??!
4 photos
Mazda CX-3 DK

Mazda CX-3 DK (2015-2020)

Also referred to as: Mazda CX-3 DK 2019 and Mazda CX-3 DK 2021. Akari, Maxx, sTouring, etc...
4.1 from 65 reviews

Reviews

(33)
(17)
(7)
(4)
(4)
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (16)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (15)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (15)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (16)
  • Handling
    4.6 (16)
  • Braking
    4.6 (15)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (15)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (12)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (16)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (16)
  • Boot Size
    3.5 (16)
  • Features
    4.2 (16)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (15)
Obbae L.

Obbae L.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Great Car for Commuting

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mezz

MezzSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews

Excellent

published

Great interior. Drives great. Looks nice with silver chrome on doors and has sunroof. The driver seat is only thing that isn't the best on my sore back but with pillow it helps.

Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cecil

Cecil

  • 2 reviews

Buy this vehicle and you will be a “winner”

published

Having driven Corollas for umpteen dozen years I recently decided to move outside my comfort zone and buy something completely different. I purchased a 2019 CX-3 iTouring in September and absolutely love it. It has more oomph than the Corolla and is magic to drive. If you are in the market for a new vehicle you cannot go wrong getting this vehicle.

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-3 DK compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sampson Lai

Sampson Lai

  • 5 reviews

Great Car

published

Bought this CX-3 in May 2019. The fuel consumption is a surprise, that's for sure. Steering is so smooth and the suspension is excellent. The material and style of interior are standard. It is gorgeous on mechanic and the respond is so rapid.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

maryfrancis3

maryfrancis3Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very disappointed

published

Bought this car three years ago. Already the aircon does not work any longer. Worked fine last Summer and before that. I feel a 'clunking' now and again when turning the steering wheel more than 45degrees, like the bearings or the CV joint is giving out. I am an older person - over 50 and it's not like I have been mistreating the car or anything. Very, very disappointed in the car. Oh and really jerky at times when it changes gears.

Purchased in May 2016 for $34,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
E H

E HSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Headlight Condensation

published

Bought the car Brand New on 2015 - drive well, love it - never missed the service always garage, only 20k now. once the warranty finished the headlight condensate. I search in the forum, it is a common problems, some owner are lucky to found it out during the warranty period, replaced and no cost involved. If Mazda aware of this problems they could have recall this matter. I hope someone from Mazda Australia read this and do something about it.

Purchased in August 2015 at Liverpool.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Brian Betts

Brian BettsPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews

This car grabs you

published

If you are looking for a small SUV this is well worth a look. It drives and feels very positive on the road. It's very economical for a FWD 2 litre. Nothing is lacking in it's performance, even in the Auto. Packed with Safety features, Auto Headlight and Rain-sensing function. Air conditioning, 6 speaker Audio system, and a host of other features that one would expect in a car of this quality. The only problem we had was choosing the colour.

Kasturi Naicker

Kasturi NaickerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Love my Mazda CX3

published

I love my Mazda CX3! This is my first mini SUV. I use the car to work or to the station and over weekends. I have had the car for 3 years, travelled to Canberra, Adelaide and looking forward to a long drive to Sydney soon.
The features and style are highly recommended. The reverse camera and maps is a must and should be fitted in all new vehicles. Cannot do without one! The car is serviced annually at a Mazda dealer

Purchased in June 2016 at Essendon Mazda for $27,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kellee

KelleeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Cutest car in town

published

Drive my car daily. Upgraded from a CX7. Love the size, ease of parking and fuel economy. Beautiful leather interior makes this a luxurious car to drive. Great safety features, but no retracting wing mirrors which is a shame.

Purchased in March 2017 at Zoopers for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-3 DK compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nadia James

Nadia James

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Have had a few issues but overall not too bad

published

Nice looking car, good features however have had a few issues with the safety features which are currently being addressed with mazda. This includes the automatic high beams constantly flashing and not functioning properly.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ai D.

Ai D.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Good petrol consumption

published

I had this car for almost 3 years now and not a problem so far.
I would probably choose a 4WD than a FWD as I’ve noticed the power isn’t that great when driving up even on small steep

Purchased in April 2019 at James Frizelle's Automotive Group for $26,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Greg R

Greg RWollongong

  • 22 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Ride

published

Car is just over a year old and come back from first service. Only done 11,000 so far. The car is automatic S-Touring version of the car. Love the ride, comfort and overall quality feel of this car. No complaints.

Purchased in April 2018 for $29,960.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Doryanthus

DoryanthusSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

The cx3 is a great car. Had it for three years and it performs flawlessly. We have the top end model with all the bells and whistles and we love it.

