??!
1 photo
Swann Wireless Door Chime with Mains Power

Swann Wireless Door Chime with Mains Power

1.2 from 68 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

1.2

68 reviews
5
(0)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(61)
  • Build Quality
    2.5 (4)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 (4)
  • Night Vision
    3.0 (1)
  • Connectivity / Reliability
    1.3 (4)
  • Ease of Installation
    3.5 (4)
  • Motion Detection
    3.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Za P.

Za P.Canberra Central 2601, ACT

Terrible securing with base plate

published

Terrible way to secure the unit to base plate. Every time you need to charge battery this little tool to secure the screw is very fiddling and frustrating. The inside screw came out and can not fit it now.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Nickdeg

Nickdeg

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Just failed without warning

published

Bought the unit about a year ago. The ringer just stopped receiving signal from the button. No warning, so missed deliveries.
Have to replace it, but it won’t be Swann.

Purchased in December 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$30.00.

Value for Money
1 comment
Swann
Customer ServiceSwann
annaboo

annaboo

  • 2 reviews

Rubbish!

published

Been missing important callers for a few months. When I checked to see whether chime wasn't working it was too late. Warranty expired. This kind of rubbish should not be sold.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings.

1 comment
Swann
Customer ServiceSwann
Door Security Products

Find out how Swann Wireless Door Chime with Mains Power compares to other Door Security Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jack C.

Jack C.Goulburn Valley, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Good value for the price

published

I've had mine for about 2 years. Mine has two chimes that both still work but until recently not together as they used to other than this the button broke a few months after installing it but it's not uncommon because people push them to hard also I've had this happen on other door bells and the button couldn't be fixed, this one all it took was a bit of glue and I've had no problems with it since so I think they are good value for the price

Purchased in September 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$49.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
1 comment
Swann
Customer ServiceSwann
Chad W.

Chad W.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Easy to use/setup BUT Cheap and nasty

published

Mine failed just after 12 months, out of warranty basically. Like so many products these days, not designed to last. Would NOT recommend this product under any circumstances. I wish I read the reviews before I bought mine. These are not repairable. I think I will go back to a mechanical door bell that will last me 10+ years.

Purchased in March 2018 for A$35.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
See all answers
John W.

John W.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Bad door press quality

published

The door press (button) started to stick at about 6 months and has continued to do so, to the point where I had to replace the entire unit. The build quality of Swann judging by this unit is very cheap and nasty

Purchased in June 2017.

Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation

Unreliable

published

Worked for 6 months and then failed. A change of batteries and location dfid not fix the issue. I think the issue is poor quality control.Do not buy this unit.,

Purchased in November 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
See all answers

Crap

published

Works for 1month batteries changed crap this companies products should be banned from country will make a point at Bunnings Chinese crap

Parloo

ParlooGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Worked for a while

published

Was fine until it stopped working there is no reset in the system.Does not seem to connect with the door bell ( battery is fine) Would not purchase another Swann product. Very disappointing.

Door Security Products

Find out how Swann Wireless Door Chime with Mains Power compares to other Door Security Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Terrible

published

This product is terrible. Stopped working after 6 months. I would not buy this brand ever again. Avoid!
I paid someone to install, not getting that money back either. Terrible product.

beebeegee

beebeegeeMelbourne, Vic

  • 111 reviews
  • 97 likes

Eyes Wide Open about Prior Reviews and Happy w/It

published

Bought the model with 2 chime receivers. Easy to set up and change sounds and volumes. There are 32 chime sounds (including 1 knocking and 2 w/bells) and the remainder are chintzy sounding chimes and tunes.

My happiness is because my hearing is not the best and the two chime units are in different rooms, plus each has a fairly loud volume range. If it only lasts a year and needs to be replaced I will still be satisfied if I always hear someone at the door. Previously had Kambrook and Arlec single receiver 'bells' that were stone solid but not sufficiently loud.

Odds seem that they will go for a year or two before problems, but given the alternatives worth the chance.

Rubbish!

published

Had unit about 18months. Capacitor in plugin base unit leaked and burned out beyond economical repair. Steer clear of this rubbish it seems components get to hot. What more can i say!

Melan

MelanSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Do not buy

published

I have used this door bell less than 15 months.
In this period of time door button stopped working and had to fixed by myself using glues because press button was stuck in the unit . Then 2 weeks ago main ringer stopped working and then there is no way to fix.

Purchased in June 2017.

John

JohnSouth Australia

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Don't buy it is rubbish

published

Swann model number : swannswwhom-dc820p heap of rubbish no parts available I have it for 13 months lights all on door bell plus ac receiver all tune work but no the front door bell when you press it! It illuminate but don't communicate with receiver put new battery same don't waste your money buy someone else door bell.

David T

David T

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Short lived piece of rubbish

published

Worked until it rained. Door button appears to work... deluding your visitors. Piece of rubbish. DON'T BUY. Put the door press button on a string and use it as a door knock. It will work that way for a short time.

Door Security Products

Find out how Swann Wireless Door Chime with Mains Power compares to other Door Security Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
PJK

PJKBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

They fail

published

First one plug in unit failed and a few weeks later the second plug in unit failed. I did all basic electrical fault finding techniques but the units are electrically dead. The product is not fit for purpose do not buy.

Same problem as everyone else

published

Fails to chime although push is indicating it is operating. An obvious manufacturing fault and yet no sign of any product recall. Yet another British firms name being used to fool people into buying a shoddy product.

Works with quick fix

published

I had the same problem as most of the users, door bell button light was on but no sound. Tried holding "bell" button (middle) for 5 sec, then tried also + (volume up), (volume down) for 5 sec and it works again. I think the bell button press did the work :) as it looked like the doorbell was not paired with speaker.

Trevor

TrevorSouthwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Swann Wireless Door Chime

published

i just bought the pair 1 worked for one day ' replaced it with the other one same again don't buy waste of money. not happy jan i will look elese where

  • Verified purchase

Don't buy Swann Wireless Door Chime SWHOM-DC820P

published

Our Swann Wireless Door Chime SWHOM-DC820P is less than 5 years old and the door bell push has developed an intermittent fault. As this product is still on the market I expected to be able to buy a replacement bell push but SWANN tell me: "The unit is well out of warranty and we also do not sell bell push". So much for good customer service.

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Za P.

Za P.asked

We got swan smart video door bell and charging it as required. To open the cover from bottom with little Alan key the screw came out. Neither it will open nor we can fit the little screw. It is hopeless to have this way to secure the bell with the plate. Do not know how to fix it now and taped it temporarily to hold it with plate. Any idea what could be done to secure it. Terrible way to secure it with difficult to handle little tools.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Swann representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.