??!
6 photos
Samsung Galaxy S9

Samsung Galaxy S9 (2018)

64GB, 256GB
3.9 from 173 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    3.8 (68)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (66)
  • Software
    4.0 (65)
  • Battery Life
    3.9 (68)
  • Camera Quality
    4.3 (68)
  • Hardware
    4.3 (65)
Previous
Next
MickQ

MickQTownsville

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Aussie model Galaxy S9

published

Arrived quickly, brand new sealed Australian model phone. Works perfectly as expected. The price was good, and I think best price for Aussie model.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Mac

MacSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Major Problems following recent update

published

Major problems following an update last week. Phone worked perfectly before this update.
So far I have found:-
It is now almost impossible to open websites. Previously no problems
All my photos were wiped out. Not in backup or anywhere on the phone
Problems with Smart Call.
I do not have excess data in any category.
Tech support were not able to help.
Really disappointed

Purchased in July 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Shane S

Shane SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great phone!

published

Upgraded from an S8/64 GB. Been very happy with this phone. Got it second-hand on Gumtree and it hasn't skipped a beat. Love the huge 256GB storage space.

Got lots of apps installed, so am now thinking about upgrading to the S10 for extra speed.

Highly recommend this phone.

Purchased in January 2020 at Gumtree.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S9 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark

Mark

  • 2 reviews

Could be the BEST phone

published

Purchased in June 2020 for A$570.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Un3arthly

Un3arthlyMelbourne

  • 14 reviews
  • 15 likes

Good phone

published

Phone is great, does all that I need. Runs Smooth, no lags. Memory is good.
My only dislike is the curved screen, even with an expensive otter box case there is no stopping the screen from breaking. Glass screen protectors also don't stick for long. Otherwise it's a great phone.

Purchased in May 2019 for A$1,200.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Gurto

GurtoMid North Coast, NSW

  • 19 reviews
  • 19 likes

No wonder the Samsung S9 has been discontinued, as it's a very ordinary phone for this day & age

published

The Samsung S9 is honestly the worst phone I've ever used. This phone calls people randomly at any time of the day or night. Starts up websites without even touching anything, can't edit properly, camera was useless I can go on & on. Honestly for this day & age, this is the WORST phone by far I've ever used. Samsung should be totally ashamed of themselves for even putting this to market & for sale. Absolutely useless phone & has caused me so much grief it's ridiculous!! No wonder it got discontinued - it's crap!! Total waste of money.

Purchased in October 2018 for A$1,299.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
2 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Gurto
Gurto

Thanks for your reply Kath, appreciated. Yes no problems at all.

kylieah

kylieahMid North Coast, NSW

Great phone

published

Has been a great phone. Was very over priced though at $1200. Only had a minor issue with it which I fixed easily enough and was a software glitch. Had no other problems with it at all. Love the lilac colour. I've had it almost 2 years and was going to upgrade but think I'll just keep using it now. Great battery life, fast charging and I have a Samsung led cover which works great with this phone.

Purchased in August 2018 for A$1,200.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Annie01

Annie01SYDNEY

  • 10 reviews
  • 12 likes

Worst phone

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
7 comments
Annie01
Annie01

Have been using samsung for many years now looks like have to go to iphone, cannot afford to go through many repairs and getting a second hand replacement phone from samsung with the same issue or more, have lost too much on samsung phone

Samsung
KathSamsung
Annie01
Annie01
Renata Fanti

Renata Fanti

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great phone!

published

This phone has been amazing to me. I bought it second hand and everything works just fine!
I would highly recommend it to anyone that loves Samsung and their S line and dont want to pay thousands for the S10/S20...well done Samsung!

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S9 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Aff

AffMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Almost Bullit proof

published

Great phone . Have owned it for many years with out any failures. Well designed . User freindly with great style. Yes it is an older phone but will not be replacing till it dies

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Great to hear you are currently enjoying your Samsung S9, Aff. We really appreciate sharing your experience with us and I will be sure to forward this on to the team :)

Kath
Samsung AU

Worst Android phone I have owned.

published

Purchased in May 2019 for A$800.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
yes i.

yes i.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Love my phone

published

Love my phone, although its difficult to save someones phonenumber from a text. Youcan only copy and paste whole messages, not just the number or text you want . Particularly annoying for addresses into maps.

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$990.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Andy C.

Andy C.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Rubbish

published

Garbage phone. The worst Samsung I've owned. Inaccurate touch screen, terrible button placement and God damn Bixby that you can't turn off. Samsung really dropped thd ball. Don't buy this phone.

Purchased in October 2019 for A$400.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Jacob Guzman

Jacob GuzmanSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Nice product design

published

UI is good but UX could be better
The product design is quite nice
Camera quality still not great (front and back)
The flexibility of the software and the ability to customize is great

Purchased in January 2019 at Telstra for A$1,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
John Clark

John ClarkEyre Peninsula, SA

Not a bad phone

published

I believe that the phone is quite fair for price. But it seems too be awfully light. Very easy to drop without cover. Will probably be looking at Apple products Next

Purchased in January 2019 for A$1,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S9 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mac

MacSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Quite similar to Samsung S8

published

I had a Samsung S8 and have to buy a new one since it got busted. Being an avid Samsung user, I purchased the next one, Samsung S9, as Samsung S10 was still a bit expensive for my liking. In terms of day to day functionality, Samsung S9 has the touch and feel of Samsung S8. Without considering the camera, everything is quite the same. I would recommend it, however if you have a Samsung S8 that's working, probably wait for Samsung S10 to go down in price further.

