??!
1 photo
Suzuki Vitara

Suzuki Vitara (2015-2019)

Also referred to as: Suzuki Vitara 2018 and Suzuki Vitara 2020. LY Series II (2019) and LY (2015-2018)
4.1 from 32 reviews

See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
16
4 star
10
3 star
2
2 star
2
1 star
2

BRENDA RANDALL

BRENDA RANDALL

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

suzuki vitara

published

best car i have ever owned, love it, easy to get in and out of, smooth ride, love the two tone colour, key less was not necessary i feel, but its there so ok, mechanical is runs quietly and has the power , also have taken on 4wd track, went wonderfully, no complaints,

Purchased in June 2019 at Suzuki Dealers for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Wolf 1515

Wolf 1515Launceston, TAS

  • 12 reviews
  • 6 likes

Perfect Car

published

I love this car and you cant ask for anything more for the amazing price. Its easy to park and has plenty of boot space, being a music freak the only disappointment in that area is there is no CD player. Although I love this car the fuel economy is really bad, it does not cope with inclines of any type and its the worst automatic I have ever driven, it revs out and hates to change gears. All in all the look and features of the car are second to none, but don't get an auto, it will let you down.

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jeanette S.

Jeanette S.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Packed with excitement!

published

I use this car everday for work and also for looking after the grandchildren. I like Suzukis in general just for the internal space they provide for strollers, luggage etc.
I absolutely love the turbo boost on this vehicle it really gets you up those hills and in and out of traffic. It has also pulled our trailer for camping without any worries.
There is a wide range of colours but I couldn't go past the turquoise pearl metallic.
This vehicle is serviced regularly with no unusual findings and continues to breeze along with its rear parking camera, usb connection and other perks.

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kyla

KylaAdelaide

  • 2 reviews

Love my Vitara - everything you need

published

Bought brand new in Aug 2018 as our new family every day car. I am so happy with it mechanically, tech wise and looks. The Vitara has everything you need and at a very reasonable/affordable price. Drives well long distances and is easy to get up step inclines without too much lag. Fuel consumption has been amazing as well. It offers great cabin and boot space with comfy seats. Absolutley would buy again and will be recommending the dealership again and again!

BadgeRT-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
DriveFWD

Christie K

Christie KHunter Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews

I love my car

published

I love my car it’s my everything but I must say it doesn’t pick up spend well if you are trying to pick up speed on the smallest of inclines the car cannot cope and revs high!! And the fuel economy has not been great after the first 12 months.

BadgeRT-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
DriveFWD

niko87

niko87Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 84 reviews
  • 32 likes

Excellent car - simple and you cannot beat it for value

published
BadgeRT-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2018
DriveFWD

con

conmelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

great car but auto transmission rough changing from first to second

published

2015 rts 1.6 lt have been happy so far car runs a lot better with 95 octane fuel . Only issue i have had is a rough gear change from first to second when driving hard. Wonder if this normal would love to know if anyone else has this issue.

BadgeRT-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
1 comment
con
con

Update booked it in to Suzuki dealer they did a software update now its silky smooth again


deepmead

deepmeadBLAKEHURST

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

complete city sub compact SUV

published

bought after having grand vitara for six years. only issue with grand vitara was fuel efficiency and my vitara is the answer for that. not a 4 wheel drive but fun to drive and easy to park. and good with goodies like reverse parking and sat nav. its fun to move around city. i manage to get 15 km / liter on my way to work and back and 13-15 km/liter on busy sydney roads and 17-19km/liter on highways. negative point is its not a car for over take or speedy moving but its worth the cost. and very soft on wallet by seldom trips to fuel station

Badge1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Raj

Raj

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

The car quality is very poor and Oakleigh customer service is worst

published

Wrongly decided to buy this car as the quality of material is very poor. Some of the parts broken as soon as i bought it. Went to the service center to get replaced and they were not happy and raised the issue with Suzuki Australia. Then the service center agreed to replace but after few weeks the same part broken again. I am fed up making complaint again.

