??!
10 photos
Sony WH-1000XM3
4.4 from 69 reviews

See the Best Wireless Headphones in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
43
4 star
17
3 star
6
2 star
0
1 star
3

hello_world

hello_worldVictoria

  • 4 reviews

Amazing product

published

These headphones have amazing build quality. I wear them while on public transport or while walking. The sound quality is top notch with nice heavy bass (which you can modify using the app).

These have the standard bluetooth 'issues' where it can only be connected to one device at a time however if you manually try to connect to the headphones, it's easy to swap them around.

Purchased in October 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Hari

Hari

  • 4 reviews

Great NC headphones

published

my first premium headphone. I was a bit apprehensive to spend so much on a headphone but now I am glad I did. The noise cancellation is pretty awesome and there is nothing to complain about the sound quality. I like my songs with extra bass and the headphone delivers on it. The build is pretty solid and feels premium.

But a couple of pet peeves...
1. Ears get warm with prolonged use
2. The voice guidance completely mutes the audio which can be very annoying when you are on a call and the headphone changes profile.

Purchased in May 2019 at Sony Physical store for $349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers
Tyson

TysonSydney, NSW

Poor manufacturing quality, they will only last 3 months and customer service is non existent

published

I would not ever recommend these to anyone, they are cheaply made with cheap pieces of plastic joining the band to the cups. I have seen all over the internet of this manufacturing defect, and they basically offered me to buy a new set for $320, invest your money in Bose its a lot safer.

Purchased in September 2018 at Addicted to Audio Online store for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Vishal G.

Vishal G.

  • 5 reviews

Great

published

Suits everyone no matter what you wanna do. Love the touch functionality to change songs, update volume. And noise cancelling is just awesome. Cannot here anything from outside and just into my music.

Purchased at Sony Online store for $395.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


xwon1

xwon1Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Great noise cancelling wireless headphone!

published

Can't complain about this headphone. I use it at home when I'm relaxing and listening to my favorite songs. The noise cancelling feature is great. It completely blocks out other noise. The wireless range is pretty good and quick to charge. It's very comfy as well!

Purchased in September 2019 at VideoPro for $396.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers

David T

David TMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews

Great noise cancelling, only problem is...

published

Great pair of headphones with amazing sound, deep bass and world class noise cancelling. Top in class headphone. Few issues... Firstly it doesn't have capability to pair with 2 devices simultaneously which is a slight hassle when switching between devices. Secondly, I personally feel it gets quite warm after 45 mins of continuous use, depending on how sensitive you are to heat - may or may not be a deal breaker. Overall the best noise cancelling headphones in the market now hands down.

Purchased at eBay for $330.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Tim W.

Tim W.Perth, WA

  • 8 reviews

Great sound and very comfortable

published

Noise cancellation is great, even if you are not listening to music etc.
The only downsides is the headphones don't save your EQ settings from the app and you can only have 1 device paired to them over bluetooth, so it is a bit of a pain switching between PC and phone.

Purchased in May 2019 at Myer for $395.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers

Roger

RogerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Great sound quality. But a bit too heavy for me.

published

Great sound. Great Bluetooth connection. No issue with the product. I'm just not very used to wear a relative heavy headset for a long time. I prefer the in-ear ones. Just personal choice.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers
dubbleduk

dubbledukMurray Mallee, SA

Brilliant set of headphones absolutely magnificent

published

I listen to all audible books music and conversations on the ABC I really like the fact that I could move away from the device and still my headphones will work all around the house

Purchased in September 2019 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers
Michael B.

Michael B.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Excellent Noise Cancellation

published

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers

Jose

JoseNew South Wales

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Premium Sound and ANC

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Allphones .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers

dom

domGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Work, Play, Walk - Anywhere headphones

published

Purchased in August 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers

Hopeyoufixit

HopeyoufixitGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Best NC headphones I’ve owned

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers

NNN8487

NNN8487Sydney, NSW

  • 30 reviews
  • 33 likes

#1 Noise Cancellation Headphones

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Addicted to Audio Online store for $316.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers
Kevin

KevinSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Best noise cancelling headphones on the market

published

Had the Bose QC-35 II before getting this and always had sizing troubles as it was too tight and hurt after extended use. Was not the same with the WH1000XM3 as it is much more comfortable to use. Noise cancelling is by far the best on the market. Only thing missing is aptX and LDAC support.

Purchased in October 2018 at Addicted to Audio Online store for $349.95.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers
MDM

MDMVictoria

  • 2 reviews

Great headphones with heaps of awesome features

published

Purchased in May 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $395.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers

anna

annaSydney, NSW

  • Verified purchase

I love my Sony m3. I use this everyday.

published

I requested for a wireless headphones to my husband when he was overseas but I was so pleased with what he got the latest Sony M3. Loved it. Can’t fault so far. I use it at home a lot and when I go to my local gym.

Purchased in January 2019 at F1RST Tax & Duty Free for $367.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers

Jessica

JessicaPeel, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing! Wish I bought them sooner

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Addicted to Audio Online store for $397.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers

Tea

TeaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Love Them!

published

I was looking for a new set of headphones after I was tired of my Sennheiser cables always failing over time.

I tried it in store before buying, and loved the touch sensor for the music controls. It's definitely not necessary but a fun little feature.

I would say the sound quality is maybe a tiny step down from my previous pair, but it's not really noticeable. Perhaps I was expecting a little more for the price. I'd recommend if possible giving them a go with your own music before purchasing.

And boy does this thing know how to noise-cancel! I love it. They're getting pretty popular, so if you take public transport be prepared for some little nods here or there.

Purchased in March 2019 for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers

Guitary

GuitaryGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 11 likes

Great headphones, excellent noise cancelling

published

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
See all answers

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Mary

Maryasked

After owning them for 2 days, I tried mine for the first time on a plane. I am getting static as the plane takes off, very annoying. Landing is OK. Should I take them back or is this normal? Thanks everyone, Mary.

No answers

Jess

Jessasked

WH1000XM3B (Black)

can they connect to smart tv ?

1 answer
Ray40
Ray40

Yes indeed! Either through the TV or sound bar with B/T enabled.


Get an answer from our members and Sony representatives

Details

Sony WH1000XM3B (Black)

Sony WH1000XM3B (Black)

55 reviews
Sony WH1000XM3S (White)

Sony WH1000XM3S (White)

10 reviews
CategoryWireless HeadphonesWireless Headphones
Price (RRP) $549.95$549.95
TypeOver-EarOver-Ear
FeaturesMicrophone Included and Noise CancellingMicrophone Included and Noise Cancelling
Colour / Finish BlackWhite
Frequency Response4 Hz-40 kHz4 Hz-40 kHz
Weight255 g255 g
Battery TypeInternalInternal
Battery Life30 hours30 hours
Connections3.5mm Jack and Bluetooth3.5mm Jack and Bluetooth
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.