??!
8 photos
Smeg TSF02
2.3 from 74 reviews

Reviews

2.3

74 reviews
5
(11)
4
(9)
3
(6)
2
(16)
1
(32)
  • Build Quality
    2.8 (26)
  • Value for Money
    2.1 (26)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (25)
  • Even Toasting Yes (15) · No (14)
Previous
Next
bellysmelly

bellysmellyAU

  • 27 reviews

Perfect for squat loaves

published

Purchased in August 2017 at Myer Online Store for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
GrimReaper555

GrimReaper555South East Queensland, QLD

  • 17 reviews

Perfectly fine toaster does the job

published

The toaster is very basic to use and has a catcher on the bottom for all the crumbs. It’s so cute and adorable I mean it’s pricey but it’s smeg and the quality is great. There are a few functions to toast the bread but I haven’t bothered. The bread doesn’t get stuck in the toaster. Wide angles too so your toast can be long or thick vice versa. I’ve never had mine throw out toast on the floor either.

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Elizabeth

ElizabethSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Best toaster ever

published

Love this toaster. Bought it to replace a breville we’d had for 20 years so we could get a more attractive toaster to match our smeg kettle and one that fit longer pieces of bread.
It toasts evenly. Looks great and it’s Easy to operate. Love it.

Purchased in October 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how Smeg TSF02 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Julianne Collins

Julianne CollinsMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Absolute Rubbish - Not even 1 star

published

Absolute rubbish. On the setting 1.5 our toast is burnt, so we put it on 1 and have to watch it, then pop it ourselves. When the toaster is left to burn our toast on 1.5, it pops up so hard it flys out of the toaster. Out of curiosity we put the setting on 3, the toast was totally black and the smoke alarm went off. Unfortunately you cant return a toaster for burning the toast. What a waste of money. Unfortunately all the reno shows use them so people assume that the Smeg appliances must be good.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Rachel

Rachel

  • 2 reviews

We cant live without this!

published

We use this toaster for sourdough, soy and linseed, crumpets and english muffins!
With the defrost setting our toast comes out amazing! Easy settings to get the right amount of 'golden' on our toast.
We haven't had any piece of bread get stuck or jammed - so awesome!

Purchased in November 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$190.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Lisa

LisaSydney, NSW

Throws the toast out

published

Very pretty toaster but when the toast is done it throws it outside the toaster. I just use normal white bread. It toasts it ok and doesn't get jammed but it's annoying to find your toast on the floor

Purchased in December 2019.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
1 comment
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg
Marie

Marie

  • 3 reviews

Awful toaster

published
Even Toasting No
1 comment
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg
AdamG

AdamGSydney, NSW

A few days in and it is only toasting one side

published

I bought this last week as I loved the retro look that goes well in my period house..unfortunately it toasts unevenly; anything above 2 burns the bread, and the pop is so strong the toast get thrown on to the floor or cupboard - leaving lots of crumbs around the place to attract roaches.. It gets very very hot and is dangerous around children. I paid $200 for this and am bitterly disappointed.

1 comment
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg
Kathy C.

Kathy C.Mid North Coast, NSW

Second replacement , so disappointed

published

I brought both the cream toaster and kettle . They look beautiful on your kitchen bench .
Unfortunately this replacement also has now blew a fuse . Really disheartening as I thought I was paying more for a A+ product

Purchased in June 2019 at David Jones for A$210.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
2 comments
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg
Kathy C.
Kathy C.
Toasters

Find out how Smeg TSF02 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Thatperthgal

ThatperthgalPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Such a letdown

published

I really wanted to love this toaster as it looks classy on the bench but that's about the only pro. Wish I had read the reviews before I purchased as it wasn't a cheap investment. The main issues are, does not toast evenly, the corners always come out burnt. Secondly, the toast shoots out so fast and falls on the bench or floor. Thirdly and most annoying thing about this toaster is every single time it toasts, all the crumbs fall out the bottom of the toaster all over the bench. There is absolutely no containment of toast crumbs. Super disappointed Smeg! Would return if I could.

Purchased in December 2019 at Kitchen Warehouse WA, Cockburn for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg

Disappointed

published

This toaster came with a hefty price tag but sadly didn’t last. Sparks flew out of my toaster after approx 2 years of having it and now the lever no longer stays in place. The toaster was only used a few times a week.
If I had my time again, I would go with a different brand for the kettle and toaster.

Purchased in November 2017 at Myer for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

The element blew

published

After reading the reviews, I thought that won’t happen to me - well guess what the element blew! Only toasts half my bread and then I have to turn. So disappointed.

Purchased at David Jones.

