??!
4 photos
Suzuki S-Cross JY

Suzuki S-Cross JY (2013-2019)

Also referred to as: Suzuki S-Cross JY 2018 and Suzuki S-Cross JY 2020. Turbo Prestige (2016-2019), Turbo (2016-2019), GL Navigator (2016), GL (2013-2016), GLX Prestige (2013-2016) and GLX (2013-2016)
4.6 from 14 reviews

See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
11
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1

I officially love this car!

published

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

ade

adeMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great family car

published

I bought a used Suzuki S-Cross (2014) from a dealer for my wife. This is a great family car. We have used it for road trips across three states and two territories. It is economical to run. For an SUV, it consumes a little of petrol, quite comparable to many small cars. We also like the iPod and Bluetooth connectivity.

BadgeGL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014
Fair Go

Fair GoFair Suck, Of The Saveloy

  • 21 reviews
  • 214 likes

Coca Cola Can On 4 Wheels

published

I test drove a Suzuki S Cross the other day and now I know what that old saying - "Coca Cola can On 4 Wheels" means. I also know now what the other old saying of "Packed In To A Sardine Can" means too after driving this car.
It may very well be reliable and smooth however, it feels cheap and light and I would worry if a strong wind came along as it would probably blow the car away. Definitely a car for fire fighters to own as everything is combustible plastic !.

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
johnno555

johnno555AU

  • 9 reviews
  • 11 likes

This is the Super Hornet of light SUVs. Very good at almost everything!!!

published
BadgeGL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016

IJK

IJKMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

S-Cross Turbo great little SUV

published

The new Turbo S-Cross is a really well optioned small SUV at under $30k. The 1.4 Turbo is a delight with plenty of spirit and very good fuel economy. We were thinking of the Mitsubishi ASX but the S-Cross is a much nicer drive and a better all round package.

We have only done a few thousand ks but all the drivers in the family are really liking this car. Its fun to drive. The technology is good too with Apple Play, Sat Nav, rear camera and sensors.

The car looks cool too with a new aggressive grill that is reminiscent of a BMW. So far we love this little SUV.

BadgeS-Cross Turbo Prestige
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Dodzee

DodzeeSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 29 reviews
  • 24 likes

Fantastic Car

published

Suzuki S-Cross is our second Suzuki car, before that we had a Grand Vitara for 10 years and now it is with our daughter. The Scross is a wonderful car, has all the gadgets one can think of plus it is a smooth ride more importantly is the service. The dealer at Gosford is one of the best in this business

Purchased in February 2016 at Brian Hilton - Gosford.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Vicky

VickyMelbourne

Smooth and Reliable

published

Bought as a demo car from dealer in 2014, so far no issues , done 50,000 Km , in city and country roads , trips 500km in one day , no issue, handles well, good economy , services at dealer shop not that expensive , interior is not that flashy, excellent Boot space , After folding back two seats , I managed to shift my whole house , does the job in its capacity.

I commute to job and back everyday roughly 70km everyday , on freeway it handles well, so far no surprises , it's giving 20km\L on Continental but it can improve if better tires are used.

One thing I noticed that after fueling it with 98 Octane fuel, pick up and handling improves a lot and you will love this car more.

BadgeGL
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2014

Drives smoothly and is reliable

published

My first time to own a Suzuki and surprisingly very good. This model is so easy to drive and very economical, lots of leg room, a large boot which is perfect to carry all my stuff, and sturdy. I was wary at first because the previous cars I owned were all Toyota. I just thought I'd try to get out of my Toyota comfort zone. I'm very happy with the S-Cross. It's a pity they don't market it as much as the other big car names.

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014
May

MayCanberra

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great reliable vehicle

published

The Suzuki S-Cross performs very well and is easy to handle. It is an ideal City vehicle but we have also travelled long distances and found it to be very comfortable. The interior is simple but functional with adequate legroom. This car has been very reliable and economical, it also has sufficient luggage room for a family of four.

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Peter l

Peter l

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

S cross GLX allgrip 1.6 petrol cvt

published

Before i first drove the car for the first time i was skeptical of how the 1.6 would perform.
While not a powerhouse is quite good and does the job fine. I bought the car then and there based on how solid it felt ,features,roominess and Suzukis reputation for reliability. I am very happy with it so far, economical, comfortable and so far reliable.
Would recommend to anyone looking for a vehicle that can do most things easily,except ofcourse as mentioned,if looking for performance vehicle go elsewhere.

