??!
3 photos
Toyota HiLux MK6 (1998-2004)

Toyota HiLux MK6 (1998-2004)

4.2 from 33 reviews

See the Best Utes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
18
4 star
10
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
2

Perfect in the right scenario

published

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Like Father like Son

published
BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2003
Drive4WD
Matt

MattAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Good Ute. :) But needs more power.

published

Reliable 4x4 ute. :) Bit slow, but snorkel and extractors opened it up so it would sit on 110kms on the highway, but not much faster than that. Mine has 300,000kms and still goes strong.

Yes, i would buy another. But would go for the V6 or 3ltr turbo diesel just for that extra over taking power vehicles.

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017
steven

stevenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 20 reviews
  • 2 likes

Has been legendary

published
BadgeBasic Ute
Engine Size2.7L Petrol
BodyCab Chassis
CabDouble Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2003
Drive4WD

Shelly

ShellyCanberra

  • 5 reviews

this old Hilux is best ever!!

published

This car is never die. it is 1998 model with 2.7L dual cab. Very good working ute, at same time, can fit more people as well. If service can be done regularly, the engine is so good and realible. small parts need to be changed (eg alternator when comes to 230,000km), driver seat needs to be changed when it comes to 210,000km. other than that. it is awesome car.

BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size2.7L Petrol
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2011

Tessa

Tessa

  • 6 reviews

Tough and powerful

published

This car isn't very fuel efficient, however, it is a very reliable and powerful car. It's towed my dad's Navara and camper trailer at the same time across the whole of Moreton island when the sand was too soft for them to cross. This car has never given me any trouble and I would buy it again, but the next car I will definitely be getting a turbo

BadgeSR
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2010
Drive4WD

Best Utility Ever!!!

published
BadgeSR5
Engine Size2.7L Petrol
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Drive4WD

Best vehicle ever

published

It is the best its anyone could buy. The engine has heaps of power. It has really bad fuel economy. I get about 350-400 km for a 60 l tank. The manual gearbox is so smooth. I would recommend this vehicle to everyone. There isn't anything I would change about it.

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size3.4L V6 Petrol
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Drive4WD

just keeps going

published

hilux 2.7 lt 2000 model done over 400,000 km ,got it just over 200,000 km,spent only on tyres,just replaced pads,exhaust,shockers,treat it like crap and just keeps going,used in farm,boat ramps,had it in salt water front wheels,no problems, get around 450-480 km on a tank,is a rough ride,seats needed to be better,handles like a set off ice skates on a wet road,tows anything,love this old car very happy custmer apart from fuel cost,ride

BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size2.7L Petrol
BodyUte
CabDouble Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2006
1 comment
branko
branko
Manny

Manny

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Exactly What I look for in a car

published
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size2.7L Petrol
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2006
DriveRWD

peter-pr13949

peter-pr13949Victoria

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

2003 Workmate converted to LPG. 130k and no issues. Getting 430km for $30.

published
BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size2.7L Petrol
BodyUte
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
DriveRWD
1 comment
peter-pr13949
peter-pr13949

Since review I have secured 2nd hand, same era, Hilux bucket seats for $330 refurbished from Smart Parts Ballarat. Significant improvement in ride comfort.


Dontdrive toyota's Ken

Dontdrive toyota's KenSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

too many things worng

published
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyUte

Musso-rific

Musso-rific

  • 18 reviews
  • 29 likes

Duraterrible

published
BadgeSR
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyUte
CabDouble Cab
TransmissionManual
DriveRWD
Date PurchasedNov 2000

joda5084

joda5084Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 21 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great Ute

published

I have both the single and dual cab and enjoy them both I have no complaints the inside driving access is the only issue and only for my two six foot plus sons the rear seat access is very good too, the load carring is good with a lot of weight in it.
reliable quiet powerfull
suspension is harsh when unloaded

Badge(No Badge)
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.7L Petrol
TransmissionManual
DriveRWD
George

GeorgeHervey Bay

Great little truck

published

I bought my 2.7, 2001 cab chassis with ally tray with 40000k's on her and I am just coming up on 200000.. So far I have replaced the battery and tyres ( at 120000 k's by the way) and given her a wheel alignment.. That is the sum total of what I have spent.. Sorry, I replaced the front disc pads as well.. It never ever lets me down and I have worked it pretty hard.. I wouldn't change it for quids..

