??!
8 photos
Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart Front Loader

Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart Front Loader

J1 Series, J2 Series, J3 Series
3.8 from 244 reviews · View Statistics

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.7 (42)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (39)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (42)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (39)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (42)
Previous
Next
Kimba O.

Kimba O.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Leak when doing drum clean

published

Love this machine since switching from top loaders all my life, though since new
Every time I do a drum clean
It leaks over my floor
I have cleaned the lint tray
And drained
Please help

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Brendan

BrendanSouth East Queensland, QLD

Leaking at 2.75 years old.

published

Usually an excellent brand for quality, however my washing machine has begun leaking from the bottom of the unit. Unfortunately out of warranty by 10 months. Hopefully repair cost will be reasonable.

Purchased in January 2018 at The Good Guys Physical store for $539.00.

Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Dryer TypeFisher & Paykel 4.5kg DE45F56AW
Naydee

NaydeeSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor post-purchase support

published

Purchased in June 2017 at Bing Lee for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart Front Loader compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
david2153

david2153AU

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

E702 error always.worst machine i have ever owned.cant even wash half a load always stops on spin cycle.what a joke f&p.

published

Very bad machine only good for 3years from new.f and p help is useless at best.even 20 year old machine top loader can do better than washsmart 8.5kg front loader.

Purchased in February 2016 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Ian s

Ian sMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Let’s wait and see

published

Purchased for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Elle J.

Elle J.South East Queensland, QLD

Very poor quality filter!

published

Twice I have tried to clean the filter pump on this machine and each time I have gone to reinsert it after cleaning, the plastic has snapped, resulting in water leaking everywhere when I try to wash again. Fisher and paykel do not stock the filter seperate you and instead you have to buy the whole pump and have it installed buy a professional. Twice now this had happened. Won’t be purchasing from this brand again if their plastic is so cheap it breaks so easy.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Cris

CrisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Glad my boat doesn't leak like this machine.

published

Over all we think that its a great machine that washes very well except that it started leaking 3 years after we bought it. Had Fisher and Paykel out twice to fix it at our expense, and was told they can't fix it. Was told that its a design fault and not a broken part. I would never purchase this brand again. Sadly we feel we have no choice but to buy another machine as the leaks are getting much worse.

Purchased in March 2014 at Harvey Norman for $688.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Kate J

Kate J

  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

Wish I hadn’t bought

published

Ok for normal clothes washing, but the spin cycle for washing bed linens or sometimes delicates is terrible, will spin for ever, have to take out items and spin them a few at a time to dry. Wish I had read the reviews before purchase, this is the worst washing machine I have ever owned. I will be glad once it breaks down so I have a good excuse to buy another brand.

Purchased at The Good Guys for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
john

johnGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 15 likes

terrible

published

does not work as intended. Expensive repairs and call-out fees for shoddy workmanship from the factory. avoid at all costs. Customer servce is expensive too and unhelpful in dealing with issues

Purchased in July 2015 at Appliance Warehouse for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart Front Loader compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vin

VinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 30 reviews
  • 5 likes

Durable & Fit for Purpose

published

We are using this for 1 and a half year. It’ is durable, water and energy efficient. A lot of options for washing your clothes. The capacity is enough to wash your clothes and spinning process will help dry your clothes. Highly recommended and very good value for money.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased for $600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Wise tradie

Wise tradieMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Ok when new. Not long lasting

published

Bought new to replace failed LG front loader. Worked well for about 3-4 years. Drum bearing failed and repair costs are prohibitive. Would expect a longer service life than this. Wouldn't buy or recommend F&P.

Purchased in May 2016 at The Good Guys for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Viv

Viv

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

A very quiet and reliable machine

published

Quiet, effective and reliable. Have used it for more than 3 years now without any issues. Has good options too in terms of types of washes, temperature and speed etc

Purchased in May 2017 for $730.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
HergelV

HergelVNewcastle

  • 21 reviews

Fantastic appliance!! 5 star

published

I love this appliance. We are a family of 5 to 6 and i use this oftentimes a week and I encountered no problems. The washing machine is super easy to operate and didn't gave me any problem!

Incentivised ReviewNo
Jolce Wan

Jolce WanPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

12years on and still as good as the day I bought it... LUV U F&P WH7560J1

published

Had 12+ years...Absolutely do not want it to die. So easy to use and maintain. Motherboard was replaced when it was a week old, havent had a single bit of trouble since (nothing that can't be fixed by cleaning out the drain filter). Washes everything, very well and very gently. I wouldn't hesitate to buy one secondhand.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in March 2005 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

2 year 2 weeks and needs help

published

Love my machine and worked well until warranty finished. Now awaiting service.