BadgeS Turbo 2WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
John

JohnAdelaide

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best Value SUV Out There

published
BadgeRT-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Amber Wilkie

Amber Wilkie

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Really happy with it

published

For a fairly inexpensive small SUV I'm happy. It drives smoothly, but sometimes takes a second to turn on. Really annoying that the lights don't automatically go off when I turn the car off. The handling is good. Pretty noisy to drive on the freeway and not a lot of guts but it's a small engine and very petrol efficient to that's to be expected.

BadgeRT-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

I drove this car since new it was a pig

published

This car was was in need of wheel alignment but was told by Crick's service it was OK
Wrong . I get services done by auto leaders now cheaper and better. This car now goes well
Better services and wheel alignment. It took 3 years to have a decent car but will never recommend susuki

Badge982 tyh
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2015

Cait

CaitNewcastle

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love it

published

A great car. Very zippy and easy to get around town in and comfortable for longer drives as well. I love the techninc rear parking camera and sensor and the entertainment system. Boot is a little small. Feels bigger inside than it looks. A stylish car, good for kids .

BadgeS Turbo 4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Brad N

Brad NPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Beautiful to drive!

published

This is the car of my dreams! It is an absolute joy to drive and I actually enjoying driving when I am in this car! The leather interior is stunning and has all the bells and whistles you could dream of! Extremely reliable so far while being fuel efficient and cheap to service as per the Suzuki service plan!

BadgeS Turbo 2WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Maddi

MaddiPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great Car with loads of power

published
BadgeS Turbo 2WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Dhiraj

DhirajBrisbane

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

All features of costly cars in Economical price

published
BadgeGL+
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Robbie j

Robbie j

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great little SUV.

published

I purchased this almost 1 year ago. so good on fuel in town and quiet and smooth on the highway. I have never had an issue with in. I like how you can personalise the inside to match the outside. Suzuki are great reliable cars and this is one of there best.

BadgeRT-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Cathy1175

Cathy1175Kambah 2902, ACT

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

A happy year

published

We bought the car 10 months ago and have congratulated ourselves constantly since.
We bought the turbo and she is light, economical and when you put your foot down, she lifts her skirts and goes!
Drivers height good. Access good. Servicing costs good. A few cute custom options available. We chose the inside trim accents. Plus the turbo comes with leather trim seats.
Plenty of room front and back. Seats are comfortable.
My single complaint is that the steering wheel obscures the indicator/light lever. But as everything is automatic, life is good.
Best car I've owned. Suits small family or people with pets.

BadgeS Turbo 2WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Alan

AlanBallina

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Practical, well-built and economical

published
BadgeRT-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Fault finding the engine over reving.

published

Have only had minor problems with a/c which refuses to be diagnosed despite plenty attempts to resolve. Leaks big time into passenger seats floor. Now experiencing over revving when accelerating after changing gears. The cruise control now is not working since this problem commenced, they be related, however, may not be

BadgeS Turbo 4WD
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2010

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

H Norton

H Nortonasked

how does the 1.6l compae with the earlier 2.4l motors

No answers

Jane

Janeasked

Vitara LY

Is there a big difference in performance between the rt-s and s turbo models?

1 answer
niko87
niko87

there is HUGE! difference. the RT-S is only good for the city and you have to rev it past over 4,000RPM to get any performance out of it. The TURBO is way punchier, more torque and acceleration. But if you are only driving in the suburbs the 1.6L is adequate for most people (The TURBO is an overkill for city driving in my opinion). However there is also a huge hike in price for the Turbo also.


Emma

Emmaasked

Vitara LY

How much will it cost me to fill with you for a Suzuki grand vitara 2 door 2019 model ?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Suzuki representatives

Details

Suzuki Vitara LY Series II (No Badge) Automatic

Suzuki Vitara LY Series II (No Badge) Automatic (2019)

No reviews
Suzuki Vitara LY Series II (No Badge) Manual

Suzuki Vitara LY Series II (No Badge) Manual (2019)

No reviews
Suzuki Vitara LY Series II Vitara Turbo

Suzuki Vitara LY Series II Vitara Turbo (2019)

No reviews
Suzuki Vitara LY Series II Vitara Turbo Allgrip

Suzuki Vitara LY Series II Vitara Turbo Allgrip (2019)