TransmissionAuto

Bad Service

published
Engine Size2.7L Petrol

Jimmy

JimmyPenrith

Hilux 2003

published

Drama after drama worse car ever owned. Gearbox had rebuilt twice. Diff go as well as starter motor
Tensioner bearing for timing chain. What next could understand if car had high Kms 200000 on clock.
Disappointed with car would recommend it to anyone over priced piece of [censored word removed]. Spend the extra get a landcruiser or a patrol.

1 comment
Kevin C
Kevin C

Got a 2001 4x4 3L non turbo 420000 on clock uses no oil still drives well no noises in either gearbox or diff I suppose it boils down to how you treat them (oil is cheap)


ChappyBaxter

ChappyBaxterNassau, The Bahamas

Issue with Air Bag Light Staying On

published
TransmissionManual
6 comments
Td
Td

I have 2006 Hilux workmate, the air bag staying on. I took to toyota service. The diagnosis test cost about $AU 200.00 and to get it fix $800.00. Toyota I am very disappointing and recall this hilux workmate and get it fix.

JEFF BARKER
JEFF BARKER

I have had same problem, clock spring... Can pick them up for $200 plus $100 to fit but will it stuff up in 2-5 years time also.

Bill Ottoman
Bill Ottoman

clever1

clever1

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent

published

Great for its purpose (cheap vehicle for high mileage use), driver and passenger are comfortable. Have driven 1100klms in one day several times. Tows caravan and box trailer well. Came with good exterior mirrors.
2004 single cab 2.7 petrol converted to LPG
Cheap readily available parts. 206000klms at 1000klms / week, no problems
Powerful reliable, engine sounds good. Great radio/cd sound. Heaps for these around on the road. Runs $10 / 100klms on LPG.
poor turning circle, 2 seater 3rd person is very uncomfortable in the middle seat.

1 comment

cottononyet

cottononyet

  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

Excellent

published

Apart from the fact its not good for young kids, and you will have to get a second car for the first 6 months of babies life, its a great ute. Havnt had much problems with it, great for fuel for its size, just cant kill it! Had alot of fun with it and will be around for a long time yet! Definately look to buy another newer one later on, to have this one for the farm, but for another 10 years im happy using it daily!
Just love it. Got a space cab 4x4. Cant kill it! Wouldnt get anything but a 4x4. Great on fuel, doesnt use much extra fuel when towing.
Cant put a baby seat in the rearward facing position


Page 1 of 2

See all Toyota HiLux reviews

Questions & Answers

Luke

Lukeasked

IV got a 98 Toyota Hilux duelcab 4wd ln167 when driving off-road I can hear a knock in my front end and I can feel it through the steering wheel I can't find the issue,what could it be?

1 answer
Rodney H.
Rodney H.

possibly a CV joint is on its way out, see how much movement the front wheels have.


Mary R.

Mary R.asked

Have 2003 hilux 3L 5L blowing black smoke on startup and under load. Getting only 6-7km per litre. Have replaced fuel/air filters injectors injector pump at a cost of over $3000 still no change (not happy) any suggestions? thanks

2 answers
David R.
David R.

Replacing the injectors should have fixed the problem, as black smoke is usually caused by fuel not being burned properly (Blue smoke indicates piston ring wear.) My 2008 HiLux has done 380,000 kms and does not blow much smoke at all, but I have serviced it regularly, and rarely drive it over 100 km/hr. Are you sure your mechanic actually replaced all that he said he had - this sometimes happens - they say they have done work, and rely on the fact that if you are not mechanically minded, you will not know if they have or not. Have a look at the injectors - do they look new. Also, check your fuel pump - it may have contaminated fuel - it should be quite easy to drain it to check for contaminants. There is probably a UTube showing exactly how to do it.
Also, if if was a workshop you are not familiar with, ask another shop to check the work.

Mary R.
Mary R.

Thanks for that...will take it elsewhere for a work check


Marc R.

Marc R.asked

Motor and injector rail r al live Wil not fire new glow plugs

1 answer
Marcus
Marcus

Is it possible to instal a Hilux work mate 2.7 2003 engine into a 2002 model


Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

CategoryUtes
Replaced byToyota HiLux MK7.I (2005-2008)
Compare all Toyota HiLux

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.