Even Toasting No
1 comment
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg

Looks good but that's about it

published

While the toaster looks great, that's about it's only redeeming quality. The toaster worked for a few months (although the toast did always shoot out of the toaster onto the bench), but then the lever would not stay in the down position for long.
Now it won't stay down at all and I have to manually hold it down if I want to toast anything. Very disappointed as I wanted a SMEG toaster for so long and it has performed so poorly.

2 comments
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Ali
Ali

Smeg were very prompt in sending out a replacement toaster, so I am hoping this one works better. Their customer service was very good.

Kate

Kate

  • 2 reviews

Pretty good toaster

published

I use this toaster for my homemade sourdough, the long slots are perfect for non-standard bread sizes. The toaster works well, even toasting on both sides, though if I cut my bread a little thin or does tend to launch out of the toaster a bit. It's only made it to the bench once so far, but I can see some people wouldn't like that.

The only downside really is that there is no lift function for the finished toast, this hasn't been a problem for me really but if I had crumpets or something smaller I might have to go digging. Or they might fly clean out, perhaps this is a hidden functionality and not a fault!

Purchased in February 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$175.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Paul

PaulSydney, NSW

P00R durability

published

As with other reviews, my toaster is less than 2 years old and is used no more than 4 times in week yet has failed. I was seduced by the look but dumbfounded at it's lack of durability

Purchased in June 2018 at David Jones.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg
Toasters

Find out how Smeg TSF02 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
michelle

michelleSouth West, WA

  • 10 reviews

Quite dissapointed

published

I thought I'd spoil myself with a smeg kettle and toaster. The kettle started leaking water a week past warrently. The toaster hasn't performed any better. It sparked and went boom this morning, tripping all the power. It hadn't ever toasted well being very inconsistent. The knob to adjust cooking time has stuck and is unable to turn. Only owned for 18 months. Definitely not value for money. The worst I've owned and I normally just use $20 ones from Coles or Kmart.

Purchased in June 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Cantwait

CantwaitSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Toast hits the ceiling.

published

Looks absolutely beautiful but it shoots the toast out that fast and high that it practically touches the ceiling, apart from that no other problems. We have the matching kettle no problems with that

Purchased in June 2019 at Joyce Mayne for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg
unhappy

unhappyLaunceston, TAS

Not really one-star rating

published

The second (replacement) from harvey norman in 18 months just died...I had hoped that the high price and reputation of SMEG would ensure some kind of longevity, but no, sadly, this is a very poor product and i won't be coming back...ever!

Purchased in July 1983 for A$139.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Amanda99

Amanda99South East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews

update: set my toast on fire..twice.

published

Purchased at David Jones for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
Cheryl

CherylQueensland

WASTE OF MONEY!!

published

I was brought both the kettle and toaster for my birthday, the toaster is 19 months old, so, no longer under warranty and it keeps tripping the safety switch. It’s only ever been lightly used and to be honest, it’s never been that great, sometimes it burnt the toast, sometimes it would not toast enough even though it was on exactly the same number setting, I’ve owned $30 toasters that have performed much better and lasted longer. After reading the reviews, this seems to be a common fault, if only I researched beforehand, I would have steered well clear from this toaster. It certainly looks the part, but the quality is rubbish!!

Purchased in December 2017 at Myer Retail Stores for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
1 comment
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Anon

Anonasked

TSF02SSAU (Chrome)

Is there a way to adjust the spring on the eject mechanism as it seems all these throw the toast out onto the bench and floor. I have put a rubber band (I had to experiment to find one which worked) around the eject lever and under the timer knob, which works as a temporary fix. It also is very slow, but we can live with that.

1 answer
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Dear Anon, I am the National l Service Manager for Smeg and I would like to assist with this problem, could you please email me direct at steve.cullen@smeg.com.au with your address, telephone contact details and also if you can scan me a photograph of the rating plate from the base of the appliance. Once I have this information I will be in a position to ascertain what to do to fix this problem. Regards, Steve Cullen

Theresa D.

Theresa D.asked

TSF02

Does this come in a long slot version? for toasting flat breads?

1 answer
To The Consumer
To The Consumer

I have the long slot Smeg toaster. I would not recommend it to anyone. The long slot is the unit’s only redeeming feature. It’s a
cheap and nasty product pretending to be executive end, with its high end price. My expectations weren’t high, after all it’s only a toaster, but I feel this piece of junk was a huge disappointment. See what else you can find, Theresa.

Diane m

Diane masked

TSF02BLAU (Black)

My toast literally comes flying out!
Why? Does this happen to anyone else?
Have had toaster since November 18”

1 answer
DamoAU
DamoAU

I’ve not experienced that with either of the Smeg toasters I’ve had

Get an answer from our members and Smeg representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.