2 photos
Sennheiser PXC 550

Sennheiser PXC 550

4.3 from 57 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Wireless Headphones in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Sennheiser? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (21)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (20)
  • Sound Quality
    4.7 (19)
  • Bass
    4.3 (18)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (18)
  • Battery Life
    4.2 (21)
  • Bluetooth
    3.7 (18)
  • Noise Cancellation
    4.3 (14)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
RLGsMum
RLGsMumLismore, New South Wales
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Worked great until today

published

I have had these headphones for two or three years. Mostly used at home, or at uni for studying (online lectures) or listening to music and podcasts. Until today when they just stopped! Then I took them off and discovered that the ear cup joiner, which is the on/off switch has broken. For the price I would expect a much better lifespan.
They’ve never had hard use, I don’t use them for exercise or let the children use them. Very disappointed. Also, the volume doesn’t go quiet enough, and they stopped connecting to the app a while ago.
Do not buy these. They do not last.
Bought from Harvey Norman.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in April 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Adamsnel
AdamsnelMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Sound is ok. Quality is average for this brand.

published

I listen to all sorts of music on my headphones, and find that the bass is very artificial. Connection is only available on a phone, don't expect it to work on your PC very well at all as it is not designed for that. You will need a $100 adaptor on your USB port in the PC in order to make them work effectively. The advertising for these didn't mention they don't work on all bluetooth devices. These are very expensive headphones for what you get in the box, even at a heavily reduced price as I purchased them. Nope, I wouldn't recommend these.

Purchased in December 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mark R.
Mark R.
  • 8 reviews

Bluetooth connectivity terrible

published

Headphone sound quality good. Bluetooth connectivity terrible. When connected as a Bluetooth headset holding the button to pair a new device does not work. Constantly disconnecting from windows 10. Half the time when connected to windows 10 cannot use mic. I cannot find a pattern. Out of warranty so I can't return these frustrating headphones. I was left with one option...

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hifi Home for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Sennheiser PXC 550 compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Simon A.
Simon A.Sydney, NSW

Great sound, really really bad BT Connection Management!

published

Cons:
- Really Bad Bluetooth Connection Management - God forbid you have 2 devices connected at the same time! audio loss is only fixed with reboot. Nearly impossible to connect it to a Win Laptops
- No firmware updates!

Pros:
When they work, they work really well;
- great sound
- great noise cancelling
- feel/look great

Purchased in December 2019 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hernán C.
Hernán C.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

The connectivity is really bad

published

I've written a review before about these headphones, but back then, only 3 weeks ago, the connectivity was not this bad.
Now, my Dell G3 2019 Windows 10 laptop cannot connect to the headphones, they enter a loop of connecting and powering off and on. It's horrible. And connecting to my iPhone 8, is just as bad: same loop but only one iteration.
I removed the device, restarted the laptop and tried again the first time because the connection was continuously breaking up. Now, the loop, I can't listen to my laptop music.

Sennheiser really screwed up this time. I'm gonna ask for a refund and return the headphones.

Purchased in September 2020 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Best personal electronic devices in 2020!

ProductReview.com.au has analysed a year's worth of reviews to find the best wireless headphones, mobile phones and tablets in 2020. Compare specific reviewer ratings, ranging from Battery Life and Sound / Camera Quality to Value for Money and Ease of Use to help you choose the best personal tech.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.1 Nov 2019
best-personal-electronic-devices-in-2020
Next
Julie
JulieSydney, NSW
  • 13 reviews
  • 12 likes

Quality sound that doesn’t last

published

I’ve had my Sennheisers for 3 years and have enjoyed the sound quality but the battery is no longer holding its charge. I would expect for a product that isn’t cheap to last longer than it does. Probably wouldn’t buy this brand again.

Purchased in August 2017 for $639.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
unhappy customer
unhappy customer
  • 10 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified

pxc 550 headphones

published

So i was in the market for a new pair of headphones and i did a bit of reasearch and decided to give the sennheiser pxc 550 head phones ago and have not regretted them comfortable bluetooth to everything unlike boes or sony i also have sony and it has problems bluetoothing to all devices but no trouble with pxc550 and sound just as good as bose and sony for a slightly cheaper price, look into it guys you won't be disappointed.

