??!
3 photos
Samsung WF16J9000KW

Samsung WF16J9000KW

3.8 from 11 reviews · View Statistics

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

3.8

11 reviews
    Previous
    Next
    Allie181

    Allie181Melbourne

    • 9 reviews
    • 9 likes
    • Verified purchase

    Great washing machine except rubber goes MOULDY and Samsung refuses to fix

    published
    Date PurchasedJuly 2017
    2 comments
    Samsung
    Samsung AUSamsung
    Allie181
    Allie181

    we had a good start, but completely worn out after 5 years,

    published

    we had a good start, but completely worn out after 5 years,
    the shock absorbers are week and the control panel crazy. I have taken her to the dump.
    I think they have forgotten the good old qualitative way of machine building.
    fortunately, I still have mine LG 25 year old washer he is ugly but still working hard .

    Date PurchasedDec 2013
    carinnef

    carinnefpenrith

    • 9 reviews
    • 2 likes

    OMG!!!!! Love it.

    published
    Date PurchasedMar 2017
    Front Loading Washing Machines

    Find out how Samsung WF16J9000KW compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Gary M

    Gary MRaglan

    • 11 reviews
    • 5 likes

    Perfect wash every time.

    published

    We have a big family and this machine handles the big loads well.
    Cleans the clothes well every time. Runs quietly and has a cycle program for everything.
    Very easy to use. Uses less water than our old top washer, this is definitely the best washing machine we have ever owed.

    Date PurchasedJan 2016
    Derick

    DerickAdelaide

    • 5 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Nice and user friendly

    published

    This machine is ready to use and requires less cleaning. You don't have to clean the filter as offer as it is needed for the top loader. However the down side is the detergent tray. They tend to get mouldy after some time. It also lets you know if it needs a drum clean. The quick wash setting is a bit too fast. Just 15 mins. I wish it would be a bit longer.

    Date PurchasedJune 2016
    Dee Dee

    Dee DeeSouth East Queensland, QLD

    • 5 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Is it possible to be in love with a washing machine?

    published

    We run an accommodation business and this machine has just cut my washing time in half. So far, I love everything about it. I just keep piling the washing in and still there's more room. My towels and bedding have never looked cleaner and whiter. The settings are practical and easy to use with so many options. I understand some reviewers find the little song at the end annoying, but for me, it says "I have just done another great wash" and not only that, it then turns itself off!

    Date PurchasedApr 2017
    1 comment
    Dee Dee
    Dee Dee
    nettie

    nettieHobart, TAS

    • 4 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Do not buy !

    published

    Not worth the money. Great to have a 16kg but just do not think the technology is up to standard for these bigger machines just yet.. Purchased 12 months ago.. leaking water all over the floor for last 3 months/clothes smelling. Technician report - 2 major problems with internal leaks. Major repair. I requested new machine. Samsung were great and offered 4 options including full money replacement, new machine, store voucher or repair. I opted for store voucher so I would not loose my ext. warantee with Harvey Norman. Today my new Samsung arrives.. time will tell!

    Date PurchasedMar 2016

    Poor customer service

    published

    Great machine and washers all our household items. Machine was purchased from a major retailer on a cash back bonus had to wait months to receive the $400.00 and required the assistance of Consumer Affairs. I would suggest that if I his is the way Samsung treat consumers that if you had an issue with warranty it would be very hard going with this company. Very poor follow up all functions seem to be out sourced and no one seems to care (give a damm is broken) unable to contact anyone at Samsung Australia head office only a Victorian sales rep who couldn't or wouldn't help.

    Date PurchasedSept 2016
    Paul Saviti

    Paul SavitiMelbourne

    • 3 reviews
    • 1 like

    reliable and easy to store

    published

    Got this as a gift when I first moved into my new place. It's quiet but the thing I noticed the most was it's lightweight. It was easy to move in and out of my apartment but still looked like it had a sturdy feel to it. I recommend it if you are space conscious.

    Date PurchasedAug 2016
    Front Loading Washing Machines

    Find out how Samsung WF16J9000KW compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Tony M

    Tony MFrankston

    • Verified purchase

    I would give it 4.8 stars but I can't so I rounded up to 5

    published
    Date PurchasedAug 2016
    Kapitoshka

    KapitoshkaSouth East Queensland, QLD

    • 43 reviews
    • 67 likes
    • Verified purchase

    No complaints thus far

    published
    Date PurchasedAug 2016

    Questions & Answers

    Colin

    Colinasked

    Can the melody that plays at the end of the cycle be turned off by pressing and holding the "Bubble" button for 3 seconds (or maybe another button or 2 buttons)? Pressing and holding the "Bubble Soak" button is what apparently works for current "WF16N8750KV", according to the manual. Why they hide some of these functions I don't understand - even worse if they don't give you the option to turn off the sound.

    3 answers
    Samsung
    AdaSamsung

    Hi Colin, just to let you know, the notification sound of this particular washing machine model is unable to be turned off unless the unit itself is off.

    Jo
    Samsung AU

    Colin
    Colin

    Thank you Jo for your answer. How hard is it to disconnect or disable the speaker? Any idea of the cost if a technician did it? I'd like to buy the machine because it's cheaper than the other 16kg machines, but you can turn off the sound on the others. Regards, Colin.

    Samsung
    AdaSamsung

    We are unable to provide possible costs or steps to do so as we don't recommend for this to be done, Colin.

    Hope you understand.

    Jo
    Samsung AU

    jmmecraig

    jmmecraigasked

    How long is the quick wash and how much weight will it take at this load?

    1 answer
    Long Suffering
    Long Suffering

    Quick load takes about 20-25 mins but the machine will weigh the size of the load and work out wash time.

    Most weight we have had in the machine would be 10-12kgs and had no issues.

    krystle

    krystleasked

    dose this machine heat its own water and would i fit a king size quilt in it and wash it well? dose this machine come in any other colour?

    3 answers
    Tony M
    Tony M

    I would assume it does heat it's own water as there is a 90C temperature setting and you cannot get water that hot out of the tap. I only have king sized beds in my house so yes it washes King Size Quilts very well. No other color I am aware of.

    One update. I have noticed a drop off in cleanliness in my gym clothes since switching to a front loading detergent. I used to use Kirkland brand powder 1 scoop, 1 scoop of napisan and downy fabric softener (all purchased from Costco) and everything came out perfectly clean and smelling fresh. Since switching, I have noticed the gym sweat smell has started to come back into my clothes and I have switched back to the Kirkland and everything is back to normal.

    Long Suffering
    Long Suffering

    Sorry
    For the delay in sending my reply this machine will not heat it's own water

    Colin
    Colin

    From the machine's user manual, top of page 31, for the "Sanitize" cycle: "this program heats the supplied water up to 95 °C to eliminate bacteria." - so the machine apparently heats (or can heat if required) the water on at least this cycle (hot water systems usually have a maximum of 60 - 70°C) - don't know whether it can heat on any other cycles.

    Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

    Details

    CategoryFront Loading Washing Machines
    Price (RRP)$2599
    Water Rating4stars
    Energy Rating3.5stars
    Height686mm
    Depth865mm
    Width990mm
    Capacity16kg
    Max Spin Speed1100rpm
    Weight100kg
    ManualDownload manual

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.