??!
10 photos
Sony WH-1000XM3
4.3 from 114 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.6 (92)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (93)
  • Sound Quality
    4.8 (92)
  • Bass
    4.6 (88)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (91)
  • Battery Life
    4.8 (92)
  • Bluetooth
    4.3 (91)
  • Noise Cancellation
    4.8 (81)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
audio eater

audio eaterGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Sony does it again

published

Sooooo comfy! The sound quality of these headphones is the best I could have hoped for, if not better. The noise cancelling is amazing, the best I have ever used. Because of the 30 hour battery life these headphones have, they are very good for city travel ie train or bus, can be used for Bluetooth or as active headphones since they come with an aux cord. Probably best not to use them for any outdoor activities since they could fall off your head (this has happened to me, luckily I caught them). Overall these headphones are fantastic for the money they cost nowadays, but with the new WH1000XM4 coming out, you may want to save up to get those since they are the better version of these headphones.

Purchased in December 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
battunga

battungaFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Amazing noise cancelling

published

These headphones have the best noise cancelling, and are very comfortable. The only negative for me was that the sound is bass heavy, even when I adjusted the settings in the app to the brightest setting. I prefer the more neutral sound of the Bose.

Purchased in October 2019 at Sony Online store for A$320.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Richard W

Richard WSouth East Queensland, QLD

Fantastic product

published

I use these when travelling and actually find them useful in the recording studio as passive monitors. They have a rounded sound and are comfortable to wear, although I would not recommend them for use when running. The sound quality when used with iPhone or iPad via Bluetooth is detailed and pleasing. When used with a DAC such as a Soundkey or a Dragonfly, the sound becomes expansive and engaging. Altogether, they are absolutely worth the money.

Purchased in October 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$395.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Sony WH-1000XM3 compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sepi

SepiGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 17 reviews
  • 4 likes

Perfect

published

Its a great headphone , the sound quality is perfect , the noise cancelling is the best and its very east to use while Running or cycling. It fits perfectly and is very comfortable to use. I use it every day for my work and while exercising.

Purchased in June 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$486.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
RTF

RTFGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

My best friend

published

Exceptional! Best noise cancelling to date. The sound is crisp with enough base. The app is just brilliant and easy to navigate. Google assistant is great and voice assistant is clear.

Purchased in October 2019 for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Ingrid D

Ingrid DGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

My walking pal

published

In order to ramp up my walking, I used headphones in listening to self-help training materials. Easy to use convenient volume and forward/backward adjustments. Light, elegant and handy! Perfect sound!

Purchased in January 2020 at Costco VIC, Epping.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Nova

NovaBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Does the job

published

Bought to accommodate my Lyric in the ear hearing aids for listening to Spotify and video messages/YouTube. Very comfortable if a bit heavy. Excellent sound using adjustments. Easily transported in the robust case. Great battery life. I’ve found the over the head support gets hot after prolonged use.

Purchased in December 2019 at JB Hi-Fi.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
bobster

bobster

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

Noise cancelling very disappointing

published

I received these for Father’s Day last year. I had not having had any experience with noise cancelling headphones so when I could still hear people talking when they were on, I thought it was normal but was a little disappointed. My wife recently bought some (cheaper) Sony headphones and they are amazingly good at noise cancelling.
As excellent noise cancelling was the main feature I wanted in these headphones, I am naturally disappointed and it is now far too late to take them back. Of course I have tried all the settings and have loaded the latest software but all to no avail.

Incentivised ReviewNo
M M.

M M.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Is it worth it?

published

Purchased in August 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for A$345.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Sony WH-1000XM3 compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Noel K.

Noel K.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Good quality

published

I had to replace my Dr Dre headphones since it was so old. These headphones have great sound quality! Much better than the Apple ones I used to own and much more comfortable to wear too.

