??!
2 photos
Singer Heavy Duty

Singer Heavy Duty

4423, 4411
3.7 from 18 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (12)
  • Value for Money
    3.2 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    3.4 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (12)
  • Noise Level
    2.8 (12)
  • Safety
    3.8 (11)
  • Thick Fabric Performance
    3.6 (10)
Previous
Next

Best sewing machine

published

I bought my sewing machine singer 4423 with the overlocker 14hd854 eight months ago . they are both powerful fantastic and the serger is very easy to thread (as i followed the instructions in the manual and watched some videos on youtube). Satisfied and happy with My two singer .

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Thick Fabric Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sewing Experience LevelIntermediate
See all answers

Great! Surprised by the negative reviews

published

I love this machine. I bought it around 9 years ago. Its had a decent work out and is still going strong. I bought this machine as it has metal gears, just about all other domestic machines have plastic gears which wear out in no time with regular use. It plays up every couple of years, then i get it serviced and its good as new.
I see some of the negative reviews on here are quite recent. I wonder if they've changed their manufacturer since i bought mine. I'm considering buying another one so i can have one set up with a walking foot, so I'll be interested to see if its the same quality.

Purchased in June 2011 for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Thick Fabric Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sewing Experience LevelAdvanced
See all answers
Rod W

Rod WPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Seems to work well.

published

Have only used this sewing machine a couple of times for small clothing repairs. This machine did the job well and the additional features appear to be quite good. Happy with the purchase so far.

Purchased in April 2020 at Spotlight Online Store for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sewing Experience LevelBeginner
See all answers
Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Find out how Singer Heavy Duty compares to other Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
zaraenthus

zaraenthusSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

I replace it and still doesn't work.

published

I bought mine in Jan 2020, stop working. I replaced it, and today the new one stop working again. I wandering is that the reason that it is heavily reduced in price.

Purchased in December 2019 for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Thick Fabric Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sewing Experience LevelIntermediate
See all answers
Chrissie W.

Chrissie W.Hunter Region, NSW

Rubbish waste of money

published

Used it first time to sew a straight plain seam on two pieces of cotton and bobbin carriage broke loose Bought it two wks ago on special Don’t want a replacement prefer my money back Buyer beware

Purchased in April 2020 at Spotlight.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Thick Fabric Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sewing Experience LevelAdvanced
See all answers
Michelle H.

Michelle H.South-Eastern Region, NSW

Factory setting of bobbin tension too loose

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Spotlight Online Store for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Thick Fabric Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sewing Experience LevelAdvanced
See all answers
Joe

JoeSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Is it a not fit for the purpose e.g. to sew, expectation that it would work etc etc

published

If the product is not 'fit for the purpose''i suggest lodge a complaint with the Department of Fair Trading equivalent in Victoria against Spotlight (find out the proprietor's name address etc). If you paid by credit card you may get your money back - ask for their procedures. If you paid by Paypal contact them for procedures. Do not give up.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Pauline R.

Pauline R.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Thought I bought a bargain

published

Bought it on 31 December 2019. Requires frequent needle changing. Sliding the needle into the groove is extremely difficult unless you have a very small hand. So too is fiddling with the screws - not enough space for a normal hand. My third needle has just fallen into the machine's belly straight through the dog feed. There are no instructions on how to recover it. I pray Spotlight takes it back and refunds me my money.

Purchased in December 2019 at Spotlight Retail Stores for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sewing Experience LevelIntermediate
See all answers
1 comment
Pauline R.
Pauline R.

Spotlight does not make refunds on sewing machines. $300 down the drain!

Nothappyjan

Nothappyjan

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Trouble and frustration

published

The machine is supposed to be able to sew thin 1-2mm leather, but cannot. It skips stitches and sews inconsistent lengths even on fabric, even with a walking foot, correct needle and thread.
All this machine has done for me is to sharpen up my hand sewing skills.