No reviews
Suzuki Vitara LY GL+ Manual
  • Discontinued

Suzuki Vitara LY GL+ Manual (2015-2018)

No reviews
Suzuki Vitara LY GL+ Automatic
  • Discontinued

Suzuki Vitara LY GL+ Automatic (2015-2018)

1 review
Suzuki Vitara LY GLX 4WD, 1.6L Petrol
  • Discontinued

Suzuki Vitara LY GLX 4WD, 1.6L Petrol (2015-2016)

No reviews
Suzuki Vitara LY GLX 4WD, 1.6L Diesel
  • Discontinued

Suzuki Vitara LY GLX 4WD, 1.6L Diesel (2016-2018)

No reviews
Suzuki Vitara LY RT-S Manual
  • Discontinued

Suzuki Vitara LY RT-S Manual (2015-2018)

No reviews
Suzuki Vitara LY RT-S Automatic
  • Discontinued

Suzuki Vitara LY RT-S Automatic (2015-2018)

13 reviews
Suzuki Vitara LY RT-X 4WD, 1.6L Petrol
  • Discontinued

Suzuki Vitara LY RT-X 4WD, 1.6L Petrol (2015)

No reviews
Suzuki Vitara LY RT-X 4WD, 1.6L Diesel
  • Discontinued

Suzuki Vitara LY RT-X 4WD, 1.6L Diesel (2016-2018)

No reviews
Suzuki Vitara LY S Turbo 4WD, 1.4L Petrol, Automatic
  • Discontinued

Suzuki Vitara LY S Turbo 4WD, 1.4L Petrol, Automatic (2016-2018)

6 reviews
Suzuki Vitara LY S Turbo 2WD, 1.4L Petrol, Automatic
  • Discontinued

Suzuki Vitara LY S Turbo 2WD, 1.4L Petrol, Automatic (2016-2018)

7 reviews
CategorySmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVs
Starting Price $23,990$23,990$30,990$34,990
TransmissionAutomaticManualManualAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD) and Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD) and Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD) and Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolDieselPetrolPetrolPetrolDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors55555555555555
Seats55555555555555
Fuel Consumption6 L/100km5.8 L/100km5.9 L/100km6.2 L/100km5.8 L/100km6 L/100km6.3 L/100km4.9 L/100km5.8 L/100km6 L/100km6.3 L/100km4.9 L/100km6.2 L/100km5.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L
Max Power86kW @ 6000rpm86kW @ 6000rpm103kW @ 5500rpm103kW @ 5500rpm86kW @ 6000rpm86kW @ 6000rpm86kW @ 6000rpm86kW @ 6000rpm86kW @ 6000rpm86kW @ 6000rpm86kW @ 6000rpm88kW @ 3750rpm103kW @ 5500rpm103kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque156Nm @ 4400rpm156Nm @ 4400rpm220Nm @ 1500-4000rpm220Nm @ 1500-4000rpm156Nm @ 4400rpm156Nm @ 4400rpm156Nm @ 4400rpm320Nm @ 1750rpm156Nm @ 4400rpm156Nm @ 4400rpm156Nm @ 4400rpm320Nm @ 1750rpm220Nm @ 1500-4000rpm220Nm @ 1500-4000rpm
Country of ManufactureHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungary
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance185 mm185 mm185 mm185 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2019Jan 2019Jan 2019Jan 2019Sep 2015Sep 2015Sep 2015Jan 2016Sep 2015Sep 2015Sep 2015Jan 2016Apr 2016Apr 2016
Discontinuation dateDec 2018Dec 2018Dec 2016Dec 2018Dec 2018Dec 2018Dec 2015Dec 2018Dec 2018Dec 2018
Replaced bySuzuki Vitara LY Series IISuzuki Vitara LY Series IISuzuki Vitara LY Series IISuzuki Vitara LY Series IISuzuki Vitara LY Series IISuzuki Vitara LY Series IISuzuki Vitara LY Series IISuzuki Vitara LY Series IISuzuki Vitara LY Series IISuzuki Vitara LY Series II

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.