?
? !
2 photos
Sharp R80A0S

Sharp R80A0S

MPN: R80A0S
3.3 from 15 reviews · View Statistics

Microwaves Buying Guide

One of life’s little conveniences, a reliable microwave easily lets you enjoy hot food and drinks at home. Whether you’re making 2-minute noodles, microwave scrambled eggs or cooking rice, a microwave is an essential everyday appliance you can quickly wonder how you ever lived without.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (1)
Previous
Next
SLK

SLKSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Please bring this Model back

published

I had this oven for 4 years and it died recently in Dec 2020. I looked everywhere for a replacement, but to no avail. I bought (and returned) two replacements so far (including an updated Sharp model) but it failed to reached the desired convection temperature, as per design specification. I subsequently found an identical model at a seconds-shop which had minor scratches and bought it instantly (without any box or packaging). It now works just like my old oven. Please SHARP, bring back this great model.

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
PatsDad

PatsDadGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 17 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great unit.

published

I've had this about 7 months and it has performed flawlessly. Simple controls even I can work out without having to run off to the instruction book. Versitile multi function means I rarely use the big oven any more. My wife is happy with the look of it as well.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Dear Customer, Thank you for the wonderful feedback. It is always great to get feedback from customers.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mai N.

Mai N.Sydney

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified

Multifunction

published

This microwave has microwave, grill and convection oven built into one unit. It's space saving for a small kitchen. Each module works great considering it's a multifunctional unit although wouldn't compare to a full-size oven. I was told the handle is better than the button to open the door as the button can get broken quickly.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R80A0S compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lois

Lois

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Does the job

published

This microwave does not cook evenly. When I cook potatoes, they seem to be overcooked in one section and under cooked in another. I bought it for the multi function, but I would never use the grill to cook meat. Although it is good for making pizzas. You can't bake in it, everything burns on the top. It does work well on combo though and use this function a lot.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Beth K

Beth KBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great convection microwave for the price!

published

We have had this Microwave for almost 12 months and cannot fault it. It gets used quite regularly for reheating and grilling. We use all the features - it heats and browns a frozen pizza perfectly and in half the time! More economical than using the oven for re-heating and baking. Very quiet, easy to clean and looks great in my kitchen. It's an excellent convection microwave for the money!

Date PurchasedOct 2016
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stephanie

Stephanie

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Multi Functions!

published

I picked this microwave as it has got grill and oven function. But to be honest, they dont work very well. But the heating function is alright. it is stylish and easy to clean. So overall it is a good microwave which can meet your daily usage needs. If you have a big family, it might not be big enough for you

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cher

CherSunnybank Hills

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Heats nicely

published

This microwave cooks well, heating my food adequately. The one-touch system of quick cooking is easy to use and saves time. It's not too noisy when heating and it has a reminder alarm after it finishes cooking, so you won't forget to open it. It's solid and performs as expected.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Neil

NeilSydney, NSW

  • 21 reviews
  • 17 likes

the old one was better

published

I had a sharp convection microwave for many years....it actually died of old age and it was absolutely outstanding so I bought a new one. Yeah ok, it cooks.....BUT the elements are exposed so your forever cleaning them or you smell burnt food stuck to them.
Also, if my son is using the WiFi when the microwave goes on it blocks the signal.
Like I said, it cooks, but it has issues. I'm going to try a Panasonic next time.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jason

JasonSouth Australia, 5113

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Can't do the basic functions its made for

published

Can't microwave and grill. This is 2 separate functions. You can only oven and grill

The double grill is a complete joke it doesn't do anything and you actually have to turn food when it prompts you.

Very disappointed and our other Belling model does more functions and better for less cost!

Date PurchasedMay 2017
2 comments
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Jason
Jason

Unless you can reprogram it the microwave/grill option isn't going to change.

The double grill needs a rotating wire rack to be useful.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R80A0S compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lisianthus

LisianthusAlbany

  • 20 reviews
  • 26 likes

Small space unit

published

I bought this unit after a more expensive competitor's brand started making funning noises within 4 years. In this model you get what you pay for. One min jumps should be 30sec and the food using different configurations just doesn't cook the same as my original convention oven. If your kitchen is limited by space then you'll probably like the unit.

Date PurchasedJune 2016
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pete

Pete

  • 26 reviews
  • 25 likes

Excellent convection - grill and M/Wave

published
Date PurchasedJune 2016
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

very poor indeed

published

This $310 microwave is less than 2 years old. It stops before the set time. All the lights go out on the control panel so it is not possible to reset it.
It is out of warranty so Sharp provides no assistance. A lot of time and money has been wasted installing it into our kitchen.
I will certainly never buy another Sharp microwave.

Date PurchasedJune 2015
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Unhappy with the product :(

published

It was working well for 8 months, then its stopped heating the food.
Smoke came out when the grilled turned on.
The heating sound and light is working perfect and we are
getting fooled again and again.
Lucky I didn't throw my old one, managing now with the old one .
I am also suggesting the sharp people to recall the product.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
4 comments
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Mani
Mani

I lives in NZ, are you able to help me.

Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Anna

AnnaBrisbane

  • 44 reviews
  • 41 likes

Does it's job

published

Bought this as a fill in while I waited for my wall oven.

As a microwave, it does its job and is more powerful than my previous one, so I am happy with that.
I feel that the convection part isn't as intuitive to use as it could be.
Also I don't like that the carousel turns for convection, it really limits the size you can pop into the oven.
Nonetheless, I have been happy enough with results for the dishes I have cooked.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Disgruntled

DisgruntledLaunceston

Don't waste your money! !!

published

It was faulty from day one.
The grill element comes on during convection cooking, causing burnt offerings.
It is a fire hazard..
I think Sharp should recall this model.
We had to convince the authorised repairers to try cooking something.
They did and sure enough, the fault appeared.
Pity they didn't believe me the first time I made the complaint.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R80A0S compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Satdeo

Satdeoasked

My microwave oven model is R8080 S. The oven lamp has failed . How canit be fixed

No answers
Peter H

Peter Hasked

My R80AO(S) has an intermittent fault! - the timer knob sometimes works, and sometimes it doesn't! It is used only occasionally, and I have lived with this problem for sometime now - using mainly just the one minute reheat button. Clearly it is not "fit for purpose"! I am based in NZ, and the item was purchased from Briscoes, Kerikeri. Remedy please.

1 answer
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Peter, we are concerned to hear of your experience with this product. We have forwarded your email address to the concerned team, they will be contacting you soon.

Bec

Becasked

Hello,
We just unpacked our new model
R-80A0(S)
There is a slight curved dint on the left hand side top of the microwave over the door hinge. Is this supposed to be there or is the item damaged
Many thanks
Rebecca

2 answers
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Bec,

If you could please send your contact details through to ccare@sharp.net.au, referencing this CRN 526802, a member of our team can troubleshoot and assist you accordingly.

Kind Regards,
Sharp Australia

Pete
Pete

Hi,
On my Sharp, there is a curved cutout at the hinge on the left-hand side of the Microwave. It's more a curved cutout than a dent, per say but it looks like a dent but is a cut-out at the hinge.
Cheers, Pete
oh, I took a photo of mine but there seems to be nowhere to post photos on here.

See all Sharp R80A0S questions

Get an answer from our members and Sharp representatives

Details

CategoryMicrowaves
Price (RRP) $389.00
Type Convection
FeaturesChild Safety Lock and Grill Function
Dimensions 306 x 513 x 430 mm
Turntable Diameter301 mm
Door MechanismPull Handle
Colour / FinishSilver
Power800 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
ManualDownload manual

  • MPN: R80A0S

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.