues with using apps, can do everything easily on this phone.

Purchased in March 2017.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Dunsobarky

DunsobarkySydney, NSW

Fingerprint sensor doesn't work and phone won't support USB connected headsets

published

It's fast and has a good enough camera. The screen is good too however...it has some usability flaws
Can't use the fingerprint sensor to unlock the phone, it fails 90% of the time.
The phone app won't use the USB-C port connected headset even though voice recorder, Youtube, music apps etc all can use it perfectly.

Purchased in April 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung

A really useful phone that can do practically everything. Cheap for what it is, and good with battery life.

published

Can be used for anything. Fairly cheap, apps run smoothly. Good battery life and works with most additions, such as phone pens and airpods. Fun and useful. Makes a great gift.

Purchased at Optus.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Md Shariful A.

Md Shariful A.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Not happy with this phone.

published

The fingerprint sensor for unlocking the phone doesn't work all the time. I have to press the side button. I was happy with my old galaxy note 5. Shouldn't upgrade it.

Purchased in December 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
JoanneSamsung

Worst phone ever. And worst service. Apple is far better than samsung.

published
1 comment
Samsung
JoanneSamsung

We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us, Navi. We've sent you a PM requesting for more information. When it's most convenient for you can you please send that through?

Jo
Samsung AU


Lily K.

Lily K.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Pretty great.

published

Camera quality has been great! Very clear pictures with many settings available.
The phones has crisp brightness but also option to select blue light filter.
I use phone for social apps, music, reading articles, photos etc.
Apps sometimes have issues however mostly have run smoothly.

Purchased in September 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
JoanneSamsung

Brian M.

Brian M.

  • 4 reviews

Samsung Galaxy 9

published

I upgraded from a Galaxy 8 to the 9 and suitably impressed with the phone. I use the phone out in the country on the Telstra network. The camera on the S9 is impressive and has been able to capture images in low light.

Purchased in December 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
NoName

NoNameSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Overall good but the selfie camera tends to loose quality over time

published

Purchased at Telstra.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Robert

RobertMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

It's the best phone I've ever got 5 star for me

published

The camera is mad and it's real easy to use utube love it and the quality of the picture is good and apps run real smoothly I use games on this phone and it's mad

Purchased in January 2019 at Make it mine for $2,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Emmah_kate

Emmah_kateSouthwest, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing phone with everything you need!

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Samsung for $849.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Mummymoo

MummymooWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best phone i own from Samsung

published

Been a samsung user for years. I'm in brand repping business and this phone is perfect to use if you dont have DSLR for capturing photos. There is an option where you can blur background photo with some cool effects.

Purchased in September 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Lauren V

Lauren VSouthwest, VIC

  • 4 reviews

The perfect mix of

published

I've been using this smartphone for over a year and cannot fault it. Screen size is optimal, and the display is durable and well designed. I use my smartphone all day long on a daily basis for both work and play, and find apps run smoothly and battery life is fantastic. Android is a very user friendly system and Samsung are both high quality and value for money. I would recommend to anyone. Photo quality is exceptional and the phone in general is a pleasure to use.

Purchased in May 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

MarkN

MarkNIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Best phone I have ever had

published

This is easily the best phone I have ever had
Photos are amazing and it has a great ease of use
My only cons are battery life and Bixby
I recommend disabling Bixby and just using Google assistant its is just annoying

Purchased in June 2018 at Optus.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Mike C.

Mike C.

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Everything is great except Bixby and bluetooth not compatible with some VW/Skoda models

published

Great phone and camera, had it for over a year and hasn't missed a beat, no lagging or over heating issue and battery life is good. My only criticism is bixby, cant get rid of it, the bixby button is waste of space as I don't use it and I wish i can disable it and assign it for other functions.
Another issue I have and have discovered with other VW owners is the bluetooth. You can connect with calls but not for media, need to repair bluetooth if I want to use it with media

Purchased in September 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $997.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
3 comments
Samsung
JoanneSamsung
Mike C.
Mike C.

Hi Jo,
any other way to get in touch? Not a FB user

Samsung
JoanneSamsung
Linda

LindaSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 31 reviews
  • 22 likes

Good phone

published

Good phone. I love samsung and so easy to transfer files, photos and contacts over to samsung using smartswitch! Highly recommend samsung. Good size and easy to navigate and use.

Purchased in December 2018 at Officeworks for $909.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
JoanneSamsung

Hi Linda, hope you are enjoying your new S9. We're glad to hear that the switch from the old to new device has been easy! If any questions arise, feel free to let us know.

Jo
Samsung AU


Wetwork65

Wetwork65Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 25 reviews
  • 20 likes

Samsung is the best device for me

published

This is my 5th Samsung smartphone. They just work and have easy access to latest updates.
Always get 2 every 2 years, one for me, one for wife and pass on old to kids.

