??!
4 photos
Simpson SDV Series
4.4 from 92 reviews

Clothes Dryers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of clothes dryer would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

4.4

92 reviews
5
(49)
4
(36)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(3)
  • Build Quality
    3.9 (9)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (8)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (8)
Previous
Next
Truth

TruthMid North Coast, NSW

Not happy

published

We bought this dryer around 4 years ago and use it for two people approx 3 times a week. The inside plastic around the door is breaking down badly and catching our clothes as they turn around. It has been making a screeching noise occasionally after no use for a week. Would not recommend it

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Andrew C

Andrew CSydney, NSW

Simple and not fancy, but works great!

published

I bought this Simpson dryer almost two years now. I use it very often but it works beautifully...simply get the job done. The appliance comes with a simple design with a rotary dial and no sophisticated display. I have a feeling that this appliance can last for next few more years.

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

georgie

georgie

  • 5 reviews

I recommend this.

published

I've had this dryer nearly a year and I haven't had any problems with it. It was easy to install/hang on the wall. It dries a large load of washing in less than an hour, saving on power.

Purchased in November 2018 at RetraVision.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Vented Clothes Dryers

Find out how Simpson SDV Series compares to other Vented Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
gmat10

gmat10Perth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Gone the distance

published

I bought my Simpson 4kg Ezi loader in 2008 at Good guys for around $250. Up until the last few days where I had to replace the belt and pulley, I’m totally amazed how it’s lasted. It’s survived the drying of clothes for just my wife and I to having two kids, a move to NT for a number of years (laundry in the open weather), survived a cyclone and another move interstate. It’s simple to use even my 6yr old daughter can use. Parts are cheap and uses simple mechanisms. I can’t rate this little machine enough.

Purchased in April 2008 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
rippedoffagain888

rippedoffagain888Melbourne

  • 33 reviews
  • 66 likes

VERY POOR CHOICE - Bye Bye Electrolux.

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$450.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Naeem

NaeemSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Perfect little machine

published

Bought this new Simpson Clothes Dryer 2 months ago on special at $275 from Harvey Norman It has a capacity of 4 Kg and it was mount it on the wall. It comes with an option of both front and rear venting and could be mounted upside down. Would recommend to anyone who is looking to purchase compact dryer particularly people living in units where space is always an issue in laundry room.

Purchased in March 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$275.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
LHR

LHRSydney

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very reliable and simple dryer that wont let you down

published

We have had this dryer for two years and it has never let us down. We have it vented to the outside of the house to prevent condensation in the house and this works perfectly. I find that I can put a very large load of clothes into it and it handles them without any problems. It also spins the clothes in two directions to prevent them tangling. Because it only has dials, there are no electronics that can break. I think this dryer will last us for many more years.

Purchased in May 2017 at Home Clearance for A$418.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Bel

BelSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Recommended for common laundry in strata complex

published

Simpson SDV401 4kg Vented Dryer. Great choice for common laundry in strata apartment block. Looks good, simple, easy to use, manual rotary dial. 4kg capacity is perfect. Great low price. Didn't need any fancy features or electronics, just needed something low cost, low maintenance and repairs. Purchased two dryers from Appliances online $593, including delivery and removal of old units. Recommend appliances online to price match, great customer service, no waiting on hold over the phone, fast delivery, installation and removal of old dryer. Great deal. Recommended.

Purchased in November 2018 at Appliances Online for A$297.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Stevie

Stevie

  • 4 reviews

Best dryer!!

published

I’ve owned this dryer for years now, used every single day and never had an issue! They’re very reasonably priced and I’ve never had a massive power bill from them either. Highly recommend!!

Purchased in May 2014 at The Good Guys for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Vented Clothes Dryers

Find out how Simpson SDV Series compares to other Vented Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
T.C

T.CSydney, NSW

  • 18 reviews
  • 14 likes

Great

published

I thought my Hoover was good for lasting 31 yrs but this one is so much better at drying and doesn't blow dust everywhere like the last one. Good on electricity too. I'm a happy customer thus far. Can recommend to anyone needing a new dryer or wanting to update their old one. Price was reasonable too.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Joseph34

Joseph34Sydney, NSW

  • 15 reviews
  • 8 likes

Reliable, quiet, quick drying and good price

published

Bought this new Simpson Clothes Dryer six months ago on special at $295.00. It has a capacity of 4 Kg. Very easy to mount on the wall. It has been very reliable with no fault so far. It has a front lint filter which is very handy to remove for cleaning. The internal drum tumbles clockwise and counter clockwise evenly through that helps the clothes from bunching and tangling together when dried. The rotary dial control with timer is very easy to operate. It also has an auto cool down feature which reduces creases in your clothes. Would recommend to anyone buying a new clothes dryer.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Ramesh R.

