??!
5 photos
ALDI Stirling A008A-14C (4.1kW, Dec 2015-2018)

ALDI Stirling A008A-14C (4.1kW, Dec 2015-2018)

MPNs: 55198, 58842, 62562 and A008A-14C
3.9 from 19 reviews · View Details

Portable Air Conditioner Buying Guide

A portable air conditioner is a great way to stay cool, but with the array of choices, finding the best portable air conditioner can be complex. This portable air conditioners buying guide is here to help you meet your AC match so you can spend a cool time together.

Read now

Reviews

3.9

19 reviews
5
(4)
4
(11)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (3)
  • Room Type
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (3)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    4.7 (3)
  • Portability
    4.0 (3)
Previous
Next
Kat

KatSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

I can help resolve some issues!!

published

This is a great product. As long as you duct it PROPERLY, it’s air intake is actually from the side and back and disperses it out the hose! To stop the air swinging a certain direction there is a little switch/leaver at the bottom edge of the vent that goes side to side to change the air flow direction. It’s easily cools a 5 x 5 metre room quickly!

Purchased in March 2017 for A$297.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
See all answers
Dev

DevGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Amazing Product. I love it :)

published

I bought this one couple of years a ago and believe me its amazing. No regrets except the one that I should have bought this product earlier :). Its Compact, not that heavy weight as you would think of an Aircon to be.
Moreover it comes with 3 years warranty - what else would to need to take risk of $400 which eventually would turn out to be the best portable Aircon.

I am very happy with this.

Purchased in December 2016 for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
Jacob

JacobPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

In very good condition, works perfectly and I love how you can put it in rest mode and change it from low to high , very affordable price aswell very happy

Purchased in February 2019 at Rockingham for A$130.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how ALDI Stirling A008A-14C (4.1kW, Dec 2015-2018) compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

no modulating air flow

published

Why does the air flow... mainly to the right side only and there is no way of adjusting this, there is no modulation to change this?
It would better if one could adjust the problem as all the cool air goes to the right only?There does not seem to be control over this?

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Stefan3

Stefan3melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not perfect but not bad

published

These are always a compromise and I knew that before we got it. Basically they always draw more hot air inside by way of their operation and so cannot be efficient. This did an adequate job of cooling out lounge room over summer, not crispy cold like a split system but definitely better. If it runs for a few more years I will be satisfied with it.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Golf1957

Golf1957Chadstone

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Pumps out plenty of cool air

published

We have used this over one summers so far We live in Melbourne so its freezing all year and then its 40c over summer. Portables are perfect for us and this one works very well. It cools much more than its diminutive size would suggest and can easily make a room habitable even on those 40c days. Simple set up and very basic remote. Good bonus is that this model does not require the water tank being emptied as it vents it outside. Would purchase again, good unit

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Bookems

BookemsMoorabin

  • 4 reviews

Good cooling over summer

published

We are currently renting which means we can't install a split system and our landlord is too cheap to get one so this was style our only option. I actually performed way better than I expected - my dad said that portables were not up to par but this one did manage to cool the bedroom. It's a bit noisy and the window kit isn't the strongest but these are always something of a compromise. I did cool which meant I could sleep and that's a good thing!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Sharpie

SharpieCranbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Works just OK

published

This works, yeah, but only just. Its cold when you are sitting right in front of it but it never once cooled our living room down properly. Its from Aldi special buys and its similar to other things we have got from them. Dubius machines of unknown origins branded "Stirling". It is fragile and you have to be careful because it would be easy to snap some part of it - especially the window kit. We kept it because we rent and we were desperate for anything that cooled but I wouldn't buy the same one gain.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Wowsers

WowsersGlen Waverly

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Small spaces only

published

Got this in on of those Aldi special buys. I kind of knew that these had limitations and found out, yep, they CANT cool a normal sized lounge room in full summer heat. It was cool, even cold sitting directly in front of it but it never did much to the overall room temperature. In my small study - it was actually quite good so there is a definite hard limit with room sized and these things. I will say that its quite well built and worked perfectly the whole time/

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how ALDI Stirling A008A-14C (4.1kW, Dec 2015-2018) compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RCFlyers

RCFlyersmelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Much Better Than I Hoped!