Purchased in January 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Shopaholic123

Shopaholic123Perth

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Upgrade of camera

published

Had been putting off upgrading my Samsung Galaxy since it was working well and I'm not one who needs the latest in technology. Turns out I'm impressed with the functionality of the camera embedded in the S9. Previously saw how the iPhone Xs camera took photos and was impressed with that but couldn't justify changing from being an Android user to an Apple user just from the camera. The filters available, the pro mode etc are all very much in use and a definite plus by the upgrade!

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Setu

SetuPeel, WA

  • 2 reviews

Absolutely terrible

published

The phone has terrible battery life and horrible network coverage . Since febuary when they updated to android PIE , my blueetoth seems to connect and disconnect on its own.Have given the phone to sevice centre for about 3 times and they are unable to find a solution and have told me to wait the year till android come out with a update .
Please dont waste your money on their phones , the after service is absolutely terrible.

Purchased in March 2018 at Vodafone.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
Lisa K.Samsung

Sambo01

Sambo01Hunter Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Great phone if you use all aspects

published

If your in to having all the modern up to date accessories then you will love this phone as did I but I'm happy with s5 or s6 so you could save hundreds if your not to concerned for being a little behind or out dated.

Purchased in May 2018.


Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

Damo

Damoasked

Is there a big difference between the international and Australia version of this phone? Kogan and elsewhere sell them for around $730 to $750 which is very cheap. Kogan do have a disclaimer saying that international models may not have some features such as Samsung Pay etc.

3 answers
Val
Val

I do not know the asnwer to your question. I paid around $1000 for this phone

Damo
Damo

Thanks Val for replying. How long ago did you purchase it? With the S10 out now retailers have dropped the price of the S9 dramatically, but Samsung Australia still has them price expensively at $999 for the 64GB model.

Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi Damo, international devices differ from the local Australian models through parts and software, as they are fitted, programmed and optimised for the country of purchase. Our service centres here in Australia are not equipped with the necessary parts and/or software to cater for international models.

If you do have any issues with the device, it is best to get in contact with the country of purchase to receive a remedy. You can find out more information via the below link:
http://www.samsung.com/au/made-for-australia/

Jo
Samsung AU


circlek

circlekasked

Galaxy S9 64GB

Can you download the photos to your computer?

1 answer
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi, you are able to transfer downloaded photos to your PC. I have provided similar steps via the link below to help guide you.

> https://www.samsung.com/au/support/mobile-devices/transfer-photos-from-phone-to-pc/

Jo
Samsung AU


Robyn

Robynasked

Galaxy S9 256GB

I've just updated to an S9 - is there some way of showing that I have a message or missed a phone call? If I don't hear a message come in there is no indication on the screen like there was on all my other phones - they used to show a small number in the corner of the app on the screen

2 answers
Ash
Ash

Check in setting if you have the notifications set on, they might not be, I get all the notifications from missed calls and texts but i also went through all the settings and changed them all to how I like them.

Samsung
PhilSamsung

Hi there, thanks for your question!

There are a few ways you can check if you have missed calls, messages or notifications.

Firstly, if you have your Always On feature enabled you will see notification icons below the time.

(Please note if you have Battery Saver on Always On gets disabled as well as the LED indicator on the top left of the screen).

Check Settings > Notifications > Enable 'App Icon Badges' > Click into App Icon Badges and make sure under 'Badge Style' Show with number is enabled.

Then below that there is a 'Show notifications' feature which if you turn on, you can press & hold onto an app, and it'll give you a small notification preview. (Please check through the list of apps in the first page to see if the right apps are enabled).

Check Settings > Display > Enable LED indicator

Hope this helps! And remember, if Battery Saver is turned on, most of your notifications indicators will be disabled to save battery.

Philip
Samsung Australia


Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Details

Samsung Galaxy S9 256GB

Samsung Galaxy S9 256GB

32 reviews
Samsung Galaxy S9 64GB

Samsung Galaxy S9 64GB

116 reviews
CategoryMobile PhonesMobile Phones
Price (RRP) $1,349$1,199
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage, Waterproof and Wireless Charging3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage, Waterproof and Wireless Charging
Charging Port USB-CUSB-C
Operating SystemAndroidAndroid
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Display
Pixel Density570 ppi570 ppi
Screen Size 5.8"5.8"
Screen Resolution1440 x 2960 pixels1440 x 2960 pixels
Display TechnologyAMOLEDAMOLED
Camera
Max Video Resolution 2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)
Front Camera(s)8 MP Wide8 MP Wide
Rear Camera(s)12MP Wide12MP Wide
Hardware
ProcessorOcta-core 4x2.7 GHz & 4x1.8 GHzOcta-core 4x2.7 GHz & 4x1.8 GHz
Internal Storage256 GB64 GB
Battery Size3,000 mAh3,000 mAh
Memory (RAM)4 GB4 GB
Build
Colour / Finish Midnight Black, Lilac Purple, Coral BlueMidnight Black, Lilac Purple, Coral Blue, Sunrise Gold
Dimensions 147.7 x 68.7 x 8.5 mm147.7 x 68.7 x 8.5 mm
Body MaterialGlassGlass
Weight163 g163 g
Release dateMar 2018Mar 2018

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.