??!
3 photos
Sunbeam SecretChef HP4520 / HP5520

Sunbeam SecretChef HP4520 / HP5520

HP5520, HP4520
3.7 from 127 reviews · View Statistics

Should I get a slow cooker, pressure cooker or multi cooker?

Thanks to slow cookers, pressure cookers and multi cookers, the days of slaving away over a stovetop are over. This buying guide will help you decide which kitchen appliance is right for you.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.9 (7)
  • Value for Money
    1.6 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    2.7 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (6)
Previous
Next
wayne

wayneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Save your money, buy another brand

published

Do not recommend. The slow cooker is too weak, I literally have placed in 4 shanks on high (4hrs) and it isn't hot enough and didn't cook the meal. Save yourself the trouble, don't buy it. Side note - I have an old one and know how to use these.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Arpita P.

Arpita P.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Slow cooker releasing smoke out of the dial

published

I bought this slow cooker a year ago from Good Guys. Never used it until today. Turned it on for the first time and see smoke coming out of the dial. Smells like something is burning. Coz I bought it long time ago don’t know am I able to return it? I lost the receipt can someone help

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys for A$39.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Arpita P.
Arpita P.

How do I send private message to you. And also I tried to contact you guys on Facebook but I got no further response yet

Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Arpita,
I have just sent you a message, please check you inbox.
Thank you
Sunbeam Customer Care.

Chris

ChrisSouth Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

VERY DANGEROUS I DON’T RECOMMEND IT

published

Just purchased a new sunbeam slow cooker and it’s smells bad like electrical burning and Smoke coming out of the temperature control dial. I do Recommended anyone buying it s

Purchased in September 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$44.95.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Slow Cookers

Find out how Sunbeam SecretChef HP4520 / HP5520 compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Very disappointed!

published

I have had the same problems....purchased this 5.5 lt Sunbeam slow cooker as I already have the 4.5 lt which I purchased years ago and it works perfectly but I wanted a larger one for my bone broth ! Couldn’t be more disappointed! It becomes extremely hot and as for the cool touch handles! What a joke..they were red hot and the machine gave off a plastic burning smell, which didn’t go away. And thank heavens I always use a wooden cutting board underneath electrical products! The board was very hot! Not happy and I am about to return it to retailer now! And after reading other reviews, I will not purchase another one!

Purchased in June 2020 at GoodGuys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Clemens E.

Clemens E.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes

Glass Lid Shattered to Pieces

published

I had the Sunbeam SecretChef HP5520 for some years now. On 13 April 2020 with no reason whatsoever the glass lid imploded and the lid shattered to pieces. When I tried to lift off by its handle, the shattered glass fell into my vegetable soup wrecking it entirely.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Emma W.

Emma W.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Get's unsafely hot

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Myer for A$59.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

A lie about capacity

published

I bought this a month ago on the basis it said it was a 5.5 litre cooker because I was replacing one I bought years ago that was also 5.5 litres. As soon as I unpacked it I could see this was a scam regarding the size. The pot has shrunk by at least 1.5 litres of actual cooking space. No wonder they can sell it cheaper because its real cooking capacity is only 4 litres. i measured it and that's that. So be warned. I hate lying on product capacity. This cooker holds 5.5 litres from base to brim but IT IS NOT A 5.5 LITRE CAPACITY COOKER

BadBlock

BadBlockAdelaide

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

A bit hot, but works ok

published

The device gets hot, but I think that's how it is. I was advised that I'd better place it on a stove to protect the bench. The pot and lid can be washed in a dishwasher. Works fine. No switch off timer.

