??!
1 photo
Smeg C6GMXA8

Smeg C6GMXA8

MPN: 35902542
2.6 from 16 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
0
4 star
5
3 star
3
2 star
5
1 star
3

Milan D.

Milan D.Sydney, NSW

Quality doesn't match the price

published

The oven came as a part of a renovated kitchen and unit we purchased (not the original purchaser). The unit is probably around 3-4 years old. The timer stopped working, some segments on the display are dimmed and some glow more than normal. Anyway, I called Smeg and was stunned when I heard the quote for replacing the timer - the figure quoted for the replacement part only was just under $500! I shared this with my neighbour and then he told me that his cooker, identical model to mine and roughly the same age (both units were renovated at the same time) has the same problem. You wouldn't expect a $500 timer to be so unreliable.

Purchased in January 2014.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used: Several times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Adam Cross

Adam Cross

  • 2 reviews

Poor build quality

published

Digital display stopped working just out of warranty period, very frustrating, very expensive replacement part, couldn’t justify $400, oven door seal has 4 fiddley hooks which attach at each corner you f the oven opening. 2 hooks fell out of the seal shortly after warranty expiry (appears the adhesive product failed or inappropriate adhesive was used by manufacturer), the seal itself showed no signs of wear but oven unuseable I’m current state.
Hard to clean inside and easy to mark outside. I could see light marks and damage to external finish from first use & cleaning, even when following recommendations in product manual.
Very disappointed in build quality.

Date PurchasedJul 2014
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
JEMD

JEMDBentleigh East

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Brand and price do not match expectations

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
2 comments
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
JEMD
JEMD

Great appreciated immediate response from Steve Cullen. He replaced all 4 hobs which is brilliant and the cooktop looks brand new again.

696969

696969

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Can't clean.

published

Iam sorry to say but this oven is the hardest to clean ,it is cleaned after every time but just won't come off .I use bicarbonate, vinegar and elbow grease but only parshly comes off. I'm so disappointed in this oven but the top of the freestanding is great to use.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Bitterly disappointed with this product!

published
Date PurchasedAug 2013
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Steve

StevePerth

Oven keeps going out!

published

Oven has never worked well and goes out at least 10 times per half hour ! It's shocking the engineer has been out 4 times and appears to fix it then two days later same thing just over it and it's 8 months old.
Engineer out last week and same old story need it writing off as it's not fit for purpose!

Date PurchasedSep 2017
3 comments
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Steve
Steve

Thanks email sent.

Steve
Steve

Thank you Steve Cullen at SMEG for the swift response and resolution. Service from Metropolitan Appliance Service Perth was excellent as well.


Lee

LeeCoffs Harbour

Has its problems

published

Purchased this freestanding smeg 4 years ago and have no complaints about using it for cooking in the oven or using the gas cook stop. What I did not like has been the rust which is slowly appearing on the cook stop. I have always been careful with cleaning and not using anything abrasive. I am not happy about the noise the oven makes when it is switched off which sometimes goes on for an hour. The time display started to disappear as well. I could not recommend this oven to anybody because of these problems

Date PurchasedJan 2015
2 comments
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg
Lee
Lee

Erika

ErikaLindfield

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

A nightmare to clean and oven drips water onto floor via oven door.

published
Date PurchasedJul 2014
3 comments
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg
Erika
Erika

Thankyou Smeg. I have emailed Steve and will wait for his reply.
Much appreciated .

Erika
Erika
Jasmine P

Jasmine PMoorabbin

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Frustrated

published

I have a full gas Smeg and totally regret the decision. The flame continually goes out in the fan assisted oven and I have had so many late dinners, cakes, etc. It's been over 18 months now and I was hoping that it would have sorted itself out by now. Most of the time I remember to check the flame if I've turned it down, but on the odd occasion I've forgotten, I've seriously regretted it.

