??!
1 photo
Tefal CY505

Tefal CY505

MPN: CY505
3.1 from 15 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.1

15 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (6)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    2.3 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (6)
  • Slow Cooking
    1.8 (4)
  • Steaming
    3.0 (2)
  • Pressure Cooking
    3.5 (4)
  • Sautéing
    3.0 (3)
  • Rice Cooking
    2.3 (4)
Previous
Next

long time to warm up

published

it cooks delicious food but it's not an Instant cooker as it promise! If you need to make a simple rice in 9 minutos you will need to have 30 minutos of your life, cause you'll have to wait at least 20 minutes for the pot to warm up! If you need to cook something more you'll have to wait between 20-30 minutes to warm up the Pot. So, it works as a slow cooker...but always!

Purchased in November 2020 at Tefal for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Features / Functions
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
Bernadette Gray

Bernadette GraySouth East Queensland, QLD

Waste of money

published

Slow cooker option has not cooked anything properly and tried 3 different meals. It doesn’t heat up properly and potato’s are still basically hard after 8 hours. Wish I had stuck with the basic slow cooker, I thought it would be great to have an all in one but this is a dud

Purchased in March 2020 at JB Hifi Home for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
Renae

Renae

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Takes way too long

published

We bought this as a replacement to our old Tefal rice cooker (which we loved but they don't make anymore). Unfortunately we've had nothing but issues with this cooker.
My dog had Pancreatitis & is on a very low fat diet, we have to cook him chicken & rice every couple of days & when your in a rush the length in time this machine takes to cook is ridiculous. We set it to rice & cook for 28 minutes, it takes 1/2 an hour to heat up then it beeps & starts counting down the 28 minute timer, yet when we open it it's still not cooked. I'm ready to bin it.

I hope Tefal can go back to a simple machine that works as we have struggled to find one that can cook this meal regularly & not die.

Purchased in August 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Features / Functions
Rice Cooking
See all answers
Multi Cookers

Find out how Tefal CY505 compares to other Multi Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Useless instructions, unable to slow cook and the delayed timer only works in certain modes

published

After purchasing this product as a replacement to my old standard slow cooker i thought it would be great to have all the options of a multi cooker. Problem is you can't use this as a slow cooker. In slow cooker mode the unit preheats before counting down the desired time.

The unit preheats, i'd say boils then counts down. Slow cook! my chilli con carne was done in 5 mins.

Awful thing wishing i could return it but being used it may be of use as a garden pot!.

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
See all answers
Ewokk

EwokkGisborne

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

I love this machine!

published

I don't know what I would do without my PC! It's works fantastic. Really quick tasty meals.
Can be slow to come to pressure but I just make sure everything is heated through before turning on.

One thing is the slow cooking side really sucks. You can't change the temperature so I don't use it.

Purchased in May 2019 at Myer for A$219.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
Pinki

PinkiSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Good product

published

I usually boil soup with this multi cooker. And cook some vege sometime. It is not retained any smell after washing it. I usually boil a big pot for few meals for two people with this cooker. It takes a bit long time to cook which is out of my expectation, but the food tastes good and keep my soup very warm. But too easy to control the product, I think you may need to read the instruction attached with the product. Overall it can save you some time of cooking a lot of food for the family.

Purchased in June 2018 at Myer Online Store for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Pressure Cooking
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Tanee

TaneeSydney

Stopped working after 2 months

published
Date PurchasedSep 2018
ChrisOz

ChrisOzSydney, NSW

  • 31 reviews
  • 48 likes

Makes even a muppet like me into a gourmet chef

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Birdie

BirdieQueensland, 4020

  • 3 reviews

Not as good as I expected

published

I tried browning the meat, but kept getting E2 message. Only way it worked was to close lid, which was a pain as I couldn't keep turning meat. I wanted to make bone broth, but it doesn't cook long enough. Pathetic recipe book.
Would really have liked more instructions & varied recipes Must say it cooked veg soup in 10 mins after it got up to pressure. Overall, I'm disappointed. I could have bought one of the old fashioned one's that you use on the stove top. That way I could brown meat, & cook bone broth as long as I wanted. Thought this appliance looked ok, could slow cook & pressure cook. Sadly regret purchasing.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Multi Cookers

Find out how Tefal CY505 compares to other Multi Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vasu

Vasu

  • 2 reviews

This is perfect! Can make everything and tasty.

published

From the day one I bought this I have been using it to make soups, risotto, curries and cakes. Even rice recipes comes out perfect all the time.
Easy to use and best part is just put all your food and put the timer and forget about it and your meal is all ready.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
B1T2A

B1T2ABrisbane

  • 8 reviews

Handiest kitchen gadget!

published

I use this at least 4 times a week. Great recipes came a long with it with easy instructions. Sometimes it doesn't seal properly but just need to make sure the seal is in correctly and clean. So great having the one appliance for slow AND pressure cooking. I rarely slow cook though as the pressure cooker makes meat so tender, just make sure you get the times right.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Colleen R

Colleen RBanora Point

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Tefal Slow Cooker and pressure cooker all in one

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Mama S

Mama SMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Slow pressure cooker

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Mama S
Mama S
sarah

sarahVIC, 3752

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great MultiCooker for a First Timer

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
busyB

busyB

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great for more than you'd expect!

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Multi Cookers

Find out how Tefal CY505 compares to other Multi Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Gail M.

Gail M.asked

keep getting the E2 message when trying to use browning function. this occurs with lid open and also tried down but not shut. very frustrating

No answers
Mini

Miniasked

I used mine the first time tonight as a pressure cooker as soon as it reached the pressure up it went into E2 mode 3 times I tried the lid was locked so ended up cooking in my normal pot such a disappointment returning it back to the store tomorrow

No answers
norman f

norman fasked

when using it in slow cooker mode, what position should the vent valve be in? i assum shut but just checking, i like tefal stuff but there instructions are not cleat at all

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Tefal representatives

Details

CategoryMulti Cookers
Price (RRP) A$220.00
Capacity6L
Dishwasher Safe PartsYes
Keep Warm SettingYes
Colour / FinishChrome
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 3045386374366
  • MPN: CY505

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.