??!

See the Best Top Loading Washing Machines in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
12
4 star
14
3 star
10
2 star
7
1 star
35

Obi1

Obi1South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Control panel/board died after 5 years

published

Always tangled each washing load no matter what it is. Doesn't clean really dirty stuff no matter how long you set the wash cycle or if you use the heavy duty cycle. The rubber inside the lint filter disintegrated after only 3 years. Even before the lint filter issue regardless if you cleaned it after each wash the machine would leave lint on dark clothes. The range of setting is OK but you can't change the preset spin time of some of them. Spin cycle in the last 12month was so noisy you could hear it loudly from 50m away. Would expect even a cheap machine would last longer, but was on a budget at the time.

Purchased in July 2014 at ALDI for $329.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

V Bros-Wilshire

V Bros-Wilshire

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

I have been delighted with the quality and easy use directions. I love it

published

I do washing 2 times a week and i am still amazed how clean the clothes come, the ease of stopping the cycle by lifting the lid. Even my husband can change the washing cycles, the number of spins and rinses

Purchased in March 2019 for $389.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
Barry Keatch

Barry KeatchSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Horry story

published

Helped a lady today to get to know her machine , Turns out the machine was too complicated taking too long to wash a small amount of clothes . Washing didnt spin dry enough and clothes could be wrung out manually after machine finished. Too complicated for a washing machine , complaining to Aldi tomorrow hope for a refund

Purchased in July 2019 at Q store .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

Very good washing machine

published

I wash my work clothes,dunner,shocks and other clothes. I never had any washing machine like this before and I can't believe how good it works.it handle all the clothes very well and have no problem with it at the moment. Not at the moment as it still works very well

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Letseat

LetseatBentleigh

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Big and simple family washer

published

I bought this because its 1/ large sie 2/ Cheap!
I know Sterling isnt the worlds greatest brand and it probably wont last forever, but its does and admirably job churning through family sized washes week in, week out and works fine. Its not too noisy and clothes are cleaned fine. It is rather platsicky and you can tell its cheaper model but I am happy enough with it and if it runs for another two years , I would consider it good value too

Date PurchasedJul 2016

Stidiford

StidifordAdelaide

  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

Reliable Machine

published

Had it for 3 months now and it has not missed a beat and everything seems to wash well, the only negative thing I can say about it is, the lint filter falls out during some washes and the sound it makes when it's finished a wash isn't very loud and only goes once.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Nic

NicCuddly Creek

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Does an ok job but not as good as our one

published

We were in Aldi just looking and this was on discount clearance so we decided to buy it as the price was very good and as the one at home was getting old we wanted a new one that's more moden. The cord is a good length but the hose had to be replaced as it was leaking

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Samantha Taply

Samantha TaplyCampbell town, SA

  • 4 reviews

Dose what it's meant to

published

We bought this because we got sick I LG one every 2 to 3 or 4 years packing in so we bought a cheaper unit this one and it hasn't done so bad. It's not perfect but come on what do you expect when buying cheap. Some stains haven't been removed

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Bruce

Bruce

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Washing machine

published

Our last stirling wasing machine has lasted 10 years and still going strong as they don't come on special very often we decided to purchase a new one and store it but my wife decided she would use the new machine as we have a big family the machine goes 2 or 3 times a day. Best and most reliable washer you can buy at a very reasonable price.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Melisa

MelisaWest Beach

  • 4 reviews

Poor water rating but good price

published

We bought this because it's very low price than any others on the market however it uses double the amount of everything pretty much and half as good job on the washing of our dirty cloths too! The machine has also very little options and the power cord could have been a bit longer for us

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Aaliyah Matekino

Aaliyah MatekinoBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Lovely for a big family

published

After searching and searching for a washing machine that’ll do the job especially for a big family this has been perfect. So many different features which is great, isn’t a noisey machine and just all round such an awesome machine. Leaves our washing smell and look fresh and clean we absolutely love it

