??!
2 photos
Sunbeam Stainless Drip Filter PC7900

Sunbeam Stainless Drip Filter PC7900

MPN: PC7900
3.3 from 72 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
14
4 star
23
3 star
13
2 star
12
1 star
10

Kris B.

Kris B.

  • 4 reviews

Great option for my home office

published

Makes great coffee and a lot of it at once so thats a bonus. The only issue I have is that it doesnt stay warm for very long and I like my coffee much hotter.

Purchased in September 2018 at Big W for $149.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Product is used: Daily
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Kris B.
Thank you for your wonderful review, we're glad your office is enjoying the Sunbeam Stainless Drip Filter PC7900! It does make great coffee so I'm sure there won't be much left over to get warm.


Wawny

WawnyHighton

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

luke warm coffee

published

After brewing, the coffee is only luke warm. The base plate is warm/hot to touch but the coffee is not. I have to microwave it to get a decent temperature.
I would like to say though, in reading some reviews, that Sunbeam are very good at responding to customers. Unusual from most large companies.

Purchased in September 2019 at Harvey Norman for $59.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
See all answers
3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Wawny
Wawny

Thank you for replying. Just after the drip process the coffee is luke warm. After 20 minutes of so, the coffee is warmed by the base plate to a decent level. I don't know if that's normal for the machine

Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

No that sounds like it is faulty to me, please do return it to Harvey Norman and request a replacement.

Lance

LancePerth, WA

Can't get parts?

published

Received this as a xmas present from my wife. While she was washing the filter basket holder, the rubber seal holding the spring and dispenser in place has come away rendering the machine redundant. I contacted Sunbeam and they say the part isn't available. Surely there is an alternative without paying half the cost of the machine for a whole new coffee basket ($30). Sunbeam, please help me to support my caffeine habit. I have barely begun my search for the perfect coffee (am loving the crema coffees).

Purchased in December 2018 at BigW for $60.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Product is used: Several times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Terry

TerryNSW, 2114

  • 15 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good machine for great price

published

Machine is easy to use and does what it is supposed to do - make drip filter coffee. Don't expect a cheap machine to make gourmet coffees as it is not really possible. This model is good and replaces my old one that was near worn out just before my wife broke the carafe. It was better to replace the old machine and this one fits the bill.
Good coffee, easily made at a great price has to make a person happy.

Purchased in June 2019 at Big W.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Product is used: Daily
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Terry,
Thank you for the fantastic review. We love it too! Kind regards, Sunbeam


Highly recommended!

published

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys for $57.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Product is used: Daily
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Sheldon,
Thanks for the great review! Enjoy :)


Kaylene Rogerson

Kaylene RogersonPort Hedland

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Perfect Morning Coffee!!

published

Great appliance. Using the timer so when I walk into the kitchen my coffee is ready to go. Keeping the coffee warm as well in case I get caught up with the kids in the morning .. love it. Temperature is great. cant complain about that. We use Gloria Jeans coffee with our machine and the flavours are amazing.. every morning. Definitely no complaints.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the great review Kaylene! We really appreciate the positive feedback.


Liss

LissNorth-West & West coast, TAS

Not as good as my old one!

published

Coffee from this machine is so watery. I brought this machine because I broke the jug on my old one (sunbeam) which was great. It also takes up way to much space on the beach, disappointed all round.

Purchased in December 2018 at Harvey Norman for $59.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Product is used: Daily
See all answers
3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Liss. Sorry to hear of the issues you are having with your product. If you find the coffee to be too watery, add more ground coffee.

Liss
Liss

Really you think!!! Coffee grounds cost money, why should I have to pay more (coffee) for a product that should work the same as it predecessor?? I have a drip filter to save money on coffee, I may as well go out to a coffee shop each morning!

