?
? !
10 photos
Sony WH-1000XM3
4.2 from 123 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.4 (100)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (100)
  • Sound Quality
    4.8 (100)
  • Bass
    4.6 (96)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (99)
  • Battery Life
    4.7 (100)
  • Bluetooth
    4.3 (99)
  • Noise Cancellation
    4.8 (89)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Matthew mcmahon

Matthew mcmahon The Mallee, VIC

Sound great, but crap lifespan

published

I loved the sound of these headphones and the noise cancelling was awesome, very comfy and never hurt my head, but they started playing up months ago, turning off by themselves, losing bluetooth when i was using them (so i couldnt pair them at all to my phone) then they just wouldn't turn on one day. So sent them back as they were only 9 months old and they wouldnt fix or replace because they had corrosion on the power button. These headphones had Never been wet, so the only way that would happen would be from sweating... i did NOT see a warning or disclaimer on the box that said "If you use these headphones and sweat then your warranty will be voided"
So if you dont plan on doing physical activity in these things then you will be fine.

Purchased in June 2020 at Kogan.com for $388.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Happy Customer

Happy Customer

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Headband strap broke after 13 months of use

published

I bought Sony WH-1000XM3 as a replacement of my 4 years old Bose QC25. Read the reviews in the internet and decided that Sony has better sound quality over Bose. The sound quality is good. Noise cancelling is not as impressive as Bose's, however the most disappointing part is the quality of the plastic and assembly. The headphones headband strap cracked after one year of home use. I didn't even take them outside, was wearing in my home office to take calls. I tried to contact Sony they suggested me to contact the retailer. The retailer doesn't respond on my messages.
Warranty is just 12 months and they broke on 13th month. Very disappointing, considering that Bose QC25 served me well for 4 years.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2020 at VideoPro for $388.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Happy Customer
Happy Customer
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jojifrey

jojifreylandscape

  • 18 reviews
  • 16 likes

Bought in Aug 2020

published

At first the static noise was frustrating. But I fixed it by changing the settings. Afterwards, up to now, it’s working perfectly.

I use it to exercise, work, study.. with satisfying experience.

Love the battery quality and speed of charging.

Purchased in August 2020 for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Sony WH-1000XM3 compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
xferro

xferroSydney, NSW

They were great until they broke in less than 12 months

published

I was in love with these and recommending them to friends. Then, one day they broke in half... really bad quality.

Of course Sony did not cover them with warranty. So, in less than 1 year 400$ to the waste

Purchased in March 2020 at Harvey Norman for $400.00.

Build Quality
Sound Quality
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pedro

PedroBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best Headphones I've Owned

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in November 2020 at eBay for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cloud Z.

Cloud Z.South East Queensland, QLD

Be aware, there is a design flaw for this headphone

published

Be aware, there is a design flaw for this headphone. There will be static hiss noise from one ear when NC turned on. This is a known issue, lots of videos on youtube and discussion on Reddit about it. The problem also happens on WH1000XM4.
My headphone has the same issue but Sony refused to replace it because they can't "reproduce" it. The issue actually happens after 30 minutes listening everytime! Customer service of Sony Australia is close to none. I will report this to ACCC.
Please stay away these headphones!

Purchased at Sony Online store for $300.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Battery failed within 2 years and Sony refused to repair at their cost.

published

The battery stopped taking in charge after using it for 1.5 years. Sony now refuses to repair it at their cost because it's out of warranty. Unfortunately by Australian consumer law, all products sold in Australia need to last a reasonable amount of time when used as intended. So unless Sony is okay with breaking Australian Consumer Law I suggest they offer free repair.

Purchased in June 2019 at Mobileciti Online store for $356.15.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GDSA

GDSAGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 10 likes

Works well while under warranty. Peculiarly fails just after warranty period and on firmware upgrade

published

Purchased in March 2019 at eBay for $382.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
trompfy

trompfyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 219 reviews
  • 65 likes

The best headphones for your home

published

On Friday 4th September 2020 I bought this is for when I move into my own unit in September 2020 so I will be able to listen to my favourite music before I go to bed every night without disturbing the neighbours by using these headphones.

Purchased in September 2020 at Catch for $105.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Sony WH-1000XM3 compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
audio eater

audio eaterGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Sony does it again

published

Sooooo comfy! The sound quality of these headphones is the best I could have hoped for, if not better. The noise cancelling is amazing, the best I have ever used. Because of the 30 hour battery life these headphones have, they are very good for city travel ie train or bus, can be used for Bluetooth or as active headphones since they come with an aux cord. Probably best not to use them for any outdoor activities since they could fall off your head (this has happened to me, luckily I caught them). Overall these headphones are fantastic for the money they cost nowadays, but with the new WH1000XM4 coming out, you may want to save up to get those since they are the better version of these headphones.

