??!
1 photo
Simpson SWT5541

Simpson SWT5541

MPN: 35904938
2.6 from 23 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
4
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
6
1 star
8

Rob

RobSouthwest, VIC

Simpson machines are not what they used to be

published

Had a Simpson machine for 20+ was a great machine still working when we got rid of it due to leaks & the weight(we were about too move) got a cheap machine from Aldi & was not happy with it & it died after 5 years, so thought we would go back to a Simpson......They are not what they used to be!!!

From the start we were disappointed in the job it did, lint collection was terrible.

3.5 years in & it has stopped working with the display flashing & beeping, similar to many of the other reviews online.

Not sure if it is even worth repairing as many have said the control board & repair will end up being nearly as much as the machine.

Very disappointing.

Purchased in November 2015 at The Good Guys for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

Red Dog

Red DogNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Cheap, but not so nasty.

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Angela

AngelaAlice Springs

Waste of money

published

Bought this for granny flat hasn't had more than 6 months use, but just over 6 months of warranty running out it died, whatever happened to washing machines at least lasting 6/10 years, always swore by Simpson brand but bitterly disappointed, should take this to consumers complaints a washing machine should have more than 2 1/2 years of life in it, replaced it with and LG lets hope I have more luck???

Date PurchasedJan 2016
clare

claresydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Hopeless - third machine to develop RUST

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017
3 comments
Simpson
ELECTROLUX ..Simpson
clare
clare

Thank you. Email sent 14 August at 4.26pm

clare
clare

Still waiting for reply from Electrolux re sending a technician to confirm the fault, that is, rust developing in the seam. 15 August at 6.40pm


Not impressed.

published

Worked OK till 2 months after warranty ran out. Control board faulty. I used it once a week on mainly fast wash program using cold water.Will cost $200 for part plus labour unless i do it myself. Better off buying new one.Will not buy Simpson again .Shoud have lasted longer than 26 months.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
1 comment
Simpson
ELECTROLUX ..Simpson

Iilluta

IillutaSouth Australia

  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified purchase

Possible Charges for warranty​ claim.

published

My mother purchased this model on the 25/10/2016 from Radio Rentals. It had been working well up until 16/07/2018. Water isn't flowing into drum( water turned on, connection is secure), drum not spinning. On The 17/07/2018 I contacted Electrolux and explained faults, first thing I was told was if fault is deemed by using incorrect top load powder, fee of over $140 would apply. Now I'm not sure of what brand laundry powder mum used, but it seemed like Electrolux just want charge to inspect. Mum will be throwing out this washer that technically should have 3 months warranty. Classic warranty saga!

Date PurchasedOct 2016
1 comment
Simpson
ELECTROLUX ..Simpson

Grant S

Grant SSurry Hills

  • 2 reviews

Just Purchased...very quiet good washer.

published

Grabbed a bargain on this model at David Jones Half Yearly Clearance sale. Could not find any front loader to fit laundry. Small size fitted tiny laundry perfectly. Mr Electrolux delivered it by surprise in four days instead of two weeks quoted. Removed the twenty five year old Simpson washer (still working!) and installed the new model in minutes. Am finding this machine very quiet during use. Only noticeable noise is water fill and the end of cycle beeper (can be silenced). Water use and program options are great in variety and operation. Washes well in all temperatures. Spin and water saving options great. Will see how it performs over the next twenty-odd years!

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Mich

MichCairns

  • 4 reviews

So far, so good!

published

My clothes come out very clean and at a right dampness level. I have quite a few fragile clothing so I just put that in a laundry protector bag so none of it is damaged. What I love about this washing machine is that it is not noisy at all and also collects the lint very well.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Just lasted to the warranty ran out

published

recommended repairer,wanted $165 to come out and wait over a week and they had no clue of what could be wrong,even after I told them Simpson said it was a top problem (E40). Got a local guy ($50) he took the top off.... Condenser leaked and sprayed water over computer

