??!
9 photos
Honda HR-V
4.0 from 91 reviews

Reviews

(42)
(24)
(16)
(0)
(9)
  • Build Quality
    4.4 (21)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (21)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (21)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (21)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (21)
  • Handling
    4.5 (21)
  • Braking
    4.6 (21)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (21)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (19)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (21)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (21)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (21)
  • Features
    3.5 (21)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (21)
Eastwest101

Eastwest101

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent vehicle let down by a cheap/terrible Audio/GPS touchscreen unit

published

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Lornick

LornickSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Not worth the money

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Blue Ribbon for $38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Len

LenSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Good car overall, but letdown by Infotainment system and front road noise

published

Purchased in August 2018 at Autosport Honda for $28,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Honda HR-V compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Wilko

WilkoWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

US infotainment system

published

Very disappointed with this vehicle, the bride got it new without my company. Didn't get a look and drive for a week or so after and was devastated to find the the infotainment system is totally useless in daylight, seems nothing can be done to fix it, tried tint on windshield and anti glare screen protector, no win there? Would not recommend this to anybody ON THIS ALONE, as for looks, ride and usability a great little vehicle BUT communication and tech are major factors these day's. Is for me anyway.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
JMD

JMDPeel, WA

Amazing ....except for the audio system

published

Purchased the HRV VtiLx My20 off the show room floor, a friend has 2016 so l was very familiar with the car, car is very comfortable, economical, looks great ,
but can’t see the audio screen during the day, it’s not exactly user friendly requires a lot of contact to register your touch, when ever l use hands free lm told l keep breaking up, no apple play, no voice recognition option, text messages not displayed on screen....if l was aware of how antiquated the audio system is l would have not purchased car.

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Absolutely beautiful car

published

I’m loving my new HRV although only had it 3 weeks but so far it’s beautiful to drive... great fuel economy... the service and sales are just great...I have just one question if someone out there can answer....my new HRV-RS doesn’t come with driving auto door locking? The book tells u how to set it but just wondering if that is for models outside of Australia? It had its first 1,000 km service today and the guys tell me it doesn’t come with auto door locking? Does anyone else have a HRV and know if this is correct or not?

Purchased in August 2019 at City Motors Group.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Garry

GarryGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Love this car

published

I use my car daily and drive about 1 and a half to 2 hours per day.
I commute through the city and it is serving me well.
It's comfortable, I love the leather seats and the high driving position. The large sun room is brilliant and I have it uncovered year round which is nice. I get the car serviced once a year which is great.
I have had issue with the navigation system, but Honda have agreed to replace the unit, so I am very happy with the service.

Purchased in November 2017 at John Blair Honda for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Leah S.

Leah S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

LOVE everything but the infotainment system

published

I'm about 5100km into this vehicle and it has ticked every box I need it for EXCEPT for the infotainment screen. It's laggy, you can't slide through your phone contacts because the screen is matte, it doesn't show contact names only the phone numbers. No digital radio either. GPS is pretty poor, I don't even use it. I've had a problem with my bluetooth cutting out while listening to music but the dealers can't seem to fault it. The audio on phone calls could be improved as well. Such a shame they didn't carry the speedo cluster and radio from the Civic or the CR-V. Would be perfect if they did. Poor from Honda.

Purchased in February 2019 at Essendon Honda for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Janine

Janine

  • 8 reviews

Love this car

published

Love this car, it is lovely to drive, has all the extras you need. The hands free can be a little tinny, but otherwise it is the best, would definitely recommend.

Purchased in March 2019 at Blue Ribbon Honda.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Honda HR-V compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
BobC

BobCCentral West, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Honda does it again!

published

My Honda is used privately each day. The 6.9 l/100km economy is excellent, road handling and acceleration commendable and Honda comfort excels. A tall person’s roomy vehicle - I am rapt!

Purchased in March 2019 at Scott’s Honda Artarmon.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
mike

mikeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews

Great car

published

Good looks and good to drive. Easy to operate all the controls.
Economic to run and performs well around town and on the freeway

We added tinting to the windows and visors on the side windows.

Purchased in January 2019 at Dave potter honda for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Aneeta R.

