??!
9 photos
Honda HR-V
4.0 from 94 reviews

Reviews

4.0

94 reviews
5
(43)
4
(26)
3
(16)
2
(0)
1
(9)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (24)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (23)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (23)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (23)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (24)
  • Handling
    4.5 (24)
  • Braking
    4.6 (24)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (24)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (21)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (24)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (24)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (24)
  • Features
    3.6 (24)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (24)
Previous
Next
Danielle

Danielle

  • 3 reviews

First SUV - love it!

published

Haven’t owned an SUV before but am THRILLED with the HRV. Economical, super well appointed and love the HUGE sunroof! Heated seats are the best, reverse camera and heaps of other features. Highly recommend!

Purchased in January 2020 at Brighton Porsche for A$19,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
2 comments
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda

Hi Danielle, It sounds like the perfect match with your Honda HR-V, thank you for the review and we wish you many years of happy motoring . Cheers Kiara

Danielle
Danielle

Thanks I’m sure they will be great...and then I buy my next one!

Mel

MelPerth, WA

  • 12 reviews

Good family car

published

Purchased the HRV as my husband and I were expecting a baby and needed to upgrade my old hatchback. So far this works well as a family car. The boot has good space and the baby seat fits in nicely in the back. Haven't used many of the features yet but I'm just glad to be able to use spotify through bluetooth which I couldn't do with my previous car. I usually drive this daily to work or on weekends for shopping. No issues yet, all running smoothly.

Purchased in February 2020 at Honda Dealers for A$25,100.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
Anne N.

Anne N.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

GPS is extremely disappointing

published

Purchased in July 2017 at Honda Dealers.

Build Quality
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Honda HR-V compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Eastwest101

Eastwest101

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent vehicle let down by a cheap/terrible Audio/GPS touchscreen unit

published

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Lornick

LornickSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Not worth the money

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Blue Ribbon for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Len

LenSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Good car overall, but letdown by Infotainment system and front road noise

published

Purchased in August 2018 at Autosport Honda for A$28,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Wilko

WilkoWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

US infotainment system

published

Very disappointed with this vehicle, the bride got it new without my company. Didn't get a look and drive for a week or so after and was devastated to find the the infotainment system is totally useless in daylight, seems nothing can be done to fix it, tried tint on windshield and anti glare screen protector, no win there? Would not recommend this to anybody ON THIS ALONE, as for looks, ride and usability a great little vehicle BUT communication and tech are major factors these day's. Is for me anyway.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
JMD

JMDPeel, WA

Amazing ....except for the audio system

published

Purchased the HRV VtiLx My20 off the show room floor, a friend has 2016 so l was very familiar with the car, car is very comfortable, economical, looks great ,
but can’t see the audio screen during the day, it’s not exactly user friendly requires a lot of contact to register your touch, when ever l use hands free lm told l keep breaking up, no apple play, no voice recognition option, text messages not displayed on screen....if l was aware of how antiquated the audio system is l would have not purchased car.

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Absolutely beautiful car

published

I’m loving my new HRV although only had it 3 weeks but so far it’s beautiful to drive... great fuel economy... the service and sales are just great...I have just one question if someone out there can answer....my new HRV-RS doesn’t come with driving auto door locking? The book tells u how to set it but just wondering if that is for models outside of Australia? It had its first 1,000 km service today and the guys tell me it doesn’t come with auto door locking? Does anyone else have a HRV and know if this is correct or not?

Purchased in August 2019 at City Motors Group.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Honda HR-V compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Garry

GarryGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Love this car

published

I use my car daily and drive about 1 and a half to 2 hours per day.
I commute through the city and it is serving me well.
It's comfortable, I love the leather seats and the high driving position. The large sun room is brilliant and I have it uncovered year round which is nice. I get the car serviced once a year which is great.
I have had issue with the navigation system, but Honda have agreed to replace the unit, so I am very happy with the service.

Purchased in November 2017 at John Blair Honda for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Leah S.

Leah S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

LOVE everything but the infotainment system

published

I'm about 5100km into this vehicle and it has ticked every box I need it for EXCEPT for the infotainment screen. It's laggy, you can't slide through your phone contacts because the screen is matte, it doesn't show contact names only the phone numbers. No digital radio either. GPS is pretty poor, I don't even use it. I've had a problem with my bluetooth cutting out while listening to music but the dealers can't seem to fault it. The audio on phone calls could be improved as well. Such a shame they didn't carry the speedo cluster and radio from the Civic or the CR-V. Would be perfect if they did. Poor from Honda.