Incentivised Review No
D3B5 C
D3B5 CSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Great travel pal

published

I purchased this noise cancelling machine as I travel by air a lot.
It works well on the plane block out the engine noise I can enjoy watching movie with better sound quality.
When I first tried the headphones on I felt a little queasy. I searched on line it seems some people with the same problem. It's not product related it's more like individuals and the inner ear balance thing. I soon got used to them and the queasiness is less obvious to me.

Purchased in July 2019 at Amazon for $349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ash
AshVIC, 3429
  • 17 reviews
  • 15 likes
  • Verified

Incredible sound quality - Phenomenal battery - very durable and light

published

The answers are as below:
- music, movies, news,...
- It is but because I love it, I do not want to make it sweaty so I bought a cheaper one for these activities
- It could be louder
- It is good

Purchased in January 2018 at E-Global Digital Cameras for $348.46.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Sennheiser PXC 550 compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mikef50
Mikef50Sydney, NSW
  • 113 reviews
  • 46 likes
  • Verified

Very comfy. Perfect for long flights

published

Just received today, and was impressed by all facets of these very comfy headphones. Packaged in a travel pouch with cables and adapters for all aircraft, the sound is impressive, clear and full. Certainly an immersive audio experience. Light, and easy to use at the touch or swipe of the right side headphone. Pause, play, FFwd, Next, Back, Volume +/- or answer / mute calls......it's like learning a new language, but very easy using one finger....Easy pairing to multiple devices and easy charging with included USB cable (no 240v charging adapter though)

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2020 at Qantas FF Rewards.

Build Quality
Sound Quality
Trisha
TrishaSydney, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • Verified

Fantastic headphones

published

Have had these headphones for 8 months and have loved them. Fantastic noise cancelling and the touch swipe feature is really handy. I wear them on my commute and they're good for travelling on loud planes. The wireless range is great and the sound quality is fantastic. I've also worn them to the gym and they've been really comfortable.

Purchased in May 2019 at Bing Lee Online store for $241.96.

Build Quality
Value for Money
younggle
younggleSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very good 'phones let down by battery failure

published

Purchased in August 2017 at JB Hi-Fi.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Duane H
Duane HGippsland, VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

So glad I listened to the reviews and bought PXC 550's

published

Purchased in November 2019 for $349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Miranda T.
Miranda T.Sydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Great sound quality

published

great sound quality. Bass in particular is good. I find it a bit uncomfortable but its ok for a few hours at a time.

Overall - very happy with my purchase!

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jatboy
JatboySydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Perfect headphones for Flight travels

published

Sound - great
Comfort - great
Build - great
Price - average
Overall, a good quality product which comes at a cost but proves its worth. You will not regret this purchase. Touch interaction on the sides. Noise cancellation works good.
A great deal.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Wireless Headphones

Find out how Sennheiser PXC 550 compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Nidia
Nidiaasked

Can one listen to audio books downloaded on my iPhone on the headphone?

1 answer
Dr. Crashalot
Dr. Crashalot

Yes. If you pair the headphones with your iPhone via Bluetooth you can listen to all audio. They also come with a cable to use as wired headphones. But if you have a newer iPhone, you will need the lighting to headphone adapter.

Izeth Semmer
Izeth Semmerasked

Using GarageBand with iPad I tried my PXC 550 sounded awesome listening to recordings , but when I plug guitar in ITrack audio interfacethe sound is delayed and really bad that was Bluetooth then tried the lead into iPad the same terrible sound is there a step I’m missing or doing something wrong?

1 answer
avi g.
avi g.

Call quality???

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryWireless Headphones
Price (RRP) $499.95
TypeOver-Ear
FeaturesMicrophone Included and Noise Cancelling
Frequency Response17 - 23,000 Hz
Weight227 g
Battery Life30 hours
Connections2.55mm Jack and Bluetooth
Charging Time3 hours
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Colour / FinishBlack
Release dateAug 2016
Replaced bySennheiser PXC 550-II
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.