??!

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
8
4 star
7
3 star
6
2 star
12
1 star
25

Cantwait

CantwaitSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Toast hits the ceiling.

published

Looks absolutely beautiful but it shoots the toast out that fast and high that it practically touches the ceiling, apart from that no other problems. We have the matching kettle no problems with that

Purchased in June 2019 at Joyce Mayne for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg

unhappy

unhappyLaunceston, TAS

Not really one-star rating

published

The second (replacement) from harvey norman in 18 months just died...I had hoped that the high price and reputation of SMEG would ensure some kind of longevity, but no, sadly, this is a very poor product and i won't be coming back...ever!

Purchased in July 1983 for $139.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Amanda99

Amanda99South East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

update: set my toast on fire..twice.

published

Purchased at David Jones for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting No
See all answers
Cheryl

CherylQueensland

WASTE OF MONEY!!

published

I was brought both the kettle and toaster for my birthday, the toaster is 19 months old, so, no longer under warranty and it keeps tripping the safety switch. It’s only ever been lightly used and to be honest, it’s never been that great, sometimes it burnt the toast, sometimes it would not toast enough even though it was on exactly the same number setting, I’ve owned $30 toasters that have performed much better and lasted longer. After reading the reviews, this seems to be a common fault, if only I researched beforehand, I would have steered well clear from this toaster. It certainly looks the part, but the quality is rubbish!!

Purchased in December 2017 at Myer Retail Stores for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
1 comment
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg

To The Consumer

To The ConsumerSouth Australia

  • 15 reviews
  • 17 likes

Cheap n nasty with a high end price

published

It toasts unevenly thanks to several elements not working from new, and dries the bread out more than it toasts. It noisily ejects with such aggression, the toast becomes a projectile and often hits the floor - creating a mess and a waste. The browning control is temperamental; the same setting is ok one day, overdone the next. Unlike our previous (much cheaper) toaster, the Smeg is absolutely useless for cooking crumpets. It’s only redeeming feature is the long slots. We got it via a rewards program. I’m glad we didn’t pay directly for it, or we would’ve felt very ripped off by such a poor performing product. We will not have another Smeg!

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting No
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg

Amy P.

Amy P.Tasmania

  • 4 reviews

Toasts well but enamel is rubbish.

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Harvey Norman for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting No
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg

Please Do not buy

published

Bought my smeg toaster in December from Myer. Been working perfectly fine and makes perfect toast when it's actually working. Today, when I wanted toast real bad, the toaster would not work. It's less than a year old. I m lost for words, lasted less than 9mnths. For its price u would think it will last a life time.

Purchased in January 2019 at Myer for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
4 comments
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg

Thanks. Email sent.

Thanks Smeg Australia, enjoying toast again.


Bradley J.

Bradley J.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Same issue with now two toasters.

published

Purchased in June 2016 at Harvey Norman for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting No
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg
never again

never again

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Second one I’ve thrown out

published

This is the second Smeg toaster I’ve had in under three years . The first one lasted less than a year and the second one I’ve just thrown out after less than two years . Smeg replaced the first and I recently emailed them , no reply , to let them know the same thing, tripping the safety switch, happened to the second one . We also have a Smeg kettle which is now starting to leak under the water level window , again we’ve had it under three years. As I said to Smeg Australia, I wonder if this would be happening if they were still Made in Italy. Smeg used to have a really good name and now you get inferior quality for the same high price. Simply replacing appliances just causes toxic landfill . They should be made to last at least 5 years .

Purchased in November 2016.

Even Toasting No
3 comments
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
never again
never again

Hi Steve , Ive thrown them out . Have already got a new toaster . What can be done with the kettle ? Can you also tell me why no-one replied to my letter to Smeg ?

Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Dear Never Never, Can you please scan me a copy of the letter on the above email address, I will then be able to look into this matter,regards Steve.

Lisa

LisaPenrith

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Faulty design

published

I had a faulty toaster replaced as after 6 months it started only toasting one side. 4 months later the replacement one did exactly the same thing. Harvey Norman were happy to let me get a different brand as I wasn’t interested in another Smeg as it seems to be a manufacturing flaw. It’s a pity because I think it’s the best looking toaster out there.

Purchased in May 2018 at Harvey Norman for $169.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting No

carlie f.

carlie f.Perth, WA

Sends toast flying

published

I agree my $400 toaster kettle smeg set does send toast muffins crumpets flying across the room all the time. My kettle lid sticks too. Ive had quite a few 5 second rules before school drop off. I expect more from such expensive appliances

Purchased in January 2019 at Myer for $425.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting No
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Zars Dale

Zars DaleMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 16 reviews

Smeg not worth the money

published

This toaster sends the toast/muffins flying out onto the floor. Doesn't matter if I put in 2 or 3. Bought the kettle also and only had it 7 months and the lid is sticking when trying to open. To have spent $400 on both I would have been better to have gone to KMART and spent $60. Not happy!