Date PurchasedMay 2015
Reddel

Reddel

  • 11 reviews
  • 12 likes
  • Verified purchase

Happy with the size and features

published

I had seen mixed reviews for this washing machine, however purchased anyway as it was the latest model of the 18+ year old Simpson we needed to replace. Very happy so far - I don't think it will be as long-lived as our old one, but reasonably priced, and one of the smallest I could find (household of two, and I tend to do more frequent, smaller loads). Similar noise level to our old Simpson; washes and spins efficiently. The plastic lid seems to mark easily, however, more practical than the metal lid of the old one which rusted early on.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Belle

BellePerth

  • 5 reviews

Helps with water saving

published

I like this machine as it has a "hold"option which enables you to save water. It is quiet when in use and it cleans clothes as good as other more expensive washing machines I have used. The dials are very user friendly, I think this machine is value for money.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Tbart

TbartMt Eliza

  • 4 reviews

Flimsy exterior dints just with gentle moving, unhelpful company

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Zhen

ZhenBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Good little helper

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Col

ColBrisbane

Not off to a very promising start

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017
1 comment
Simpson
ELECTROLUX ..Simpson
CHANDER

CHANDERSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Very bad

published

The cleaning seemed to be ok in the first couple of months but now I am really annoyed by the amount of lint that comes in the clothes each time the clothes are washed. Went to Good Guys to report the matter. They created a service ticket but the customer service is horrible. They never came and we can't reach them on phone either. Now we are stuck with a stupid washing machine and we are spend at least 5-10 minutes each day removing lint from our clothes.

Put it for sale but no one is willing to pick it up. Never going to buy again

Date PurchasedMay 2016
1 comment
Simpson
ELECTROLUX ..Simpson

Just bad

published

Had it for 18 months and it's always having uneven load problems. Now it's just broken. The whole control panel is flickering and beeping and it will not start any cycle. As there is no error message or indication of what could be wrong, there is no idea on whether it's worth calling someone out to fix it. Going to just replace it.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
1 comment
Simpson
ELECTROLUX ..Simpson

Not happy - Marie

published

Maybe washes OK. Takes too long to rinse and spin dry. No provision for a quick spin dry, which my previous machine had. Also some clothes wind around the spindle , causing a problem. The closthes come out very creased, which means for more ironing. Cannot change the cycle once started.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Sad Sam

Sad SamChiltern, Victoria

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great machine for a single person and very economically priced.

published

Previously had a Simpson for 14 years, the Simpson is reliable, very quiet and always cleans and rinses my clothes to my satisfaction. I like all the new additions with this machine as to temperature, cycles etc - a lot more options than the previous Simpson machine. It also is a perfect fit in the space available in my laundry.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

kacee

kaceeAdelaide

Disappointed!

published

Machine appears not to have a sud save of clean wash water for re-use. Also, continually unbalances even though clothes are carefully placed so as not to do so. rebalancing up to four times per wash cycle is a common occurrence and adds to the overall washing time which is very frustrating.

Date PurchasedApr 2015
1 comment
Simpson
ELECTROLUX ..Simpson

Colin R

Colin RMelbourne, Victoria

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

It is a very good machine.

published
Date PurchasedJul 2016

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Lana M.

Lana M.asked

Has anyone had a problem with water mixing? For a warm wash the hot and cold come through separately so as clothes are being hit with hot water. No good for woollens and delicates.

No answers

HANKOR

HANKORasked

Simpson top loading Washing Machine SWT5541 led lig and is shows 5P and later Ld. It dont start?

No answers

HANKOR

HANKORasked

Simpson TOP LOADER WASHING MACHINE SWT 5541 -the led light shows 5P and later Ld . ---but it do not start

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Simpson representatives

Details

CategoryTop Loading Washing Machines
Price (RRP) $529.00
Capacity5.5 kg
Household Size 1-2 people
Energy Rating2.5 star(s)
Water Rating3.5 star(s)
Drum MaterialStainless Steel
Colour / Finish White
Dimensions 945 x 575 x 655 mm
Max Spin Speed 850 rpm
Number of Spin Speeds3
Number of Wash Cycles11
Weight36.5 kg
Country of ManufactureThailand
MechanismAgitator
Open Lid Height 1,375 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Release dateFeb 2015

Visit official website - Download manual
  • MPN: 35904938
  • GTIN13: 8853328010112

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.