??!

See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


I officially love this car!

Still early days (only had a couple of months), but the Suzuki S-Cross may well be the best car I have owned ... Easy on the eye, pleasant to drive, super comfortable seats, good seat height, very economical (5.7 Litres Per 100k on a trip, 6.4 Litres Per 100k in town) ... Purchased the All-Grip, 1.6 Litre Engine, Auto Transmission ... The car is an ideal solution for our needs around town, or on a long trip to see family and friends ... The engine purrs along at 2,000 RPM at 100 kph, then needs a few more revs to climb the hills but is perfectly adequate and has enough power for our usage requirements ... Boot space is huge for this size of vehicle and back seat room is great for adults ... So far, I can't fault it ... Expecting to own and enjoy for many years to come ... Hope this review helps someone.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Great family car

I bought a used Suzuki S-Cross (2014) from a dealer for my wife. This is a great family car. We have used it for road trips across three states and two territories. It is economical to run. For an SUV, it consumes a little of petrol, quite comparable to many small cars. We also like the iPod and Bluetooth connectivity.

BadgeGL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014

Coca Cola Can On 4 Wheels

I test drove a Suzuki S Cross the other day and now I know what that old saying - "Coca Cola can On 4 Wheels" means. I also know now what the other old saying of "Packed In To A Sardine Can" means too after driving this car.
It may very well be reliable and smooth however, it feels cheap and light and I would worry if a strong wind came along as it would probably blow the car away. Definitely a car for fire fighters to own as everything is combustible plastic !.

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

This is the Super Hornet of light SUVs. Very good at almost everything!!!

We used to own an Alto which we drove for 161000 kms with no break-downs, before we had our second baby. We sold it and moved up to the S-cross as it was a safer option and we wanted tondrive without the seat folded down to accommodate a pram.

We looked at Xtrail, but it was $33000 and chewed a lot more fuel than the Alto. I stumbled across the S-cross at the Suzuki dealership. I'd ever seen one. It is a unique car and I immediately noticed the huge size of the pod and back seat leg room space. The boot is also huge. I measured it and found it was the perfect size for 2 children and 2 adults over long distances. We have since driven from Canberra to Melbourne twice, to Adelaide, Ballarat, Sydney (several times), Gold Coast and Brisbane multiple times, to Wollongong and Townsville. All without missing a beat.

I got my car as an ex-company rep's car. It had only been owned by Suzuki Australia, before us. I managed to get them down to $16,000 with a full warranty until December 2020. A great deal.

The things we love about the car are the interior space. Both front and back passengers have lots of space. The boot is gigantic and also has an underfloor space. We like that the car sits high when compared to normal cars, but is slightly lower than other suv's. The back is higher than the front and so it is easy to get the kids in and out. But this is a real suv from the ground up, not a car on stilts. The chasis is properly engineered so handling is very good. We love the economy. We diliberately chose the cvt auto and we achieve as love as 5.6L per 100kms on the highway. Amazing for quite a big car. We like the car's stability control. It accurately tried to hold the road (successfully) whilst dodging a wild pig which ran across the highway near Coffs Harbour. We like that there are nearly no other S-crosses around, making it easy to find in the carpark. We like fixed price servicing. They've always done a good job so far. We like the great tyres. We like not being able to feel gear changes, mainly because this car has no real gears.

There isn't much we don't like. Many people find cvt's unusual, in that the engine revs will just change by themselves in an attempt to save fuel, no-matter where you are. But if you just see it in terms of car speed, this doesn't actually change. Going up hills, the S-cross can stick you to the back of your seat. You can feel like you're about to take off, but the speedometre will just read the correct speed. We actually like this. Unlike most cars, S-cross will just go up to 4000rpms instead of trying to hold a gear. We save oodles of money on hills. You do need to be aware though that the Suzuki will not drop 1kph up hills under cruise control, so in places like the Adelaide Hills, you can close on other vehicles very rapidly. 1 thing inexperienced drivers may find difficult is the cvt's wish to change to a harder setting on windy icy roads going up hill. You can control this with your foot and just feeling the engine revs. I once diliberately let it slip, but the traction control caught it a split second later and adjusted the wheels to regain traction.

Overall, we love this car and are glad we found it. It does almost everyhing well and is cheap to own and run. An extremely good all rounder.

BadgeGL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016

S-Cross Turbo great little SUV

The new Turbo S-Cross is a really well optioned small SUV at under $30k. The 1.4 Turbo is a delight with plenty of spirit and very good fuel economy. We were thinking of the Mitsubishi ASX but the S-Cross is a much nicer drive and a better all round package.

We have only done a few thousand ks but all the drivers in the family are really liking this car. Its fun to drive. The technology is good too with Apple Play, Sat Nav, rear camera and sensors.

The car looks cool too with a new aggressive grill that is reminiscent of a BMW. So far we love this little SUV.

BadgeS-Cross Turbo Prestige
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Fantastic Car

Suzuki S-Cross is our second Suzuki car, before that we had a Grand Vitara for 10 years and now it is with our daughter. The Scross is a wonderful car, has all the gadgets one can think of plus it is a smooth ride more importantly is the service. The dealer at Gosford is one of the best in this business

Purchased in February 2016 at Brian Hilton - Gosford.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Smooth and Reliable

Bought as a demo car from dealer in 2014, so far no issues , done 50,000 Km , in city and country roads , trips 500km in one day , no issue, handles well, good economy , services at dealer shop not that expensive , interior is not that flashy, excellent Boot space , After folding back two seats , I managed to shift my whole house , does the job in its capacity.

