??!
1 photo
Suzuki Vitara

Suzuki Vitara (2015-2019)

LY Series II (2019) and LY (2015-2018)
4.1 from 29 reviews

See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Love my Vitara - everything you need

Bought brand new in Aug 2018 as our new family every day car. I am so happy with it mechanically, tech wise and looks. The Vitara has everything you need and at a very reasonable/affordable price. Drives well long distances and is easy to get up step inclines without too much lag. Fuel consumption has been amazing as well. It offers great cabin and boot space with comfy seats. Absolutley would buy again and will be recommending the dealership again and again!

BadgeRT-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
DriveFWD

I love my car

I love my car it’s my everything but I must say it doesn’t pick up spend well if you are trying to pick up speed on the smallest of inclines the car cannot cope and revs high!! And the fuel economy has not been great after the first 12 months.

BadgeRT-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
DriveFWD

Excellent car - simple and you cannot beat it for value

This car is by no means a performance SUV the 1.6L Is just adequate for city driving and it will not complain if you push it. If you need any more performance than that you need to be looking at the 1.4L Turbo. The price for what you get is hands down the BEST value small SUV on the market. The closest in price was the Mitsubishi ASX but it was thirsty, ancient, heavy and that horrible CVT auto is subpar.

One thing that the Vitara excels at and a lot of people complain about in modern cars is visibility, is that it has excellent visibility all around with big windows! It is so easy to park and drive around the city!

The Suzuki has a good conventional auto and it is an excellent little unit, gear changes are smooth and it is very responsive from the get-go.

It has inclusions that feel ''premium" and most other brands WILL NOT give you in their entry level variants; such as LED running lights, GPS, reverse camera, paddle shifters (for the auto), nice looking alloy wheels, darker privacy rear windows and even LED welcome illumination on the front driver's and passenger's foot wells (Mazda charges over $200 just for the welcome illumination!)

The infotainment is excellent, the touch screen is very responsive and it comes with standard android auto/apple car play. I am comparing this to the horrible MAZDA MZD Infotainment system which is laggy, outdated and the touch screen cannot be used once the car is moving! Oh and they will charge you $500 for Android auto/Apple carplay (Shame on you Mazda)

The speakers are only average but for the audiophiles there is an premium upgrade speaker option!

The interior is very simplistic but very well thought out with ample space for what it is and excellent rear leg and headroom for its class which is better than a MAzda CX-3 or a Hyundai Kona (And those cars are more expensive).

Boot space is also one of the largest of its class (375L vs Kona 361L) which is a plus for a small family and it has the added dual floor for extra storage underneath!

IT has accessories galore and even though a lot are very expensive at least you get the option to customize your vehicle

The warranty is 5 years which is a plus but there is a catch - you need to have all the services done by a Suzuki dealer otherwise it reverts to a standard 3 yr

Service intervals are very short 10,000 or 6 months - for those who do not do many Kms like myself it means I will have to visit the dealership more often and they are not cheap averaging $250 per service which is over $500 per year (However I am a big believer of good maintenance so I find this to be a plus in a way). I think one year or 15,000kms others offer is pushing it for modern engines especially for stop/go city driving which causes extreme wear on the engine.

All in all this vehicle should be selling way more than it currently is however I believe a lot of people do not make informed decisions and get caught up in the hype buying what is ''trendy'' without thinking of practicality. Also a lot of ''expert" review I see online are very unfair on the Vitara as a lot of scores are very low, I used to own a Mazda CX5 and I can honestly say this is a better product, less gimmicks, no istop or other electric crap you don't need and way more practical and easy to drive around the city.vita

BadgeRT-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2018
DriveFWD

great car but auto transmission rough changing from first to second

2015 rts 1.6 lt have been happy so far car runs a lot better with 95 octane fuel . Only issue i have had is a rough gear change from first to second when driving hard. Wonder if this normal would love to know if anyone else has this issue.

BadgeRT-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
1 comment
Update booked it in to Suzuki dealer they did a software update now its silky smooth again

complete city sub compact SUV

bought after having grand vitara for six years. only issue with grand vitara was fuel efficiency and my vitara is the answer for that. not a 4 wheel drive but fun to drive and easy to park. and good with goodies like reverse parking and sat nav. its fun to move around city. i manage to get 15 km / liter on my way to work and back and 13-15 km/liter on busy sydney roads and 17-19km/liter on highways. negative point is its not a car for over take or speedy moving but its worth the cost. and very soft on wallet by seldom trips to fuel station

Badge1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

The car quality is very poor and Oakleigh customer service is worst

Wrongly decided to buy this car as the quality of material is very poor. Some of the parts broken as soon as i bought it. Went to the service center to get replaced and they were not happy and raised the issue with Suzuki Australia. Then the service center agreed to replace but after few weeks the same part broken again. I am fed up making complaint again.

