How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.2 (18)
  • Value for Money
    3.1 (19)
  • Ease of Use
    3.4 (19)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.2 (19)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (19)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Ann
Ann
  • 2 reviews

Not a fan

published

We purchased a different Stirling top loader a few years ago and were so happy with it we had no hesitation in purchasing another. So disappointed with the new one. The cycle is way too long. It washes well but doesn't spin things very dry. There is no automatic fabric softener dispenser. Who makes a washing machine without this feature. No one has time or the inclination to wait around to add fabric softener during the rinse cycle. Not to mention that you have to be able to work out which is the rinse cycle.
Would I purchase this machine knowing what I do now? Not a chance.

Purchased in May 2021 at ALDI for $359.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bill
BillRichmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Aldi Warranty Claim waste of time!

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Aldi Lismore NSW for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

great wash for only $369

published

I found this to be of great value, I do sleeping bags and blankets. It washes well as long as you don not overload and keep the filter clean after every wash.

Purchased in May 2018 at ALDI for $369.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how ALDI Top Load compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Troy Perrim
Troy PerrimHunter Region, NSW

Tears clothes and damages towels.

published

All 5 of my work pants had torn pockets but another staff who I bought the same pants for are all fine, new towels and shirts frayed on edges. I thought my towel were getting old so I bought more Sheridan towels and they are also fraying on edges and lables tearing off.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2020 at ALDI for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Agro
AgroSydney, NSW
  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic Value For Money

published

Bought the Aldi Stirling 9kg Top Load from Engadine and it hasn't missed a beat. Does a great job at washing clothes, sheets and towels. Surpassed my expectations. Reasonably quiet and full electronic panel. Has performed excellently.

Purchased in July 2016 at ALDI for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Upcoming Special Buys from the ALDI Catalogue

Reviews for what's in the ALDI catalogue this week.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.2 July 2020
upcoming-special-buys-from-the-aldi-catalogue
Next
Amy bowden
Amy bowden
  • 3 reviews

Extremely confusing to use! Doesn’t spin clothes properly. Clothes come out still ringing wet.

published

Doesn’t spin properly doesn’t matter how small the load is
Machine is confusing to use
Takes longer to wash than the timer displays
Clothes don’t wash properly
With no agitator clothes become all twisted and tangled together
Will never purchase a machine like this again or from Aldi!

Purchased in June 2019 at ALDI for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TerryRope
TerryRope
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Shame on Aldi... Horrible product

published

This top load washing machine is so bad i don't know where to start. Aside from leaking water all over our daughter's laundry only 3 weeks in, it struggled to wash clothes with very basic soiling. The lid is terribly flimsy and a cheap plastic material. Reading a number of the other reviews, Aldi work with quite a few different manufacturers for the Stirling brand. This one is from Tempo who have a shocking name. My daughter's experience was just that too. They refused to service her appliance (despite living within Metro Sydney) and said that the issues relate to user error (whatever that means). She ended up taking it back to Aldi for a refund but it was a nightmare experience. Do your research otherwise i'd avoid Aldi!

J D Benson
J D BensonSydney Surrounds, NSW

Disappointing

published

Spin cycle constantly have problems now won’t spin without going back to rinse cycle I think the flimsy metal rod that balances the machine is a useless design and not quality

Build Quality
Value for Money
durga
durgaSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

this is perfect! we buy it.

published

The aldi washing machine is good to have for the quality and the warrenty wise it is good too.we bought that one and its been easy for us that to clean the all types of clothes and it is protecting the cloth quality and fabric too.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how ALDI Top Load compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Val
ValSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Great purchase!

published

This 10kg top loader is perfect for a family of 4. Easy to install and great functionality. We use it to pre slack school socks during the wash, very easy to use. And you can wash blankets! Amazing!

Purchased in June 2020 at ALDI.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Marisa C.
Marisa C.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Quick wash is easy to use

published

Quick wash is easy to use but when I need to only spin clothes - it's not easy. Lot of programming by pressing Process and Set Buttons and machine doesn't spin.