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic

Stevo

Stevo

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

My first Suzuki - wont be my last

published

Ok, so its only a month old and naturally nothing has gone wrong with it. Its compact enough for city use and has all the bells 'n whistles like Reversing camera and beepers, sat nav, auto wipers/lights etc.
Heaps of room inside. Previous car was a Mazda3 but we wanted more economy this time.
Fuel use computer says its achieving approx 6lt/100km combined use.
It is the S-Cross Ltd (NZ model)

Badge0
TransmissionAutomatic

Peter B

Peter BPointcook

Excellent suv

published

What a real surprise!!. I had a 10 year old corolla and was looking at another. Looked at ASX, TRAX, JUKE etc too. My 2014 GLX Suzie is Just a dream to drive. Quiet, nippy, SUZUKI solid and room for 4 adults plus a big boot. Fuel economy amazing 5.3 L/100KM city and 4.6L/100Km Highway. I had the chrome pack fitted and it really stands out from the crowd. Would i buy another Suzuki ABSOLUTELY!! It's a shame the media doesn't push Suzuki's over Toyota's, Mazda's!!

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic

Narelle80

Narelle80Perth

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Car

published

I purchased mine about 6 months ago, upgraded from a Barina (piece of junk) . And I love mine, I got the premium stereo etc so has the media connectivity and blue tooth etc. Really zippy, which is great, but still good on fuel I get about 8 L/100km. but I'm a bit of a lead foot... the white metallic that i got, stays looking good without cleaning it regularly. all in all I love it.
Looks good, zippy, good fuel economy
a little over priced in comparison.


Ian Burrell

Ian BurrellSydney

  • 13 reviews
  • 14 likes

Suzuki great motor car

published

Very happy with this surprising car we had a ford fiesta but it was a bit too small low on the ground and basically fell apart.
The suzuki has more standard appointments than our kluger navigation folding mirrors for parking, comfortable sits high for good visibility .
Can't fault the finish,everything works sturdy construction .
We looked at the Corolla but it looked a bit too low for safety.
All in all very happy.
Ticks all the boxes

Questions & Answers

Stephanie

Stephanieasked

I live where I have to go over hills all the time, would you recommend this car? It doesn't seem great for that..

2 answers
publicsp
publicsp

If you are constantly driving over hills, I would go for the 1400cc Turbo versus the 1600cc naturally aspirated engine. Both are great motors, the turbo will cope with the hills easier. Hope this helps you.

Fair Go
Fair Go

If your heart is set on a 4wheel Coca Cola can, I agree the 1.4L turbo is better however, a used Jeep Grand Cherokee with a V6 for the same or similar price will devour hills, but then again, anything with a 6 or 8 cylinder engine will. bye


bhoomi

bhoomiasked

What is the difference between Suzuki S-Cross GL and GLX?

Thanks

No answers

Josh T

Josh Tasked

Have a sx4 and the infotainment head deck touch screen will work in some spots and not in others. Dealership it’s not covered under warranty. Do you think there’s a chance it’s loose wires or faulty? Thanks

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Suzuki representatives

Details

Suzuki S-Cross JY GLX Prestige
  • Discontinued

Suzuki S-Cross JY GLX Prestige (2013-2016)

1 review
Suzuki S-Cross JY GLX
  • Discontinued

Suzuki S-Cross JY GLX (2013-2016)

No reviews
Suzuki S-Cross JY GL Navigator
  • Discontinued

Suzuki S-Cross JY GL Navigator (2016)

No reviews
Suzuki S-Cross JY GL
  • Discontinued

Suzuki S-Cross JY GL (2013-2016)

No reviews
Suzuki S-Cross JY Turbo Prestige

Suzuki S-Cross JY Turbo Prestige (2016-2019)

No reviews
Suzuki S-Cross JY Turbo

Suzuki S-Cross JY Turbo (2016-2019)

No reviews
CategorySmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVs
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy17" Prestige Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors555555
Seats555555
Fuel Consumption6.2 L/100km5.8 L/100km5.8 L/100km5.9 L/100km5.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L
Max Power86kW @ 6000rpm86kW @ 6000rpm86kW @ 6000rpm86kW @ 6000rpm103kW @ 5500rpm103kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque156Nm @ 4400rpm156Nm @ 4400rpm156Nm @ 4400rpm156Nm @ 4400rpm220Nm @ 1500-4000rpm220Nm @ 1500-4000rpm
Country of ManufactureHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungary
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Adjustable Pedals
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance180 mm180 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateDec 2013Dec 2013Jan 2016Dec 2013Jan 2016Jan 2016
Discontinuation dateDec 2016Dec 2016Dec 2016Dec 2016

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.