??!
1 photo
Scandia Heat and Cook

Scandia Heat and Cook

3.6 from 22 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.6

22 reviews
5
(9)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Previous
Next
Clint B.

Clint B.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Best value around.

published

I run this stove 24/7 in the winter. Heats my small house, cooks my food and heats the hot water in combination with solar. A great asset. Great value for the modest price. Runs overnite easily as long as you have good quality wood. Easy to clean. On the minus side, it takes a fair bit of stoking to get the oven over 200°c and it gets hot on you legs standing in front of it to cook when you do that. The oven thermometer is difficult to read. The oven racks kept falling off their rails, after 2 sets of replacements didnt help i just welded a bit on the side of them.
After 4 years it's still as good as new and I expect to get many more years out of it.

Purchased in May 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$2,100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Preheating Speed
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Product is used Daily
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
davegx

davegx

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great heater. Turns freezing cold weather into balmy.

published

Works well in our house which is less than the 20 squares that the heater is meant to do. Looks great. Cooks toast on top. Kettle for coffee on top. Pork chops are cooking right now on top. Cooks chicken in the oven (im sure it tasted better) . A good starting smokeless procedure once you know how. Takes a while to heat up coz it is a solid nearly 1/4 ton of iron but once going keeps going for most of the night. Heat activated fan accessory on top helps to distribute the heat.

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings for A$2,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Product is used Several times a week
Room Type Whole House
See all answers

Great value heater. Don't believe the naysayers

published

easy to light and it stays lit overnight without a problem. Im burning good red box.
The older models have some consumables inside the firebox that could warp. Easy to change.

Purchased in June 2015 for A$550.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Noise Level
Value for Money
Preheating Speed
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Product is used Daily
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
Freestanding Ovens

Find out how Scandia Heat and Cook compares to other Freestanding Ovens

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chef

ChefMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Great heater/oven/cook top!

published

We didn't want to spend 4 grand on a nectre heater/oven and opted for the scandia, half the price of the nectre! Has not disappointed at all! Even while nobody recommended them. Easy to use, heats our stone cottage easy.
Only had to adjust the door handle ones as it had a small gap, no dramas after that adjustment. You really have to stoke it up if you want to use the oven for bread etc as it doesn't go over 200 degrees easily. As a cook top it's great, use it lots of time in winter. We are happy with it and it definitely delivers for the price you pay for it.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Noise Level
Value for Money
Preheating Speed
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Product is used Daily
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
cackle

cacklePerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Absolute rubbish

published

Goes out all the time even when using multiple fire lighters & plenty of kindling
Often find unburnt timber in the firebox the next day
I only use demolition timber (jarrah) in it so it has zero moisture content
Quite often the house smells of smoke even if I have not opened it to top up wood
Does not heat anywhere near the SQM our old wood heater heated even though it claims to heat that sqm

Purchased in August 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Noise Level
Value for Money
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers

Awesome all rounder

published

What a great addition to our big tin shed that we holiday in
Pros:
Huge firebox so can get big logs in
Gets the heat out fast
Perfect for boiling the spuds, mulled wine and reheating the stew
Easy to use controls
Bakes great bread
Will turn down enough to still have coals in the morning
Cons
Oven heat drops dramatically as the firebox fills with ash so must clean firebox out everytime before roasting or baking
Excellent value for the price

Purchased in March 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Product is used Monthly
See all answers
rivkah.hammer

rivkah.hammerMurray Mallee, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

absolute rubbish

published

We had problems in the first year and our installer needed to replace the opening latch for inside the heater....in the end he had to cannibalise the one from the bottom oven as the replacement was too large!!!! And the door smoked in the first year, so our installer came around with a new cord for the door but guess what...too big also!!! He promised to come back with a replacement for both but never did. So we have a heater that barely functions,, is never really hot and is a great disappointment. ANd it certainly does not heat up the area. At this point we are looking to upgrade to a better and bigger unit. At this point we don't know if Scandia or the installer is hopeless. But I do know that we are cold!

