??!
1 photo
Sony WH-1000XM2

Sony WH-1000XM2

4.7 from 48 reviews

See the Best Wireless Headphones in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
37
4 star
10
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1

Raram

Raram

  • 5 reviews

Quality purchase

published

Amazing headphones truly worth the buy. Not only is the sound quality amazing (I listen to virtually every genre imaginable) but the noise cancelling is unparalleled (at least when I bought it; the updated version is probably better!) Regularly fly by airplane and this works a charm

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers

Ben

BenSouth East Queensland, QLD

Broken after 18 months

published

Owned these for 18 months when the frame snapped above the earpiece while I was taking them off my head. Sony won't repair or replace. In hindsight, Should have purchased Bose

Purchased in January 2018 for $480.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers
KATHY

KATHY

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Quality is amazing.

published

the quality of this headphone is amazing. however, after I brought this headphone, a hal- year later, whxm3 it is release. not as comfortable as Bose. but the sound quality and other aspect are good. Last but not least, the touchpad on the right side is too sensitive. I don't like that functionality.

Purchased in March 2018 at Sony Physical store for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Hans

HansGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Best purchase ever.

published

Purchased in March 2018 for $330.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
See all answers

Puddy

PuddySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Brilliant noise cancelling, crisp sound, lightweight

published

Purchased in November 2018 for $304.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
See all answers

irritated36

irritated36melbourne

  • 19 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great controls, great noise cancellation, comfortable for long hours great battery life, GREAT SOUND

published

Actually the best bluetooth headphones hands down. Noise cancellation may not be as good as the Bose QC35 but is pretty much there. Where it beats Bose is the ease of use, battery life and sound quality. I could wear these all day long & not feel like I'm getting a headache.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

kakarot

kakarotMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Best headphones I've used

published

Bought this last year in March.
At that time I'd never spent so much on headphones but honestly it's changed how I want experience audio.
The noise cancellation is great and there are so many features on these headphones. I use these when I'm studying especially in noisy environments.

These work great for plane flights as it greatly reduces the noise heard from the plane which helped me a lot to sleep. I recently came back from a 16hr flight and these were excellent.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

theonlyKaleeb

theonlyKaleebToowoomba

  • Verified purchase

I've never heard music this way before!

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Seth

Seth

  • 3 reviews

ideal headphones for commuting

published

Bought these headphones earlier this year. I'm now using them about 2-3 hours a day on public transport and when I am studying for uni. They are awesome for watching lectures, as well as blocking out general chatter/transport noise. Really like ambient sound function as well as touch controls. Only downside is that they look a bit bulky, but with their comfort, I don't really mind what they look like

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Milla

MillaBeverly Hills

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

The best wireless headphone

published

I tried on both 1000XM2 and Bose QC 35 and honestly think that both are great headphones. Sony 1000XM2 has more features and longer battery life so I am very content with my purchase.
The touchpad is not a new feature but it is worth mentioning since Bose does not have this feature. Swipe up or down to control the volume. Swipe right or left to change the music. It is very intuitive and easy. You can even press long to activate Siri. Double tap to stop music or take a phone call.
Also, you can cup the right ear and disable the noise canceling and listen to others.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Mike

MikeNORTHLAND CENTRE

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Quality Bluetooth Headphones

published

I purchased these headphones for my husband as a Father's Day gift and he absolutely loves them! Not having to worry about a cord when he's wearing these working in the yard is great, and the noise-cancelling feature is a must when he's on his tractor or using other loud equipment. The sound quality is also quite exceptional. Overall, while not an inexpensive purchase these are well worth the cost and I think I may have to buy some for myself.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

