??!
3 photos
Toyota Fortuner GUN156R

Toyota Fortuner GUN156R (2015-2021)

Also referred to as: Toyota Fortuner GUN156R 2020 and Toyota Fortuner GUN156R 2022. GXL, GX, Crusade
4.1 from 22 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.8 (8)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (8)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (8)
  • Braking
    4.6 (9)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.6 (9)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.3 (8)
  • Suspension
    3.3 (8)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (9)
  • Handling
    3.9 (9)
  • Interior Design
    3.9 (9)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (9)
  • Comfort
    2.9 (9)
  • Features
    3.4 (8)
Previous
Next
Jason

JasonGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Update - I've sold it!

published
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Will

Will

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

12 month ownership review, very happy so far

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2020 at Llewellyn Motors for $38,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Peter W.

Peter W.

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Toyota's poor response

published

Purchased in July 2019 for $42,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Fortuner GUN156R compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lachlan S.

Lachlan S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Manual Crusade - Very Happy

published

Purchased in August 2017 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Ralph W.

Ralph W.South West, WA

I am not getting the Toyota feeling

published

Purchased in February 2018 for $55,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Generally very happy

published

just ticked over 110,000 klm. Overall happy with car. Seats are a little hard as is suspension. So run pirrelle tyre's at 30psi. For better ride. Towes well, 2500kg boat very well. Nice and nimble on twisty roads unlike Prado. 8.9l p/100 constantly. Have had PDF white smoke issues from new. Toyota have been very good in Hobart trying various things. Second replacement unit coming. Feel like I'll get 350,000klm easy as motor seems refined. Not sure what to get next. Love the discovery series 5 looks, but dam they have a bad reputation. So may well hang onto this for a few more years.

Purchased in September 2016 for $47,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Subin

SubinGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Practical and reliable motoring

published

Purchased in January 2018 at Melton Toyota for $52,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Tripple T.

Tripple T.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Good 4x4 but miss out the essential gadget

published

Purchased in April 2018 at Toyota Dealers for $53,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Mariz G.

Mariz G.Far North Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Easy and reliable car. A Toyota through and through.

published

Bought a 4x4 for the occasional family camping but mostly used in the city. It's a very easy car to drive, doesn't feel bulky or overly large (I'm a petite 5"2 lady). What I actually love the most about it is their maintenance flat rate/cap. I think it's only like 160-250$/service? My compact jeep renegade SUV (Not 4x4) costs me at least $400/service! Toyota is always a reliable choice. Highly recommended!

Purchased in August 2018 for $51,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Fortuner GUN156R compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nat

NatTownsville

  • 6 reviews

Rides well

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Mary Rose Arias

Mary Rose AriasWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome car!

published

We purchased the top of the range toyota fortuner 2017.
Really loved the car especially the 4w driving side of it.
Spacious leg room , comfortable and luxurious leather interior. This car has also a built-in reverse camera and GPS.
We would say that the car is extremely reliable as we havent had any issues with it since purchased date.
Added the steel bulbar and it is just amazing.

BadgeCrusade
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Kiko

KikoBrisbane

  • 6 reviews

A Very Good 7 Seat

published

After having 2 versions of Toyota Kluger in the last 10 years we looked at other options in the market with a minimum of 7 seats. The Fortuner came up trumps in terms of value for money and running costs. We bought the top of the line Crusade that came with all the bells and whistles (power rear door, leather interiors, navigation, digital radio, etc). It is noiser considering it is diesel but overall we are extremely satisfied.

BadgeCrusade
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Vin H

Vin H

  • 3 reviews

Excellent 4x4.

published

What can I say.. wow this car has exceeded my expectations for a $50000 or around 4wd and Toyota's reliability and great builds long lasting cars. Great on sand, dirt, rocks, mud (with the right tyres) this car has gone thru it all.. quite fuel efficient for a 4x4 (city driving most days $75per tank)

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Vin

VinMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Beautiful car

published

Recently bought a new 2017 Toyota fortuner . So far have had a good ride not to mention the fuel economy visited great ocean road , on a full tank and still had enough fuel for commuting to 3 days to work mentioning I travel at least 25 km each way , am really happy I chose this car ,the diesel 2.8 engine gives you enough power the car is modest in comfort

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Halim J

Halim JBeverly hills

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good SUV

published

The engine is powerful for climbing. The car is pretty high and has a good design. The interior is also good. The seat is on brown leather and all interior light is LED. But, the shock breaker is a bit hard and a bit unstable in highway if you travel over 120.

