??!
3 photos
Sunbeam Power Steam SG1000

Sunbeam Power Steam SG1000

MPN: SG1000
4.6 from 25 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.6

25 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (21)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (20)
  • Ease of Use
    4.9 (22)
  • Safety
    4.6 (21)
  • Preheating Speed
    4.9 (22)
  • Portability
    4.9 (21)
Previous
Next
Juliet Bell

Juliet BellSydney, NSW

Not safe to use, It broke in the first use!

published

After reading all the positive reviews about this steamer I decided to purchase it. My initial thought was that it was easy to use but then I realised I had to refill the water tank after steaming one or two garments as it was too small. All the sudden half way through my steaming, the steamer sparked and caused power outage. The burning smell was all over the house.

Purchased in July 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$79.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Safety
Preheating Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Juliet,
So sorry to hear about that please return to your retailer for a replacement. As for the tank, our unit has one of the biggest water tanks for a hand held unit in the market.

Shell

ShellSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Professional alternative!

published

It comes with different attachments. You can select low or high steam. Very powerful. I used it to steam an artificial plant to smooth it out and business shirt that my iron couldn’t get out in the most difficult areas. It creates a natural smooth texture wherever you finish up doesn’t leave crinkles or lines like an iron do. The only reason i give it a 4 star is because the condensation splatters tiny bits of water it’s okay for clothes with patterns but not for plain coloured clothes as you can see it. It dries up so not really a big deal. But it could be improved as the instruction tells you to turn it off and wipe it up and wait for it to cool down and who has time for that?

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

So GLAD you LOVE it !
Thank you for your awesome Feedback.

Y R.

Y R.

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic

published

I bought this because of the good reviews. It is so easy to use. I use this to steam my kids bed because my boys are allergic. Also my client has bed bugs problem. When I accidentally bring those bugs to my home ( I hope not) I use this steamer to treat bugs.

Purchased in April 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for A$79.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Safety
Preheating Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Garment Steamers

Find out how Sunbeam Power Steam SG1000 compares to other Garment Steamers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nara

NaraVictoria

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good steamer, a tad heavy

published

It works well, my only issue with it is that its quite heavy, especially when the water tank is full, so you quickly get tired of holding it. Unless you are planning to steam a few garments, it's better to put just enough water for one piece, that makes it easier.

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys for A$74.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hi Nara,
Thank you for your review and great feedback.

Chamila A.

Chamila A.

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

GOOD but heavy

published

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys for A$79.95.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Safety
Preheating Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Chamila A.
Thank you for your GREAT feedback and review!

Steph

StephSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Amazing timesaver to get you out the door even quicker in the morning!

published

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Safety
Preheating Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Steph,
WOW! Thank you for your wonderful review and helpful tips. I'm glad to hear that the Sunbeam Power Steam (SG1000) is making your mornings easier.

Chris

ChrisSydney, NSW

I have not switched on my iron since...

published

Since I bought this I have not put up the ironing board. I have found a suction hook on the glass laundry door works well to place a hanger with my mens work shirt on it. Discovering it works better on some shirts I now wear these shirts more! Less than a minute to warm up, pumps out plenty of steam on the high setting and, once you get the technique going, you can do collars as well. Doing a shirt a day the tank lasts well over a week.

Purchased in October 2019 at JB Hifi Home for A$79.00.

Ease of Use
Preheating Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Chris,
We're so happy to hear that you are loving your Sunbeam Power Steam SG1000!!

And can I say what an ingenious and space saving way to iron!

Fraser B.

Fraser B.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Simple to use and the results are instantaneous

published

Much easier than ironing if doing t-shirts, dresses etc. Just wave it across the fabric a few times and creases disappear quickly. Be careful the steam is hot and there is a risk of burning.

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Safety
Preheating Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Fraser B,
Thank you for your review!