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting No
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg

KylieR

KylieR

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The dream toaster!

published

Dream toaster! Beautiful colour (which lasts, unlike the kettle), and I especially love the removable tray for crumbs. Perfect for any retro kitchen - an absolute must have! 10/10, five stars!

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers

Gardid48

Gardid48Mid North Coast, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Nice looking retro toaster

published

Worked well for 6months now exchanged loses silicone feet too easily and started cooking toast across only half the bread replacement had 2 pads missing but pack of 4 in the ops manual

Purchased in September 2018 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store for $159.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers

Besides the look, not worth the money

published

Bought in 2017 the lift does not block when pushed down. Also the element on one side doesn’t work either.
You would think that a 300$ toaster would last a little longer!

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
2 comments
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg
Marlene L.
Marlene L.
DamoAU

DamoAUGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 15 reviews
  • 1 like

Toaster tripped my switchboard but Smeg replaces it

published

Bought this toaster just over a year ago from
DJs. I normally keep all receipts but couldn’t find one for the toaster. It worked beautifully for over a year. It then started tripping my safety switch on the house switchboard. I tried the toaster in different plug sockets and determined it was definitely the toaster. I contacted Smeg and to my total disbelief they replaced it no questions asked. I sent them the serial number and the replacement toaster arrived in about 7 days! Well done Smeg! That’s customer service! I have the kettle, mixer and the blender and the products are amazing.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Caught on fire!

published

This toaster was purchased less than a year ago, and from day one has always had issues. Firstly, it only toasts ONE side of the bread; meaning I have to manually flip it so it will toast evenly. That is not okay for such an expensive toaster. The final straw was today when I noticed something smelled like smoke/electrical fire in the kitchen.. I run to the kitchen to find that the toaster was smoking and it looked as though the coil inside had caught flame. I quickly unplugged it and will definitely not be turning it back on. This is a fire hazard and could have easily caused a house fire. I have attached a photo to show you the damage it has caused to the outside. CAUTION TO ALL! Emailed them but have yet to hear a response...

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Dear Tay, I am the National Service Manager for Smeg in Australia so I have pass your email onto the correct people at Smeg in the USA. Regards Steve Cullen


Allie

AllieOxford

Waste of money

published

I brought this toaster along with my kettle in May 2018, just after 3 months the toaster middle element has gone.We continued turning toast over to fully cook.
I ordered online through a company and when i approached the company my purchase had fallen past the 3 month time limit for me to get any help from Paypal and company wouldn't return my emails (not SMEGs fault i know).
This toaster was nearly £150. Not happy, this morning after taking 10 mins today to make some toast i've decided to research buying a new element(again no idea why i didn't think of this before) but i can't find the spare part anywhere-surly for this price im not expected to throw away this very expensive piece of kitchen eye candy-which is all its useful for now...

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg

Neil

NeilChristchurch

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Good Large Toaster

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018

Almost burnt house down

published

At first I was very happy with my toaster. Looked beautiful & worked well. However about 6 months into using it caught fire. I had my back turned & could smell burning & turned & it was on fire. It frightened me so much. I'm very fussy with my toasters & it was always kept clean. I would dearly love another tho not sure if I could trust another SMEG

Date PurchasedSep 2017
2 comments
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg
KateB
KateB

Thank you very much. All sorted & very happy with SMEG backup


Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Theresa D.

Theresa D.asked

Does this come in a long slot version? for toasting flat breads?

1 answer
To The Consumer
To The Consumer

I have the long slot Smeg toaster. I would not recommend it to anyone. The long slot is the unit’s only redeeming feature. It’s a
cheap and nasty product pretending to be executive end, with its high end price. My expectations weren’t high, after all it’s only a toaster, but I feel this piece of junk was a huge disappointment. See what else you can find, Theresa.


Diane m

Diane masked

My toast literally comes flying out!
Why? Does this happen to anyone else?
Have had toaster since November 18”

1 answer
DamoAU
DamoAU

I’ve not experienced that with either of the Smeg toasters I’ve had


Barney

Barneyasked

Was wanting to purchase a four slice toaster and a kettle from Smeg - because the reviews are mainly so poor ( fridges are terrible reviews too) I’m Looking elsewhere - can anyone recommend a good toaster?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Smeg representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.