Purchased in May 2020 at ALDI for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Col1953
Col1953Sydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good value for money

published

Top loader 9.5 kg capacity. It Has 2 filters most washing machines only have one. It is different to a Hoover. It dissolves Omo powder completely. Good value for money spent. Half the price of similar size machines. Good for washing dog towels. The ownly thing I had to sort out was the first filter inside the bowl. It was put together inside out. It now works a lot better so long it is cleaned after every wash.

Purchased in June 2018 at Aldi Mount Druitt 2770 for $449.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sarah
SarahSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Awesome washing

published

I love the washing machine that I brought. Would never go back to what I brought. Clean my washing cleans every smells really good. I love Aldi great prices it’s the best

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Kizk
KizkGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Might as well handwash

published

Worst washing machine that I've ever bought. Didn't wash clothes properly. I ended up having to handwash most items. What a waste of money. Don't buy this item.
I'm taking mine to the tip.

Purchased in November 2018 at ALDI for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Neil
Neil
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Absolute Waste of Money

published

I've had this machine for 6 months and it has never once washed the clothes properly. There is always fluff, grime and stains on the clothes. They always come out looking dirtier than they went in. I really think it's because there's no agitator. Spend your money on a proper brand name.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how ALDI Top Load compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

rjp
rjpasked
Top Load

If this site is monitored by Aldi representatives, then why don't they answer the questions being asked about the products that they have sold, or at the very least refer us to someone who may be able to assist us. In my case, all i have tried to ascertain is what the EU error code means, all to no avail.

2 answers
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Monitored does also mean respond obviously…so I guess you are expecting us consumers to know.
Luckily all my purchases included manuals and service numbers to contact. Problem solved.

rjp
rjp

It is not obvious. You guess incorrectly. My question is asking for a response from an Aldi representative. There is a manual included with my purchase & it does have some error codes in it but NOT error code EU. The problem is not solved. Over the last few years, there have been several other people on this site asking for the same error code status, none of which has have been answered.

Sue L.
Sue L.asked
Top Load

washing machine came with two hot water hoses so no cold water one is it safe to use the machine as brand new and still not used it with two hot water ones are they different in use like sensors extra please i have rang around no answer from anyone its a 7kg brought mothers day i need to do my washing or buy more clothes

No answers
Edmund K.
Edmund K.asked
Stirling 7kg (Apr 2019, April 2020, May 2021)

Worst machine ever ! Rubbish !

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Learn to know what a question is

See all ALDI Top Load questions

Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

ALDI Top Load

Details

Compare all 8 ALDI Top Load
ALDI Stirling 6kg (Nov 2018)
  • Discontinued

ALDI Stirling 6kg (Nov 2018)

No reviews yet
CategoryTop Loading Washing MachinesTop Loading Washing MachinesTop Loading Washing MachinesTop Loading Washing Machines
Price (RRP) $399.00$329.00$299.00$449.00
Capacity10 kg7 kg6 kg9.5 kg
Household Size 5+ people2-3 people1-2 people3-4 people
FeaturesDoor/Lid Lock (Child-proof) and Reload/Add WashDoor/Lid Lock (Child-proof)Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)
Energy Rating1.5 star(s)2 star(s)2 star(s)2 star(s)
Water Rating3 star(s)3 star(s)3.5 star(s)3 star(s)
Drum MaterialStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless Steel
Dimensions 985 x 601 x 626 mm930 x 597 x 593 mm952 x 520 x 545 mm1015 x 601 x 625 mm
Max Spin Speed 700 rpm
Number of Wash Cycles6656
Weight52.5 kg36 kg31 kg45 kg
MechanismImpellerImpellerImpellerImpeller
Special Buy Dates
  • 3 Jul 2019
  • 13 Jun 2020
  • 13 Apr 2019
  • 11 Apr 2020
  • 8 May 2021
  • 24 Nov 2018
  • 29 Jul 2017
  • 9 Jun 2018
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Colour / FinishWhiteWhiteWhiteWhite
Release dateJuly 2019Apr 2019Nov 2018July 2017
Discontinuation dateJune 2021May 2021Dec 2018June 2018
ManualDownload manual and manual 2Download manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manual
Compare all 8 ALDI Top Load

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.