published

This really saved us during the summer - it was far more effective than I thought it would be. Everyone told me that portable aircons are useless but this one really bought the goods! It is the more powerful model that ALDI do an it was more than adequate in our bedroom - in fact we would have to tun it down once it has reached a good temperature or it would be too cold. It noisy when running but not so that you can't sleep. More of a white noise. It comes with a window hose and remote control both of which are good. Its packed away now but I will be using it again next summer.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
RumBar

RumBarMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Good Room Aircon

published

We got this in an attempt to cool our overly hot home office. I actually did pretty well for an Aldi product. It seemed a bit dubious when we unpacked it, but once we got everything hooked up and turned on, it cooled very well. I is noisy, but not too bad. It annoyed my wife but not me, I was just pleased to get some cool relief. It comes with a remote and a window pack. Overall a decent machine.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
SonicBoom

SonicBoomMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Lots Of Cold Air

published

I was amazed at how effective this little air-con on wheel is , especially when people had told me they dont work. This model certainly does! We had it in the bedroom and had to tun it down as it was too cold. We even had it running in the sitting room and it made a good difference there despite the large size of the area. It comes with a rather basic remote and a widow kit too. Overall this doesn't feel like it will last forever due to some cheap plastics in some area (hose etc) but while we have it it does a good job on hot days.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
L0rdy

L0rdyMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Saved Us From The Heat

published

I wasn't sure if this would work or not but I am so glad we purchased it. It has been quite a hot summer and this made all the difference in our poorly insulated house. You have to set it up quite close to a window and close the window onto the attachment that holds the hot air pipe. Start it up and around 15 minutes later...sweet relief!
Its a clever design that expels the humidity outside too so there is no water tank to empty. It comes with a remote but I just turn it on and off at the machine.
It works very well and at the end of summer in storage it goes for next year!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Melissa

MelissaBendigo

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Works but not the best

published

How house is old with the high celling and over summer gets very hot, we brought this over summer to cool our sons room down
It works but not great room was still hot but no where near as hot as it was without the air conditioner
The price is affordable for any household to own one

Date PurchasedJan 2017
RTG

RTGGeelong

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Lifesaver! Lots Of Very Cold Air!

published

Note this review is for the black coloured 4.1KW version Model A008A-14C

Aldi seem to sell these quite regularly but all models are not created equal! They released this more powerful black 4.1KW model last December and it's a little ripper. Really pumps out the cold air and not too noisy caveats: for a portable unit and for a medium sized room that can seal up
I would say that if they bring this particular model out again go for it as it really cools well but know that the hoses and remote are not made from the strongest plastic so I don't know how many years it will last,]
Overall a good machine that cools well but not A1 build quality

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how ALDI Stirling A008A-14C (4.1kW, Dec 2015-2018) compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JenO

JenO

  • 2 reviews
  • 11 likes

great value and performance

published

Bought two, one for each of our offices. Quiet, easy to set up and super cool. the 14000BPU provides cooling power only matched by much more expensive units. people please note that air conditioners can only reduce the heat of a room by a percentage, so if its 50 outside there is no way you will ever get it to 21 degrees. the units I purchased are ideal for our office space about 40sq metres, which is a little over the recommendation for this unit.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
ray260250

ray260250

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Aldi Stirling A008A-14C Needs 3 speed Fan

published

Bought it to cool a small bedroom and it does it brilliantly easy to set up . Some portable air conditioners only face the fan in one direction but this can be changed both up and across. This unit has a two speed fan but even on low it is far too powerful . Its like having a pedestal fan on high. The compressor isn't too noisy but this would be such a better unit with a lower speed fan setting. The window seal; kit is good and suits a side sliding window or vertical opening.

This unit is cooling only and the instructions say "Not to be run on an extension cord" and should not be placed within 30cm of a wall

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Syrrah

SyrrahMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love it!! Aldi Stirling A008A-14C

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Sore Back

Sore Backb, n

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Made such a loud din I can hear through 2 closed doors

published

I had an earlier version in white of this model and it was ok , this unit
Must be faulty the noise is unbelievably LOUD
I am returning it today !

See all ALDI Stirling Portable Air Conditioner reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about ALDI Stirling A008A-14C (4.1kW, Dec 2015-2018) but you can read 110 questions about ALDI Stirling Portable Air Conditioner.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.