??!
2 photos
Tefal Master Valet IS6300 / Compact IS6200

Tefal Master Valet IS6300 / Compact IS6200

IS6300 and IS6200
2.8 from 40 reviews

See the Best Garment Steamers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
9
3 star
3
2 star
9
1 star
12

andrew

andrewPerth, WA

Got 5 years usage, then it tried to electrocute me

published

As per many reviews, mine has started tripping the safety switch too. That said, we had around 5 years usage, which isn't terrible, and these reviews weren't apparent back then. I had begun to notice some apparent calcification dropping out of it in recent months and if I had knocked the unit out more often, it may have lasted longer. I was a fan and far prefer steaming over ironing. Might need to try another brand this time.

Purchased in July 2014 at David Jones Retail Stores for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Preheating Speed
Portability
See all answers

HVM

HVMGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Not worth it long term - even if it's on sale.

published

Given this steamers RRP is around $229 the fact that I got it for $150 I thought was amazing. It was good, not incredible, when I first got it. I got it 2 years ago but after about a year of use it started to spit out water, nothing crazy so I thought it was me. Now, it drenches my clothes, me and the floor, I'd like to add that it's hot water. I've tried different things to see if it was me, judging by the other comments, it's not.

I don't even have the heart to try and sell it because I don't want to take someones money for this, as well as potentially have them burn themselves. Such a shame.

Purchased in March 2017 for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Portability
See all answers
Viv

VivPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Power trips causing shutting down the whole house's electricity.

published
Date PurchasedJun 2014
Mick

MickSydney

Water leaks and trips the power

published

*Not easy to use
*Have to wear the gloves to prevent the hot handle to burn your skin.
*Water leaves in the base of the machine and extremely difficult to clean.
*Trips the power after clean the water from the base of the machine.
****DO NOT BUY AND WASTE YOUR MONEY***

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Doesn’t last

published

Probably just out of warranty and steamer now trips the power so all power points including the fridge turn off. Clumsy water container leaves water in the base of the machine which is difficult to remove each time by turning whole machine upside down and trying it in the laundry sink.
Better design re: water container

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Great Bargain

Great BargainSydney

  • 6 reviews

Steams well but too hot

published

Has a very good durable structure to hang clothes such as shirts and coats and clips to hang pants
Different attachments to straighten and press pants
Need to be careful of the steam as it gets very hot quickly - should wear gloves when holding the steamer
Does the job very well

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Mortishia

MortishiaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 47 reviews
  • 20 likes

Quick, smart and reliable

published

I am one of those ladies that enjoys ironing. So when I came upon the steamer I thought just for a quick item it will suffice. I have been using my steamer a lot more as opposed to my iron. I find the ease of the steamer and quickness of steaming garments very satisfying. True, it takes some getting used to and upon further use you find what is good for you and how to make use of the steamer to your ability. The only downer is it’s not suitable for bed sheets, therefore the need of the iron is still in use. I enjoy my steamer and will replace if ever need be.
Beware though, it does excel hot steam and at times may splutter hot water. This is rare, but just be aware.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Carvaan

CarvaanPerth WA

  • 31 reviews
  • 21 likes

Absolutely rubbish

published

Absolutely rubbish. Broke first day.
Called tefal and been told to go to the shop, went to the shop where I bought it from and they said call tefal, tefal said please address the shop you have spoken to tegal and they told you to go to the shop.
OMG.
Absolutely crap. DO NOT BUY

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Need new chiller

Need new chillerPerth

  • 32 reviews
  • 19 likes

Press & steam. Clever

published

For those who don't like ironing and chores in general. Get this. Steams with a roll down backing 'pad'. Just an extra help with supporting the clothes for the hard to straighten areas. Doesn't feel like a chore. Takes little time to heat up. And clothes just feel fresher. Use it to steam the bed as well. Kills bed bugs!

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Anthony V

Anthony VSydney

Broke day 1

published

What can I say. The hose broke on day 1.
My wife and I were quote excited as we had some clothes that go shiny and don't iron too good.
For about 30 minutes it looked like it was going to work for us, and the clothes looked pretty good and didn't shine up.
Minute 31, and the hose is broken. I could hardly believe it. Right down the bottom near the base. Steam no longer going out the handle, all coming out the now broken hose.

