??!
2 photos
Solo Backpack Sprayer

Solo Backpack Sprayer

SU425D, SU475, SU425
2.9 from 16 reviews

Reviews

2.9

16 reviews
5
(5)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(5)
Previous
Next
TC55

TC55Riverina

  • 25 reviews
  • 1 like

Good product gone to rubbish

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$118.00.

Jubusmaximus

JubusmaximusSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Excellent - has changed my attitude to spraying

published

Comfortable backpack - well balance and easy to pump. The spray head is great and covers a big swathe. I can now weed spray our 250 metre long gravel driveway with ease. Very simple straightforward design - easy to fill - simple filter, stands up by itself when filling tank. Can't fault it for the price.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Bill

BillLaunceston

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Cheap. Had no problems with it.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Garden Tools

Find out how Solo Backpack Sprayer compares to other Garden Tools

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
beej

beejBroome

Base of tank join.

published

Have a carpet cleaning business and have used these sprayers for a couple of years. just recently have had 3 split on the bottom along the join, the last one lasted two weeks before coming apart. now they won't replace under warranty. It's only a mild detergent for pre spraying.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Peter

PeterSydney

Good unit works as intended. I am happy but.......

published

I have used my 475 on a farm with a range of chemicals. If Solo spends another $1-00 during manufacturing, I would have given it an excellent rating.

As someone else mentioned, I have also had the plastic hose clamp work loose causing the hose to come off. If this was a metal clamp I doubt it would happen, but if a metal one was used and over tightened it could cause the tank fitting to fail.

The second issue is the hose needs to be about 30cm longer.

I would buy another one tomorrow and modify it with my lessons learnt.

Date PurchasedJan 2000
authenticity

authenticityMelbourne

4 No BS Reviews!

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Jennifer Meyers

Jennifer Meyers

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

mixed feelings

published

I like the concept of having a backpack but I don't like the plastic type of spray nozzles... I will try to buy a brass one. I don't like the clip on the bottom of the strap that clips onto the bar. This often comes off. Why isn't it fixed and user can adjust the length. I like the 15 litre capacity.

Date PurchasedApr 2015
Corby

CorbyNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

I would not buy another one.

published

1. The wand is short and not adjustable so if you are tall it will make your back ache.
2. The handpiece failed after about 6 months.
3. After about 2 years of casual use the pump failed so I went to order the parts to repair it and thought I would also order a longer wand. Turns out he parts are very expensive and I was better off buying a different brand unit which is much more comfortable. So the Solo is in the landfill.....

Date PurchasedNov 2014

A great tool - could only be replaced by another Solo!

published

My old Solo sprayer died this morning when the frame broke up underneath the tank. I am a viticulturist and I checked the purchase date: It was in 1981! Sounds fair: 34 years. This is one of two Solo knapsack sprayers I have been using, along with a Solo airblast sprayer, which is 15 years old and starts first pull - still!

Garden Tools

Find out how Solo Backpack Sprayer compares to other Garden Tools

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Only had the thing 8 years!

published

I can't believe all the negativity. I work with mine day in and day out. My best purchase ever, never lets me down. Like all bits of kit, it needs parts replacing. That is a given! I love my knapsack sprayer, wish my mowers would last as long. I'm a professional gardener. Have been doing this for 15 years. I know what I'm talking about!

waste of money

published

Within the first 2 weeks the unit failed to pump and hold pressure. The metal (spring looking) o ring in the piston assembly failed and after going to the online instruction manual I have to purchase another one. In addition the Viton collar on the piston is warped. When I tried to disassemble according to instructions another o ring needs replacing and I was unable to remove the pump assembly as advised. The manual also advises to grease the piston. The piston was bone dry after approx. 2 hours of operation from new so it obviously had none on it from the factory.
Better off buying cheap one till it wears out and keep doing that....