Date PurchasedJul 2018

AYEJAY00

AYEJAY00SYDNEY

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

sterling washing machine 9.l

published

was a little difficult at first as it has no agitator in it like to older type but once you get to use it and you find out how to use it it is a very good machine and cleans your clothe very good and the best part it is very quiet one of the best features is that it is digital and therefore has so many automatic settings on it

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Leanne Monk

Leanne MonkPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews

Great price & size

published

Went for an Aldi cheap one when other top loader died & haven’t looked back. Love the pre set option. Was confused with child lock, as thought it would stop little miss pressing buttons, which wasn’t the case. Love the size & options. Great extended warranty for piece of mind.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

gailc

gailcLaidley

Horrible machine

published

I would never buy another one which is a shame because all other Aldi electrical products have been great. This machine has ripped off more buttons & damaged more clothes than any machine I have ever owned. It doesn't matter how carefully you put the clothes in everything will end up tied in knots. It doesn't matter what setting you use either. I hate it & would never buy another one.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Hugh_J

Hugh_JMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Could Be Improved

published

I will start off by saying I only bought this because it was cheap for its size and easy to get home. I didn't research it at all and I wish I did, Its not the greatest washing machine. It doesn't do the basic job of clothes washing very well. I think the actual shape of the drum might be the problem because it without fail, tumbles everything into a big ball and then often goes off center during the spin. Its reliable in that it always works but its basic design is not the best. I would suggest people buy a different model.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Trent_1

Trent_1Melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Cheap Average Washer

published

We bought this only on price and I now wish we had spent a bit more on a better machine.
It has a good large capacity and doesn't take too long with a load but I think it has an under powered spin motor because you need to get the clothes exactly even in the drum to get a good spin dry.
‎We have had no reliability problems, it always works it just isn't that great quality

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Worst machine I've ever owned. I wish there was a no star option.

published

This is the worst machine I've ever owned! Noisy, ineffective, breaks easily and often, and wrecks your clothes. Never buying a machine of any kind from Aldi again. I've started washing my clothes by hand its so bad. Aldi needs to hang its head in shame for endorsing such a product.

Date PurchasedOct 2016

E5 Code

published

I've had my washing machine for 4-5 years and love it but now I have an E5 code what does this mean............................ It washes great does the job. Quiet
Couldn't ask for a better washing machine. It's never once had a problem until this E5 code just come up on it.

Date PurchasedJan 2013

KNewing

KNewingSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Get what you pay for

published

Bought this washing machine as I was sick of owning a front loader and it was cheap for the size. Definitely get what you pay for! I have owned it for 3 months now and I do approx. 4 full loads a week. It doesn't clean clothes very well and to my surprise it has actually stained a couple of clothes. DO NOT put towels and clothes in together, you will be de fluffing your clothes for days. It makes a loud squeaking noise on wash and rinse cycle as the machine turns. No matter how much fabric softener I put in, the machine must digest it because it definitely doesn't put it on the clothes. Other then those things, it is a good budget machine. Would not buy another aldi machine though.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Tay 17

Tay 17Brisbane

Fantastic value for money; cleans well

published

Have had this for a few years now and do at least two loads a day. Love the ridiculously cheap price. Cleans my clothes very well. Having no agitator means I can fit so much into it. After about two years of ownership the lights started flashing, the cycle would not finish and it would make a beep sound. Called warranty and to my surprise it was quite a seemless process. The repairman came out within a week with the part and serviced the machine as well. Showed me how to clean the filters in the hose so the water didn't just trickle out, so now works like new. Sometimes it does tangle, but that's the same with all machines I have used without an agitator. Fantastic value for money. Absolutely recommend.

Date PurchasedJun 2015

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Bob S.

Bob S.asked

Stirling 6kg (Nov 2018)

The power control panel has gone again after warranty replaces in Nov 2018 yes it gone again where can I get one and price? [email removed] gold coast (Rawlings)

1 answer
Obi1
Obi1

I was told by my washing machine panel that a) it was not worth it, take it to the tip b) the parts are near impossible to get, c) stay away from Aldi washing machines adn d) buy a Fisher & Paykel. I do know if you want to that if you ring that service line they also sell spare parts but they are very expensive. So I trashed the machine and bought a fantastic reconditioned (old) Fisher & Paykel 8kg for only $180 & it is the best money I ever spent, look for Michael Felz on Facebook marketplace he advertises all the time & gives a month warranty. He is great, this is one of his adds: "Fisher & Paykel. 7.5 KG FREE DELIVERY $170". Also there are heaps of F&P generally on marketplace it will be better money spent!