Tania

TaniaSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Super easy to set up and pack away!

published

This handheld steamer is so much easier to use than the garment steamer we have. The handheld steamer does just as good a job of getting creases out - great result after we steamed heavy cotton shirts and jeans.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Safety
Preheating Speed
Portability
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Tania,
So glad you love the steamer...

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Garment Steamers

Find out how Sunbeam Power Steam SG1000 compares to other Garment Steamers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Denver R.

Denver R.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Super Fast! Super Convenient!

published

I live with 5 house mates and space is a huge factor! We've already gotten rid of our iron and ironing board! It's Incredibly fast to heat up! Was sceptical at first whether it will remove the wrinkles, but I can't fault it!

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Safety
Preheating Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Denver R,
Great to hear!!

rachylicious

rachyliciousSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect for lazy ironers

published

This is a great product if you're a lazy ironer. There are so many pieces of clothing I haven't worn in years because I hate ironing and just don't do it. Keeping the hand held steamer in my bedroom and the ease and speed at which it heats up is life changing and has revived my wardrobe.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Safety
Preheating Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi rachylicious,
Great to hear!!

Paul L

Paul LSydney, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Easy to use and a real time saver

published

This light hand-held steamer is great for a quick alternative to the trusty old iron & ironing board. It heats up quite quickly (less than a minute) and the 4 add-on pieces offer a range of alternative uses including neat creasing for shirt sleeves and trousers. The water capacity allows for around 30-45 mins non-stop use. Great for light materials, slightly longer steaming time required for firmer fabrics. I would suggest this steamer is a great compliment to your current iron. I've been using now for a week and I know that my use of the steamer will certainly increase as I get more familiar with it's use.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Safety
Preheating Speed
Portability
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Paul L,
Thanks for the great review!!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

JFC

JFCSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Terrific handheld steamer

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Safety
Preheating Speed
Portability
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi JFC,
Thank you for the terrific review, we appreciate it...

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

becw88

becw88Sydney, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Who knew that making my clothes crease-free could be fun!?

published

I've only been using the Sunbeam steamer for just over a week and am already loving it! So easy to use and heats up quickly, making it perfect for when I'm rushing to get ready in the morning, and not needing to use an ironing board has been life changing! Plus, I've actually been finding it fun to wrinkle out my clothes with this steamer!

I travel a lot for work, so I can already tell this is going to be great to take along for when I need to quickly iron out my clothes, particularly given its compact design.

If you hate ironing like me, you'll love this steamer - highly recommend!

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Safety
Preheating Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi becw88,
Love the review!! Am going to get one myself!

Eddz

EddzSydney, NSW

Genuine life (and reputation) saver

published

Really stoked with this. Both my boyfriend and I never have the the time do a full iron so we've been desperate for something that works. We had a different kind previously (different brand) but found it gave up after the second/third use and would only steam for max 5 seconds which was incredibly frustrating.

Sunbeam's one has got a great sized water tank - I feel like it is actually working when I use it, and haven't struggled to get those stubborn creases out of clothes.

My only suggestion would be to make use of the accessories - you get a few provided and they definitely make a difference. Stoked to finally look like I've got my life sorted when I leave the house, and not a crinkled mess!

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Safety
Preheating Speed
Portability
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Eddz,
Inspiring, love it!!!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Garment Steamers

Find out how Sunbeam Power Steam SG1000 compares to other Garment Steamers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified purchase

Super handy

published

I've been really impressed with the Sunbeam steamer - its a great quick alternative to lugging out the iron and ironing board. Love the range of accessories for different garment types.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Safety
Preheating Speed
Portability
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi lucy988,
Thank you for the fab review!!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Harry

HarrySydney, NSW

Quick, effective and easy to use

published

After using this a few times I've found it easy to use and it does a great job. I've found it naturally works well with lighter clothing but also works well across thicker cotton too. The extra-wide feature is really effective and makes the whole thing even quicker. Really enjoyed using it and would definitely recommend.