Purchased in February 2020 at Sony Online store for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Karen R

Karen RAU

  • 4 reviews

Terrible

published

Shuts off every 5 minutes. Unusable and extremely slow product support. At this stage they are just ignoring my emails. Basically unusable as I'm not interested in turning them on every 5 mins.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
craig

craigWestern Australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

CRACKLING IN LEFT EAR

published

i bought these 3 months ago and they are really good but im getting a static crackling in left headphone and it stops when noise cancelling is turned off now i will be taking them back as there is no point owning a pair if i cant use the NC..... UPDATE i tryed to return them to HARVEY NORMAN and i got the we need to test them before we send to sony who will test them if theres a problem you get a store credit NOT A NEW PAIR

Purchased in May 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Steve

SteveSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great headphones

published

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Julie

Julie

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

OK if you only want to use it wirelessly.

published

The sound quality, noise cancelling and comfort are all great. I find the charging cord and the audio cord (for times when you want to be plugged in) frustratingly short. Seriously...no one wants to sit that close to their device or computer. And when you need to charge it, the charging point needs to be <10cm from a surface that the headphones can sit on because the cord is so short. Whilst not not a tech issue with the device it is annoying enough that I won't purchase again.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Glen O.

Glen O.

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Sony WH1000XM3B (Black) vs Bose QuietComfort 35

published

Previously using the Bose QuietComfort 35 (now with my teenage daughter) and the ANC is comparable to the QC35 (the QC 35 is slightly better with no ambient sound playing). Features are great and I bought 2 (one for me and one for the wifey). Very comfortable around the ears and build is solid. Overall, happy with the purchase.

Purchased in January 2020 at Sony Online store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Sony WH-1000XM3 compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stacie C.

Stacie C.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Bloody Awesome sound!!!!

published

Great, real, solid base with the right amount of percussion, totally immersive and noice cancelling. Best purchase, seriously impressed with the immersive sound into the music and noise cancelling and ease of managing interruptions (phonically) Best purchase in a long time :)

Purchased in June 2020 at Harvey Norman Online for A$380.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Joffalab

JoffalabGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Better the Bose

published

Have had several pairs of the Bose qc35’s. also awesome. However the soundstage of the Sony’s feels more immersive and the noise cancelling even better. There is also some clever buttonless tech with the Sony’s. I’m surprised ... and delighted. You can’t go wrong with the qc35sbut if you want to hear/see what (slightly) better is like .... try these

Purchased in May 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$485.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Angelica C.

Angelica C.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Fantastic noise cancelling headphone.

published

I listen to music and audiobooks with this headphone. Due to the size of this headphone, it is not quite suitable for intense activities. But it has the best noise-cancelling function. Good sound volume. I love the blue tooth function.

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Christy

ChristySydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Best Noise Cancelling Headphones I have ever had! Good for glasses too!

published

Purchased in March 2020 at eBay for A$317.50.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Mika N.

Mika N.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews

Amazing headphones!

published

My partner bought these headphones to listen to music with hearing aids in. Fantastic sound quality couldn't believe how noise cancelling. Very comfortable, amazing quality, use them daily and would never go back.
Great connectivity and amazing options touch options.

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys for A$395.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Battery Life
Bluetooth
Noise Cancellation
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Paul

Paulasked

WH1000XM3B (Black)

If two people want to watch the same TV program, can one person use the headphones while another can listen to the external volume of the TV at the same time?

No answers
Pranav Y.

Pranav Y.asked

WH-1000XM3

is the call quality any good?

1 answer
Meli
Meli

I personally think the call quality is great. I use my headphones a lot for work and take heaps of calls a day and I’ve had absolutely no issues at all

Mary

Maryasked

WH-1000XM3

After owning them for 2 days, I tried mine for the first time on a plane. I am getting static as the plane takes off, very annoying. Landing is OK. Should I take them back or is this normal? Thanks everyone, Mary.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 2 Sony WH-1000XM3
CategoryWireless HeadphonesWireless Headphones
Price (RRP) A$399.00A$399.00
TypeOver-EarOver-Ear
FeaturesMicrophone Included and Noise CancellingMicrophone Included and Noise Cancelling
Colour / FinishBlackSilver
Frequency Response4 Hz - 40 kHz4 Hz - 40 kHz
Weight255 g255 g
Battery Life30 hours30 hours
Connections3.5mm Jack and Bluetooth3.5mm Jack and Bluetooth
Charging Time3 hours3 hours
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)
Replaced bySony WH-1000XM4Sony WH-1000XM4
Compare all 2 Sony WH-1000XM3

Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 04548736081192
  • GTIN13: 4548736081192 and 4548736081253
  • MPN: SON00056, SON00057 and WH1000XM3S

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.