??!
1 photo
Stihl RMA 510

Stihl RMA 510

MPN: RMA510
3.3 from 12 reviews · View Statistics

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

3.3

12 reviews
4
(0)
3
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.2 (5)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (5)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (5)
  • Safety
    4.6 (5)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.0 (4)
  • Battery Life
    4.2 (5)
Previous
Next
Terry

Terry

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Styhl 510 self drive. Very poor

published

Paid over 1000 for rubbish. Has made a total mess of my lawn. Does not cut cleanly and I have to mow twice to get result. Returning it tomorrow for refund. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT

Purchased in December 2020 for $1,038.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Margaret Barton

Margaret BartonNew South Wales

Rubbish

published

Absolute garbage and daylight robbery for$1000 what more can I say it’s a complete waste of money wouldn’t recommend it to anyone. Aldi $299 is better value a real ripoff

Purchased in November 2020 for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Wendy D

Wendy D

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

If it was a man, I’d marry it

published

Powerful, great cutting ability, great mulching and SO easy to charge, start and operate. Almost makes mowing a pleasure. You don’t end up reeking of petrol or inhaling fumes. Have the self propelled V that will do that without the blades running.

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Stihl RMA 510 compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Torquemeister

TorquemeisterTasmania

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Brilliant mower with excellent battery life. Does what it promises

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2019 at Stihl Dealer for $549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Hogrider

HogriderAU

  • 21 reviews
  • 24 likes

XLNT!

published

Purchased in January 2019 for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Paddy

PaddyPicton, NZ

  • 8 reviews
  • 16 likes

Brilliant!

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019
Al26

Al26Melbourne

Don't buy this mower

published

This mower is Rubbish! Bought Saturday returned Monday morning and bought a REAL mower. The lowest setting is way too high, under-powered, Assured by the dealer this is up for the job. What a Disappointing purchase Don't believe what your told by dealers. This mower is a TOY. At nearly $1000 A total waste of money!

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Grahame W

Grahame WRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 13 likes

Underpowered for buffalo grass

published

The 510 is advertised to be suitable for medium sized lawns. That should be conditional on you having plenty of time and the lawn is not buffalo. No comparison with a 4 stroke which did the same job easily. Another problem is the blade deck sits low and makes the mower very difficult to push on a low height setting, although even the lowest setting is comparatively high.
Would definitely not recommended this machine.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Peterb666

Peterb666Merimbula

  • 25 reviews
  • 18 likes

A great mower - very quiet

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Stihl RMA 510 compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
mickey

mickeyTulsa

Stihl's Best?

published

I purchased the"best" most expensive manual electronic mower Stihl makes... IT IS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO PUSH. In addition, even with a fully charged battery it could not completely mow my small garden home yard without a second recharge. It runs exceptionally well. Sounds quiet and powerful... Looks "cutting edge" but that's the kindest thing I can say regarding it's cutting ability... Impressive technology, easy one hand height adjust - But my Advise: Do not spend $600.00 on a mower you have to push with a pickup truck! Tomorrow I go back to the store to buy a second $150.00 backup battery... Really?

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Hard to push

published

This mower is hard to push, i think the blade is too high in the deck so to get a good cut it drags the deck. I've gone back to using my old petrol mower my yard is flat and the grass if not real thick would hate to use this mower on hills.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Dr. Crashalot

Dr. CrashalotSYDNEY

  • 28 reviews
  • 23 likes
  • Verified purchase

Excellent Mower - plenty of power and battery life

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Questions & Answers

Maris R.

Maris R.asked

when using the Mulch insert do you also have to attach the side discharge? I haven't used the mulch Insert as yet

4 answers
Wendy D
Wendy D

Hi Maris. No. I had the mulch plug fitted at the dealer. The side discharge was not fitted.

Torquemeister
Torquemeister

Hi Maris. It is up to you. When I am mulching I only fit the rear discharge. This way I dont get so much lines of mulch on the lawn.

Maris R.
Maris R.

thanks for the feedback Torquemeister .... I assume that means it's not a "must do" to attach both at the one time

Jonathan M.

Jonathan M.asked

Hi - is it possible to adjust the cutting height on the RMA510? I can’t even cut the heads off the daisies on my flat lawn!

2 answers
Torquemeister
Torquemeister

Yes there is a height adjustment lever on the right hand side in front of the rear wheels. I set it to level 2 in Winter and now that the weather has turned Level 1 in Summer

Paddy
Paddy

It is possible, but don't set your level too low, it encourages weeds, and dries out the lawn.

Fran B.

Fran B.asked

While using the mulching attachment, grass is accumulating in front of the mulch insert, behind the cover. I was wanting the grass seed to fall to the ground for reseed and fertilize. I made sure the attachment is securely inserted. Anything I can do to resolve this?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryBattery Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $549.00
Power SourceBattery (Removable)
FeaturesFoldable Handle and Mulching Capability
Catcher Type Collapsible
Catcher Capacity75 L
Cutting Deck MaterialAluminium Alloy
Cutting Width510 mm
Height of Cut38 mm to 90 mm
Noise Level 70 dB
Voltage 36 V
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine Name36V Lithium-Ion Motor
Engine TypeLithium-Ion Battery

Visit official website
  • MPN: RMA510

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.