??!

See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
42
4 star
22
3 star
13
2 star
0
1 star
9

Absolutely beautiful car

published

I’m loving my new HRV although only had it 3 weeks but so far it’s beautiful to drive... great fuel economy... the service and sales are just great...I have just one question if someone out there can answer....my new HRV-RS doesn’t come with driving auto door locking? The book tells u how to set it but just wondering if that is for models outside of Australia? It had its first 1,000 km service today and the guys tell me it doesn’t come with auto door locking? Does anyone else have a HRV and know if this is correct or not?

Purchased in August 2019 at City Motors Group.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Garry

GarryGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Love this car

published

I use my car daily and drive about 1 and a half to 2 hours per day.
I commute through the city and it is serving me well.
It's comfortable, I love the leather seats and the high driving position. The large sun room is brilliant and I have it uncovered year round which is nice. I get the car serviced once a year which is great.
I have had issue with the navigation system, but Honda have agreed to replace the unit, so I am very happy with the service.

Purchased in November 2017 at John Blair Honda for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Leah S.

Leah S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

LOVE everything but the infotainment system

published

I'm about 5100km into this vehicle and it has ticked every box I need it for EXCEPT for the infotainment screen. It's laggy, you can't slide through your phone contacts because the screen is matte, it doesn't show contact names only the phone numbers. No digital radio either. GPS is pretty poor, I don't even use it. I've had a problem with my bluetooth cutting out while listening to music but the dealers can't seem to fault it. The audio on phone calls could be improved as well. Such a shame they didn't carry the speedo cluster and radio from the Civic or the CR-V. Would be perfect if they did. Poor from Honda.

Purchased in February 2019 at Essendon Honda for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Janine

Janine

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love this car

published

Love this car, it is lovely to drive, has all the extras you need. The hands free can be a little tinny, but otherwise it is the best, would definitely recommend.

Purchased in March 2019 at Blue Ribbon Honda.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


BobC

BobCCentral West, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Honda does it again!

published

My Honda is used privately each day. The 6.9 l/100km economy is excellent, road handling and acceleration commendable and Honda comfort excels. A tall person’s roomy vehicle - I am rapt!

Purchased in March 2019 at Scott’s Honda Artarmon.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

mike

mikeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews

Great car

published

Good looks and good to drive. Easy to operate all the controls.
Economic to run and performs well around town and on the freeway

We added tinting to the windows and visors on the side windows.

Purchased in January 2019 at Dave potter honda for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Aneeta R.

Aneeta R.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Easy drive that has all the latest features

published

very easy to handle, very fuel economic and quick.
love the entertainment centre which automatically syncs to my phone and the last song i was listening to.
Bluetooth calling is a bit hit an miss with the volume and i have no idea why i have to shout to be held. Also the parking sensors go off randomly and they have been replaces a couple of times so unsure what is wrong with them. Also the tyres deflation alarm goes off every week and i do have to fill atleast 3 tyres every week but i had a similar problem with my cr-v
But i do love this car so much and its wonderful full length sunroof and leather seats.

Boot space is really spacey and fold up seats allows me to fit alot of stuff.

Purchased in December 2017 at Dave Potter Honda for $43,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Disappointed

Disappointed

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst audio visual system in the world

published

I use the car for everyday driving and occasional long trips. The audio visual screen (safety view) is impossible to see when the car is in normal light. It was a selling feature of the car and does not work properly. I note many other reviewers say the same.The previous model worked perfectly, why the change?

Purchased in November 2018 for $35,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Disappointed
Disappointed

Good car but not worth the heartache

JHK

JHKSydney, NSW

Love the looks and practicality

published

Bought 2019 HR-V RS and had it for 2 months so far. I am in love with this car and I am so glad I have gone ahead with this SUV than any other SUVs in the market. Very comfortable and feels great to drive.

Purchased in March 2019 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
jvdv1

jvdv1

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nice to drive but oh those touch screen controls ...

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Honda Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Brilliant car spoilt by a cheap unusable media unit

published

Purchased in January 2019 for $38,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Tahlia

TahliaSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 11 likes

Good vehicle but a couple of deficiencies

published
BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveFWD

RonB22999

RonB22999South East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

A nice car with a $20 nav radio and entertainment system

published

The motor car is fine, The GPS and radio system are frightening.
Screen can't be seen when the lights are on it . Very very mixed feelings on this car. The magic seats are a great help. We have two walkers and with shopping there is not to much help we can expect.

BadgeVTi-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2018
DriveFWD

tojo11

tojo11North Lake

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Okay, but some aspects are very poor.

published

I updated from a 2006 CR-V which was a fantastic car - hence we stuck with Honda. It is not a bad vehicle but it has a few things I do not like on this model...
*The angle of the A/V touchscreen is terrible. At certain times of the day the driver simply cannot read it and it does not adjust. Very frustrating!
*The arrangement/position of the button at the rear to open the trunk is also terrible. There are gaps and bumps everywhere as you feel for the button to open the trunk - it is a very poor design.
*The air-conditioner is weak. Our old 2006 CR-V is a lot colder and more effective - this HR-V's air-con system is a big step backwards.
*There is lots of road noise at high speed.