Purchased in May 2019 at Samsung Online store.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Tahlea

TahleaCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Pretty good

published

The phone is of good quality and the camera is actually very clear and looks great. The durability is alright but the phone did crack from small drops. Apps run smoothly on the phone.

Purchased in June 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
George D.

George D.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Brilliant for the price

published

I bought the phone for my son who's a vehicle mech. He uses it for getting vehicle information off the net as well as calling parts suppliers. It has been excellent for that as the speed and screen size are perfect for the job. Because of the environment in which it is used we got the hardened glass and case and that has been perfect as well. The camera is used to document vehicle issues and to suport reports and has worked well for that task. Overall the S9a nd case has been perfect for our need and has surpassed our expectations.

Purchased in December 2019 for A$459.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
tracey n.

tracey n.Canberra 2600, ACT

  • 3 reviews

Love it

published

This is my 3rd phone from Samsung and I love it. Haven't had a problem with it. The longevity of the battery is great and its camera offers an opportunity for great photos

Purchased in February 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
kristieread

kristiereadSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great phone

published

I will never go back to Apple since having an android phone. The Samsung S9 has a great camera, is easy to use, stylish and I love that it has light notifications. Great for when you are at work. Speaker phone works well and is clear and crisp

Purchased in June 2019 at Catch for A$752.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Damo

Damoasked

Galaxy S9 (2018)

Is there a big difference between the international and Australia version of this phone? Kogan and elsewhere sell them for around $730 to $750 which is very cheap. Kogan do have a disclaimer saying that international models may not have some features such as Samsung Pay etc.

3 answers
Val
Val

I do not know the asnwer to your question. I paid around $1000 for this phone

Damo
Damo

Thanks Val for replying. How long ago did you purchase it? With the S10 out now retailers have dropped the price of the S9 dramatically, but Samsung Australia still has them price expensively at $999 for the 64GB model.

Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi Damo, international devices differ from the local Australian models through parts and software, as they are fitted, programmed and optimised for the country of purchase. Our service centres here in Australia are not equipped with the necessary parts and/or software to cater for international models.

If you do have any issues with the device, it is best to get in contact with the country of purchase to receive a remedy. You can find out more information via the below link:
http://www.samsung.com/au/made-for-australia/

Jo
Samsung AU

circlek

circlekasked

Galaxy S9 64GB (2018)

Can you download the photos to your computer?

1 answer
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi, you are able to transfer downloaded photos to your PC. I have provided similar steps via the link below to help guide you.

> https://www.samsung.com/au/support/mobile-devices/transfer-photos-from-phone-to-pc/

Jo
Samsung AU

Robyn

Robynasked

Galaxy S9 256GB (2018)

I've just updated to an S9 - is there some way of showing that I have a message or missed a phone call? If I don't hear a message come in there is no indication on the screen like there was on all my other phones - they used to show a small number in the corner of the app on the screen

2 answers
Ash
Ash

Check in setting if you have the notifications set on, they might not be, I get all the notifications from missed calls and texts but i also went through all the settings and changed them all to how I like them.

Samsung
PhilSamsung

Hi there, thanks for your question!

There are a few ways you can check if you have missed calls, messages or notifications.

Firstly, if you have your Always On feature enabled you will see notification icons below the time.

(Please note if you have Battery Saver on Always On gets disabled as well as the LED indicator on the top left of the screen).

Check Settings > Notifications > Enable 'App Icon Badges' > Click into App Icon Badges and make sure under 'Badge Style' Show with number is enabled.

Then below that there is a 'Show notifications' feature which if you turn on, you can press & hold onto an app, and it'll give you a small notification preview. (Please check through the list of apps in the first page to see if the right apps are enabled).

Check Settings > Display > Enable LED indicator

Hope this helps! And remember, if Battery Saver is turned on, most of your notifications indicators will be disabled to save battery.

Philip
Samsung Australia

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Details

Compare all 2 Samsung Galaxy S9 (2018)
Samsung Galaxy S9 64GB
  • Discontinued

Samsung Galaxy S9 64GB (2018)

4.0
(131)
CategoryMobile PhonesMobile Phones
Price (RRP) A$1,199.00A$1,349.00
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage, Waterproof and Wireless Charging3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage, Waterproof and Wireless Charging
Charging PortUSB-CUSB-C
Operating SystemAndroidAndroid
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Build
Weight163 g163 g
Colour / FinishMidnight Black, Lilac Purple, Coral Blue, Sunrise GoldMidnight Black, Lilac Purple, Coral Blue
Dimensions 147.7 x 68.7 x 8.5 mm147.7 x 68.7 x 8.5 mm
Body MaterialGlassGlass
Display
Pixel Density570 ppi570 ppi
Display TechnologyAMOLEDAMOLED
Screen Size 5.8"5.8"
Screen Resolution1440 x 2960 pixels1440 x 2960 pixels
Hardware
ChipsetOcta-core 4x2.7 GHz & 4x1.8 GHzOcta-core 4x2.7 GHz & 4x1.8 GHz
Battery Size3,000 mAh3,000 mAh
Internal Storage64 GB256 GB
Memory (RAM)4 GB4 GB
Camera
Max Video Resolution2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)
Rear Camera(s)12MP Wide12MP Wide
Front Camera(s)8 MP Wide8 MP Wide
Release dateMar 2018Mar 2018
Compare all 2 Samsung Galaxy S9 (2018)

Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 08801643165154

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.