Extremely disappointed. I might have a look at a Phillips and see if that lasts any longer.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
1 comment
Anthony V
Anthony V

Drewster

DrewsterMelbourne

Terrible

published

What i thought i had bought was a clothes steamer and press to make life easy. What i got when I opened the box was a humidifier. Used a whole container of water and did not even manage to steam out one shirt crease free. Dont these folk test their products before release? Oh and safety concern be prepare to get burnt. There is no place to safely place the steam handle while you prepare your garment to get steamed. So the steamer handle is held either with one hand while you struggle to place the garment on the stand or you simply have to leave it on the floor to steam your carpet for a few minutes. TEFAL this is a major disappointment for a product I used to associate quality with tefal...

Date PurchasedJun 2017

cjw

cjwBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

Steamer tripping power but Tefal were very easy to deal with

published

My steamer also started tripping the power when I turned it on and of course it was 2 months out of warranty. I rang Tefal and they were very helpful and authorised David Jones to replace the steamer. I still had all my paper work and receipts, which is probably a requirement. The product was great for what we used it for and I have rated Tefal excellent purely on their response to the problem.

Date PurchasedMar 2015

Moira

Moira

  • 2 reviews

Really useful but leaking reservoir an electrical hazard

published

Not sure why but my steamer is tripping my electrical system. Suspect that its a leak from the water reservoir. Of course this would happen just outside the 2 year warranty window which makes this an expensive purchase.

Pity because I found it useful in getting the teenagers to smarten up their clothes without fear of ruining them.

Date PurchasedJan 2015

The only thing that works as designed on this is that steam comes out of one end.

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017

Love my steamer

published

I have had my steamer for 3years and today it decided to blow up. I used it twice per week and definitely got good use out of it, plus it worked wonders on my wedding dress. I am trying to find a similar one, maybe even a notch up, any recommendations?

Date PurchasedNov 2014
steve

steve

  • 6 reviews

Quick and easy but failed outside 2 warrantee

published

Its not a prefect on heavy wrinkles but i reduce spinning the shirts in the washing machine so the steamer just finishes off nicely. It did cut ironing time so I really like using a steamer, but it died just outside 2 years warrantee, I brought this from retavision in August 2014 and it stopped working January 2017, so this steamer is a bit on the pricey side for its short life. I'll try another brand

Date PurchasedAug 2014
1 comment
steve
steve

Cat lady

Cat lady

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Waste of Money

published

Just bought this steamer in January sales 2017. Thought I would be more inclined to iron if I didnt have to drag an ironing board out.
Used for first time today and it leaked from the bottom all over my floor. Will be taking it back tomorrow.
DO NOT BUY ONE OF THESE!!!

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Bob

BobNarangba

  • 14 reviews
  • 8 likes

Money waster

published

The Tefal Steam & Press,
Save your money. Its not as simple as shown in demo's, it won't get out heavy wrinkles, you can do it far quicker with an iron and the garment comes out a little damp. Maybe it could work as a window cleaner, its a waste of money.

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Liz

LizMelbourne

Very pleased indeed

published
Date PurchasedAug 2015

Doesn't remove even the smallest creases.

published

If you are looking to remove some creases don't bother. It is cumbersome to use and burns my hand more than it removes creases. My advice is stick with an iron. My $40 iron gets better results. Spoke with Tefal customer service they were pretty blunt and said it's not an iron. Doubt I will buy anything from Tefal again.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Dee Paull

Dee Paullasked

IS6300

Am I able to get a copy of the is6300 user manual sent to me in the post?.

1 answer
Mortishia
Mortishia

Hi Dee, unfortunately I don’t think so. Have you tried the tefal site? Nowadays manuals are online. Sorry couldn’t help much. Is there anything else you need help on?


Fred

Fredasked

IS6200

Our unit has stopped working, there was quite a fair amount of scale build up which I rinsed out, but still no steam. I'd like to know what the likely cause and what the repair costs will entail vs buying a new unit. Any ideas?
Regards,
Fred

No answers

Jen

Jenasked

IS6200

Need to move house. Can you Pls show me how to pack the machine using the orginal box .. Thx

1 answer
Drewster
Drewster

Hi unfortunately I longer has this product. But here is a YouTube link that you can follow in reverse. It’s in reverse cause they unpacking :)

https://youtu.be/o56gIv6-8Aw


Get an answer from our members and Tefal representatives

Details

Tefal IS6200
  • Discontinued

Tefal IS6200

15 reviews
Tefal IS6300

Tefal IS6300

25 reviews
CategoryGarment SteamersGarment Steamers
Price (RRP) $179$229
Release dateOct 2012
Replaced byTefal IS6300

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.