Purchased in September 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Harry,
Great review, thank you!!

Pamela K

Pamela KSydney, NSW

Throw away your ironing board and buy this

published

This product is so light and easy that I am blown away. It was ready to go in a fraction of the time of other steamers I've used, and it was so light- even when it was full of water. I hate ironing, but with this, I finished a pile of shirts before I had time to start complaining. Can't recommend highly enough, its a game changer.

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Safety
Preheating Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Pamela K,
Love it, thank you!!!

ThaiD

ThaiDSydney, NSW

Will throw out my current iron and iron board!

published

Pros: This product has saved my life on how convenient and fast it is to iron my clothes. No ironing board needed. Water tank is super large and can last for the whole working week. Preheating speed is super fast, plugged in and it is good to go in 10-15 sec (on High mode). Attachments are easy to put on and off.

Cons: Noticed a bit of hot water leaking out sometimes if I leave the steamer on High mode for long time.

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Safety
Preheating Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi ThaiD,
Great review, thank you!!

Artlife

ArtlifeSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Steamer is perfect to grab as you need it

published

Purchased in September 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$79.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Safety
Preheating Speed
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Artlife,
Love the review!

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Dg9879

Dg9879asked

Would this work well for sheets? I would hang them on the clothesline outside to to them. But if it was raining, could I lay them on the wooden floor in my living room to do it?

1 answer
Chris
Chris

I use it to remove wrinkles from table cloths after getting them from the linen press. I hold them up and have someone run the steamer across the fold marks. Nice, neat, wrinkle-free cloth then goes straight on the table! Sheets should work equally well.

lisa

lisaasked

I have looked online at all the retailers listed on the Sunbeam website and not one of them have this product listed. Where can I buy it?

4 answers
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Lisa,
The SG1000 has been such a great seller for us that most stores have sold out, I have found one store that this has a few. Please see your DM for the link.

Sarah213
Sarah213

Can you please email me where I could buy one - jesssica@allsuburbs.com.au
Thank you

Christina S.
Christina S.

Please are you also to advise me where I can buy one? christinasesia@gmail.com

Peter S.

Peter S.asked

Could the steamer be used on curtains?

4 answers
Tania
Tania

Hi Peter! I'm sure it could, I don't have curtains but the steamer is portable so would be perfect for this. Maybe just check your curtain care instructions.

Peter S.
Peter S.

Cheers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Chris
Chris

Like Tania I have not tried on curtains yet. It is light, easy to hold for extended periods and can operate wherever there is a powerpoint so ideal in that respect.

There are four attachments and I would recommend using the lint/diffuser pad for flowing or straight curtains and the creaser for pleated curtains.

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

With its promising 4.6-star rating and affordable price of $79.95, this handheld garment steamer from Sunbeam has plenty to offer.

Features:

  • 40 second heat-up time
  • A 300 mL water tank allows this garment steamer a battery life of 18 minutes (in its most powerful setting, continuous steam mode)
  • Includes 4 accessories: Steam guard, fabric brush, lint pad and creaser

Points of praise for the Sunbeam Power Steam SG1000:

  • Heats up quickly, so you’re not standing around waiting
  • The large 300mL capacity of the water jug means you don’t have to re-fill it for every ironing session
  • Removes wrinkles in clothing quickly, once you get the hang of the technique
  • A number of reviewers stopped using their iron since buying this Sunbeam garment steamer. One satisfied reviewer commented, ‘I hate ironing, but with this, I finished a pile of shirts before I had time to start complaining.’
CategoryGarment Steamers
Price (RRP) A$79.95
Steam Output23 g/min
FeaturesVertical Steam
Water Tank Capacity300 ml
Colour / FinishMaroon
Cord Length2,500 m
Power1,400 W
Weight1.81 kg
Stand IncludedNo
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Release dateSep 2019

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9311445026830
  • MPN: SG1000

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.