TonyL

TonyLCOFFS HARBOUR

  • 14 reviews
  • 12 likes

Buy the Best

published

Sony's Noise Cancelling Headphones solved the boring long travel stints when flying Internationally.
They take all extraneous noise so what you get is clear pure audio from the planes onboard entertainment or your own movies or music.
She. Compare these with other major named brands and you will hear the difference in clarity.
Shop around as the new model has been released.
Look for the easy no knobs adjustable volume and tracking.
Also the comfort is superb.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

janine

janineSydney

  • 4 reviews

Amazing sound

published

This is my first wireless headphones, I must say that I cannot connect it to half of my devices. I do not know what the problem is and it is very frustrating. The devices that I managed to connect work really well and the sound is amazing, they also block lots of noise and have no interference.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Dan

DanBrisbane

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Amazing pair of kit

published

I had recently decided my Beats Studio had to go. I work in Software in a very noisy environment and wanted something that had great noise cancelling and great sound to compliment that.

These headphones will not disappoint, everything about them has been great, comfort, sound, noise cancelling, build quality, battery life. I don't have a single complaint, I would and have recommended these to anyone.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Mel

Mel

  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes
  • Verified purchase

Love my new headphones

published

Pros:
- great sound, and can be personalized with their app
- super lightweight - moreso than the Bose ones in the similar price category
- fun controls
- minimalist look

Cons
- Bluetooth cuts out sometimes. I’ve noticed this has stopped since i keep my phone on my left side when walking, closer to the Bluetooth receiver on the headphones

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Laila

LailaSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect headphones and a reliable brand!

published

This is my second purchase of Sony Headphones and second time very happy customer. I decided to write a review. They combine great sound quality and really good noise cancelling features and a fast charge! Could not wish for anything different! I would recommend them, they are worth all the money that they cost!

Date PurchasedMay 2018

tim_patt

tim_pattLangwarrin

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great Headphones + Research = Happy Customer, win win

published

This is my first pair of noise cancelling headphones. I must say i conducted about 10+ hoursa of research, including reviews here, as well as numerous youtube reviews etc. Hey if im going to spend $400+ on a pair of headphones i want to ensure im doing my research.

1. Very comfortable to wear. (though not as soft or comfortable as the Bose Q35II)
2. The noise cancelling is amazing and frustrates my work collegues.
3. They connect seemlessly to all my devices.
4. I am excited to use them for upcoming flights.
5. The bass is amazing.
6. Biggest win for me was the fact that you could set your own equlization.
7. Battery life is great as well.

I would highly reccomend these.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Alan

Alan

  • 2 reviews

Great sound

published

Arrived in solid packaging. Easy to follow user guide. Easy setup. took 4 hours to completely charge the battery before it could be used. Then great noise cancelling combined with excellent audio. Solid construction and stylish design. Would recommend to anyone who travels in noisy areas like planes or trains.Great piece of workmanship. Well done.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Ash

AshSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Best Noise cancelling Headphones

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Lit Homie

Lit Homie

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excited but disappointed

published

Bought it from good guys when they had a 10% whole store discount was very excited, but these headphones do not make the environment completely silent on the bus also you can hear the bumps which gets mildly frustrating and if it randomly switches to ambient sound then you will be in for a shock (you can disable its auto adjust to environment) has really cool features had lots of fun messing around with them.

Sticking to my anc earphones tho not sure why but they are definitely better than these headphones and less bogus. These are great headphones i presume for working in offices or on planes, but they are definitely not the best for everyday users or audioheads.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Jamez

Jamezasked

Hi people who have WH-1000XM2 owners,
Do these headphones have a display (or a way of telling) what the battery level is at?
Thank you in advance.

1 answer
Jamez
Jamez

I will answer my own question (i brought a pair), the battery display is shown on the Sony app.
*Review of headphones to come.


Get an answer from our members and Sony representatives

Details

CategoryWireless Headphones
Price (RRP) $499.95
TypeOver-Ear
FeaturesNoise Cancelling
Colour / Finish Black
Frequency Response4 Hz - 40 kHz
Weight870 g
Battery TypeInternal
Battery Life30 hours
Connections3.5mm Jack and Bluetooth
Charging Time4 hours
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Replaced bySony WH-1000XM3

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.