??!
2 photos
Sunbeam SecretChef HP8555

Sunbeam SecretChef HP8555

MPN: 35904460
3.5 from 143 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
59
4 star
19
3 star
19
2 star
22
1 star
24

Ruthp

RuthpGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Awesome function, lousy dish

published

We have used our SecretChef maybe 25 times per year for 5 years. We love the big capacity, and ease of switching between functions. We rarely leave it on for a full day, but use it to cook casseroles, risottos, dhal, black beans etc. I am getting anxious about the pot though - this is our second one, and there's lots of scuffs on the inside surface even though we never use anything sharp in there. It's like the cheapest non-stick frypans. I need to figure out if we're ingesting anything we shouldn't be. I'd love just the same with a ceramic or steel pot.

Purchased in May 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Ruthp,
Thank you for the review, I will pass your thoughts on.


Teresa

TeresaPerth, WA

Devastated!!

published

Purchased in August 2018.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Teresa,
So sorry to hear of this. Please contact Sunbeam on 1300 881 861 and we can assist your further. Please have your purchase receipt with you. Kind Regards Sunbeam

Lisa

LisaPerth, WA

Great slow cooker, poor quality coating on pan.

published

I love this slow cooker and have cooked many meals in it, from roasts, to curries, to soups. However, the pan doesn't have a good quality teflon/non stick surface and although I take much care with it and only use non scratch utensils, it has scratched and has burnt areas. This could be a five star product but is let down by the poor quality coating on the pan. Considering the price, it should be better, no one wants teflon in their meals.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
tjr

tjrSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews

Very satisfied

published

Have not been disappointed with this product. Performs as expected,easy to use,has all features necessary to make using in a variety of ways simple and tasty. I am happy with my purchase have used many times over last few years with success and will continue to do so

Purchased in July 2013 at Myer for $139.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi tjr,
Thanks for the great review! We love it too.
Kind Regards Sunbeam


Shelly

ShellySydney, NSW

Perfect for probably 20 uses

published

Love the concept of this slow cooker as I like to prep a slow cook meal in the morning. The searing function as well as the variable controls are a great concept.
I’m very disappointed however as the Teflon has peeled away from the inner pan despite my careful choice of utensils. Another piece of landfill! Such a shame!

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Shelly,
So sorry to hear of this. Your feedback is valued and has been passed on to our product team. Kind Regards, Sunbeam


Chad

ChadSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Love the product when new.

published

Love this product when new. The sear function ensures that you can seal in the flavour of a variety of meat, caramelize onions and then cook in the juices. Use at least once per week for a variety of tasks from risotto to slow cooked curries. Am now onto my second unit and it has now died. Will still slow cook but appears element has blown as wont even heat up to the 100 degrees option. Both units have died just after running out of warranty. Highly recommend the product but wish I had longer usage given the price. Very easy to use and clean.

Purchased in March 2018 at Big W for $168.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Chad,
So sorry to hear this. Please call us on 1300 881 861 with your purchase receipt and details. Kind Regards, Sunbeam,


Non-stick paint seasoning

published

My two year old Secret Chef has been fabulous to use, but after watching the paint peel itself off progressively, I’m so disappointed that it is heading for the bin. Tonight’s cauliflower soup is one of the first light coloured dishes I’ve cooked in it; and for the first time I’m actually seeing the effect of peeling - what looks like cracked pepper but is a Teflon paint seasoning. That’s it! It’s out! I have been the only user and have only used soft utensils. Why can’t companies make something that lasts.....!
Sunbeam sound like this coating is an ongoing failure from all these identical reviews. Wish I’d read them before trusting this product.

Purchased in January 2018 at The Good Guys for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Mike, sorry to hear this. Please give us a call on 1300 881 861 to see if we can assist...


didn't listen to reviews, learning the hard way

published

i am on my second machine after claiming on the 12month warranty for peeling teflon. the replacement also peeled, to buy new insert is $70. disheartened with the Sunbeam product.

Purchased in June 2017 at David Jones Online Store for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
Gretel01

Gretel01South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Really Disappointed.

published

Purchased in June 2017 at David Jones Online Store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Gretel01, sorry to hear. Please return to store or give us a call on 1300 881 861 to see if we can assist. I know this doesn't sound like the HP8555. I cooked lamb roast yesterday for 8 hours and it was perfect

Tones

TonesRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Cooking pan teflon peels

published

Have had 3 cooking pan replacements due to the teflon blistering and peeling. The slow cooker was great for a few months but there is a fault in the pans. We are extremely careful in the care and washing of the teflon surface. Sunbeam admitted there was a problem with the pans on the first replacement and after the 3rd won't replace it, which is fair enough. Don't waste your money, which is a shame as a good cooker when it goes.