jezzoom

jezzoom

  • 5 reviews
  • 11 likes

475 Excellent

published

I have worked in natural resource management for many years and have used various knapsacks including Birchmeier, Chapin, Kinchrome etc. In my opinion, Solo 475 is by far the most reliable and comfortable knapsack sprayer. We have multiple units at our workplace and they continue to perform well after 100's of hours use, with very little maintenance other than cleaning the filter in tip. Have replaced a broken handle, that's about it. Cheap knapsacks aren't worthwhile, you'll end up covered in herbicide and the unit will be in the bin before too long. I haven't used the Solo domestic units (425D), so can't comment on their quality.

brisdan

brisdanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Not very good

published
rekrab

rekrabAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Unhappy

published

I haven't used it much as first of all I found it hard to fit in the car as the handle only sat horizontally, not vertically. I then got on-site storage, and the second time I used it, I felt it dripping down the back of my legs before I put any pressure in it. So I went back to my old $30 backpack spray which I had had for 4 or 5 years.
Nothing much
Expensive, leaked on second use, handle position.

2 comments
carmoda
carmoda

Did you clean it out with water after use? Most liquid concentrates you are likely to spray are destructive to spray packs.

rekrab
rekrab

After investigation, it was found that excess plastic in the lid screww was allowing it to leak. The excess was trimmed off and it is working properly now.

gardener george

gardener georgeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 67 reviews

good quality commercial backpack 475

published

used the backpack a couple of times a week for the past 2 1/2 years, as an gardening contractor, and have had no trouble, previously had much cheaper hills backpack sprayer, that only lasted a year,
mine was the diaphragm solo 475 model, which i was recommended by the dealer !! I was given an old battered piston model by a gardening contractor friend, and found that to be reliable too,
very reliable, quite comfortable, alters for left or right hand
mine was quite expensive,

3 comments
sugardog
sugardog

Mine is 9 months old and the Viton seal is loose and will not stay with the piston, not the quality I expected gin gin qld

carmoda
carmoda

What model?

gardener george
gardener george

mine is still in good condition, i have roundup in all the time, mine is the diaphragm solo 475 model,

Garden Tools

Find out how Solo Backpack Sprayer compares to other Garden Tools

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
DVM

DVM

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very poorly made

published
3 comments
rekrab
rekrab

My package says "Made in USA".

rekrab
rekrab

Which in my opinion means - Chinese quality (or less) - US price

carmoda
carmoda

Mine is 7 years old and still works OK. Says it is Made in Germany. 475 or equivalent older model. If your statement is correct you can get a refund or replacement under consumer law.

Questions & Answers

ashlie s.

ashlie s.asked

Solo Backpack Sprayer

Anyone else had trouble with wand leaking between spray zones? Distributor told me they are known for this and I would have to buy another part to try and fix this.

3 answers
Jubusmaximus
Jubusmaximus

Sorry I haven't had any problems at all with the pack or the wand. We've been using it regularly for over 2 years and haven't even had to clear the spray head. Why don't you contact Solo directly? They have a reputation to protect and might help you out. Good luck.

TC55
TC55

I'm not sure what you mean by leaking between 'spray zones' if you mean you take pressure off the trigger mechanism and it continues to spray (albeit lightly). Instead of just releasing the trigger by reducing pressure on it softly, let it flick back to the off position by force from the spring. My (only functioning Solo) partly shuts off sometimes and this fixes the problem. After doing this a few times it normally self corrects. If you mean the different 'zones' of the wand and the joiners leaking they only use 'o' rings and it's easily rectified with a new one which are available in numerous locations. Good luck contacting 'Solo' their product has gone to rubbish.

ashlie s.
ashlie s.

Yeah, I meant leaking after trigger release.

Sean Robyn G.

Sean Robyn G.asked

Solo Backpack Sprayer

what is the difference between the 425D and the 425LC?

1 answer
TC55
TC55

D = domestic & C = commercial. And about $80 from memory. Commercial used to have a red coloured lid and the domestic a blue one, but I think they all have same colour now.

Sean Robyn G.

Sean Robyn G.asked

Solo Backpack Sprayer

What is the difference between the 425D and the 425LC?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.