Aneeta R.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Easy drive that has all the latest features

published

very easy to handle, very fuel economic and quick.
love the entertainment centre which automatically syncs to my phone and the last song i was listening to.
Bluetooth calling is a bit hit an miss with the volume and i have no idea why i have to shout to be held. Also the parking sensors go off randomly and they have been replaces a couple of times so unsure what is wrong with them. Also the tyres deflation alarm goes off every week and i do have to fill atleast 3 tyres every week but i had a similar problem with my cr-v
But i do love this car so much and its wonderful full length sunroof and leather seats.

Boot space is really spacey and fold up seats allows me to fit alot of stuff.

Purchased in December 2017 at Dave Potter Honda for $43,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Disappointed

Disappointed

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst audio visual system in the world

published

I use the car for everyday driving and occasional long trips. The audio visual screen (safety view) is impossible to see when the car is in normal light. It was a selling feature of the car and does not work properly. I note many other reviewers say the same.The previous model worked perfectly, why the change?

Purchased in November 2018 for $35,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Disappointed
Disappointed

Good car but not worth the heartache

JHK

JHKSydney, NSW

Love the looks and practicality

published

Bought 2019 HR-V RS and had it for 2 months so far. I am in love with this car and I am so glad I have gone ahead with this SUV than any other SUVs in the market. Very comfortable and feels great to drive.

Purchased in March 2019 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
jvdv1

jvdv1

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Nice to drive but oh those touch screen controls ...

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Honda Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Honda HR-V compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Greg H.

Greg H.

  • 2 reviews

Brilliant car spoilt by a cheap unusable media unit

published

Purchased in January 2019 for $38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tahlia

TahliaSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Good vehicle but a couple of deficiencies

published
BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveFWD
RonB22999

RonB22999South East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

A nice car with a $20 nav radio and entertainment system

published

The motor car is fine, The GPS and radio system are frightening.
Screen can't be seen when the lights are on it . Very very mixed feelings on this car. The magic seats are a great help. We have two walkers and with shopping there is not to much help we can expect.

BadgeVTi-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2018
DriveFWD
tojo11

tojo11North Lake

  • 2 reviews

Okay, but some aspects are very poor.

published

I updated from a 2006 CR-V which was a fantastic car - hence we stuck with Honda. It is not a bad vehicle but it has a few things I do not like on this model...
*The angle of the A/V touchscreen is terrible. At certain times of the day the driver simply cannot read it and it does not adjust. Very frustrating!
*The arrangement/position of the button at the rear to open the trunk is also terrible. There are gaps and bumps everywhere as you feel for the button to open the trunk - it is a very poor design.
*The air-conditioner is weak. Our old 2006 CR-V is a lot colder and more effective - this HR-V's air-con system is a big step backwards.
*There is lots of road noise at high speed.

BadgeVTi-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
DriveFWD
Kemble L.

Kemble L.Sydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A nice family car, but there are disappointments

published
BadgeVTi-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
DriveRWD
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

John

Johnasked

HR-V

How do I change, or turn off. the radio whilst the sat nav is on.

2 answers
Lornick
Lornick

Before you put the Navigator on make sure you switch it to bluetooth phone first. Then put the navigator on.

John
John

I did not ask about the phone; I wrote, "the radio" Thank you

Rob

Robasked

HR-V

I have a 2016 Honda HRV Vti-L, how do I get navigation to come up on my audio screen with iphone 11?

No answers
NathanM

NathanMasked

HR-V

we're experiencing dash rattles that have been ongoing for 18+ months. Honda are aware of a poorly designed windscreen cowl panel that vibrates as it's plastic up against glass which has been redesigned, but after 7 visits and the dealer packing the dash full of insulating foam it still vibrates and rattles on rough roads at speeds above 80km/h.
I believe this issue is also evident in civic's and affects most Honda's as even the brand new loan car we were given (with literally just 350km driven) had the dash rattle as well.
We've been in contact with a couple of dozen other owners as well who all report rattles which cannot be fixed, one owner had the car refunded by NCAT after 3 dash replacements couldn't fix the issue.

1 answer
Wilko
Wilko

That's crap, we only have 267ks on the clock with no rattles as yet. Just another thing to look forward too. Hope they find a fix for you.

Get an answer from our members and Honda representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.