??!
6 photos
Samsung Galaxy S9

Samsung Galaxy S9

64GB, 256GB
3.9 from 161 reviews

Reviews

(75)
(41)
(20)
(11)
(14)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (15%) · No (85%)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (58)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (56)

John Clark

John ClarkEyre Peninsula, SA

Not a bad phone

published

I believe that the phone is quite fair for price. But it seems too be awfully light. Very easy to drop without cover. Will probably be looking at Apple products Next

Purchased in January 2019 for $1,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Gurto

GurtoMid North Coast, NSW

  • 17 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst phone ever for this day & age! CRAP CRAP CRAP!!!

published

Purchased in October 2018 for $1,600.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Mac

MacSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews

Quite similar to Samsung S8

published

I had a Samsung S8 and have to buy a new one since it got busted. Being an avid Samsung user, I purchased the next one, Samsung S9, as Samsung S10 was still a bit expensive for my liking. In terms of day to day functionality, Samsung S9 has the touch and feel of Samsung S8. Without considering the camera, everything is quite the same. I would recommend it, however if you have a Samsung S8 that's working, probably wait for Samsung S10 to go down in price further.

Purchased in May 2019 at Samsung Online store.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Tahlea

TahleaCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Pretty good

published

The phone is of good quality and the camera is actually very clear and looks great. The durability is alright but the phone did crack from small drops. Apps run smoothly on the phone.

Purchased in June 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

George D.

George D.

  • 2 reviews

Brilliant for the price

published

I bought the phone for my son who's a vehicle mech. He uses it for getting vehicle information off the net as well as calling parts suppliers. It has been excellent for that as the speed and screen size are perfect for the job. Because of the environment in which it is used we got the hardened glass and case and that has been perfect as well. The camera is used to document vehicle issues and to suport reports and has worked well for that task. Overall the S9a nd case has been perfect for our need and has surpassed our expectations.

Purchased in December 2019 for $459.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

tracey n.

tracey n.Canberra 2600, ACT

  • 3 reviews

Love it

published

This is my 3rd phone from Samsung and I love it. Haven't had a problem with it. The longevity of the battery is great and its camera offers an opportunity for great photos

Purchased in February 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

kristieread

kristiereadSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews

Great phone

published

I will never go back to Apple since having an android phone. The Samsung S9 has a great camera, is easy to use, stylish and I love that it has light notifications. Great for when you are at work. Speaker phone works well and is clear and crisp

Purchased in June 2019 at Catch for $752.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Mick

Mick

  • 2 reviews

Galaxy S9 wont load

published

Phone was good but now wont load , freezes or takes a long time to load. Have turned on and off and re booted many times. Battery drains very quickly also . I optimise my device care many times a day and close all apps when i finish with them. Have been using Samsung for many years think its time for a change.

Purchased in July 2018 for $1,200.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Meg

MegGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Good handset

published

Captures fantastic photos. Video quality is amazing. One of the best product from Samsung. Has a good battery life .Love the Samsung apps. Water detection is a bit annoying. Overall it is a good buy.

Purchased in November 2018 at Vodafone.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Great to hear you are currently enjoying your Samsung S9, Meg. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be forwarded to the team. Should you have any enquiries, please don't hesitate to send us a private message.

Kath
Samsung AU

Ted

TedBerwick

  • 2 reviews

Great phone, does the job

published

Very happy with this phone. It is fast, plenty of memory to install apps. It is fast and decent camera. No lag - so highly recommend it to anyone. It has all feature that you need and more. Battery is decent , lasts more than a day.

Purchased in January 2019 at Vodafone.

Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Loumick1

Loumick1South East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews

Reliable phone, find the edge awkward

published

The phone was the natural choice for upgrade at the time for my lagging S5. Does what I expect. I am not a heavy user of my phone but it does all the things I would want it to do without issue. I find the ‘edge’ awkward and clumsy and often can’t seem to quite touch the screen in the right way to click things I want to if they are near the edge.

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman for $1,199.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Swanny

Swanny

  • 6 reviews

Great phone

published

Camera is good but could be better at night. The phone display is nice and clear with great brightness settings. Battery has been good until the last month or so it is starting to lose its charge a lot quicker. Haven't had any isdues with using apps, can do everything easily on this phone.