Purchased in June 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores for A$29.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi BadBlock
Thanks for the great review. This unit does get hot. It is the belt/wrap around element for even slow cooking. We suggest to have it on a board or block to protect bench top surfaces etc.
Kind Regards, Sunbeam

Nat

Nat

  • 2 reviews

Horrible product

published

This product is absolutely horrible! I was given this as a gift both times burnt my food on the low setting. Went back and got it replaced and this one does the same thing. Extremely hot to touch on the outside and cooked my food on the keep warm setting. This isn't okay. Defiantly returning for a refund. Will never get another sunbeam product again, way to dangerous. I should feel safe leaving my home with my slow cooker on however the smell that came off it when turned on and the fact the settings mean nothing. Lost my business.

Purchased in June 2019 at Big W for A$59.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Nat,
Sorry to hear, normally a great product. Please call us on 1300 881 861 to see if we can assist or by all means return to store.

Nat
Nat

I have returned twice now and I had the same problem both times. I have gone to another brand thanks for the reply

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for reviewing, we will take on board...

Slow Cookers

Find out how Sunbeam SecretChef HP4520 / HP5520 compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Phillip A

Phillip AAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent value Sunbeam Slow Cooker

published

This is an excellent economical slow cooker. Simple suitable for a family of 5. The ceramic cooking dish looks great and washes easy. The Sunbeam is Great value, is simple to use, and retains sufficient juices to allow for great curries. Best test was a tradition Goat leg curry. Time for more slow cooked stews and curries

Date PurchasedDec 2018
mj88

mj88Western Australia

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my analog slow cooker

published

I requested this for Christmas after my digital Sunbeam broke (after 13 months!!). I love this model, it’s cheaper and fuss free. It does mean you can’t set the timer to turn off or turn to warm but you can remedy that by using a wall plug with a timer. Overall a good product at a good price point. Love the ceramic bowl too, I kept the bowl from my digital model so now I have two. One for dinner and one for pudding afterwards!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the positive feedback mj88!

justrace

justraceAU

  • 2 reviews

Terrible, has wrecked my benchtop and chopping board

published

This is my second slow cooker, had the other one for years and never an issue (only died due to user error). Have used this one 3 times and it's wrecked my wooden benchtops - next time tried it on the chopping board and it's wrecked that as well. So dangerous - what a total waste of money - I'll be going back to Russell Hobs

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

HI justrace,
So sorry to hear this has happened. Please give us a call on 1300 881 861 so we can discuss this with you.

Ainsley

AinsleyBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect cooking temperature, food comes out brilliant every time!

published

I bought this as a replacement for my Target branded slow cooker, which would consistently burn and overcook my food. So I made this purchase and I've had nothing but tasty and delightful results. It's so simple to just whip something up before work and chuck it in here knowing you can come home to a tender, flavoursome and delicious meal. I suggest cooking some beef spare ribs drenched with Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce if you want to treat yourself!

And disregard negative reviews below, most of which are just about the stainless steel casing getting "too hot". Well, that's what happens when you have a heating element on the other side of stainless steel. Use your brains, my god. It's a great cooker.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Ainsley, thank you for your thoughts. I agree, slow cookers are just so helpful in our daily lives!

Busy Mum

Busy MumSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Does the job

published

Currently on sale at David Jones at an attractive price of $39.95, I went ahead and purchased one. I used it to cook and it did not disappoint! I am a working mother with 3 boys and it gets so busy esp before dinner time. I cook a night ahead, I pop everything in the slow cooker at night and have a really nice meal first thing in the morning ready for the night ahead.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Busy Mum, that's what the slow cooker is for, making meal preparation so much easier and you are the perfect example of this! Thanks for the great review...

Joanne S

Joanne SCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Extremly hot on out side.

published

Have just purchased this cooker and it gets extremely hot on the out side...
That hot that it's untouchable ... Should this happen .
Have only used it a few times because I'm a bit frightened of being burned. Purchased from Myer store two months ago.
To replace an existing sunbeam slow cooker that I have had for years. Just needed a bigger capacity.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Slow Cookers

Find out how Sunbeam SecretChef HP4520 / HP5520 compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Slow cooking ridiculous and smells awful

published

I bought this product a few weeks ago and have used it twice. On both occasions the meat was tough and the vegetables hard. What bothered me more was the smell. The smell is absolutely awful and permeated through the food. It was inedible. I cant believe that this would be any good for your health eating this chemical whatever it is. I will be returning this product and looking for a different brand.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Wan
Wan

Not sure if it is the same one as you are referring to as I purchased mine from David Jones. Model hp 5520 Sunbeam type 719 made in China to Sunbeam specifications.