BadgeS Turbo 2WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Best Value SUV Out There

Had been looking for some time for a replacement vehicle for my wife’s old car which would be mainly used for work commuting so fuel economy was more important than power. With a budget of around $25k we searched the market for a SUV type vehicle and after many hours of research on various motoring websites we narrowed down our choice to 3 models. After inspecting and test driving our choices at the dealerships without doubt the Suzuki Vitara represented the best value for its size, features and warranty(5 Years but note: warranty conditions stipulate that it must be serviced every 6 months but it is fixed price servicing) The Vitara is economical, offers a comfortable ride and after 12 months of daily use we have no problems at all. The only slight disappointment is that despite having an excellent rear view camera there are no audible sensors when you are reversing so watch out for unwary pedestrians in car parks.

BadgeRT-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Really happy with it

For a fairly inexpensive small SUV I'm happy. It drives smoothly, but sometimes takes a second to turn on. Really annoying that the lights don't automatically go off when I turn the car off. The handling is good. Pretty noisy to drive on the freeway and not a lot of guts but it's a small engine and very petrol efficient to that's to be expected.

BadgeRT-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

I drove this car since new it was a pig

This car was was in need of wheel alignment but was told by Crick's service it was OK
Wrong . I get services done by auto leaders now cheaper and better. This car now goes well
Better services and wheel alignment. It took 3 years to have a decent car but will never recommend susuki

Badge982 tyh
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2015

Love it

A great car. Very zippy and easy to get around town in and comfortable for longer drives as well. I love the techninc rear parking camera and sensor and the entertainment system. Boot is a little small. Feels bigger inside than it looks. A stylish car, good for kids .

BadgeS Turbo 4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Beautiful to drive!

This is the car of my dreams! It is an absolute joy to drive and I actually enjoying driving when I am in this car! The leather interior is stunning and has all the bells and whistles you could dream of! Extremely reliable so far while being fuel efficient and cheap to service as per the Suzuki service plan!

BadgeS Turbo 2WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Great Car with loads of power

We purchase the Suzuki Vitra Turbo in 2016 and absolutely love the car! The car is very smooth and easy to handle with a great turning circle - which is rare on cars that size these days.

Positives:
- Great fuel economy
- Good value for money
- Great boot space
- In built GPS and Carplay
- Looks impressive
- Great parking sensors
- Reasonably priced servicing

However....

Negatives
- Doors are hard to close
- Would have preferred all leather seating options
- We have had several issue with the in car display disconnecting, freezing or going static-y

BadgeS Turbo 2WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

All features of costly cars in Economical price

I love Japanese cars...They are great. So while buying a car, I choose a couple of card like Nissan Juke, Qashqai, Kia Sportage, Honda CRV, Mitsubishi Outlander/ASX but finally landed getting a good deal and good car 3 months ago which is SUZUKI VITARA 2017 GL AUTO.

I will mention PROS and CONS of it as below.

PROS -

1. Very economical price
2. Great fuel economy (7.5 litters for 100 km)
3. Inbuilt Garmin GPS
4. Inbuilt Apple Car play
5. Spacious inside
6. Great Boot space
7. Overall great look
8. If you service twice a year then 5 years warranty and if you service once a year then 3 years warranty

CONS
1. Inbuilt GPS is sometimes taking long route so I prefer mobile google GPS sometimes
2. Engine power is not that great compared to other cars
3. Interior plastic quality is cheap quality

Overall. if you want all the features in your car with less price, then this is absolutely no doubt, great car.

BadgeGL+
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Great little SUV.

I purchased this almost 1 year ago. so good on fuel in town and quiet and smooth on the highway. I have never had an issue with in. I like how you can personalise the inside to match the outside. Suzuki are great reliable cars and this is one of there best.

BadgeRT-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016

A happy year

We bought the car 10 months ago and have congratulated ourselves constantly since.
We bought the turbo and she is light, economical and when you put your foot down, she lifts her skirts and goes!
Drivers height good. Access good. Servicing costs good. A few cute custom options available. We chose the inside trim accents. Plus the turbo comes with leather trim seats.
Plenty of room front and back. Seats are comfortable.
My single complaint is that the steering wheel obscures the indicator/light lever. But as everything is automatic, life is good.
Best car I've owned. Suits small family or people with pets.