I commute to job and back everyday roughly 70km everyday , on freeway it handles well, so far no surprises , it's giving 20km\L on Continental but it can improve if better tires are used.

One thing I noticed that after fueling it with 98 Octane fuel, pick up and handling improves a lot and you will love this car more.

BadgeGL
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2014

Drives smoothly and is reliable

My first time to own a Suzuki and surprisingly very good. This model is so easy to drive and very economical, lots of leg room, a large boot which is perfect to carry all my stuff, and sturdy. I was wary at first because the previous cars I owned were all Toyota. I just thought I'd try to get out of my Toyota comfort zone. I'm very happy with the S-Cross. It's a pity they don't market it as much as the other big car names.

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014

Great reliable vehicle

The Suzuki S-Cross performs very well and is easy to handle. It is an ideal City vehicle but we have also travelled long distances and found it to be very comfortable. The interior is simple but functional with adequate legroom. This car has been very reliable and economical, it also has sufficient luggage room for a family of four.

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic

S cross GLX allgrip 1.6 petrol cvt

Before i first drove the car for the first time i was skeptical of how the 1.6 would perform.
While not a powerhouse is quite good and does the job fine. I bought the car then and there based on how solid it felt ,features,roominess and Suzukis reputation for reliability. I am very happy with it so far, economical, comfortable and so far reliable.
Would recommend to anyone looking for a vehicle that can do most things easily,except ofcourse as mentioned,if looking for performance vehicle go elsewhere.

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic

My first Suzuki - wont be my last

Ok, so its only a month old and naturally nothing has gone wrong with it. Its compact enough for city use and has all the bells 'n whistles like Reversing camera and beepers, sat nav, auto wipers/lights etc.
Heaps of room inside. Previous car was a Mazda3 but we wanted more economy this time.
Fuel use computer says its achieving approx 6lt/100km combined use.
It is the S-Cross Ltd (NZ model)

Badge0
TransmissionAutomatic

Excellent suv

What a real surprise!!. I had a 10 year old corolla and was looking at another. Looked at ASX, TRAX, JUKE etc too. My 2014 GLX Suzie is Just a dream to drive. Quiet, nippy, SUZUKI solid and room for 4 adults plus a big boot. Fuel economy amazing 5.3 L/100KM city and 4.6L/100Km Highway. I had the chrome pack fitted and it really stands out from the crowd. Would i buy another Suzuki ABSOLUTELY!! It's a shame the media doesn't push Suzuki's over Toyota's, Mazda's!!

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic

Great Car

I purchased mine about 6 months ago, upgraded from a Barina (piece of junk) . And I love mine, I got the premium stereo etc so has the media connectivity and blue tooth etc. Really zippy, which is great, but still good on fuel I get about 8 L/100km. but I'm a bit of a lead foot... the white metallic that i got, stays looking good without cleaning it regularly. all in all I love it.
Looks good, zippy, good fuel economy
a little over priced in comparison.


Suzuki great motor car

Very happy with this surprising car we had a ford fiesta but it was a bit too small low on the ground and basically fell apart.
The suzuki has more standard appointments than our kluger navigation folding mirrors for parking, comfortable sits high for good visibility .
Can't fault the finish,everything works sturdy construction .
We looked at the Corolla but it looked a bit too low for safety.
All in all very happy.
Ticks all the boxes

Questions & Answers

What is the difference between Suzuki S-Cross GL and GLX? Thanks
No answers

Have a sx4 and the infotainment head deck touch screen will work in some spots and not in others. Dealership it’s not covered under warranty. Do you think there’s a chance it’s loose wires or faulty? Thanks
No answers

I have a 6 mi th old Suzuki across and blue tooth has suddenly stopped working. How can I fix this ?
1 answer
Should still be under warranty. Call the dealer.

Details

S-Cross JY TurboS-Cross JY Turbo PrestigeS-Cross JY GLS-Cross JY GL NavigatorS-Cross JY GLXS-Cross JY GLX Prestige
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Prestige Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars
Doors555555
Seats555555
Fuel Consumption5.9 L/100km5.9 L/100km5.8 L/100km5.8 L/100km6.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power103 @ 5500rpm103 @ 5500rpm86kW @ 6000rpm86kW @ 6000rpm86kW @ 6000rpm86kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque220Nm @ 1500-4000rpm220Nm @ 1500-4000rpm156Nm @ 4400rpm156Nm @ 4400rpm156Nm @ 4400rpm156Nm @ 4400rpm
Country of ManufactureHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungary
Safety Features ABS (Antilock Braking System), ESC (Electronic Stability Control), ISO-fix Compatible, Reversing Camera and Traction ControlABS (Antilock Braking System), ESC (Electronic Stability Control), ISO-fix Compatible, Reversing Camera and Traction Control
Extra Features Android Auto / Apple Carplay, Bluetooth Connectivity, Built-In Navigation System, Dual Zone Air Conditioning, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, Telescoping Steering Wheel and Voice ControlAdjustable Pedals, Android Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Headlights, Automatic Wipers, Bluetooth Connectivity, Built-In Navigation System, Dual Zone Air Conditioning, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, Telescoping Steering Wheel and Voice Control
Ground Clearance180 mm180 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2016Dec 2013Jan 2016Dec 2013Dec 2013
Discontinuation dateDec 2016Dec 2016Dec 2016Dec 2016

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.