1 photo
Scandia Heat and Cook

Scandia Heat and Cook

3.5 from 23 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Wood Heaters in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Scandia Heat and Cook? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.4 (13)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (13)
  • Product is used
  • Safety
    3.1 (12)
  • Preheating Speed
    3.4 (8)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (11)
  • Heating Speed1/5 - 5/5 (9)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.1 (11)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
stuart
stuartSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Rubbish Product

published

I installed mine in my covered in outdoor area in Dec 2016 . It gets used about 20 times a year . Fire box is disintergrating . Handle is jammed , leaks smoke , rusts like a beauty inside and out . Doesn't heat as purported . Absolute garbage quality steel . Not even going to bother with warranty . Going to throw it out . Do not buy one . Good idea , poor execution . Pics are of top hot plate and the under side of the hotplate inside the firebox . 4 years old .

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in November 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Clint B.
Clint B.
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Best value around.

published

I run this stove 24/7 in the winter. Heats my small house, cooks my food and heats the hot water in combination with solar. A great asset. Great value for the modest price. Runs overnite easily as long as you have good quality wood. Easy to clean. On the minus side, it takes a fair bit of stoking to get the oven over 200°c and it gets hot on you legs standing in front of it to cook when you do that. The oven thermometer is difficult to read. The oven racks kept falling off their rails, after 2 sets of replacements didnt help i just welded a bit on the side of them.
After 4 years it's still as good as new and I expect to get many more years out of it.

Purchased in May 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse for $2,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Wood Heaters

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
davegx
davegx
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Great heater. Turns freezing cold weather into balmy.

published

Works well in our house which is less than the 20 squares that the heater is meant to do. Looks great. Cooks toast on top. Kettle for coffee on top. Pork chops are cooking right now on top. Cooks chicken in the oven (im sure it tasted better) . A good starting smokeless procedure once you know how. Takes a while to heat up coz it is a solid nearly 1/4 ton of iron but once going keeps going for most of the night. Heat activated fan accessory on top helps to distribute the heat.

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Wood Heaters

Find out how Scandia Heat and Cook compares to other Wood Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great value heater. Don't believe the naysayers

published

easy to light and it stays lit overnight without a problem. Im burning good red box.
The older models have some consumables inside the firebox that could warp. Easy to change.

Purchased in June 2015 for $550.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Chef
ChefMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Great heater/oven/cook top!

published

We didn't want to spend 4 grand on a nectre heater/oven and opted for the scandia, half the price of the nectre! Has not disappointed at all! Even while nobody recommended them. Easy to use, heats our stone cottage easy.
Only had to adjust the door handle ones as it had a small gap, no dramas after that adjustment. You really have to stoke it up if you want to use the oven for bread etc as it doesn't go over 200 degrees easily. As a cook top it's great, use it lots of time in winter. We are happy with it and it definitely delivers for the price you pay for it.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
cackle
cacklePerth, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Absolute rubbish

published

Goes out all the time even when using multiple fire lighters & plenty of kindling
Often find unburnt timber in the firebox the next day
I only use demolition timber (jarrah) in it so it has zero moisture content
Quite often the house smells of smoke even if I have not opened it to top up wood
Does not heat anywhere near the SQM our old wood heater heated even though it claims to heat that sqm

Purchased in August 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Awesome all rounder

published

What a great addition to our big tin shed that we holiday in
Pros:
Huge firebox so can get big logs in
Gets the heat out fast
Perfect for boiling the spuds, mulled wine and reheating the stew
Easy to use controls
Bakes great bread
Will turn down enough to still have coals in the morning
Cons
Oven heat drops dramatically as the firebox fills with ash so must clean firebox out everytime before roasting or baking
Excellent value for the price

Purchased in March 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
rivkah.hammer
rivkah.hammerMurray Mallee, SA
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

absolute rubbish

published

We had problems in the first year and our installer needed to replace the opening latch for inside the heater....in the end he had to cannibalise the one from the bottom oven as the replacement was too large!!!! And the door smoked in the first year, so our installer came around with a new cord for the door but guess what...too big also!!! He promised to come back with a replacement for both but never did. So we have a heater that barely functions,, is never really hot and is a great disappointment. ANd it certainly does not heat up the area. At this point we are looking to upgrade to a better and bigger unit. At this point we don't know if Scandia or the installer is hopeless. But I do know that we are cold!

Purchased in September 2017 for $1,850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Wood Heaters

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Lena Elliott
Lena ElliottWheatbelt, WA
  • 3 reviews

Winter warmth is not negotiable

published

My stone cottage is so small that everything in it has to have more than one purpose. The heat and cook wood heater suits me just fine. There is plenty of firewood on the property and the burner box large enough for the chainsawed logs. I cook all the meals on the hot plate with the added bonus of an oven. The oven does require extra heat but once you gain experience together with the inbuilt thermometer roasted meals are easy to cook.
The stone chimney also heats the upstairs bedroom and this keeps heating costs to absolute minimum. Perhaps more suited to the country than the city it is my most important winter appliance.

Purchased in January 2013 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Wood Heaters

Find out how Scandia Heat and Cook compares to other Wood Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Off Grid
Off GridSouth West, WA

I would buy it again.

published

Purchased in July 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse for $2,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Nadia
NadiaSydney, NSW

Problem with the handle on the top left

published

Hi we are having trouble with the coiled handle on the top left side as it’s stuck-and the fire place is only a few years old... what can we do Nadia

Purchased in April 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for $2,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
rainbow2009
rainbow2009North-East, TAS
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Useless Warped Firebox

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Nadine B.
Nadine B.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

Faulty damper handle

published

Same problem as Kaz after 2 seasons!
Damper handle seized meaning a very hard to light fire, fire does not hold heat just goes out the chimney so oven cooking is not possible.
We researched and saved for a mutli-purpose wood fire so expected a lot longer life time when paying $2500. Out of warranty so Bunnings can't help.

Very disappointed is putting it mildly.

Purchased in April 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for $2,500.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised Review No
Jason
JasonPerth, WA
  • Verified

Don’t do it

published

Look they are poorly constructed, they have a very bad quality control system and there after sales support is terrible. Basically a cheap Chinese product with no after sales support marketed as a premium Australian product! Save yourself the disappointment

Purchased in January 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Wood Heaters

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Matt
MattCentral West, NSW

I love it.

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Wood Heaters

Find out how Scandia Heat and Cook compares to other Wood Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Grubby
Grubbyasked

How do you get the oven hot on a Scandinavian scx 501?

No answers
Grubby
Grubbyasked

How do you get the oven hotter?

No answers
Felicity T.
Felicity T.asked

I have just had a scandia 200 fireplace installed. I wiped the top of it with a wet rag with only water and the paint has come off. ??

No answers
See all Scandia Heat and Cook questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryFreestanding Ovens and Wood Heaters
Price (RRP) $2,050.00
Dimensions 950 x 770 x 640 mm
Manufacturer Warranty10 year(s)
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.