Purchased in February 2019 at Essendon Honda for A$32,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Janine

Janine

  • 8 reviews

Love this car

published

Love this car, it is lovely to drive, has all the extras you need. The hands free can be a little tinny, but otherwise it is the best, would definitely recommend.

Purchased in March 2019 at Blue Ribbon Honda.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

BobC

BobCCentral West, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Honda does it again!

published

My Honda is used privately each day. The 6.9 l/100km economy is excellent, road handling and acceleration commendable and Honda comfort excels. A tall person’s roomy vehicle - I am rapt!

Purchased in March 2019 at Scott’s Honda Artarmon.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
mike

mikeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews

Great car

published

Good looks and good to drive. Easy to operate all the controls.
Economic to run and performs well around town and on the freeway

We added tinting to the windows and visors on the side windows.

Purchased in January 2019 at Dave potter honda for A$25,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Aneeta R.

Aneeta R.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Easy drive that has all the latest features

published

very easy to handle, very fuel economic and quick.
love the entertainment centre which automatically syncs to my phone and the last song i was listening to.
Bluetooth calling is a bit hit an miss with the volume and i have no idea why i have to shout to be held. Also the parking sensors go off randomly and they have been replaces a couple of times so unsure what is wrong with them. Also the tyres deflation alarm goes off every week and i do have to fill atleast 3 tyres every week but i had a similar problem with my cr-v
But i do love this car so much and its wonderful full length sunroof and leather seats.

Boot space is really spacey and fold up seats allows me to fit alot of stuff.

Purchased in December 2017 at Dave Potter Honda for A$43,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Honda HR-V compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Disappointed

Disappointed

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst audio visual system in the world

published

I use the car for everyday driving and occasional long trips. The audio visual screen (safety view) is impossible to see when the car is in normal light. It was a selling feature of the car and does not work properly. I note many other reviewers say the same.The previous model worked perfectly, why the change?

Purchased in November 2018 for A$35,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Disappointed
Disappointed

Good car but not worth the heartache

JHK

JHKSydney, NSW

Love the looks and practicality

published

Bought 2019 HR-V RS and had it for 2 months so far. I am in love with this car and I am so glad I have gone ahead with this SUV than any other SUVs in the market. Very comfortable and feels great to drive.

Purchased in March 2019 for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
jvdv1

jvdv1

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Nice to drive but oh those touch screen controls ...

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Honda Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Greg H.

Greg H.

  • 2 reviews

Brilliant car spoilt by a cheap unusable media unit

published

Purchased in January 2019 for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tahlia

TahliaSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Good vehicle but a couple of deficiencies

published
BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveFWD
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Rob s

Rob sasked

HR-V

Hi I’ve purchased a new HRv RS model. This car suffers very badly of front end rattles worse on the drivers side. Handle bumps and Sydney roads well but ripples or waves in the bitumen just drives me crazy. Had back to Honda with dash resets and foamed and skittle plate replaced twice but still has that nasty noise. I’ve asked other drivers with the same model car and they say no! I’ve reported it to Honda Australia, and they say take it back to the dealer. I don’t wish to waste my or the dealers time, can anyone help me here or advise me on what to do. The car is coming up to 20000 in the first 12 months
Rob

1 answer
Anne N.
Anne N.

Sorry Rob. I cannot say my Honda has given me that type of trouble. Definitely need to take it back to your dealer and demand a full overhaul or a new vehicle. This should not happen with a 12 month old car. Not good enough. Sounds like a dud to me.

John

Johnasked

HR-V

How do I change, or turn off. the radio whilst the sat nav is on.

3 answers
Lornick
Lornick

Before you put the Navigator on make sure you switch it to bluetooth phone first. Then put the navigator on.

John
John

I did not ask about the phone; I wrote, "the radio" Thank you

Chances
Chances

To control your music selection , use the left side steering wheel control.
Up-down is for volume control.
left-right is for station selection when using radio.
Source button is used to select different input sources (radio, USB, Bluetooth.......)

https://www.automotiveaddicts.com/54289/2015-honda-cr-v-awd-touring-review-test-drive/2015-honda-crv-awd-touring-steering-wheel-controls

Rob

Robasked

HR-V

I have a 2016 Honda HRV Vti-L, how do I get navigation to come up on my audio screen with iphone 11?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Honda representatives

Other Small / Compact SUVs


ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.