??!
2 photos
Sunbeam Duos Sous Vide MU4000

Sunbeam Duos Sous Vide MU4000

3.0 from 21 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
4
1 star
6

Caveat emptor

published

Using the slow cooker mode, I half filled this pot with warm water from the tap at about about 40 degrees C. After 4 hours on "low" it had stabilised with the water at a temperature of about 77.5 degrees C. This was fine, but I then switched the machine off and immediately back on again to a "high" setting. After 1.5 hrs on high, with the water having started at 77.5 degrees C, the water in the put had dropped to 75 degrees C. My other crock pots don't do this and they achieve their working temperatures somewhat more quickly under the same test conditions.

Purchased in April 2019.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi John,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. I will be sure to pass this onto product team. If you have kept your receipt please return to the store of purchase.


Happy User.

Happy User.Victoria

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Terrible for slow cooking!

published

Worst slow cooker I have ever bought. After 8 hours on slow cooking the meat is just starting to be tender on Hi setting. Can't alter settings unless you turn it off. Never again Sunbeam back to Breville.

Purchased in November 2018 for $98.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Happy User, from the sound of this it may be the thermostat. I would suggest to return to your store of purchase as it is under warranty.

Mort

Mortbrisbane

  • Verified purchase

Not really happy with this......

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Caryn

CarynDarwin

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Healthier and more efficient meals

published

Always wanted to try Sous Vide cooking and glad we bought this product. Meal prep is a breeze and we cook a weeks worth of meals at a time and refrigerate until ready to cook. And by cook I mean a quick grill to add heat and colour. Vegetables cooked in portion control serves has us eating healthier and with less waste.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

jondo

jondoBrisbane, Queensland

  • 23 reviews
  • 25 likes

It cooks stuff ... slowly

published

This machine is OK, the sous vide function does seem to get the job done, although lacks the ability to circulate the water so the temperature across the food is not consistent, although I have no complaints. The slow cooking function doesn't really seem to work as well as the traditional slow cooker - it just doesn't get hot enough to properly cook the food - e.g. a pea and ham soup left on for 2 days didn't really go to that "perfect" consistency that I got with the old sunbeam and it's stone pot.

Date PurchasedJan 2014

VVCC

VVCCMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

temperature is 2-3C off

published

I bought this when I started sous vide cooking, thought it wouldn't harm to get an entry level machine, but I was wrong on saving a few dollars... The temperature is never the same as the hand held meat thermometer I use, and it's kind of frustrating to always have to manually adjust the temperature to counter its inaccuracy, which kind of muck up the whole idea of SV.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Claire

ClairePerth, WA

  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes

Slow cooking is too slow .

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Cat

Cat

  • 4 reviews

I've used better

published

I'd prefer to have visible temperature ranges on this machine so I could better fine-tune cooking with this slow cooker. I'm not very experienced using them and found that the settings on the machine don't really match up with slow cooker recipes I've seen so it's taken a lot of trial and error to cook things well. I think I'd buy another model if I could go back in time as I've left food cooking while I'm at work and had to come home and finish cooking things in the oven which contradicts the whole point of buying this

Date PurchasedOct 2016
thubleau2

thubleau2Hunter Region, NSW

  • 36 reviews
  • 42 likes
  • Verified purchase

Works as it should

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Harada

HaradaFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

slow cooker useless

published

sous vide was ok but tried the slow cooker twice and after 9 hours on high I had to remove and finish on stove top on low forget it only gets warm returned for full refund.Billy Guyatts were great to deal with and there was no issue wit a full refund

Date PurchasedMay 2016

You Have to Trust It - 2

published

Adam

Adam

  • 7 reviews
  • 10 likes

A good starting point

published

Ross Elliot

Ross Elliotmotueka

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Don't do it! Get a Sansaire or Anova or similar.

published

Haven't tried it as a slow cooker, but it is a disaster at sous-vide. The temperature fluctuates all over the place +/- 3 deg. The timer cannot be set to less than one hour, which I need to be able to do when cooking for 1.One of the worst buying decision I have ever made.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Andre P

Andre PMelbourne

Literally threw it out the back door after giving it a second chance!!!

published

I've had 2 other slow cookers over the years and the best thing about this one was the sound it made hitting the concrete. Both times after prepping for 2 hours hard to get ingredients the food turned up barely warm and on hi after 8 hours just started steeming. poor product

1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
MarkF

MarkFMordialloc

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Absolute garbage!

published
alexg81

alexg81Adelaide

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Better than it would have you believe!

published

John the Pom

John the Pom

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Rubbish. Spend your money more wisely. Buy a real one.

published

Sous vide is supposed to be about precision temperature control. This model does not comply. First, when you set the target temperature it will overshoot by two degrees celcius before the start beeps. Then, when loaded, it will fall to less than three and sometimes four degrees below the target temperature. This goes up and down over the cooking period, but averages three degrees below the desired temperature. That is a temperature inaccuracy of five to six degrees. At best that is the difference between medium and well done. At worst, it is the difference between sterile food and food rife with salmonella. This is my second unit. I sent the first one back. Both performed exactly the same. Waste of money.


Mefistofele

MefistofeleVictoria

  • 21 reviews
  • 28 likes

A worthwhile extravagance!

published

Komunicate

KomunicateSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Brilliant for the money - entry level sous vide

published

Darkfalz

DarkfalzCanbera

  • 17 reviews
  • 16 likes

One of the best appliances I've bought

published
1 comment
Darkfalz
Darkfalz

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

AMyr

AMyrasked

Can you set decimals, as for instance 82,2 degrees Celsius?

2 answers
jondo
jondo

No, there is some hysteresis in the operation of this unit and the actual temperature fluctuates within a range around the set temperature.

Caryn
Caryn

1 degree increments to set, while cooking the temperature fluctuates a little around your set temperature.


Amelia Clarke

Amelia Clarkeasked

Does this have a delayed start function?

3 answers
Harada
Harada

no

thubleau2
thubleau2

no it just has a timer and a temperature setting .Once the temperature is reached the machine beeps twice and then you have to press the start button again to set the timer in motion.

Ross Elliot
Ross Elliot

No, but nor does any other unit that I have heard of. The reason being that it takes a considerable time to heat the water to the desired temperature, and some cooking will start during this time which will alter the end result.


Sandra

Sandraasked

Can I brown on the cook top before using the sous video on the slow cooking option? Thank you.

2 answers
Adam
Adam

If you are slow cooking you can do whatever you like. If sous vide I find I get better results if I brown right at the end after sous vide, just before the food hits the plate.

thubleau2
thubleau2

of course just brown your meat in a fry pan quickly and cook as usual in the sous Vide slow cooker


Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

CategorySlow Cookers
Price (RRP) $229.00
Capacity5.5L
Keep Warm SettingYes
Dishwasher Safe PartsYes
Dimensions 240 x 360 x 290 mm
Weight4.43 kg
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Release dateMay 2013

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.