Ramesh R.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews

A good product for the $ you spend

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Shell

Shell

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Bigger than I thought

published

I dry everything, from my work clothes to sheets. I originally bought the dryer as I only had a couple of uniforms and when I have a night shift I needed to sleep not spend time doing laundry. But we discovered that it gets all the dog and cat fur off everything. For any delicates I use the cooler function setting so that it doesn't get damaged. I love how the dryer stops and turns the other way, sheets no longer get balled up and dry quicker saving money.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Rebeccav

RebeccavLEANYER

Can try it

published

If you are looking for dry dryers, you can try them. It's perfect for our needs. The drying machine has the basic control device, the use is convenient. Mainly in rainy days with my dryer. It has a very small voice and dries quickly. You can set the time you want it to run so that it can be manipulated on one side.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Rosie

Rosie

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great dryer

published

I've found this dryer to be really reliable especially at it's price point. It's not ideal for really gentle requirements but for a family of 4 with loads of clothes to dry it does an excellent job. Does create a lot of moisture in the air though which is the only downfall. It's now 8 years old and going strong.

Date PurchasedJul 2010
Vented Clothes Dryers

Find out how Simpson SDV Series compares to other Vented Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kate

KateSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Pretty good so far

published

Pretty good so far as I’ve had it for a month. It is 4kg and slightly longer to dry clothes compared to a smaller clothes dryer I’m use to. Although, these vented dryers are cheap, great for apartments and not too noisy. Very easy to get flint out which is in the machine unlike previous dryer which was on the outside. Dryer goes both ways which is fantastic so clothes will dryer well. Usually use higher temp and 90mins for a load of washing towels.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Svgtr

SvgtrPerth, WA

  • 16 reviews
  • 5 likes

Simple machine and thus hopefully reliable

published

This is a basic machine, works well and takes us 90 minutes to fully dry an average load. Being simple is advantageous, as another reviewer puts it, it's just a drum, motor and heater element. No microcomputer board to fail and leave the machine useless and face uneconomical repairs.

We only owned it for 2 months thus far, however it's seen almost daily use (usually several loads) and hasn't skipped a beat. I do not see this machine letting us down until the motor burns out which will hopefully be a long way off.

The noise it makes is acceptable and its construction appears of a decent quality. Made in Thailand.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Greg

GregSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews

Quiet and quick drying.

published

I mainly It is so much use my dryer on rainy days. I also like to finish off my towels too leave them soft and fluffy. This dryer has easy to undrstand controls. The settings give you numerous options. I have dried heavy jeans to really delicate garments and it has done a marvelous job. It is so much quieter than my previous one.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Bl00zman

Bl00zmanCranbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable family dryer

published

We have had this for many years and it has never failed us! Its only the 4KG version but its all we need. I try to air dry at least a little bit, even in winter and this gets used to finish off. Always arts up and gets nice and warm and its never needed a service after four years. Good reliable unit

Date PurchasedMay 2014
Kat R

Kat RNSW, 2150

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Product

published

Quite, easy to use and mounting it on the wall was a breeze. Clothes dry within a reasonable time, lint filter is easy to clean. Great price, no complaints at all. This is actually the 3rd Simpson dryer I have owed over the last 12 years, all 3 dryers have never let me down

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Isha

Ishaasked

SDV501

Hi , i bought a 5.5kg Simpson dryer but i couldnt work out how to operate the timer . Once i use air dry option the arrow stays there. Is it then suppose to sit on one of the time options after that ?
Am i suppose to pick 30 60 or 90 minutes cycle ?

No answers
Parie T.

Parie T.asked

SDV Series

Is this dryer large enough to dry sheets and doona covers?

2 answers
Naeem
Naeem

It's just 4KG so won`t recommend doing it.

Bel
Bel

I have put my sheets and doona covers for double/queen in this dryer

EnTiqUe

EnTiqUeasked

SDV401

Bought this couple of weeks ago, however not satisfied with the outcome, clothes become very creazy and hard to even iron.
Is it something wrong as it does not have any other options?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Simpson representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.