Badge$ 50.000
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Fortuner GUN156R compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
TomyEvo

TomyEvoSydney, NSW

Great car simple and easy to drive

published
BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2015
Om_Mandavia

Om_MandaviaMelbourne

  • 6 reviews

Really a good one.

published

I would say it's handling is much better than Ford Endeavour 2016 but the performance is just the same in feel. Noise is little bit more in the diesel version ( From Singapore ). But yet It's really good car and I would never sell it as it act as my second Home. Really big and comfortable. It's also very stylish.

BadgeGSx-Hybrid(Diesel)
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Doreenrunner

DoreenrunnerMelbourne

  • 40 reviews
  • 25 likes

Best one around!

published
BadgeCrusade
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Neil King

Neil KingSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Perfect all round seven seater

published

I've owned this vehicle for a year now after buying it new, I've done 22000k's in that time, some dirt roads, some off road, some highway cruising, some while towing and some around town. I often have had several of my grandkids and family on board and have found it more than capable and comfortable, the engine is quiet and powerful while being economical and the interior is comfortable and spacious even when carrying seven people and the tech all works well and adds to the experience, the 6 speed manual gearbox is nice and light and the cruise control is easy to use and makes highway cruising a pleasure. I can highly recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a family all round vehicle or as a workhorse to with plenty of room and grunt.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016
dbirr

dbirrMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

What a great car - Fortuner Crusade

published

Very comfortable car - leather seats lots of options (8) to adjust. Excellent fuel economy with the Diesel 2.8 litre turbo. Tows well. The rear suspension is a little bit jumpy but car shines in 4WD mode. Brakes like a sedan. I feel very safe. Just had a 2nd battery installed by TJM, bull bar and snorkel wedge. Looks awesome. Make sure you upgrade the tyres to A/T when you do the deal with the dealer. Remove 3rd row seats a must to maximise space. Automatic tailgate very nice.

BadgeCrusade
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

tan t.

tan t.asked

Fortuner GUN156R (2015-2021)

Hi guys,any one have problem with fortuner AC on and hearing clicking noise every 20secs or so..,will go away as soon as AC turn off,is it normal circulation or something(Fortuner 20).Thanks all !

No answers
Aaron T.

Aaron T.asked

Fortuner GUN156R (2015-2021)

Is the dpf issue fixed after 2018? Thanks

1 answer
tan t.
tan t.

2019-2020 should be fine.

abike2701

abike2701asked

Fortuner GUN156R (2015-2021)

I think my driver used wrong oil,now my 2016 fortuner has a DPF full,check dealer error.How mant KMs can it go before I see dealer.its already done 1000kms since.or how can the error be reset?

1 answer
paul
paul

see them asap

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

Compare all 6 Toyota Fortuner GUN156R (2015-2021)
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $54,143$48,998$62,018
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.6 L/100km8.6 L/100km8.6 L/100km7.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 80 L80 L80 L80 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.8L4 Cylinder 2.8 L4 Cylinder 2.8L4 Cylinder 2.8L
Max Power130kW @ 3400rpm130kW @ 3400rpm130kW @ 3400rpm130kW @ 3400rpm
Max Torque450Nm @ 1600-2400rpm450Nm @ 1600-2400rpm450Nm @ 1600-2400rpm420Nm @ 1400-2600rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Safety Features
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
Extra Features
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,800 kg2,800 kg2,800 kg3,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateOct 2015Oct 2015Oct 2015Oct 2015
Compare all 6 Toyota Fortuner GUN156R (2015-2021)

Visit official website

Other Large / 7 Seater SUVs


ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.