Date PurchasedNov 2015
2 comments
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Jasmine P
Jasmine P
Jfheard

JfheardMelbourne

Annoying niggles, but cooks fine.

published
Date PurchasedApr 2016
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

KEH

KEHMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Electric oven stopped functioning, expect better durability from top of range product

published

The electric oven of my freestanding Smeg stove, purchased in 2005, cooked beautifully for the first 6 years and I had no complaints and recommded Smeg to many friends. However I am now disappointed in its durability as just over 2 years ago the oven element and fan stopped functioning. These were replaced 2 years ago by a qualified Smeg repairer, but have now gone again completely and I am unable to use it. I expect more from a top of the range product.

1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Sam

Sam

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Happy

published

We have had this freestanding oven for 3 months now and are very happy with its performance, my wife loves it to bake in & the many oven baking options are great, the only niggle is with gas top we would prefer that the large back RS element was in the front of the gas top instead of the back. We had a full gas Electrolux Chef oven b4 & it pales into signifigence compared to the smeg !


Pippa1987

Pippa1987

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good Cooking, Pain to Clean :)

published

Very Happy

published

This is such a huge improvement on my electrolux Chef which I had problems with the glo plug which lights the gas in the oven and was very slow to heat up and then needed to be set at a higher temp to be correct. The Smeg has an electric oven and almost instantly hot, even baking and choice of 3 shelves in 5 positions. Gas top is great it was adjusted by the fitter to a very low flame on minimum and good flame on high. Look online to get a better price then take that price to your local supplier I paid at least $300 less this way.
Quick to preheat, looks great

A pleasure to use.

published

We purchased this stove (electric oven with gas cooktop elements) 6 months ago and we're still very happy with it. This stove is many times better in every regard than our previous Chef stove and I also prefer it to the numerous stoves I've used on holidays and at friend's places. The stove was made in Italy, built sturdily and is well insulated. I can now bake with confidence and am also particularly happy with the range from low to high flame on each of the elements (but this could be in part due to the good job done by the installer). I have a friend whom conducts cooking classes in SE Queensland and hence has used many stoves - she is happy with her Smeg too.
Reliability and quality for the price,

JW

JWSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Trying to work out what to do with this oven!

published
3 comments
Jane Gardner
Jane Gardner

I am having the exact same problem! My oven keeps going out and I need to purchase an oven thermometer so I can watch when this happens. I am very unhappy. Did things improve since JW wrote the last article? Is there a solution for this?

Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
JW
JW

Questions & Answers

Aj bc

Aj bcasked

What type of plug does a Smeg stove comes with? I've a Smeg still in the box and I import from Johannesburg to Nigeria, I just wanted to know so that I can make a plan for sockets, thanks Aj

No answers

Judith

Judithasked

I have only had my Smeg gas top electric oven stove for a a month and the flame diffuser spreaders have discoloured badly and I can't get them clean by the method the instruction book suggests. Any ideas?

2 answers
Jfheard
Jfheard

I am glad to hear it is not just me, but no: I have had the same experience and that stuff just doesnt clean off. Annoying - I am not losing sleep over it but would be keen to know if anyone else has any solutions that work.

Smeg
Smeg

Hi Judith the best way to clean the burner skirts is with Gumption and steel wool, only clean the skirts this way not the cook top.
Regards Chris


Lorie

Lorieasked

Should I hear the sound of gas from behind/outside the oven when it is heating? Haven't noticed this before, but I'm not sure it wasn't doing it. I've had the range for two years.

1 answer
Smeg
Smeg

Hi Lorie it all depends on the way the plumbing has been installed, you can sometimes get a noise in the gas pipes if it is under two years old you can get a warranty call for a technician to look at it, please call Smeg service on 02 8667 4833.
Regards Chris


Get an answer from our members and Smeg representatives

Details

CategoryFreestanding Ovens
Price (RRP) $2,590
Oven FuelElectricity
SizeSingle
Capacity68L
FeaturesCooling Fan
Colour / Finish Stainless Steel
Dimensions 915 x 598 x 598 mm
Cooktop TypeGas
Number of Burners/Zones 4
Wok Burner Yes
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Release dateJul 2012

Visit official website - Download manual
  • MPN: 35902542
  • GTIN13: 8017709158378

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.