??!
2 photos
Sirius SL906-L 520

Sirius SL906-L 520

MPN: SL906L520
4.4 from 13 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.4

13 reviews
3
(0)
2
(0)
Previous
Next
nikki

nikkiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Major Problem with Sirius Ducting Kit - rainwater ingress & non-existent after sales support

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Incentivised ReviewNo
2 comments
Sirius
Anthony F.Sirius
nikki
nikki
Ken B

Ken BGippsland, VIC

To be installed soon Kitchen replacement

published

Salesman at Harvey Norman showed us performance of other range hoods. This one was one of the quietest but is designed to perform with induction hot plates. Not many range hoods are suited to induction hotplates due to induction rain. I can also wash the vents in the dishwasher to keep them clean. Have seen great reviews on this product and it will be installed soon in our new kitchen.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Powerful - Well Built - Great LED

published
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Range Hoods

Find out how Sirius SL906-L 520 compares to other Range Hoods

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
misscatherine

misscatherineMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great rangehood - effective, quiet and easy to clean

published
Date PurchasedNov 2015
lyndalls1

lyndalls1Hunter Region, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great rangehood and does what it designed to do very well

published

Being undermount it gives clean lines to our new kitchen. Unit vented outside which keeps most of cooking smells out of the house. Works very well and controls very easy to use. Noisy on highest setting which I use when cooking a stir fry but the cooking sounds are noisy too for the 10minutes this takes. Good led light. Haven’t cleaned as yet but is due this month on our experience to date I definitely recommend this make and model.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Sirius
Anthony F.Sirius

Quality and class

published

The Sirius SL906-L520 has added class to my newly renovated kitchen. A lot of thought went into my choice of rangehood . The LED light, easy clean baffle filters which are excellent for induction cooktops, quality stainless steel and the long warranty. Definately worth the money. Would recommend this everyone.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Very efficient but noisy

published

Installed unit over induction cooktop in newly renovated kitchen. Recommended by salesperson to reduce cooking odours in small townhouse, and be quiet. It is efficient whilst cooking, but is so noisy we cannot leave on to fully eliminate odours whilst we eat (despite purchasing the recommended ducting and vent kit).

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Induction Compatible

published

I Had trouble finding something that was meant to work with an induction cooktop, believe me, not all types do. I have my hopes set that this will with the reviews give. I feel that the noise level is a bit high though, but figured if it worked it was going to be worth the compromise. Guess what... it actually works and i would definitely recommend; very happy.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
jentb0y

jentb0ySydney

Efficient, quiet and discreet

published

Great build quality.
Powerful and quiet for an internal motor.
Discreet under-mount fixing.
Super easy baffle cleaning.
LED task lighting is great.
Pay more for quality up front and fingers crossed will repay you in time.
Was looking at other similar type products but glad we were introduced to the Sirius brand. No regrets.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Range Hoods

Find out how Sirius SL906-L 520 compares to other Range Hoods

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ollie

OllieCoffs Harbour

Recommended by the Sales Person - Nothing else compares

published

I bought this because I wanted a quiet and efficient range hood. I really wanted to get our new kitchen right with products that I will not have to change in a few years. I did shop around and came back to this product because of the whole package, lights, efficiency, under mount, easy to clean, and most of all quiet. It fits nicely under the cupboards as I didn't want an exposed one.

1 comment
Sirius
Anthony F.Sirius

Dear Ollie, thank you for your positive review we appreciate the good feedback, Regards Sirius.

Good Quality

published

Did extensive research on various brand and was impressed by Sirius under-mount range-hood recommended by the store salesperson to. Very happy with this powerful unit- SIRIUS SL906L520, which was significantly more efficient and was perfect fit for the function we needed, with very practical design. LED light is a plus.

Ed H

Ed HSydney

Excellent Rangehood

published

Walked into Winnings Appliances and asked for a good quality range hood to go with the cooktop. Sales lady showed me a sirius range hood, i was blown away with suction when she turned it on, thought the price would be high. When she showed me the quote, i couldn't believe the price. Extremely cheap compared to brand names.

Excellent product

Ideal function and design

published

For our kitchen reno we wanted an undermount rangehood to keep the clean look of the design.
We thought we needed to compromise performance for this.
Winnings recommended the SIRIUS SL906L520, which although was significantly higher cost that had originally planned, realised it was perfect fit for the function we needed, and was a beautiful design.

See all Sirius SL906-L 520 / SL906-L 850 reviews

Questions & Answers

Taner K.

Taner K.asked

SL906-L 520

I have a 900 induction cook top. We are currently thinking of replacing our canopy rangehood which is useless. The overhead cupboards will be replaced to accomodate for an undermount rangehood. however, in order to make all the overhead cupboards equal in size our opening will be 760cm meaning we cannot fit the Sirius 850cm.

My question is will the 520 with outboard motor be sufficient over a 900 induction cooktop?

Regards, Tanner

1 answer
Sirius
Schae P.Sirius

Hi Taner,

Unfortunately no, For a 900mm induction we'd recommend the twin motor onboard 850 model, at a minimum the 850 offboard with the motor no further than 3 metres away. Rule of thumb with a rangehood, the cooking zones should not be greater in width than the hood. A 900mm induction zones are generally 800mm wide in total as they don't go all the way to the edges of the glass. If you installed the 520mm single motor you would have major issues with condensation from the cooktop. Induction cooktops create 60% more condensation than gas cooktops as there is no heat from the flames to burn off residual moisture.

Kind Regards,

JPD

JPDasked

SL906-L 520

We have an undermount 52cm sirius rang hood but can't seem to be able to remove the filter without scratching the front. Its less than 12 months old. Suggestions??? It looks like there isn't enough room for it to slide out...

No answers
Unhappy :(

Unhappy :(asked

SL906-L 520

I have been happy with my Sirius SL906-L520 rangehood and have had it for 3years and 5 months.
A couple of days ago it started making a terrible noise, I rang Sirius service centre they said it was out of warranty as this is 3 years. I have had a service call and they said I need a new motor! I am very upset about this as I hardly use it and was hoping with the amount of money I paid for it, that it would last me years. It is pretty poor to have the motor go in this unit as I have hardly used it, it was sold to me saying what a high quality and strong unit it was.
Is there any way it could be covered by warranty?

4 answers
Sirius
Anthony F.Sirius

Hi,
Was the rangehood installed with Sirius Ducting? Or did the installer use the ducting already in the ceiling, or a different duct brand?

Unhappy :(
Unhappy :(

I did buy the Sirius ducting but the installer could not use it as it would not bend enough to be vented out to our side wall in the kitchen. Sirius ducting looked like it could only used if venting straight up to the roof which did not suit our kitchen design. I was able to return the ducting and get a refund.

Sirius
Anthony F.Sirius

Hi,
Could you please send through some photos of your ducting set up? We just want to get an idea of the installation so we can see if that had anything to do with the motor issue.
Regards

Get an answer from our members and Sirius representatives

Details

Compare both Sirius SL906-L 520 / SL906-L 850
CategoryRange Hoods
Price (RRP)$1299
Release dateJul 2013
Compare both Sirius SL906-L 520 / SL906-L 850

Visit official website
  • MPN: SL906L520

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.