??!
2 photos
Simpson SWT1043

Simpson SWT1043

MPN: 36562656
3.1 from 76 reviews · View Details

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now

Reviews

3.1

76 reviews
5
(20)
4
(17)
3
(7)
2
(11)
1
(21)
  • Build Quality
    3.1 (26)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (26)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (27)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.2 (26)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (27)
Previous
Next
Mark505

Mark505MELBOURNE

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Only Just got it But....

published

Purchased in October 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$999.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
SixSixSh33P

SixSixSh33PSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 16 reviews
  • 11 likes

Built in obsolescence

published

Purchased in August 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$898.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Simpson
ELECTROLUX ..Simpson
Jim Wallace

Jim WallaceAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Made to only last past the Warranty Period

published

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Simpson
ELECTROLUX ..Simpson
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Simpson SWT1043 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jayde

JaydeGoulburn Valley, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Don’t buy

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Betta Home Living for A$980.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Simpson
ELECTROLUX ..Simpson
Belinda

BelindaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Nightmare!

published

Mega problems with this machine after 1 year...don't purchase...many error messages on screen from E10 to E80 and lid locking with clothes in it! Service to home slow and unhelpful, waited 5 days for replacement baud. Electronic bauds replaced twice but had to pay for call out fee and now another similar issue. NOT HAPPY and won't purchase ever again.

Purchased in April 2018 at The Good Guys for A$1,100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Jon

JonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Most frustrating washing machine

published

Had previous imprison machine and was great lasted nearly 20 years. This one always keeps shaking itself and comes up with an imbalance error on it. I would not recommend

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
Gary

GarySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified purchase

Both my partner and I are dissatisfied.

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeSimpson 6kg EZIloader
See all answers
JayG

JayGGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 10 likes

It’s a piece of cr*p

published

Purchased in May 2020 at The Good Guys for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Simpson
ELECTROLUX ..Simpson
Carole

CaroleSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Simpson Top Loader Washing Machine 12kg

published

We bought the 12kg Simpson washing machine from Good Guys Penrith NSW. Excellent washing machine. Great for the bigger loads of washing. Service great from the shop and an excellent delivery. 100% recommend.

Purchased in June 2020 for A$1,100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Simpson SWT1043 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shaun C.

Shaun C.Eyre Peninsula, SA

Faulty heap of ....

published

It does wash clothes although it is extremely noisy and in the last 2 years I have had it I have had the tub supply water hose replaced 3 times and according to Harvey Norman anything that needs to be replaced 3 times is classed as a major failure and should be replaced with a new one but no being 2 months out of warranty Electrolux/Simpson replaced the part for free but won’t replace the faulty machine only a matter of time before it happens again

Purchased at Harvey Norman for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

Unhappy customer SWT 1043

published

I hate this washing machine worst machine I have ever had, starts the minute you turn it on with no water in the machine, clothes come out dirty and smelly still. Doesn't do what a washing machine should do.

Purchased for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Gary

Gary

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great machine washes slow and gentle on clothes

published

Great value for money easy to use technology great looking machine slow and gentle on the cloths easy to clean quiet operations i cant fault it stick with the chosen cycles im very happy with my simpson

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Conway H.

Conway H.Goldfields, WA

  • 5 reviews

Was awesome!

published

Washing machine was so good although within a year it started flooding out the bottom ahhhh not sure how much it will cost to fix hopefully not an arm or out to the tip with that one

Purchased in July 2018 at RetraVision for A$498.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Jezz

JezzSydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 18 likes

Dreadful washing machine

published

This is such a bad washing machine and disappointing to write this as always had this brand and been very happy. It would seem that the quality is just not there anymore. Have had several service calls to the house and even taken to the warehouse for repair. Not only returned scratched in many places but still have very bad noise and don't even get me started on the lint collector (does not work). Sadly have to say look at other brands for washing machines as you will be disappointed if you purchase this one. Not happy!!

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
cristina

cristinaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Makes laundry lovely!

published

The washing machine is so useful in daily needs, easy to use, economical as well. The durability is awesome, I’ve never had any issue since I had it. I highly recommend it.

Purchased in March 2018 at The Good Guys for A$700.00.

Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Simpson SWT1043 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Cheap hoses - not made to last

published

Ever since having this machine, it never did a particularly great job at washing clothes. One month after the 2 year warranty ended, machine started leaking enormous amounts of water from underneath at the start of the cycle while filling water into the machine. A broken hose leaking inside the machine was found to be the cause. Cheap nasty quality. Avoid as the hose isn't made to last - could they make it any thinner?

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

End of wash buzzer not audible, need to buy a kitchen timer.

published

Purchased in June 2019 for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Simpson
ELECTROLUX ..Simpson

Hi Wendy,
Narelle from Electrolux here.
If the issue you have raised is still not resolved at this time, can you please email me your contact details at customercare@electrolux.com.au attention Narelle (Ticket 1097736)?

yvemarie

yvemarieSydney, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Simple to use but a great top load washer!

published

I bought this top Load washing machine SWT1043 2 years ago in Bing Lee. Until now it never let me down. It washes all types of clothes from my working, sensitive, delicate to simple clothes. Its a 10kg one so even my Queen size heavy bedding it is giving me good results. I am satisfied with the water rating and it has a product feature called Active Boost wash system that uses less amount of water and is more energy efficient during th washing process. I am satisfied with the cycle time feature, as well. My advise to my fellow consumer is that read the manual well and follow the advises on how to maintain a product. I recommend this top load washer.

Purchased at Bing Lee.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Daniel MCCullough

Daniel MCCulloughPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Large, Efficient, Easy to use

published

I got this washing machine for my parents as there's had blown up.

It was a massive improvement from the last one (size wise and efficiency)

It has an amazing water rating and consumes very little power.

The size of the machine being 10KG allows us to fill the machine with 10KG of washing, this has cut our washes per week down by almost half !

The only issue I have with it is, the sound output, it isnt as quiet as the last one, however you get used to the noise, and the agitator is a bit large, I would've liked it if it didn't have one.

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys Online store for A$795.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
MarnieB

MarnieBSouthwest, VIC

  • 4 reviews

Top loads for a top wash !

published

Wonderful machine with great wash results no matter how light or heavy the load. Have never had to rewash one item ever. It handles soft wash to heavy bedding. Washes & rinses perfectly. Many choices of cycles with easy to use settings.

Purchased in March 2018 at The Good Guys for A$830.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeElectrolux EDV5051 / EDV6051 / EDV7051
See all answers
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Eve.G

Eve.Gasked

Why does my fabric softener dispenser fil with water and not empty?

1 answer
Gary
Gary

It's because the machine is garbage.

Marsha-lee

Marsha-leeasked

My washing machine Is not displaying’END’ when cycle is finished, is stuck on same cycle 1hr 10.
Display screen shows ‘E80

2 answers
Gary
Gary

Hi Marsha, this is the only help I can offer. I don't work for Electrolux, I have recently purchased this machine after owning many great Simpson washers through the years. After using this machine for a few months now, one thing becomes clearly apparent. Whomever designed this latest model machine, has never washed their own clothes. I notified Simpson their review site was not functioning months ago....seems they can't even fix that.

My suggestion is you contact Sylvia Jersek 1300 365 305 or customercare@electrolux.com.au

Carole
Carole

Hi Marsha-lee, Just looked in the manual book. No E80 showing in the listing. Plus I do not know what cycle you have the machine on for an 1hour 10 minutes. You might need to call the shop you purchased the machine from and ask. Best of luck.

flipper96300

flipper96300asked

Why does your Tasmanian Service Agent "The Appliance Surgeon" tell me to avoid AUTO settings and use manual settings to get the water levels right? Surely I have the right to use the 20 minute or 45 minute cycle instead of waiting 1-1.5 hours for the longer settings? The water level sensor is faulty and 5 months later we are still waiting for it to be fixed - something the service agent is very rude about and has been reported to Fair Trade/ Consumer Affairs and Harvey Norman. What is the use of having warranty and product care if a repair company refuse to fix it?

1 answer
Gary
Gary

I posted a review on a 10kg Simpson I had purchased. I'm not an employee associated with Simpson or Electrolux otherwise. This would have been a great machine, the previous pedigree on this machine goes back years and is second to none......then.... they introduce unnecessary and unwarranted nuisance technology, the only purpose of which is to drive owners crazy.

Get an answer from our members and Simpson representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.