Purchased at Lincraft for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Thick Fabric Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sewing Experience LevelIntermediate
See all answers
Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Find out how Singer Heavy Duty compares to other Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mez

MezHunter Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Excellent, easy to use

published

I bought this machine about 2 years ago, I need a simple reliable machine that is value for money. I've made many things on it, and I've had no problems. I'm happy to recommend the Singer heavy duty

Purchased in January 2017 at Spotlight Online Store for A$499.99.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Thick Fabric Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sewing Experience LevelAdvanced
See all answers
Sharon

SharonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Good, solid machine

published

This is a great machine that sees well and should last a while. The only downside is because it’s made properly it is a little heavy but I guess that’s a small price to pay for a decent machine.

Purchased in September 2018 at Spotlight for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Thick Fabric Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sewing Experience LevelBeginner
See all answers
kamikami

kamikamiHunter Region, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Good on thick fabric

published

I was after a sewing machine that is powerful enough for thick fabric and not excessively expensive. I got this from spotlight for $300. Seems to work well on my daughter's winter pinafore which killed my old Pfaff 140s, so I'm happy so far. The one step button hole is good too. But their dust cover is so cheaply made, I ended up using my mimco dustbag to cover the sewing machine..

Purchased in May 2019 at Spotlight Retail Stores for A$300.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Wendy L

Wendy LTasmania

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

NOT Discontinued as at Feb 2019.

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Spotlight Online Store for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Thick Fabric Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sewing Experience LevelIntermediate
See all answers
Ally M

Ally MGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Amazing sewing machine

published

Really fast solid machine. Stitches really strong and ive had no problems with it. Has all of the functions you need and is perfect for anyone who is quite comfortable with their sewing skills as it has a bit of speed to it

Purchased in May 2018 at Spotlight for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Thick Fabric Performance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sewing Experience LevelAdvanced
See all answers
lotzacatz

lotzacatzAuckland, New Zealand

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Just the job for thick layers of fabric

published

Just bought this fabulous machine. After five years of struggling with a fully electronic one which was SO fussy about everything and refused to deal with patchwork bag side seams, this is bliss. It does what it says on the tin and I really do love the 'mechanical' aspect of it too. Not discontinued in New Zealand as far as I know and wonderfully sturdy, everything about it is 'easy'. It also sews much faster than my Bernina. Great price, can't fault it :)

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Find out how Singer Heavy Duty compares to other Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Naz

NazSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great machine

published

Purchased machine from spotlight. Is heavy duty and easy to use. Recently cut curtains and sewed them using the Singer. Has standard foots and sewing kit. Doesn't take up to much space in the table. Can sew a ranger of fabrics with different textures and thicknesses. Recommend for occasionally use.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Really good machine..

published

Brilliant machine as far as handling multiple layers of denim.. only thing that has needed replacing was the breast plate, (metal part below the needle).. thread will start to snag. I purchased a new one from ebay.. Machine is running beautifully again. ★★★★ I would recommend a brand new model.

Date PurchasedAug 2014
Nivlek

NivlekSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

A great heavy duty workhorse

published

This really is a a robust and powerful machine. It only started to strain when asked to sew through a seam with six layers of denim. Given a reasonable run up, it handled that task too. The machine has all the basic functions with 23 different stitch styles (11 for stretch) plus the usual adjustments of variable length and width for each of these. It is not a 'bells and whistles' machine for fancy work but is a solid mechanical ((rather than electronic) work horse.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Questions & Answers

Paddy K.

Paddy K.asked

Heavy Duty

Would this machine sew leather up to 1.5mm

1 answer
Pauline R.
Pauline R.

Someone else's comment today says it skips stitches when sewing leather.

David O.

David O.asked

Heavy Duty 4423

Can you adjust the sewing speed?

1 answer
Wendy L
Wendy L

Yes you can, with the foot pedal.

MG8

MG8asked

Heavy Duty 4423

How does this machine handle softer fabrics?
Can it handle any materials?
Thanks.

1 answer
Nivlek
Nivlek

The machine is very good on thicker fabrics (you have to get a run-up on very thick items). For softer fabrics, it is just like any other machine so I would say "average to above average".

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 2 Singer Heavy Duty
CategorySewing Machines & OverlockersSewing Machines & Overlockers
Price (RRP)499
Release dateNov 2011Nov 2011
Compare all 2 Singer Heavy Duty

  • GTIN12: 037431883001 and 037431883018

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.