Brook

Brookasked

9 kg top loader Stirling shows F8 error.. What does this mean please?

No answers

max b.

max b.asked

Stirling 6.5kg (Jan 2014, May 2015, May 2016, Apr 2017)

Lights 888s flash across control panel.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

Details

ALDI Stirling 7kg (Apr 2019)
  • Discontinued

ALDI Stirling 7kg (Apr 2019)

1.0
(1)
ALDI Stirling 6kg (Nov 2018)
  • Discontinued

ALDI Stirling 6kg (Nov 2018)

0.0
(0)
ALDI Stirling 9.5kg (Jul 2017, Jun 2018)
  • Discontinued

ALDI Stirling 9.5kg (Jul 2017, Jun 2018)

3.3
(7)
ALDI 5.5kg Top Load (Nov 2015, Nov 2016, Nov 2017)
  • Discontinued

ALDI 5.5kg Top Load (Nov 2015, Nov 2016, Nov 2017)

1.0
(1)
ALDI 7kg Top Load (Apr 2018)
  • Discontinued

ALDI 7kg Top Load (Apr 2018)

5.0
(1)
ALDI Stirling 9kg Top Load (Sep 2013, Jul 2014, Jul 2015, Jul 2016)
  • Discontinued

ALDI Stirling 9kg Top Load (Sep 2013, Jul 2014, Jul 2015, Jul 2016)

2.5
(46)
ALDI Stirling 6.5kg (Jan 2014, May 2015, May 2016, Apr 2017)
  • Discontinued

ALDI Stirling 6.5kg (Jan 2014, May 2015, May 2016, Apr 2017)

2.4
(17)
ALDI Stirling 10kg (Jul 2019)
  • Discontinued

ALDI Stirling 10kg (Jul 2019)

1.0
(1)
CategoryTop Loading Washing MachinesTop Loading Washing MachinesTop Loading Washing MachinesTop Loading Washing MachinesTop Loading Washing MachinesTop Loading Washing MachinesTop Loading Washing MachinesTop Loading Washing Machines
Price (RRP) $349.00$299.00$449.00$299.00$349.00$499.00$399.00$399.00
Capacity7 kg6 kg9.5 kg5.5 kg7 kg9 kg6.5 kg10 kg
Household Size 2-3 people1-2 people3-4 people1-2 people2-3 people3-4 people1-2 people5+ people
FeaturesDoor/Lid Lock (Child-proof)Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof) and Reload/Add Wash
Energy Rating2 star(s)2 star(s)2 star(s)1.5 star(s)2 star(s)1.5 star(s)1.5 star(s)1.5 star(s)
Water Rating3.5 star(s)3.5 star(s)3 star(s)3 star(s)3.5 star(s)3 star(s)3 star(s)3 star(s)
Drum MaterialStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless Steel
Colour / Finish WhiteWhiteWhiteWhiteWhiteWhiteWhiteWhite
Dimensions 940 x 540 x 562 mm952 x 520 x 545 mm1015 x 601 x 625 mm952 x 520 x 545 mm930 x 540 x 562 mm985 x 601 x 626 mm950 x 570 x 585 mm985 x 601 x 626 mm
Max Spin Speed 700 rpm850 rpm680 rpm850 rpm
Number of Wash Cycles856566
Weight36 kg31 kg45 kg31 kg36 kg47 kg37 kg52.5 kg
MechanismImpellerImpellerImpellerImpellerImpellerImpeller
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateApr 2019Nov 2018Jul 2017Nov 2016Apr 2018Sep 2013Jan 2014Jul 2019
Discontinuation dateMay 2019Dec 2018Jun 2018Dec 2017Apr 2018Jul 2016Apr 2017Jul 2019

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.