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Adrian

AdrianSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Problems after two weeks of using

published

We bought a Sunbeam drip coffee machine from Harvey Norman. After two weeks the filter spring softened and the coffee started dripping over the hot plate. We had to return it but we wasted time trying to fix the issue.
The capacity is 12 cups which is too much for two people but you ca find nothing smaller or cheaper today. The coffee machine takes too much space for what it does.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Adrian. Sorry to hear of the issues you experienced. Your feedback will be passed on to our design team.

Daphne

DaphneUpper Yarra

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect Coffee Every Time

published

So happy with our Sunbeam Drip Filter Coffee machine. The timer can be set for fresh coffee in the morning it is like waking up in Paris with fresh coffee aromas drifting through the air. Best Quality and reliable and easy to clean. Compact and easy to use cold left over coffee can be frozen used in cakes at a later date.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Daphne, what a great idea for the leftover coffee, would never have thought of that !! Perfect review, thank you very much!!

Greenkat73

Greenkat73williamstown

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

This is perfect and I cannot live without it

published

So easy to use with the timer feature for fresh coffee in the morning without having to wake up. Consistent taste and always kept warm for the two hours specified. Easy to clean and has never let me down. Measurements on the jug are accurate as well with 8 cups of water producing 4 large mugs of coffee consistently.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the great review Greenkat!

Review collected in partnership with Sunbeam


Therese

ThereseWagga Wagga

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Wonderful in winter

published

We love our machine. We use 2 1/2 scoops of lavazza ground coffee to a full pot. The coffee is hot enough to drink easily. It is what we use in winter on cold mornings. It's easy to operate for both myself and my son. He wants one for Christmas this year for when he marries and leaves home soon.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

JasonF

JasonFBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent for the price

published

I bought this for coffee and it works fine. Love the programming so I can get up in the morning to fresh coffee.
My wife uses it for tea, works just as well.
The only issue is once it has gone through its cycle the hot plate temperature is not adjustable and I feel it is a bit too cold. I have to microwave my cup of whatever to get it hotter.
Other than that just fine.

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Shane

ShanePerth

  • 5 reviews

Perfect drip filter coffee at a low price

published

Wonderful space efficient design. This is a product, which at $59 has resulted in some true morning happiness. I love the ease of use, ability to set it to auto start in the morning via the clock and that I can pour mid drip and not make a mess!! Nice..

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Shane, great to see that you are enjoying your drip filter machine! Thanks for the great review!


Louise

LouiseGeelong

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Favourite Machine in the kitchen

published

Really happy with my new coffee maker, its easy to clean and happy that it doesn't require paper filters! It does require 2 spoons of coffee per cup and I am the only one in the household that uses it, it recommends that you make a minimum of 4 cups per brew so I do go through a lot of coffee.
4 cups equal to 2 coffees in my large coffee mugs. If I don't have two coffees in a row in the morning I usually put it in a thermos to keep it warm, because if you leave on the brew the coffee will burn.
it wont stay hot for long! overall i'm super happy with it and love the way it makes my kitchen smell in the morning!

Date PurchasedMay 2018
TTime

TTimemelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Budget Friendly Coffee Maker

published

I am a huge fan of drip filter coffee and I am so pleased with this. Not only does it make a great brew, it does it without wasting filter papers. I always used to run out at the worst time - no longer a problem as this has a mesh basket instead. Works great too. I put on a big generous pot of coffee in the morning and that its for the day. It has a timer too but I have never bothered about that. Its nice looking in silver and a good machine!

Date PurchasedMar 2018
ShaunD

ShaunDMelbourne

  • 15 reviews
  • 11 likes
  • Verified purchase

Affordable machine that keeps the wife happy

published

The machine is a basic no frills machine that allows you to make drip coffee. You need no paper filters. It's more environmentally friendly than a POD machine and that's the main reason why we are going to this system. My wife buys the beans from the local coffee shop and grinds the beans in the simple sunbeam grinder that we own. Have not owned it long enough to comment on long term reliability.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Cally

CallyMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Works Very Well Paper Free

published

I really enjoy this coffee maker. It works admirably and its such a relief to not have to buy filter papers (it has a wire mesh coffee basket instead). You can set the timer to make coffee later and that works well too. The actual coffee is right in the zone and it never spills or makes a mess (like m last one). I am happy with this decent looking and well performing machine

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Ex Aldi fan

Ex Aldi fan

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Sunbeam PC7900

published

I have been a Drip Coffee Machine user for 20 plus years & in that time have gone through many many machines. Purchased Sunbeam PC7900 Sept. 2016 worked as it should until April 2018. Only complaint was the brightness of the time light, didn’t set on automatic as the bright strobe light flickering effect lit up the entire kitchen which reflected back to our bedroom of a night. It was used every day but I think only lasting 19 months is not good enough.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Heidi Hill

Heidi Hill

  • 2 reviews

Good, but I don't love it

published

Comes with a wire mesh basket and instructions say you can't use filter papers with it. This is disappointing because it makes it difficult and time consuming to clean out, but you don't have the ongoing expense of papers. Still I would have prefered paper for easy clean up! Also the time on the clock needs to be set every single time, unless you leave the power on continually. Would be good if there was a battery backup to maintain the time when you turn the machine on again. Having said that the machine does work well and is easy to use.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Sippy

SippyMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Just How i like It

published

I prefer American style drip coffee which is bad luck because I live Melbourne, the home of espresso, lattes and macchiatos. Everything except regular drip coffee.
The Sunbeam drip filter is an excellent machine and delivers exactly what I want. Operation is so easy. Its got a wire coffee basket instead of needing paper filters. You fill it with coffee, check the water and hit the switch. That's it.
Looks great in the kitchen with its modern stainless steel design. Very happy wit it.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Andre v.

Andre v.asked

Can this machine make one cup of coffee? I seldom make more than two in a morning.
many thanks

4 answers
Wawny
Wawny

It claims to be a 12 cup machine, but it's only 6 Aussie cup size! I haven't tried a single aussie size cup but don't see why not.

Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Andrev.
You can but you will have to manually start and stop the machine because our auto is set to a minimum of two cups.

To brew coffee in a coffee maker, first fill the reservoir with water. Use about 180 mL of water for every cup of coffee you want to make. Next, put a filter in the basket located under the lid of the coffee maker. Measure 1-2 tablespoons of coffee grounds per cup of coffee into the filter, depending on how strong you like your coffee.

Press the ON/AUTO/OFF button once. Water will start to drip through into the carafe.

Once all the water has dripped through and the water tank is empty, press the ON/AUTO/OFF button twice. This will turn the appliance off.

Kris B.
Kris B.

Absolutley. There's a measuring guide on the side of the water tank that will let you put in your own amount of water. Just need to adjust your coffee amount accordingly too. As mentioned above, 2 cup minimum.


Melva T S.

Melva T S.asked

I would like to know why my coffee tastes metallic and is luke warm? My machine is new, I followed all the initial instructions and ran just water through the system a couple of times and still the coffee tastes terrible. I have even used different brands of coffee and it still tastes metallic. Im so disappointed!

2 answers
Terry
Terry

Likely a faulty machine. Best to return.

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

HI Melva T S,
Please return to store for a replacement


Holly W.

Holly W.asked

I have been given a machine, everything seems to work ok, the water in the reservoir heats up but it doesn't get drawn through into the coffee, it just boils away and does nothing else. Is there something I am doing wrong?

3 answers
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Holly W.,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam. You may have to jiggle or re-position the glass jug by turning it. Please also check the filter basket in inserted securely. Any further issues please call Customer Care on 1300 881 861. Kind Regards Sunbeam

Holly W.
Holly W.

Hi Sunbeam, the water isnt getting drawn up through the straw and out the end of the spout thing that pours the water onto the coffee.
Thanks

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Holly W ,
Thank you for your response. If purchased within the last 12 months and you can get the receipt from the person whom gifted it to you, please return to the store of purchase for a replacement. Otherwise please call Sunbeam on 1300 881 861. Kind Regards, Sunbeam


Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.