Purchased in September 2017 for A$1,850.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Noise Level
Value for Money
Preheating Speed
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Product is used Daily
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
Lena Elliott

Lena ElliottWheatbelt, WA

  • 3 reviews

Winter warmth is not negotiable

published

My stone cottage is so small that everything in it has to have more than one purpose. The heat and cook wood heater suits me just fine. There is plenty of firewood on the property and the burner box large enough for the chainsawed logs. I cook all the meals on the hot plate with the added bonus of an oven. The oven does require extra heat but once you gain experience together with the inbuilt thermometer roasted meals are easy to cook.
The stone chimney also heats the upstairs bedroom and this keeps heating costs to absolute minimum. Perhaps more suited to the country than the city it is my most important winter appliance.

Purchased in January 2013 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
Off Grid

Off GridSouth West, WA

I would buy it again.

published

Purchased in July 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$2,400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Freestanding Ovens

Find out how Scandia Heat and Cook compares to other Freestanding Ovens

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nadia

NadiaSydney, NSW

Problem with the handle on the top left

published

Hi we are having trouble with the coiled handle on the top left side as it’s stuck-and the fire place is only a few years old... what can we do Nadia

Purchased in April 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$2,400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Noise Level
Value for Money
Preheating Speed
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Product is used Daily
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
rainbow2009

rainbow2009North-East, TAS

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Useless Warped Firebox

published

Purchased in August 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$2,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Preheating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Product is used Daily
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
Nadine B.

Nadine B.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

Faulty damper handle

published

Same problem as Kaz after 2 seasons!
Damper handle seized meaning a very hard to light fire, fire does not hold heat just goes out the chimney so oven cooking is not possible.
We researched and saved for a mutli-purpose wood fire so expected a lot longer life time when paying $2500. Out of warranty so Bunnings can't help.

Very disappointed is putting it mildly.

Purchased in April 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$2,500.00.

Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Jason

JasonPerth, WA

  • Verified purchase

Don’t do it

published

Look they are poorly constructed, they have a very bad quality control system and there after sales support is terrible. Basically a cheap Chinese product with no after sales support marketed as a premium Australian product! Save yourself the disappointment

Purchased in January 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$2,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Noise Level
Value for Money
Preheating Speed
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Product is used Daily
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
Matt

MattCentral West, NSW

I love it.

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Jon

Jon

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Wow

published

Best cooker on the market . Have made so many delicious meals using this , have never been so excited to get in and cook before , but with one of these I can’t go wrong . Would highly recommend this from first time cooks right thru to chefs u won’t go wrong

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Freestanding Ovens

Find out how Scandia Heat and Cook compares to other Freestanding Ovens

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not worth the money.

published

Cheap China steel. I’ve had mine for 3 years and the inside back has a hole burnt threw all ready. Will have to try and pull it apart and weld it up. Also the flue handle is stuck from sitting over summer. Will not buy another one of this brand !

Date PurchasedMay 2015
Len1010

Len1010South East Queensland, QLD

  • 50 reviews
  • 78 likes
  • Verified purchase

Best Value, Size & Quality I could find.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Kaz

KazCentral West, NSW

Ongoing design flaw and no help from Scandia

published
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Phil

PhilEbor nsw

  • 22 reviews
  • 20 likes

Proven effective in an alpine environment.More than happy with this product

published
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Glenn N

Glenn NKew

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

So far, so good.

published

This is probably the best bang-for-buck fireplace that I could find, that also doubles as a stove/oven. We only had a small 'foot print' that we could fit the fireplace in and the clearances are very tight for the size of the box (@ 175mm off the wall and 425mm off anything from the side). I also bought the 1050mm x 1050mm hearth and the flue kit at the same time to finish everything off. So far my wife has cooked cakes, pizzas, chips, all the vegis for diner and with a kettle on the top we haven't turned the electric kettle on since. The fireplace itself is really easy to use (and control) as well. My wife and I are very happy (so far) with the heat-and-cook.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Grubby

Grubbyasked

How do you get the oven hot on a Scandinavian scx 501?

No answers
Grubby

Grubbyasked

How do you get the oven hotter?

No answers
Felicity T.

Felicity T.asked

I have just had a scandia 200 fireplace installed. I wiped the top of it with a wet rag with only water and the paint has come off. ??

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.