Purchased in December 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
battunga

battungaFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Amazing noise cancelling

published

These headphones have the best noise cancelling, and are very comfortable. The only negative for me was that the sound is bass heavy, even when I adjusted the settings in the app to the brightest setting. I prefer the more neutral sound of the Bose.

Purchased in October 2019 at Sony Online store for $320.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Richard W

Richard WSouth East Queensland, QLD

Fantastic product

published

I use these when travelling and actually find them useful in the recording studio as passive monitors. They have a rounded sound and are comfortable to wear, although I would not recommend them for use when running. The sound quality when used with iPhone or iPad via Bluetooth is detailed and pleasing. When used with a DAC such as a Soundkey or a Dragonfly, the sound becomes expansive and engaging. Altogether, they are absolutely worth the money.

Purchased in October 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $395.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sepi

SepiGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 6 likes

Perfect

published

Its a great headphone , the sound quality is perfect , the noise cancelling is the best and its very east to use while Running or cycling. It fits perfectly and is very comfortable to use. I use it every day for my work and while exercising.

Purchased in June 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $486.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
RTF

RTFGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

My best friend

published

Exceptional! Best noise cancelling to date. The sound is crisp with enough base. The app is just brilliant and easy to navigate. Google assistant is great and voice assistant is clear.

Purchased in October 2019 for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ingrid D

Ingrid DGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

My walking pal

published

In order to ramp up my walking, I used headphones in listening to self-help training materials. Easy to use convenient volume and forward/backward adjustments. Light, elegant and handy! Perfect sound!

Purchased in January 2020 at Costco VIC, Epping.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Sony WH-1000XM3 compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nova

NovaBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Does the job

published

Bought to accommodate my Lyric in the ear hearing aids for listening to Spotify and video messages/YouTube. Very comfortable if a bit heavy. Excellent sound using adjustments. Easily transported in the robust case. Great battery life. I’ve found the over the head support gets hot after prolonged use.

Purchased in December 2019 at JB Hi-Fi.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
bobster

bobster

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

Noise cancelling very disappointing

published

I received these for Father’s Day last year. I had not having had any experience with noise cancelling headphones so when I could still hear people talking when they were on, I thought it was normal but was a little disappointed. My wife recently bought some (cheaper) Sony headphones and they are amazingly good at noise cancelling.
As excellent noise cancelling was the main feature I wanted in these headphones, I am naturally disappointed and it is now far too late to take them back. Of course I have tried all the settings and have loaded the latest software but all to no avail.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
M M.

M M.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Is it worth it?

published

Purchased in August 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for $345.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Noel K.

Noel K.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Good quality

published

I had to replace my Dr Dre headphones since it was so old. These headphones have great sound quality! Much better than the Apple ones I used to own and much more comfortable to wear too.

Purchased in February 2020 at Sony Online store for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Karen R

Karen RAU

  • 4 reviews

Terrible

published

Shuts off every 5 minutes. Unusable and extremely slow product support. At this stage they are just ignoring my emails. Basically unusable as I'm not interested in turning them on every 5 mins.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Paul

Paulasked

WH1000XM3B (Black)

If two people want to watch the same TV program, can one person use the headphones while another can listen to the external volume of the TV at the same time?

No answers
Pranav Y.

Pranav Y.asked

WH-1000XM3

is the call quality any good?

1 answer
Meli
Meli

I personally think the call quality is great. I use my headphones a lot for work and take heaps of calls a day and I’ve had absolutely no issues at all

Mary

Maryasked

WH-1000XM3

After owning them for 2 days, I tried mine for the first time on a plane. I am getting static as the plane takes off, very annoying. Landing is OK. Should I take them back or is this normal? Thanks everyone, Mary.

No answers
See all Sony WH-1000XM3 questions

Get an answer from our members

Sony WH-1000XM3

Details

Compare both Sony WH-1000XM3
CategoryWireless HeadphonesWireless Headphones
Price (RRP) $399.00$399.00
TypeOver-EarOver-Ear
FeaturesMicrophone Included and Noise CancellingMicrophone Included and Noise Cancelling
Colour / FinishBlackSilver
Frequency Response4 Hz - 40 kHz4 Hz - 40 kHz
Weight255 g255 g
Battery Life30 hours30 hours
Connections3.5mm Jack and Bluetooth3.5mm Jack and Bluetooth
Charging Time3 hours3 hours
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)
Replaced bySony WH-1000XM4Sony WH-1000XM4
Compare both Sony WH-1000XM3

Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 04548736081192
  • GTIN13: 4548736081192 and 4548736081253
  • MPN: SON00056, SON00057 and WH1000XM3S

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.