BadgeVTi-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
DriveFWD
Kemble L.

Kemble L.Sydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A nice family car, but there are disappointments

published
BadgeVTi-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
DriveRWD
Margie

MargieNorthcote

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Audio/Nav

published

I have a 2018 HRV purchased in November and i find the Audio /Nav touch screen to be extremely unsatisfactory as in sunlight nothing can be viewed- the touch screen demands forceful touch and is very slow to react.
Very very poor -detracts from this vehicle certainly could not recommend this car on this aspect- becomes dangerous when you have to take your eyes from driving to view this ineffective screen totally disappointing.

Purchased in November 2018.

Year2018

Sharon

SharonSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Nice car to drive but disappointing audio/nav device

published
BadgeVTi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018

Jo van

Jo van

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Air con not working after 2 years

published

Have had this car for just 2 years and barely done 10 000 k`s. The air con is no longer working properly. Just drove for 30 minutes and only managed a cool breeze with fan on high. This is most annoying considering I traded my last Honda CRV after 7 years because the air was also not working, and going to cost over $2000 to fix. I now have a weeks wait for a service, no replacement car available, and the inconvenience of taking the car in for a service for a whole day to assess the problem. Hope this is fixed under warranty. Grrrrr.
Have been loyal to Honda over the years but not impressed with this issue.
Otherwise the car is ok.

BadgeVTi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Roi

RoiTWEED HEADS SOUTH

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

H-R V is really short for How- Really- Versatile

published
BadgeVTi-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
DriveFWD

LANEGD

LANEGDmelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great car. Poor tech

published

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Michele G

Michele Gasked

2015 Release RS

Can u tell me please if the 2019 HRV-RS comes with driving auto door locking ...it says in the book the doors lock when the vehicle reaches 15km per hour...mine doesn’t lock and the service department said it doesn’t come with this feature...it doesn’t say that in the book though

No answers

Ned

Nedasked

Does anyone know if HR-V uses a torque converter? Our 2018 HR-V has developed a low speed clunk / jerk when decelerating then accelerating. The dealer says this is normal for the HR-V but I have my doubts.
Apart from this, I really love the car.

No answers

Kerry

Kerryasked

Can I replace the navigation system with apple CarPlay, as I find this system absolutely useless. If so, what cost would I be looking at

1 answer
Disappointed
Disappointed

Kerry, if you find an answer to your question please advise me as the manufacturers of the system say there is no fault with the BL--DY useless system.


Get an answer from our members and Honda representatives

Details

Honda HR-V 2015 Release RS

Honda HR-V 2015 Release RS (2018-2019)

4.7
(3)
Honda HR-V 2015 Release VTi

Honda HR-V 2015 Release VTi (2014-2019)

4.2
(29)
Honda HR-V 2015 Release VTi-LX

Honda HR-V 2015 Release VTi-LX (2018-2019)

3.0
(1)
Honda HR-V 2015 Release VTi-S

Honda HR-V 2015 Release VTi-S (2014-2019)

4.5
(17)
Honda HR-V 2015 Release +LUXE

Honda HR-V 2015 Release +LUXE (2019)

0.0
(0)
Honda HR-V 1998 Release
  • Discontinued

Honda HR-V 1998 Release (1998-2001)

3.1
(7)
Honda HR-V 2015 Release Limited Edition
  • Discontinued

Honda HR-V 2015 Release Limited Edition (2015-2017)

5.0
(1)
Honda HR-V 2015 Release VTi-L
  • Discontinued

Honda HR-V 2015 Release VTi-L (2014-2018)

4.1
(18)
CategorySmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVs
Starting Price $31,990$24,990$34,590$27,990$33,522$33,340
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy16" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors555555
Seats555555
Fuel Consumption6.7 L/100km6.6 L/100km6.9 L/100km6.9 L/100km6.9 L/100km6.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L50 L50 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power105kW @ 6500rpm105kW @ 6500rpm105kW @ 6500rpm105kW @ 6500rpm105kW @ 6500rpm105kW @ 6500rpm
Max Torque172Nm @ 4300rpm172Nm @ 4300rpm172Nm @ 4300rpm172Nm @ 4300rpm172Nm @ 4300rpm172Nm @ 4300rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailandThailandThailand
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)800 kg800 kg800 kg800 kg800 kg800 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)500 kg500 kg500 kg500 kg500 kg500 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2018Jan 2014Jan 2018Jan 2014Jan 2019Jan 1998Jan 2015Jan 2014
Discontinuation dateDec 2001Dec 2017Dec 2018

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.