??!
1 photo
Tefal CY505

Tefal CY505

MPN: CY505
3.4 from 13 reviews

See the Best Multi Cookers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
4
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
3
1 star
2

Renae

Renae

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Takes way too long

published

We bought this as a replacement to our old Tefal rice cooker (which we loved but they don't make anymore). Unfortunately we've had nothing but issues with this cooker.
My dog had Pancreatitis & is on a very low fat diet, we have to cook him chicken & rice every couple of days & when your in a rush the length in time this machine takes to cook is ridiculous. We set it to rice & cook for 28 minutes, it takes 1/2 an hour to heat up then it beeps & starts counting down the 28 minute timer, yet when we open it it's still not cooked. I'm ready to bin it.

I hope Tefal can go back to a simple machine that works as we have struggled to find one that can cook this meal regularly & not die.

Purchased in August 2019 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Rice Cooking
See all answers

Useless instructions, unable to slow cook and the delayed timer only works in certain modes

published

After purchasing this product as a replacement to my old standard slow cooker i thought it would be great to have all the options of a multi cooker. Problem is you can't use this as a slow cooker. In slow cooker mode the unit preheats before counting down the desired time.

The unit preheats, i'd say boils then counts down. Slow cook! my chilli con carne was done in 5 mins.

Awful thing wishing i could return it but being used it may be of use as a garden pot!.

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
See all answers
Ewokk

EwokkGisborne

  • 6 reviews

I love this machine!

published

I don't know what I would do without my PC! It's works fantastic. Really quick tasty meals.
Can be slow to come to pressure but I just make sure everything is heated through before turning on.

One thing is the slow cooking side really sucks. You can't change the temperature so I don't use it.

Purchased in May 2019 at Myer for $219.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
Pinki

PinkiSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Good product

published

I usually boil soup with this multi cooker. And cook some vege sometime. It is not retained any smell after washing it. I usually boil a big pot for few meals for two people with this cooker. It takes a bit long time to cook which is out of my expectation, but the food tastes good and keep my soup very warm. But too easy to control the product, I think you may need to read the instruction attached with the product. Overall it can save you some time of cooking a lot of food for the family.

Purchased in June 2018 at Myer Online Store for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Pressure Cooking
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Tanee

TaneeSydney

Stopped working after 2 months

published
Date PurchasedSep 2018

ChrisOz

ChrisOzSydney, NSW

  • 26 reviews

Makes even a muppet like me into a gourmet chef

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Birdie

BirdieQueensland, 4020

  • 3 reviews

Not as good as I expected

published

I tried browning the meat, but kept getting E2 message. Only way it worked was to close lid, which was a pain as I couldn't keep turning meat. I wanted to make bone broth, but it doesn't cook long enough. Pathetic recipe book.
Would really have liked more instructions & varied recipes Must say it cooked veg soup in 10 mins after it got up to pressure. Overall, I'm disappointed. I could have bought one of the old fashioned one's that you use on the stove top. That way I could brown meat, & cook bone broth as long as I wanted. Thought this appliance looked ok, could slow cook & pressure cook. Sadly regret purchasing.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Vasu

Vasu

  • 2 reviews

This is perfect! Can make everything and tasty.

published

From the day one I bought this I have been using it to make soups, risotto, curries and cakes. Even rice recipes comes out perfect all the time.
Easy to use and best part is just put all your food and put the timer and forget about it and your meal is all ready.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
B1T2A

B1T2ABrisbane

  • 8 reviews

Handiest kitchen gadget!

published

I use this at least 4 times a week. Great recipes came a long with it with easy instructions. Sometimes it doesn't seal properly but just need to make sure the seal is in correctly and clean. So great having the one appliance for slow AND pressure cooking. I rarely slow cook though as the pressure cooker makes meat so tender, just make sure you get the times right.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Colleen R

Colleen RBanora Point

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Tefal Slow Cooker and pressure cooker all in one

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Mama S

Mama SMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews

Slow pressure cooker

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Mama S
Mama S

sarah

sarahVIC, 3752

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great MultiCooker for a First Timer

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017

busyB

busyB

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great for more than you'd expect!

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Questions & Answers

Sherelle

Sherelleasked

I would like to do a 8 slow cook and start the timer 3 hours later
I cannot read the writing it’s to small for me

No answers

Steph

Stephasked

How long should the pre heat circle keep rotating when cooking plain rice ? The 9 minute Timer doesn’t seem to come on for me. First time 40 minutes went by and so I opened the pot , rice was crumbly .. second time timer still did not come on so I opened it after all the steam came out and rice was cooked but never had the 9 minute timer come on again..
I am following exactly what the instructions tell me.

Is my product faulty? This is the first time it’s being used ...

No answers

Faye B

Faye Basked

Where can I access more recipes for this product other than what is in the book that comes with the machine?

3 answers
ChrisOz
ChrisOz

I’ve not used any of the included recipies with the exception of some of the soups. Try Googling Julia Child’s Beef Bourguignon recipie for pressure cooker. I followed the recipie to the letter but added a 2 hour slow cook before putting the mushrooms in at the end. Turned out brilliantly and I’m not a good cook. Flicking between the browning, pressure cook and slow cook settings is the key here. Not sure why everyone is so hung up on Tefal recipies.

Faye B
Faye B

Thank you Chris Oz I will try to step out of my comfort zone and just pick recipes that suit the functions of the machine. I have used several of the recipes in the book
and find they are a bit bland for my taste so will use them as a baseline only. Justine Schofield from Everyday Gourmet uses the Tefal products and her recipes are great.

Riot
Riot

Whilst he looks like a carrot from all the fake tan he wears and his tv fads are terrible, I highly recommend the Pete Evans One Pot Paleo book - the recipes are great and healthy to boot


Get an answer from our members and Tefal representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.