??!
1 photo
Stihl RMA 510

Stihl RMA 510

MPN: RMA510
3.6 from 9 reviews

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.6

9 reviews
5
(5)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (1)
  • Safety
    5.0 (1)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.0 (1)
  • Battery Life
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Torquemeister

TorquemeisterTasmania

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Brilliant mower with excellent battery life. Does what it promises

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Stihl Dealer for A$549.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Hogrider

HogriderAU

  • 21 reviews

XLNT!

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2019
Paddy

PaddyPicton, NZ

  • 8 reviews

Brilliant!

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Stihl RMA 510 compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Al26

Al26Melbourne

Don't buy this mower

published

This mower is Rubbish! Bought Saturday returned Monday morning and bought a REAL mower. The lowest setting is way too high, under-powered, Assured by the dealer this is up for the job. What a Disappointing purchase Don't believe what your told by dealers. This mower is a TOY. At nearly $1000 A total waste of money!

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Grahame W

Grahame WRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Underpowered for buffalo grass

published

The 510 is advertised to be suitable for medium sized lawns. That should be conditional on you having plenty of time and the lawn is not buffalo. No comparison with a 4 stroke which did the same job easily. Another problem is the blade deck sits low and makes the mower very difficult to push on a low height setting, although even the lowest setting is comparatively high.
Would definitely not recommended this machine.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Peterb666

Peterb666Merimbula

  • 24 reviews

A great mower - very quiet

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018
mickey

mickeyTulsa

Stihl's Best?

published

I purchased the"best" most expensive manual electronic mower Stihl makes... IT IS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO PUSH. In addition, even with a fully charged battery it could not completely mow my small garden home yard without a second recharge. It runs exceptionally well. Sounds quiet and powerful... Looks "cutting edge" but that's the kindest thing I can say regarding it's cutting ability... Impressive technology, easy one hand height adjust - But my Advise: Do not spend $600.00 on a mower you have to push with a pickup truck! Tomorrow I go back to the store to buy a second $150.00 backup battery... Really?

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Hard to push

published

This mower is hard to push, i think the blade is too high in the deck so to get a good cut it drags the deck. I've gone back to using my old petrol mower my yard is flat and the grass if not real thick would hate to use this mower on hills.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Dr. Crashalot

Dr. CrashalotSYDNEY

  • 28 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Excellent Mower - plenty of power and battery life

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Stihl RMA 510 compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Fran B.

Fran B.asked

While using the mulching attachment, grass is accumulating in front of the mulch insert, behind the cover. I was wanting the grass seed to fall to the ground for reseed and fertilize. I made sure the attachment is securely inserted. Anything I can do to resolve this?

No answers
thomaswarragul

thomaswarragulasked

Will this mower handle tough buffalo grass ?

1 answer
Torquemeister
Torquemeister

I dont have Buffalo but it sure sorts out the orchard and cottage grasses at the rear much of which is very thick and long.

Cliff G.

Cliff G.asked

Hi, I have a Stihl RMA510 and really like it except that it doesn't throw lush grass into the catcher properly. It leaves a trail of clippings on the side of the row, so I have to go over it again to pick them up. Do you have any suggestions on how to fix this? Thanks, Cliff.

3 answers
Paddy
Paddy

Hi Cliff, have you made sure that the insert preventing the mower from throwing out grass to the side is secure? We don't have a problem with ours at all.

Cliff G.
Cliff G.

Hi Paddy, the plastic flap with the spring to hold it closed sits reasonably well in place but it does get a build up of grass around the edge which I clear away after each lawn. The flap has never really sealed completely. What seems to be happening is that the clippings don't make it into the chute going to the catcher. Sometimes the catcher will have plenty of room but the clippings are sitting in the chute. Does you side flap close and seal well? Thanks, Cliff.

Torquemeister
Torquemeister

Hi Cliff, If the grass is still wet then yes it will cling around the body of the mower and not throw as you would like into the catcher. But this it true of all rotary mowers in my experience. After each use I tip the mower up on its side and give it a good hosing under the arch and get all accumulated grass clippings and other crud off. They seem quite weatherproof (I always start it immediately afterwards to check that I havent flooded the electrics).

By the way the mulching funtion works a treat too. And is better for your grass apparently.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.