Brushy26

Brushy26Killara, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Good upgrade

published

Bought this because our existing 3L Sunbeam didn't have the capacity I needed. As with the other one, it is easy to clean, cooks well and provides exactly the features required. As I have time available, I prefer to brown meats and soften vegetables on my induction cooktop rather than buy a multi-function cooker.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
5 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Brushy26
Brushy26

Can't afford the cost of the freezer that would require.

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Mmmm...If only Sunbeam made freezers....

Ray K

Ray K

  • 2 reviews

This cooker is extremely disappointing

published

This cooker failed after 2 years moderate use. Surely we can expect a longer and more reliable performance than 2 years. Although worked well initially it’s features are very ordinary.We will never buy a Sunbeam product again. Quality and reliability is non- existent. It is unfortunate that we can’t trust established brands anymore. Looking elsewhere in future.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
Great Bargain

Great BargainSydney

  • 6 reviews

Affordable but not great

published

For its price, it's alright because it does the job but it cooks slower than the times indicated in recipes.
Takes a very long time for the temperature to heat up and cook food.
The size is very decent and can cook for a family for 4-6 well.
Easy to clean.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Marj

MarjLindfield

Shattered lid

published

Had a similar experience to J Ferguson. Put lamb shanks and vegs on low at 10am and at 5pm heard an almighty 'crack' and found the glass lid had shattered into my casserole rendering it inedible. Only had this cooker for a month and used it only once before!!!! Taking it back to The Good Guys today, very disappointed as I had a Breville for many years with not one hiccup until it. Not sure whether to try again or go back to Breville???

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Christine E.

Christine E.asked

SecretChef HP4520 / HP5520

Just purchased a new sunbeam slow cooker and it’s smells bad like electrical burning and the outside is that hot after less then 20 mins turned on that even the “cool to touch handles”are hot

Why is this happening
I have always brought sunbeam products but this one I’m definitely not happy with

2 answers
Valli
Valli

I had a similar problem with the Sunbeam HP5520 and returned to store...see my review ...Valli

Emma W.
Emma W.

Me too. I've also left my review

Pier

Pierasked

SecretChef HP4520 / HP5520

Question for sunbeam .is the ceramic insert free of lead, cadmium and Teflon in the 5.5 litre slow cooker And other nasties . I purchased one but not happy with no concrete proof and confirmation thanks A

2 answers
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Pier,
Yes it is a Lead-free glaze on ceramic pot and during standard testing the levels of lead & cadmium are negligible and meet American FDA standards.

This is all specified on the product page here: https://www.sunbeam.com.au/Cooking/Slow-Cookers/HP4520-SecretChef-Slow-Cooker-4.5L.aspx

Pier
Pier

Ok thanks I will check link
Regards

JULIE T.

JULIE T.asked

SecretChef HP4520 / HP5520

What is the power wattage please?

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi JULIE T,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam. HP4520 is 220-240W. HP5520 is 290-300W.
Kind regards, Sunbeam

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

Compare both Sunbeam SecretChef HP4520 / HP5520
CategorySlow CookersSlow Cookers
Price (RRP) A$54.95A$59.95
Capacity4.5L5.5L
Keep Warm SettingYesYes
Dishwasher Safe PartsYesYes
Dimensions 280 x 420 x 270 mm280 x 430 x 290 mm
Weight6.15 kg7.1 kg
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)
Release dateNov 2009Nov 2009
Compare both Sunbeam SecretChef HP4520 / HP5520

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.