BadgeS Turbo 2WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Practical, well-built and economical

Vitara and Grand Vitara are entirely different cars, not sure why PR lumps them together. This review is of the current model Vitara.
My car has already done 10,000kms which included lots of highway driving, some town stuff and a few rough dirt roads during a long trip through North Queensland. So far it has performed exceptionally well and is proving to be a very versatile and practical vehicle. Ride and handling are good, the driving position comfortable, it has a spacious boot, decent ground clearance and a good turning circle. The engine is remarkably quiet and fuel economy is nothing short of outstanding: I get an overall average of 5.2L/100kms. Equipment levels are surprisingly comprehensive for a base model (SatNav, Reversing Camera, Auto A/C etc. etc.) and it all works very well.
The 1.6L engine is a willing performer but no powerhouse. It has a fairly high compression ratio and runs better on premium fuel. Large families and speedfreaks should probably go for the turbo model.
What's not to like? Well, very little actually. The steering, whilst accurate enough, has very little "feel" to it. The auto gearbox behaves well most of the time but tends to get flustered under hard acceleration; fortunately Manual Mode (using the paddles) works a treat. The economy gearing is a bit too tall: at 110kph in sixth gear the engine is only doing 2,000rpm necessitating frequent changes up to fifth and even fourth gear. Lastly, the rear privacy glass is apparently designed to appeal to the US market; it soaks up the heat and I think it looks pretty silly. Much better to have plain glass and then put a proper metallic tint on it.
Overall I'm very pleased with this car: it's cleverly designed, well-built, practical, comfortable and extremely economical. Highly recommended.

BadgeRT-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Fault finding the engine over reving.

Have only had minor problems with a/c which refuses to be diagnosed despite plenty attempts to resolve. Leaks big time into passenger seats floor. Now experiencing over revving when accelerating after changing gears. The cruise control now is not working since this problem commenced, they be related, however, may not be

BadgeS Turbo 4WD
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2010

GOOD SO FAR

Good on fuel,realistic service costs,nice to drive, good visual access to road,good nav system, nice reverse cam,zippy
Good on highway and so easy with the auto around town.
Comfy seats.
Nice paint job
Great climate controlled air conditioning
looks good
good amount cargo space

best value after much research was done

Badgew
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Look past practicality and aesthetics as it drives terrible.

2016 SUZUKI VITARA RT-S: Everything about this car seemed perfect when buying it at the start of this year - maybe a little too perfect for the price. Not even 6 months down the track and I can see why it is so cheap. It is a terrible car to drive - although practicality and aesthetics seem magnificent. This car has a real acceleration problem, with even moderate speed changes, causing the car to rev up past the 4000 mark. I have also found frustrating, a momentary lag for a brief second, along with a bunny hop to change from gear 1-2, when pulling away from a stop, such as congested traffic or red lights. Overtaking and merging into traffic have to be very carefully considered, because even if the engine works as hard as it can and the gearbox does its best to help, the acceleration is awfully slow. I would not recommend for anyone to buy this car if you are thinking of having more than 2 people in it, as the power problem already struggles with the weight of 1 person. In my opinion this car should definitely not be sold as a car for travel and adventure, instead a spacious car for a single person - city driving only. It revs high to go up hills, small or large and even trying to use cruise control, will see the car frantically trying to swap gears and that detracts from long-distance smooth driving. Don’t get me wrong, I do love the car (or cant afford not to love it) but when describing to the sales assistant why I was getting a new car and how it is going to be used (camping trips, long driving, lifetime car), I wish he hadn’t said this car would be suitable - as it is clearly not. Speaking to the team now about the issues, I regret buying the car, as apparently this is how the car drives - I wish I was advised before I bought it. I know in the future I will not be buying a Suzuki again, even if the price is appealing.

BadgeRT-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Suzuki Vitara 1.4L Turbo - Great

Purchased this 2017 car for the engine specs and fuel economy.

Pros -
Drives amazingly, extra power when you need
Stylish and the car is able to be customised
The media/navigation screen works really well and easily

Cons-
Plasticky and cheapish looking interior.
Apparently some other cars have more up to date safety features like automated emergency braking

Overall very happy with the car.