Purchased in August 2018 at The Good Guys for $135.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Webtones, sorry to hear this. Always give us a call if you would like on 1300 881 861

Tones
Tones

Liz

LizPerth, WA

Non stick comes off after a few months

published

Non stick coating started peeling off the insert after only 7 months. Contacted Sunbeam who replaced the whole unit because there was a long wait on the inserts. 16 months later and the coating is peeling off again (it was replaced in summer so has only had a few months use). Sunbeam are refusing to replace due to being out of warranty. Don’t waste your money on this product.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers

Chelle_C

Chelle_CHunter Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Hubby loves it.

published

I bought the slow cooker for my Hubby. He loves using it, you are able to sear and seal the meat first (no frypan needed). It is deep and holds lamb shanks with ease, the digital screen makes it easy to read. I have enjoyed many a meal with Sunbeams slow cooker

Purchased in July 2018 for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Chelle_C,
Thanks for the great review.!


A Speck

A SpeckSydney, NSW

It WAS loved, until recently!

published

Had our Sunbeam Secretchef for about 18 months now, and was using it weekly until recently. We love slow cooking (soup, stews), and the sear function, and timer, is super. We've had the same problem as the other reviewers though.
Despite only using silicone or wood utensils, the non stick coating is coming off in strips. We don't feel it's safe to use anymore. I've just read that a replacement insert pot costs around $70! What?! That's not reasonable for a device, even one about 18 months old.

Purchased in July 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi A Speck,
Sorry to hear of the issue with the cooking insert. Please call us on 1300 881 861 and we would be happy to assist you further.

A Speck
A Speck

As per Sunbeam's suggestion, I phoned their care team. I was delighted with the response I got - they will be replacing the unit. Thank you Sunbeam (and Clare, who helped me) for excellent customer service!


Skiibunny

SkiibunnyMid North Coast, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 12 likes

New to slow cookers

published

Just purchased my Sunbeam HP 8555 browning slow cooker. Am new to slow cookers use. Have used it once, made a stew and very happy with the browning function and cooker overall so far. Hope it continues to function this well. Will update review in 3 months. Fingers crossed it will continue to serve me well.

Date PurchasedJan 2019

Disgusted

published

Purchased in October 2018 for $135.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
Kris

Krisperth

Cooks really well. Non stick is rubbish

published

Does a great job cooking but is let down by the non stick coating which just peels off. never used anything but plastic utensils. it was a gift so i dont have the receipt and when i called customer service i got quoted $90 for a new tub. considering sunbeam is well aware this product has issues i think that is a poor effort at getting more money from a customer. you can buy the same cooker new for $130. i went and bought a slow cooker with the old clay pot for less than what sunbeam wanted for the tub. it has all the timers and you dont have to worry about health effects of coatings coming off in your food.

Date PurchasedSep 2015
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Kris, sorry to hear you were not happy with the Secretchef. We do value everyone's opinion, good or bad and will take the feedback on board..


Bron

BronTownsville

Fantastic product non stick let's it down though!

published

My slow is fantastic, however as previously mentioned the non stick coating has cracked. I only use and own plastic utensils and so am extremely disappointed in this. Especially as it is only around a year old. We have purchased the extended warranty as well. Feel like this needs to be rectified in order to make one of the best products in this range on the market!

Date PurchasedAug 2017
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Bron, sorry to hear you have this problem, not sure why this may be happening. Please return to your store of purchase or phone our Customer Care Team on 1300 881 861 so we can assist you.


Maria

Maria

  • 2 reviews

Yes great until non stick starts peeling

published

Purchased in Jul 2017 have been away for 3 months had out to cook soup then when cleaning found non stick peeling off. I have only used silicone and non stick utensils in this. Very disappointed as I have purchased a lot of Sunbeam appliances over the years and now I have a slow cooker that works and I cannot use.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

HI Maria, sorry to hear that and not sure why this has occurred. Please give our Customer Care team a call to discuss this further with you on 1300 881 861

Maria
Maria

Thank you


  • Verified purchase

Great until the non-stick starts to peel off

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017
5 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Sweet58
Sweet58
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Sweet58. I have just sent you a private message. Please respond at your earliest convenience so that I can expedite your issue!


CaroW

CaroW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

So far very happy

published

Only used my Sunbeam once, but so far very happy. Love the fact that I can brown my meat and then slow cook in the same appliance. At 5.5 L its a great size with room to cook for a family. Love the different setting options. Very easy to operate. HOpe the coating doesn’t damage as reviewed by others!

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

Gordon G.

Gordon G.asked

operating manual

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Gordon G.
Please contact us on 1300 881 861 and we can arrange a copy for you. Kind Regards, Sunbeam


DandJ

DandJasked

is this programmable- that is, can you set a timer to commence cooking at some later time?

3 answers
A Speck
A Speck

Unfortunately not. It's the one feature missing (and something we missed in an earlier slow cooker we had). It does have a "warm" function though, which stays on for around 4 hours once your food is cooked which helps.

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi DandJ,
Thank you for your question. Sorry - he HP8555 does not have this feature. Have a look at the CHP300 Express Crock XL Multi Cooker. This has a slow cooker function (amongst many others) and has a time delay function that allows you to delay the start of your cooking so that cooking finishes when you need it.
Kind Regards Sunbeam

Skiibunny
Skiibunny

No DandJ it does not have a preset progam facility which is a pity. What attracted me though was the searing capability which I find to be good and suits my purpose.


Alisonian

Alisonianasked

Has anyone had trouble with the slow cooker button not working? It won’t scroll through H to low to warm. The timer just changes. Weird. Browning button works. Annoying.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.