??!
1 photo
Scandia Heat and Cook

Scandia Heat and Cook

3.5 from 15 reviews

See the Best Freestanding Ovens in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(6)
(3)
(1)
(2)
(3)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.2 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    3.2 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.6 (5)
  • Product is used:
    • Daily (5)
    • Several times a week (1)
  • Safety
    2.6 (5)
  • Preheating Speed
    3.3 (3)
  • Room Type
    • Living/Dining Area (3)
    • Whole House (2)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (4)
  • Heating Speed1/5 - 4/5
  • Temperature Consistency
    2.7 (3)


Lena Elliott

Lena ElliottWheatbelt, WA

  • 3 reviews

Winter warmth is not negotiable

published

My stone cottage is so small that everything in it has to have more than one purpose. The heat and cook wood heater suits me just fine. There is plenty of firewood on the property and the burner box large enough for the chainsawed logs. I cook all the meals on the hot plate with the added bonus of an oven. The oven does require extra heat but once you gain experience together with the inbuilt thermometer roasted meals are easy to cook.
The stone chimney also heats the upstairs bedroom and this keeps heating costs to absolute minimum. Perhaps more suited to the country than the city it is my most important winter appliance.

Purchased in January 2013 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Noise Level
Product is used: Daily
Room Type Whole House
See all answers

Off Grid

Off GridSouth West, WA

I would buy it again.

published

Purchased in July 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse for $2,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Noise Level
Product is used: Daily
See all answers
Nadia

NadiaSydney, NSW

Problem with the handle on the top left

published

Hi we are having trouble with the coiled handle on the top left side as it’s stuck-and the fire place is only a few years old... what can we do Nadia

Purchased in April 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for $2,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Preheating Speed
Noise Level
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Product is used: Daily
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
rainbow2009

rainbow2009North-East, TAS

  • 3 reviews

Useless Warped Firebox

published

Purchased in August 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Preheating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Product is used: Daily
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers

Nadine B.

Nadine B.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

Faulty damper handle

published

Same problem as Kaz after 2 seasons!
Damper handle seized meaning a very hard to light fire, fire does not hold heat just goes out the chimney so oven cooking is not possible.
We researched and saved for a mutli-purpose wood fire so expected a lot longer life time when paying $2500. Out of warranty so Bunnings can't help.

Very disappointed is putting it mildly.

Purchased in April 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for $2,500.00.

Value for Money
Product is used: Several times a week
Room Type Living/Dining Area

Jason

JasonPerth, WA

  • Verified purchase

Don’t do it

published

Look they are poorly constructed, they have a very bad quality control system and there after sales support is terrible. Basically a cheap Chinese product with no after sales support marketed as a premium Australian product! Save yourself the disappointment

Purchased in January 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Preheating Speed
Noise Level
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Product is used: Daily
Room Type Whole House
See all answers

Matt

Mattportland nsw

I love it.

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Jon

Jon

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Wow

published

Best cooker on the market . Have made so many delicious meals using this , have never been so excited to get in and cook before , but with one of these I can’t go wrong . Would highly recommend this from first time cooks right thru to chefs u won’t go wrong

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Not worth the money.

published

Cheap China steel. I’ve had mine for 3 years and the inside back has a hole burnt threw all ready. Will have to try and pull it apart and weld it up. Also the flue handle is stuck from sitting over summer. Will not buy another one of this brand !

Date PurchasedMay 2015
Len1010

Len1010South East Queensland, QLD

  • 45 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

Best Value, Size & Quality I could find.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Kaz

KazCentral West, NSW

Ongoing design flaw and no help from Scandia

published
Date PurchasedMar 2015

Phil

PhilEbor nsw

  • 21 reviews
  • 3 likes

Proven effective in an alpine environment.More than happy with this product

published
Date PurchasedAug 2015

Glenn N

Glenn NKew

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

So far, so good.

published

This is probably the best bang-for-buck fireplace that I could find, that also doubles as a stove/oven. We only had a small 'foot print' that we could fit the fireplace in and the clearances are very tight for the size of the box (@ 175mm off the wall and 425mm off anything from the side). I also bought the 1050mm x 1050mm hearth and the flue kit at the same time to finish everything off. So far my wife has cooked cakes, pizzas, chips, all the vegis for diner and with a kettle on the top we haven't turned the electric kettle on since. The fireplace itself is really easy to use (and control) as well. My wife and I are very happy (so far) with the heat-and-cook.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Bu Shwerrib

Bu Shwerrib

  • 6 reviews

3 in 1convenience

published

This fireplace heats more than the stated 200m2, works as an oven quite well and above all that it serves as a hotplate. Couldn't ask for more at a very reasonable price . No problems so far.

Bill

BillBatemans Bay

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Heating and cooking good

published

Scandia heat and cook slow combustion wood heater. The unit does both these things pretty good but the quality of build on our unit is far from that. On several occasions I have had to unfree the choke (chimney flue) due to poor design and fitment, the lever on the side of the heater freezes solid and is quiet a chore to set it free, the last time I needed to remove the small oblong plate at lhs of chimney and use a gas torch to free it. The oven chrome trays are at least 10mm out of level, with a glass door it's not a good sight when watching the flames. Service? Well that matches the product. Check it out thoroughly before purchasing.

Questions & Answers

ALARIC

ALARICasked

what the size of stove

2 answers
Off Grid
Off Grid

https://scandiastoves.com.au/products/traditional/heat-and-cook/heat-n-cook-radiant/

Lena Elliott
Lena Elliott

approximately 64cm width, 55cm depth, 70cm high


ALARIC

ALARICasked

what size

No answers

Rob m

Rob masked

Our wood heater will not last more than 3 hrs on overnight burn does not matter what type of wood

1 answer
Nadia
Nadia

Our wood fire can go up to 3-4 days nite and day and no problem , yes we do get great wood that is over 2-3 years old ..


Get an answer from our members


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.