Let say after 80mins holding for a service call and still no answer I clicked the call back option and still haven’t had a call back! Disappointed with Fisher & Paykel customer centre - beyond a joke. How can a company run this way?

Will update review once we have a response but I would stay away from all F&P items due to their customer service call centre!!!!

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart Front Loader compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
gadget709765

gadget709765sydney

  • 16 reviews
  • 11 likes

I cant believe this has good reviews. I am replacing mine after 24 months brand new

published

Purchased in October 2015 at Appliances Online for $730.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Kelley R

Kelley RPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Fantastic Washing Machine

published

Purchased in June 2019 at RetraVision for $669.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Esther D.

Esther D.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good quality for a washing machine

published

Fisher & Paykel WH8560J3 - I would definitely recommend this product! I have used a number of washing machines and I could say that this is the best among them. Aside from its affordable price, it's very economical in water and electricity rating.

It's very easy to use and the size is perfect. It can fit our quilts, thick blankets, and mattress covers. So many options to choose from, from heavy clothes to quick washing. It's quiet and has a good quality of washing. Quick to dry as well with their spin dry. Great job Fisher & Paykel!

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
amak320

amak320Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

It shreds and torn clothes

published

Its been just over 5 years I have this machine. It now started to torn and shred my clothes I never seen any other brands reviews have ever had this issue.

Smaller items like socks makes way to the drain blocking it every now and then since first month we bought this. I am now an expert in how to fix this problem which doesn't bother me too much.

Sometimes when its spinning I hear loud banging sound as if something has came loose inside.

So many people mention that the cycle time is much longer than it stated on the screen the 8 mins just never seems to be 8 mins.

I am looking at other brands now to replace a better and bigger capacity one. I am sure none of the other brands would chew my clothes.

Purchased in April 2014 at The Good Guys for $644.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
PoodleLuva

PoodleLuvaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Goes okay while its in warranty!

published

Had this machine for 5 years now. At about 3 years it was past it's 2 year warranty, rust appeared on side.
No visible wetness within. I contacted F&P direct and they offered to check it out for a fee plus parts.
I was annoyed as 3 years old it shouldn't be having issues! (I didn't follow up their offer) Over the last year the spin cycle is noisy. Machine still works but also having had a F&P dish washer that fell apart gradually with door springs and control panel collapse, it's the last F&P we will be buying!
What is annoying is it was sold on it's quietness at spin. No longer!

Purchased in October 2014 at Appliances Online for $746.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Page 1 of 13

Questions & Answers

Glen R

Glen Rasked

QuickSmart WH7560J1 (7.5kg)

Machine makes a lot noise - what is estimated cost to repair the bearings?
Machine does not complete the pump cycle, do you have ideas for me to check?

No answers
Kyia

Kyiaasked

QuickSmart Front Loader

Can anyone tell what error 74 means please, I have tried everything and it still comes up during the rinse circle. Thank you

No answers
Lois G.

Lois G.asked

QuickSmart WH7560J1 (7.5kg)

Drum clean message came on with2.17 minutes left on cycle

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

Details

Compare all 7 Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart Front Loader
CategoryFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing Machines
Price (RRP) $899.00$999.00$848.00
Capacity7.5 kg8.5 kg9 kg
Household Size 2-3 people3-4 people
FeaturesAuto BalancingAuto BalancingAuto Balancing and Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)
Energy Rating4 star(s)4 star(s)4 star(s)
Water Rating4.5 star(s)4.5 star(s)4.5 star(s)
Drum MaterialStainless Steel
Colour / FinishWhiteWhiteWhite
Dimensions 850 x 600 x 590 mm850 x 600 x 645 mm850 x 600 x 645 mm
Motor TypeDirect Drive (Inverter)Direct Drive (Inverter)Direct Drive (Inverter)
Max Spin Speed 1,200 rpm1,200 rpm1,200 rpm
Number of Spin Speeds3
Maximum Noise Level55 db55 db55 db
Number of Wash Cycles999
Temperature Settings 5
Country of ManufactureChinaChinaChina
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Release dateSept 2013Sept 2013
Replaced byFisher & Paykel QuickSmart WH7560J2 (7.5kg)
Compare all 7 Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart Front Loader

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.