Purchased in November 2015 for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
MTS

MTSSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Perfect for city driving

published

We have been driving our CX-3 for just over a year after purchasing new from Brookvale Mazda and have been thrilled with the performance and high quality of the car. Boot space is limited but that was highlighted to us during purchase. Official Mazda service includes a detailed video blog of the service which is a brilliant way of keeping across how the car is being taken care of. Thoroughly happy with our purchase

Purchased in February 2018 at Mazda Dealers for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
DEBBIE KING

DEBBIE KINGGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

CX3 IS A LEMON

published

Purchased in February 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Year2016
See all answers
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-3 DK compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Love the car but wish the fuel tank wasn't tiny.

published

I have been driving the petrol Akari AWD for a couple of months now.
I mainly use it for my commute and it's not very often I have passengers so the interior dimensions are perfect. The driving seat is comfortable and easy to adjust. The leather trim is good quality. The car is good to drive and I like the way it looks.
Two things I'm not too happy about:
The fuel tank is miniscule, I think 35 litres. It's obviously something I should've checked but it never occurred to me.
The satellite navigation is rubbish. Even after installing the latest update it doesn't recognise places that have existed for years. It's a shame because the display is in a good position and very clear.

Purchased in December 2018 for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Marco Niere

Marco NiereGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 17 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Car, nice finish and high quality build

published

Have Just purchased new MAZDA CX-3 STouring
Love the car:Great high quality finish, premium high quality feel to it!
Good fuel Economy lots of safety and many other features. Very Nice looking car perfect for couple / single.
Great Warranty 5-yrs / Unlimited KMs
Love the pop up display that warns you about speeding and road signs ahead, and blind spot monitoring.

BadgesTouring
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2019
David

DavidGold Coast

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Air-Conditioning fault and appalling service

published
BadgeAkari
DriveFWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Zoe

ZoeBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

I love my car!

published

I use my car for daily commutes to and from work and gym and whatever I get up too on a weekend.
The only issue I have is that the backseat leg room is basically non-existent. If I do a school run for family friends, the kids dirty school shoes are touching my front seats. Not ideal. I am a tall gal, so I need space. My adult sized friends don't exactly fit too comfortably if there are more then 2 people in the back. Will need to upgrade when I have kids of my own, or more regular passengers.

Wish I had shopped around a little more, otherwise, a great car. Love the sound system, my first car was a 2005 Holden which had a bad sound system in comparison.

BadgeAkari
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Adele Edge

Adele EdgeMorphett vale

  • 4 reviews

Love my car

published

I use this car daily as my run about car. I have the sport model, wish I’d upgraded to the top model but I still love this car.
The boot is a little small and can’t fit a great deal in, but fold the seats down and the back space is large.
Drives nicely and handles well
The dealers I bought the car from were extremely helpful and are always great when I get it serviced

BadgeMaxx
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Lisa Z

Lisa Zasked

CX-3 DK Akari (2015-2020)

When my air con is on the passenger side vent is blowing warm air

3 answers
Mezz
Mezz

Is the temp definetly set for cool air?
I'm only a cx3 owner not a technician but I'll help if I can.

Lisa Z
Lisa Z

Yes it definitely is

ru2on
ru2on

Sitting in my mums cx3 right now having the same issue a.c not working on passengers side or middle vents

John H.

John H.asked

CX-3 DK (2015-2020)

aircon not give cold air

3 answers
maryfrancis3
maryfrancis3

Hi John. You need to contact your Mazda dealer. It is a known fault in the condenser of the A/C. It is only in some models of the CX3. They will fix the issue free of charge, even if the car is no longer under warranty.
I had mine done a couple of months ago. My car was out of warranty. Did not cost me a cent.

John H.
John H.

Hi MaryFrancis, Thank you for this. The car is actually my daughter's and I have passed on your advice which she will use as soon as the Mazda dealer is back
Kind Regards
John Haydon

dclayw
dclayw

Hi maryfrancis3, Appears to be the same problem with my 2016 CX3. I had end of warranty check done in late Sept this year, warranty expired late Nov, and now I have no A/C as of last week.

As my car is now out of warranty there could be an issue getting this known problem fixed at no cost. Would you be able to provide any more details that might help with getting Mazda to fix this issue under warranty, e.g. which dealer, how long out of warranty was your car etc. Can perhaps use your experience as a precedent.

Rod

Rodasked

CX-3 DK Akari (2015-2020)

My steering wheel is showing signs of extreme wear.Car always garaged out of the sun. Same problem on my daughters out of warranty Mazda3: Poor quality.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Mazda representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.