??!
1 photo
Stihl RMA 510

Stihl RMA 510

MPN: RMA510
3.6 from 9 reviews

See the Best Battery Lawn Mowers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
5
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
3
1 star
1

Torquemeister

TorquemeisterTasmania

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Brilliant mower with excellent battery life. Does what it promises

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Stihl Dealer for $549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Battery Life
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Hogrider

HogriderAU

  • 19 reviews
  • 22 likes

XLNT!

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2019
Paddy

PaddyPicton, NZ

  • 7 reviews
  • 16 likes

Brilliant!

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019
Al26

Al26Melbourne

Don't buy this mower

published

This mower is Rubbish! Bought Saturday returned Monday morning and bought a REAL mower. The lowest setting is way too high, under-powered, Assured by the dealer this is up for the job. What a Disappointing purchase Don't believe what your told by dealers. This mower is a TOY. At nearly $1000 A total waste of money!

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Grahame W

Grahame WRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 10 likes

Underpowered for buffalo grass

published

The 510 is advertised to be suitable for medium sized lawns. That should be conditional on you having plenty of time and the lawn is not buffalo. No comparison with a 4 stroke which did the same job easily. Another problem is the blade deck sits low and makes the mower very difficult to push on a low height setting, although even the lowest setting is comparatively high.
Would definitely not recommended this machine.

Date PurchasedNov 2018

Peterb666

Peterb666Merimbula

  • 21 reviews
  • 16 likes

A great mower - very quiet

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018

mickey

mickeyTulsa

Stihl's Best?

published

I purchased the"best" most expensive manual electronic mower Stihl makes... IT IS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO PUSH. In addition, even with a fully charged battery it could not completely mow my small garden home yard without a second recharge. It runs exceptionally well. Sounds quiet and powerful... Looks "cutting edge" but that's the kindest thing I can say regarding it's cutting ability... Impressive technology, easy one hand height adjust - But my Advise: Do not spend $600.00 on a mower you have to push with a pickup truck! Tomorrow I go back to the store to buy a second $150.00 backup battery... Really?

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Hard to push

published

This mower is hard to push, i think the blade is too high in the deck so to get a good cut it drags the deck. I've gone back to using my old petrol mower my yard is flat and the grass if not real thick would hate to use this mower on hills.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Dr. Crashalot

Dr. CrashalotSYDNEY

  • 27 reviews
  • 20 likes
  • Verified purchase

Excellent Mower - plenty of power and battery life

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Questions & Answers

gary d.

gary d.asked

Very hard to push at times, do you have a solution?
It is a poor design ( hard to push, keeps bottoming out) from a company I would have expected more from,
What a waste of my time and energy...come on Stihl, sort this issue out please

4 answers
Paddy
Paddy

We have one and have absolutely no problem. Perhaps you need to raise the height slightly.

gary d.
gary d.

Thanks Paddy for your response. Problem is every time you raise the height the grass catches up ( grows higher) and then i'm in the same situation again. I'm on setting 2 now and it's hopeless at times.
It's a design fault and this mower is not suited for all types of lawns and terrains. Even the fins underneath dig in at times where I would not expect them to.
I have been mowing my lawns for 40 years and have never experienced this problem before with other brands.
I like what the battery feature of this mower and hoping there is a fix.
Cheers Gary

Hogrider
Hogrider

Hi Gary. I removed the rubber flap at the bottom below the catcher outlet. It fouls on the ground on number 1 setting. This sorted the same problem I was having, its obviously a rock stopper though so keep that in mind if you choose to remove it. Also they are made to be used as a tool thats used often. If I leave mine more than 10 days the grass gets high enough to start fouling again but I dont have any problems at all if used every 5 to 7 days. Hope this helps. Cheers.


Byron

Byronasked

Will the charger for an ap180 charge an ap300 battery?

2 answers
Peterb666
Peterb666

Yes. All the AP batteries are the same physical size - charging time varies with capacity. The AP180 battery was the highest capacity battery until the introduction of the AP300.

Byron
Byron

Dear Peter,
Thank you


Get an answer from our members and Stihl representatives

Details

CategoryBattery Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $549
Power SourceBattery (Removable)
FeaturesFoldable Handle and Mulching Capability
Catcher Type Collapsible
Catcher Capacity75 L
Cutting Deck MaterialAluminium Alloy
Cutting Width510 mm
Height of Cut38 mm to 90 mm
Noise Level70 dB
Voltage 36 V
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine TypeLithium-Ion Battery
Engine Name36V Lithium-Ion Motor

Visit official website
  • MPN: RMA510

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.