Purchased in March 2017.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality

Dunsobarky

DunsobarkySydney, NSW

Fingerprint sensor doesn't work and phone won't support USB connected headsets

published

It's fast and has a good enough camera. The screen is good too however...it has some usability flaws
Can't use the fingerprint sensor to unlock the phone, it fails 90% of the time.
The phone app won't use the USB-C port connected headset even though voice recorder, Youtube, music apps etc all can use it perfectly.

Purchased in April 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung

A really useful phone that can do practically everything. Cheap for what it is, and good with battery life.

published

Can be used for anything. Fairly cheap, apps run smoothly. Good battery life and works with most additions, such as phone pens and airpods. Fun and useful. Makes a great gift.

Purchased at Optus.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Md Shariful A.

Md Shariful A.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Not happy with this phone.

published

The fingerprint sensor for unlocking the phone doesn't work all the time. I have to press the side button. I was happy with my old galaxy note 5. Shouldn't upgrade it.

Purchased in December 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Worst phone ever. And worst service. Apple is far better than samsung.

published
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung

We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us, Navi. We've sent you a PM requesting for more information. When it's most convenient for you can you please send that through?

Jo
Samsung AU


Lily K.

Lily K.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Pretty great.

published

Camera quality has been great! Very clear pictures with many settings available.
The phones has crisp brightness but also option to select blue light filter.
I use phone for social apps, music, reading articles, photos etc.
Apps sometimes have issues however mostly have run smoothly.

Purchased in September 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Brian M.

Brian M.

  • 4 reviews

Samsung Galaxy 9

published

I upgraded from a Galaxy 8 to the 9 and suitably impressed with the phone. I use the phone out in the country on the Telstra network. The camera on the S9 is impressive and has been able to capture images in low light.

Purchased in December 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

NoName

NoNameSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Overall good but the selfie camera tends to loose quality over time

published

Purchased at Telstra.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Robert

RobertMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

It's the best phone I've ever got 5 star for me

published

The camera is mad and it's real easy to use utube love it and the quality of the picture is good and apps run real smoothly I use games on this phone and it's mad

Purchased in January 2019 at Make it mine for $2,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Damo

Damoasked

Is there a big difference between the international and Australia version of this phone? Kogan and elsewhere sell them for around $730 to $750 which is very cheap. Kogan do have a disclaimer saying that international models may not have some features such as Samsung Pay etc.

3 answers
Val
Val

I do not know the asnwer to your question. I paid around $1000 for this phone

Damo
Damo

Thanks Val for replying. How long ago did you purchase it? With the S10 out now retailers have dropped the price of the S9 dramatically, but Samsung Australia still has them price expensively at $999 for the 64GB model.

Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi Damo, international devices differ from the local Australian models through parts and software, as they are fitted, programmed and optimised for the country of purchase. Our service centres here in Australia are not equipped with the necessary parts and/or software to cater for international models.

If you do have any issues with the device, it is best to get in contact with the country of purchase to receive a remedy. You can find out more information via the below link:
http://www.samsung.com/au/made-for-australia/

Jo
Samsung AU


circlek

circlekasked

Can you download the photos to your computer?

1 answer
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi, you are able to transfer downloaded photos to your PC. I have provided similar steps via the link below to help guide you.

> https://www.samsung.com/au/support/mobile-devices/transfer-photos-from-phone-to-pc/

Jo
Samsung AU


Robyn

Robynasked

I've just updated to an S9 - is there some way of showing that I have a message or missed a phone call? If I don't hear a message come in there is no indication on the screen like there was on all my other phones - they used to show a small number in the corner of the app on the screen

2 answers
Ash
Ash

Check in setting if you have the notifications set on, they might not be, I get all the notifications from missed calls and texts but i also went through all the settings and changed them all to how I like them.

Samsung
PhilSamsung

Hi there, thanks for your question!

There are a few ways you can check if you have missed calls, messages or notifications.

Firstly, if you have your Always On feature enabled you will see notification icons below the time.

(Please note if you have Battery Saver on Always On gets disabled as well as the LED indicator on the top left of the screen).

Check Settings > Notifications > Enable 'App Icon Badges' > Click into App Icon Badges and make sure under 'Badge Style' Show with number is enabled.

Then below that there is a 'Show notifications' feature which if you turn on, you can press & hold onto an app, and it'll give you a small notification preview. (Please check through the list of apps in the first page to see if the right apps are enabled).

Check Settings > Display > Enable LED indicator

Hope this helps! And remember, if Battery Saver is turned on, most of your notifications indicators will be disabled to save battery.

Philip
Samsung Australia


Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.