BadgeS Turbo 2WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Is there a big difference in performance between the rt-s and s turbo models?
1 answer
there is HUGE! difference. the RT-S is only good for the city and you have to rev it past over 4,000RPM to get any performance out of it. The TURBO is way punchier, more torque and acceleration. But if you are only driving in the suburbs the 1.6L is adequate for most people (The TURBO is an overkill for city driving in my opinion). However there is also a huge hike in price for the Turbo also.

How much will it cost me to fill with you for a Suzuki grand vitara 2 door 2019 model ?
No answers

Hello i have a question for anyone with a vitara s turbo and it is to do with the turbo it's self i am looking into getting one either a 2018 or 19 now they only have the s turbo to choose from has anyone had and trouble or problams or had to replace the turbo charger yet . Do you need to let them cool down after driving things like that
No answers

Details

Vitara LY Series II (No Badge) AutomaticVitara LY Series II (No Badge) ManualVitara LY Series II Vitara TurboVitara LY Series II Vitara Turbo AllgripVitara LY GL+ ManualVitara LY GL+ AutomaticVitara LY GLXVitara LY GLX 4WD, 1.6L DieselVitara LY RT-S ManualVitara LY RT-S AutomaticVitara LY RT-X 4WD, 1.6L PetrolVitara LY RT-X 4WD, 1.6L DieselVitara LY S Turbo 4WD, 1.4L Petrol, AutomaticVitara LY S Turbo 2WD, 1.4L Petrol, Automatic
Starting Price $23,990$23,990$30,990$34,990
TransmissionAutomaticManualManualAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD) and Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD) and Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD) and Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolDieselPetrolPetrolPetrolDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars
Doors55555555555555
Seats55555555555555
Fuel Consumption6 L/100km5.8 L/100km5.9 L/100km6.2 L/100km5.8 L/100km6 L/100km6.3 L/100km4.9 L/100km5.8 L/100km6 L/100km6.3 L/100km4.9 L/100km6.2 L/100km5.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L47 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L
Max Power86kW @ 6000rpm86kW @ 6000rpm103kW @ 5500rpm103kW @ 5500rpm86kW @ 6000rpm86kW @ 6000rpm86kW @ 6000rpm86kW @ 6000rpm86kW @ 6000rpm86kW @ 6000rpm86kW @ 6000rpm88kW @ 3750rpm103kW @ 5500rpm103kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque156Nm @ 4400rpm156Nm @ 4400rpm220Nm @ 1500-4000rpm220Nm @ 1500-4000rpm156Nm @ 4400rpm156Nm @ 4400rpm156Nm @ 4400rpm320Nm @ 1750rpm156Nm @ 4400rpm156Nm @ 4400rpm156Nm @ 4400rpm320Nm @ 1750rpm220Nm @ 1500-4000rpm220Nm @ 1500-4000rpm
Country of ManufactureHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungaryHungary
Safety Features ABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), ISO-fix Compatible, Reversing Camera and Traction ControlABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), ISO-fix Compatible, Reversing Camera and Traction ControlABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), ISO-fix Compatible, Reversing Camera and Traction ControlABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), ISO-fix Compatible, Reversing Camera and Traction Control
Extra Features Android Auto / Apple Carplay, Bluetooth Connectivity, Built-In Navigation System, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, Telescoping Steering Wheel and Voice ControlAndroid Auto / Apple Carplay, Bluetooth Connectivity, Built-In Navigation System, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, Telescoping Steering Wheel and Voice ControlAndroid Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Wipers, Bluetooth Connectivity, Built-In Navigation System, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, Telescoping Steering Wheel and Voice ControlAndroid Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Wipers, Bluetooth Connectivity, Built-In Navigation System, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, Sunroof, Telescoping Steering Wheel and Voice Control
Ground Clearance185 mm185 mm185 mm185 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg1,200 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg400 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2019Jan 2019Jan 2019Jan 2019Sep 2015Sep 2015Sep 2015Jan 2016Sep 2015Sep 2015Sep 2015Jan 2016Apr 2016Apr 2016
Discontinuation dateDec 2018Dec 2018Dec 2016Dec 2018Dec 2018Dec 2018Dec 2015Dec 2018Dec 2018Dec 2018
Replaced bySuzuki Vitara LY Series IISuzuki Vitara LY Series IISuzuki Vitara LY Series IISuzuki Vitara LY Series IISuzuki Vitara LY Series IISuzuki Vitara LY Series IISuzuki Vitara LY Series IISuzuki Vitara LY Series IISuzuki Vitara LY Series IISuzuki Vitara LY Series II

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.